Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Continuing The Nextwave Loving

• 27-09-2006 1:44pm
    Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 11,045 Mod ✭✭✭✭

391px-Nextwave_issue_11.jpeg

Taken from here.

More reasons to love this comic, as if you needed any. (And surely Aaron Stack's blinky diodes should be enough for anyone).

• Registered Users Posts: 3,294 ✭✭✭Jack B. Badd

Mark Millar licks goats? lol :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 Longshadow

Pure laugh-aloud entertainment distilled into convenient four colour format. I love it. Great fun every single issue. Genuinely wish there were more titles this could be said for..
    And I just wish that issue was released before the Dublin comic-con. Be a lot of fun to get Mark Millar to sign that, rather than Civil War or some such. Yuks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭thumbninja

Puney Fleshy ones.. tell me this and tell me no more.. okay maybe a little more.. if you feel like it..

when is nextwave collected ed paperback coming out?

I love that cover. Millar? yes. yes he does.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭bombidol

I got a hardback copy of the first collection off GYC on sat for a score.

a score? hummm.
    I am intrigued by your ideas and wish to subscribe to your pamphlet.

or to www. hawtcomics anyway

Worth a gander, bombidol? Or did you only order it on Saturday?

Totally worth getting jack b. Totally!

I lost my copies in the divorce so the collected is the way of the future.

Do it. and if you don't like it. you can kick my ass - deal?

lol. I don't think I'll be kicking your arse over 20 quid tbh :D I'll put in the order later when I figure out where it was I drunkenly hid my credit card to prevent myself buying anymore comics off Hawt Colin :o

bought it at the convention on sat havent got a chance to read it yet. The fact that it has chord boxes for the theme song makes it amazing though.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 11,045 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

I assure one and all of you that it's frankly impossible to dislike Nextwave unless you have no soul and no sense of humour. Which means that Jack B. Badd may encounter problems, what with the whole ginger/soulless/daywalker thing... but the rest of ye should be grand ;)

Feck off, you! Hmmm...time to let the baby out of the microwave, methinks.

• Registered Users Posts: 29 Miss Shelly

:( I can't believe it's only going to 12 issues!

So unfair!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 11,045 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

I know :( Ellis has said that, come the end of the current series, they'll review and see if they can come up with material for a season 2, but I'd be surprised if he did keep it up, especially now he's on board with this new Thunderbolts project for Marvel...

I think it's better if they do stop at 12 and then revisit if/when material comes. Keep it good rather than keep it going. y'know?

like we3. great lil 3 parter and happy to leave it at that.
    (SIng it with me! we love you GM!)

Argh, I'd forgotten that you were part of the Grant Fanclub. I agree about We3 though. Did you read Vimanarama? I loved the first issue, then couldn't get the rest of it and wasn't sure if it'd be worth it...

(Speaking of 3-part stories, Ellis did a few fantastic ones a couple of years back. Red, Tokyo Storm Warning, Two Step...all great little series, so they were. Anybody read any of 'em?)

I'm keeping my mouf shut about Morrison...just in case it is permanently shut for me :( I have no monies in my cc for teh buying of teh comics. Stupid shiney new digital camera!

Ellis just sent out the following on the Bad Signal, since it's evidently the source of much discussion at present....

"Okay. I just this second got the go-ahead from Nick Lowe to talk about
    this. So here we go:

Sales on the singles are okay, if not great. Sales on the first collection
    have apparently been terrific.

We were on such a roll with NEXTWAVE that I was actually into the
    idea of doing a second year, which is highly unusual for me and
    work-for-hire properties. So Marvel sat down and looked at the numbers,
    as they wanted to do a second year too.

What they found was that, at our current sales levels, they could afford
    for me to write it, but not for Stuart to draw it. Stuart, as a
    Marvel-exclusive artist, commands a fee commensurate with his
    astonishing talent. I'm WFH-exclusive too, but they just send me
    whisky and loose women and I'm fine. So, basically, I could continue
    to write NEXTWAVE, but we'd need to find another artist. This, to me,
    was just wrong. I mean, Stuart would obviously be given a far better
    job that had actual readers attached to it, but it still seemed a bit like
    the numbers were conspiring to fire him for doing his job too well.
    Everyone at Marvel pitched in to try and make it work, but the
    numbers were just against us.

So NEXTWAVE #12 will be the final issue of the ongoing series.

(To clear up a common misconception: NEXTWAVE was always
    pitched as an ongoing series. However, my original intent was to
    do 12 and then pass it on to someone else. This got garbled,
    somewhere down the chain of communication, and so the first
    issue or two got solicited as "part xxx of 12".)

However. The numbers game changes when you posit things in
    terms of limited series.

NEXTWAVE #12 will be the last issue of the ongoing series: but
    there will be more NEXTWAVE to come, presented as a sequence
    of limited series.

This was all worked out some months ago, so I had plenty of time
    to work the final NEXTWAVE sequence into a conclusion of sorts.
    #11 even features a twelve-page spread that you'll have to buy six
    copies of the comic to assemble into its full splendour. Everyone
    wishes I'd thought of that eight or nine months ago.

That was the news. Return to your duties.

-- W

(feel free to copy and spread far and wide, thereby saving me the job.)"

balls. Finished the first TPB (or hardback in my case) of Nextwave. Great stuff. What issue is it on now?

Issue9 is due out in a couple of weeks, I think.

Balls so it will be a while before the next collection is out.

Yeah, I can't see it being out before February or March at the earliest to be honest. Still, after reading the solicitation text for issue #9 I just can't get too upset about it.

"This was all worked out some months ago, so I had plenty of time
    wishes I'd thought of that eight or nine months ago."

Damn you Ellis!

thumbninja wrote:
    "This was all worked out some months ago, so I had plenty of time
    wishes I'd thought of that eight or nine months ago."

What the hell is that all about? I thought he was joking when I read it on Bad Signal .. It's not like Ellis to pull a stunt like that.
    If it is true it's kinda s**t. And how does a twelve page spread across six issues work anyway? Variant issues with different parts of the spread I presume?
    He's surely kidding, right?

• Registered Users Posts: 29 Miss Shelly

Do you really think Marvel will pay for the extra printing a 6 issue spread would cost?
    Honestly?

From the sounds of it, it's one issue of which six copies would have to be bought. Maybe it's a 3-D ensemble...or Ellis is using 6-sided paper

Do you really think Marvel will pay for the extra printing a 6 issue spread would cost?
    Honestly?

Obviously they wouldn't put in an extra six pages, they'd just include those six in the 22, a la All Star Batman And Robin The Boy Wonder. But it doesn't sound like that's the plan anyway, more or a six variant issue thing.
    Wot like I said below Miss Shelly.. Or did you mean that six variant interiors would cost extra print moneys? You could have meant that. And it could be true. Good point..
    I still don't get it though. Seems a cheap trick in the vein of variant covers, and that just doesn't seem an Ellis thing.
    Once again, he was joking right?
    .. right?
    hmm.

I'm assuming he's pulling the piss, unless he's doing a six-splash-page thing which can be optionally cut out of the comic and assembled into a poster...

For dem's dats interested, five page preview of Nextwave #9 is to be found here:

http://www.popcultureshock.com/nextwave-9-preview/40485/

rejoice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 youngmac

only 12 issues! Arse! I love this series!

I only picked it up because I wandered into Sub City in Galway and didn't see anything I wanted to buy, so I grabbed the first thing I saw to save face.

I hope they do another series somewhere down the line, with the same creative team. How can you not love a comic which has the Captain given the dread Rorkannu a flushie?