Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best real name ever?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

• Registered Users Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Mossin

I blame the parents.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Was talking to a friend yesterday about these funny names. He was working with a woman called Philomena McGee. First name shortened to Phil. Why I don't know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭free2fly

Friends of mine named their son Justin. Their last name was Case. :p

• Registered Users Posts: 190 ✭✭Paddy_Irishman

Was telling my mate the other day about a guy I used to know called Pat McGee. He said oh ye well I know a fella called Ask Mcbollix :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Willie O'Dea

FF spokesman for drugs in the mid 90's

Know a guy called Rhodes, first name Lee. We call him "Balls"

• Registered Users Posts: 7,750 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

Feckin Rath is the name of a fella from a place called Termonfeckin

• Registered Users Posts: 1,018 ✭✭✭legspin

Isn't there a pub on the road somewhere on the N11 called 'Toss Byrnes'?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭smarten31

I hang around with a mate called Myles Long

• Closed Accounts Posts: 248 ✭✭film_gonzo

There's a guy where I work called Seamus Hollywood. What a brilliant name.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

Worked with a guy called Hayden Stone........... How f*****g cool is THAT? Talk about a Steven Segal name!!!! Hayden Stone is out for justice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 Snivilian

Know a bus driver called Ulick McGee

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,395 ✭✭✭Marksie

excellent:
    i used to work in a medical microbiology hospital in Guildford and we used to record intersting names , and if applicable what they were in for lol
    we had a ronald macdonald
    an albert hall

We also had a pregnant woman called costa conception.. i kid you not!

I was invited to the wedding of a mt allcock to a ms ball :)
    the inviotation read
    The allcocks and ballls invite you too...... (they had a sense of humour)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭last_orders

there used to be a fr. priest in the dublin phonebook :D

• Registered Users Posts: 416 ✭✭scudster

petes wrote:
    Was talking to a friend yesterday about these funny names. He was working with a woman called Philomena McGee. First name shortened to Phil. Why I don't know.
    I can go one better, our local GAA ground is called Fr. Phil McGee park

• Registered Users Posts: 416 ✭✭scudster

smarten31 wrote:
    I hang around with a mate called Myles Long
    I had a friend when i was a kid who was called Myles Monaghan...ya can imagine the slagging the poor guy got!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Dick Mountjoy, Republican in the US Senate at some stage.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭Linoge

netwhizkid wrote:
    I know of a person called Annette Curtinm

I think I know her?! She calls herself Ann though?

The number 1 name to have if you want to get a box off a Garda??

James Bond.

Thing is, he's only about 27, thats well after the films started coming out:eek:

Some parents have ALOT to answer for.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

Had a mate a few years ago in college called Johny McCool

:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

• Registered Users Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭Diarmsquid

I have a friend of a friend called Colleen Moore.
    Now look at that name from the perspective of an Irish language speaker.

And the thing is, she's fat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 375 ✭✭im_invisible

used to work with a guy called Adam Knight, cool name, i thought, sounds like knightriders ikkle brother

• Registered Users Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Dan133269

Went to school with a knacker whose first name was Elvis, of course no one dared mock his name for fear of stabbing, theft, burning of house etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,184 ✭✭✭neuro-praxis

This is honestly true - I know a woman called Gay Hoare. (She married a man called Hoare.) I don't know why she doesn't go by Gabrielle, or whatever her full first name is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

I don't know why she doesn't go by Gabrielle, or whatever her full first name is.

Because she'd rather not be Gabby Hoare!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

I've met a few Joseph Kings, and found it funny.

"You must be Joe King"....

• Registered Users Posts: 3,135 ✭✭✭flanzer

Ya, i remember John Motson commentating at one game and he said
    "and Seamen comes rushing out....."

Then there was that player, Naybet I think, that lobbed Seaman from the half way line! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭fish fingers

i remember selling a tv to a lady called Rose Bush. An aussie lad called Billy Rockett. There is called Donogh Mc Donough livin in Galway,he used to live on Mc Donough avenue. I swear to god.:)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

I got a phone call n work from a chap called Mr. Harry Bent before. Poor ****er.