Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Post Your Short Films Here

• 18-09-2006 5:17pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4

Post your short films here

Hi guys. This is my first time posting.
    I completed my first short film "THE LIFE AND TIMES OF PILLOWHEAD" a few months ago and have posted it up on youtube( see link below ). Apologies for low res quality, it was the beast I could get on youtube.

Would love to hear your opinions on it. I feel there isnt enough support for beginner film-makers in Ireland and so feel people need to support each other. If anyone else has a short online, please add it to this thread. There isnt enough money in Ireland to fund all film makers and so the only way to get started is to work together.

Anyone looking to make a short or looking for advise, please feel free to contact me.

YOU CAN VIEW MY SHORT AT
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vpw48SKo9l4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 573 ✭✭✭MacGyver

good movie im impressed, i thought it would be a really big pi$$ take but it has a serious edge too. Nice Work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭shnaek

Fair play. Nice film, well shot and edited. I enjoyed it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭chillywilly

i enjoyed that!! what equipment did you use?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,698 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

my two that are currently online:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bCa9YC5-VbQ

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_-DztEYynKQ

If enough people add to this thread then i'll sticky it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭craze7

hey man, thats a class short. told a really old story in a good way, fair play..

love the music and the feathers at the end that was class!!!

here are 2 short movies me and my mates made last year.

Contract: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=viTBBR7AioE

A short film by Brian O' neill about a hitman who is being tested on his loyalty!!! this short looks good with solid camera work and some decent sound and make up!

Monday Morning: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GuF1kOrN1lc

A short movie about monday morning blues with a twist!!...This film has a nice tone! The quality aint great tho, its a ghetto copy! [i.e it was filmed off tv because it was only on tape]

comments are welcome!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 markucd

Hi there. Thanks for all your comments on THE LIFE AND TIMES OF PILLOWHEAD. Its great to hear that people and enjoy it. I had applied for funding from Irish film board before but as anyone who has ever applied can tell you, there aint enough money to go around.

Also if you want to go onto bigger projects, it really helps to have made some shorts. I never got chance to go to film college so I went out and made this. I did everything behind the camera and used friends as actors.

I filmed it using a Panasonic DVX 100a and edited it with final cut pro on my Mac.

For anyone who wants to get involved in film, GO MAKE A SHORT. You will learn so much more than you will reading books and you can use it as a showreel to help promote further projects

Its also great to see others posting their shorts.

Blitzkrieg - I liked your shorts. I preferred THE EMPTY ROOM. I liked the unsettling atmosphere(and the excellent guitar score).

Craze7, THE CONTRACT is excellent. I love the quality of make up you managed to get from an over the counter Halloween kit! Also the lighting and cinematography were really good. Have you ever gone to film college?

And to anyone else reading this:
    KEEP POSTING YOUR SHORTS AND ADDING COMMENTS.
    All comments are great to hear and the more shorts we can show, the better idea we get of the standard out there at the moment

markucd: no man never went to collage but we have been makin shorts for years. but as we were doing contract my cousin started a film corse in bray [ he is the one doing the directing in contract and monday morning]

thanks for watchin,

in the next couple weeks i shouuld have another one or two new films up. were half way throuh "neilson" bassed on a serial killer from the '70's and another short similar to "contract" is under way too...

i'll keep yous posted!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 Lr158

http://video.google.co.uk/videoplay?docid=3711777449254190076&q=broke+duration%3Amedium

Heres our short called "Broke"

Let us know what you think

just uploaded another short onto youtube,

BLOOD MONEY!

A short film written and directed by Brian O' Neill, about 2 hitmen contracted to kill the same guy!

It was shot in about 2 hours and it kinda shows, but anyway have a look and feedback is welcome!!!

BLOOD MONEY

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 lumix

very nice short, done really well

craze7 wrote: »
    just uploaded another short onto youtube,

BLOOD MONEY!

A short film written and directed by Brian O' Neill, about 2 hitmen contracted to kill the same guy!

It was shot in about 2 hours and it kinda shows, but anyway have a look and feedback is welcome!!!

BLOOD MONEY
    NOT very good, the acting was ok and the story wasn't the worst, it just could have been done much better. the split screen worked well for its part but the whole thing seemed rushed and not very well thought out. Preperation is the key to good film making.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,773 ✭✭✭connemara man

i really recomend the work or a few friends that go under the heading of fakedogfilms
    www.fakedogfilms.com

its good work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 justwilliam

Some nice work here, haven't got through it all but I'm adding them to a playlist in youtube as we speak, I just premiered my a short at darklight last week, it's called 'Deer Park'

leave us a comment on youtube and tell me what yis think, forward it along if ye think it's any use,

all the best,
    William

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=duD1doR67Og

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Just watched Deer park - its a bit diffuse (could'nt watch a whole feature if it looked that soft) but otherwise nicely done (who did the music?).

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 scenesixteen

I have no sound on my work pc so I can't watch any yet. I saw Deer Park at darklight last week, thought it was very nicely executed.

Here's my one

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZQ8fLA53W6A

Deer park was good but was way out of focus! good ending tho...

The internet dateing one looked very professional, was well lit and had great cating.. Fair play lads!!!

Deer park had a very nice twist on a simple story and althought the defusion was a little distracting, on such a short peice it did work.keep it up.

The Perils Of Internet Dating was a very clever short, comedys are hard to write and good comedys are even harder. The acting was brilliant and everything looked profesional, I look forward to some more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

I have no sound on my work pc so I can't watch any yet. I saw Deer Park at darklight last week, thought it was very nicely executed.

Here's my one

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZQ8fLA53W6A

Enjoyed that. Good gags and nice performances. Good casting too.

Here's my last short: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hcHUc9-TyAY

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,032 ✭✭✭DWCommuter

Deer Park

Music was good. Soft focus annoyed me and the ending was one you thought you saw coming, but then didn't. Very creative. It caught me out.

Internet dating

Cheeky little film. Had the bones of a decent TV series. But if RTE got their grubby little hands on it, then it would be ruined.

Here's one from me. Its called "Debt". No film board money. Self financed. Has its faults, but not bad. May have been posted here before.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NuJ7X62kT70

Debt i thought was a little long, at nine minutes plus, i thought the story didn't have enough substanse to hold the veiwer, but saying that i did like the story and the acting was quite good, but the cigar got on my nerves i know that probably sounds stupid but i dont like things given to characters to make them seem cooler when it has no relivence to the story, if a character is cool he is cool if he isnt then he isnt. But that is just a miner critic on my behalf. All in all it is good work and from your other trailers i see a promising career keep it up.

Cheers for that. Very generous. Our latest short, Deadweed, is one I'd love to post up, but the trailers will have to suffice as its on the festival chase. Its far more ambitious than Debt. But then thats the only way to get better.

that is true.
    i wish you's the best of luck at the festivals

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 justwilliam

Thanks for the feedback!

mike65: music is by me, wanted a bit of pace, think I got it

mike65 and most everyone else: it is quite heavily diffused on the blacks and whites which is fine up until youtubes compression gets at it, I know we've all been through it, the shots are in focus Craze7 but like lumix says it works for the short, wanted to keep it vague till the punch line

Jeff... just laughed my arse off at Detached, great stuff!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭davidclayton

just launched the second short film in a series. it can be seen on the www.GlobalFests.com homepage

the first one can be seen here:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m2dhA_mf6ZY

• Registered Users Posts: 32 hoyeean

I know its very late since the last reply, but what the heck

http://vimeo.com/23836854

Fair play on reviving the thread! I've enjoyed watching what everyone else has been doing. Here are two of mine:

Music video shot in Kinsale on the 550D and 7D:
    http://vimeo.com/27454509

Storyland Promo shot on the 550D:
    http://vimeo.com/29050666

That teaser was intriguing and made me go "whats going on, whats that"...as all teasers should do

hoyeean wrote: »
    That teaser was intriguing and made me go "whats going on, whats that"...as all teasers should do

Brilliant! I'm delighted to hear it. I enjoyed 'The Body' too. Very nicely shot.

This time its a documentary on why Irish Film-makers tend not to make Sci-Fi

http://vimeo.com/16296160

• Registered Users Posts: 16 bulletbreaker

Heres a college project shot at the beginning of the year. Looking back at it now theres so much wrong with it but we had so much fun from pre production to the edit and learned so much from doing it.

http://vimeo.com/21564700

• Registered Users Posts: 7 volex

Heres a college project shot at the beginning of the year. Looking back at it now theres so much wrong with it but we had so much fun from pre production to the edit and learned so much from doing it.

http://vimeo.com/21564700

Hi is there any one around Dublin that would be interested in meeting Up and possibly creating a few short together see how it goes from there? Pm me plaease

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,522 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Sorry if this is the wrong place to post this but I just this second finished watching a short on RTE2 called 'Crossword'.

It was really well done.

EDIT: Two lonely souls, one of which does the crossword everyday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 524 ✭✭✭Exar Khun

noodler wrote: »
    Sorry if this is the wrong place to post this but I just this second finished watching a short on RTE2 called 'Crossword'.

It was really well done.

EDIT: Two lonely souls, one of which does the crossword everyday.

Where did you seen that?

Do you have a link please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,522 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Exar Khun wrote: »
    Where did you seen that?

Do you have a link please?

Just found it

http://www.rte.ie/player/#!v=1143304

Only 10-15 mins long. Earphones if you have them as there was a nice little piece of piano running throughout that I thought was nice.

• Registered Users Posts: 20 pauljeremiah

I've been working for the past few months on this short documentary. The filming took place last November in Dublin and has since then been post-production. The documentary is about The Spikes drummer Dave Lawless. What goes through his head while drumming?, what started his love of drumming?

I've always been fascinated by people who are creative, even to what seems the point of obsession but do what they do with such ease and passion that their art appears to be an extension of their being.

I have never made a documentary before, as my previous work has been in short films and would love to hear everyone's feedback, both positive and negative.

I plan to take this short documentary around to film festivals in the UK & Ireland over the next 12 months.

So here's the link, and I look forward to hearing your feedback.

For those who are wondering "Schlagzeuger" is German for Drummer.