Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sllllooooowwwwww

• 18-09-2006 10:20pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭

Sorry if this has been posted aready but boards seems extremely SLOW for the past couple of weeks...

The following is typical of the time to load pages..."Page generated in 12.99528 seconds with 11 queries"
    Post edited by Shield on

• Registered Users Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭John

It was snail-like for most of today but kind of back to normal for me now

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,657 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

I couldn't even get pages to load today and yesterday. They just kept timing out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,240 ✭✭✭Endurance Man

Ye, running like ****e this side, generating in 12seconds with 14 queries.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭PowerHouseDan

Yeah same here, being honest i no aload of people who just dont bother anymore, and me for one dont go on it half as much because its so slow...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 209 ✭✭Mojito

I think they upgraded the servers a while back to Sinclair ZX81's.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,393 ✭✭✭jonski

Page generated in 9.31051 seconds with 11 queries

felt slower

• Registered Users Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭greglo23

Page generated in 2.39649 seconds with 12 queries. its speeded up no end for me today as in 45 secs to a min this morning. the front page is rendering really quick but when i click on a topic it still renders it in a different colour scheme from my default.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭HelterSkelter

Yeah, looking a lot better today lads :-)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭PowerHouseDan

indeed but there is only 480 ppl on
    Yeah, looking a lot better today lads :-)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,142 ✭✭✭TempestSabre

Like treacle for me most of the time over the past year. You get times when its ok, but overall its one of the slowest sites I use. I'm using boards less and less because of it. When its slow its just a pain to use.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,074 ✭✭✭BendiBus

Page generated in 0.86480 seconds with 10 queries

Except it actually took a couple of minutes.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 10,501 Mod ✭✭✭✭ecksor

When it takes you a couple of minutes, but it reports that it took less than a second, does your browser report "connecting to ... " or "waiting for ..." or anything like that at the bottom?

• Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 28,803 Mod ✭✭✭✭oscarBravo

"Waiting for boards.ie..." in Firefox.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,657 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

I get both. It's usually "waiting for...", but sometimes it's "connecting to...".

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,097 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Fastest page I have got all morning
    Page generated in 12.43187 seconds with 13 queries.
    It's usually "waiting for...", but sometimes it's "connecting to...".
    Same as. The above however, did not have either.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,856 ✭✭✭v10

Yeah its crazy .. I agree with others that I use boards much less often now because its so slow.

But nobody seems to ever answer why is it so slow ? :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

I used it on an o2 datacard for most of the day and it flew along.

When I got home to the DSL it got slow.

My mind boggled.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,007 ✭✭✭Moriarty

illfixit.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭zod

any other website and I wouldn't be bothered.

but to be honest ..and quoting other people "my patience is dwindling"

Nothing like a 91k jpeg to improve page load times.

I'm really not trying to be a smarmy bastard when I say this, but I doubt many will notice the marginal difference.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,991 ✭✭✭✭Stark

v10 wrote:
    Yeah its crazy .. I agree with others that I use boards much less often now because its so slow.

But nobody seems to ever answer why is it so slow ? :confused:

Perhaps it's demotivated. Try making your posts more stimulating.

Stark wrote:
    Try making your posts more stimulating.
    How about someone explaining WHY it's so slow ?

ecksor wrote:
    Nothing like a 91k jpeg to improve page load times.
    Luckily thats hosted elsewhere

So?

Perhaps its time to start rethinking some of the idiotic forums that have been created? I forum for mustard, i mean come on, its all grand if you have the power/space/whateva runs this place; but with boards running this slow i bet most users would happily drop a handful of these forums for an increase in speed.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,991 ✭✭✭✭Stark

If a forum is idiotic then it's probably not very popular. If it's not very popular then it's hardly putting much stress on the servers.

Stark wrote:
    If a forum is idiotic then it's probably not very popular. If it's not very popular then it's hardly putting much stress on the servers.

Guess its debatable whats idiotic or not :p , take the thunderdome, its sucking the life outta this place and adding nothing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 331 ✭✭EWheelChair

Everyone knows boards can be slow, alot of the time. These threads just aren't helpfull anymore.

Maybe if we close all of Rec, Soc and Tech the site will be much faster!

Cookies for everyone!