Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Major Turnoffs...

• 27-09-2006 3:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

>A girl who goes to the toilet with a newspaper under her arm

Has this EVER happened?!?!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

I like nose peircings personally.
    Girls who are too skinny.
    I just wanna force-feed them cake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭arseagon

Girls with BO. Sometimes all that perfume just aint enough :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭Dr_Teeth

>smoking
    >gum-chewing
    >orange skin :)
    >facial piercings
    >really big tattoos!

emm that's it I think..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭Miss Fluff

Guys who wax
    Guys who don't like playing/watching sports of any sort
    Guys who spend day in/day out smoking as much pot as possible, i.e. no drive

What in the hell is wrong with waxing???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭OliviaM

>guys who fart in public
    >guys who sweat a lot
    >guys who asks for face powder
    >guys with smelly feet
    >guys with dundruff
    :mad: :mad: :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,173 ✭✭✭D

Smoking,
    Too uptight,
    no sense of humour,
    having the personality of a stale cabbage,
    too much makeup,
    too much perfume,
    B.O.
    Wearing clothes that are too tight (overhang).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

Girls who don't wax ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Donald-Duck

Had drunken conversation about this last night and here are our conclusions: (from the boys side).

>Girls who play rugby or camogie

There was waaaay more but i cant think of them... i'll get back to ye.
    Whats wrong with camogie? I can see the rugby thing but not camogie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭ball ox

the kind of bird you take out for a pint and she orders a big hefty pint of Murphys.

Because of GAA legs syndrome.

• Registered Users Posts: 137 ✭✭SmoothyG

Girls who snob off every guy who doesnt claim to be a millionaire, then whine about being single (this would be friends of my sister)

and girls that think a guy is there to make thier life easier i.e. the ones who use thier boobs to get whatever they want, to be honest its the men that fall for it that are the cause

• Closed Accounts Posts: 375 ✭✭im_invisible

>Girls who wear celtic jerseys
    >nose piercings
    >smoking
    all ok by me, well i like the green and white striped tops you see sometimes, not a jersy, but if u were up the north, youd know what side they were on.
    nose piercings can be kinda sexy, so can smoking, (or maybe it was just the girl, anything seh did woulda been sexy...)

>fat girls wearing thin girls clothes
    >dont know how to explain this one, i liked avril lavine a lot better before she dyed her hair/ started to get 'made up', liked christina ag. in the 'genie in a bottle' vid. not much since

• Registered Users Posts: 441 ✭✭brown*eyed*girl

Guys who spend longer than me to get ready

Guys who deliberately try make you jealous & play mind games

Lack of self hygeine - I like the rugged look and even the scruffy look but you can still be clean

Guys who oogle every single girl/woman that pass by

Arrogance - think Robbie Williams - something about him that turns my stomach and I've met a few who've had his air about them. Hard to explain but some guys have it and it just turns me right off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 375 ✭✭im_invisible

OliviaM wrote:
    >guys who fart in public
    >guys who sweat a lot
    >guys with smelly feet
    >guys with dundruff
    :mad: :mad: :mad:

3 outta 5 aint bad ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 463 ✭✭greenkittie

Miss Fluff wrote:
    Guys who wax

:/ I find both of those things definate turn ons!
    Miss Fluff wrote:

Totally agree with this, could never go with a stoner, would bore me to tears.

I hate...
    >Guys who have very short or shaved heads
    >Guys with big muscles
    >Guys with hairy chests
    >Guys with long hair
    >Guys with ear peircings
    >Guys with trousers that are too short or for them or just generally badly fitting clothes, I always date guys who dress better than I do!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭Love2love

Guys who scratch or touch their nether regions in Public. Seen 2 today, what is it with that? Are they checking to see if its fallen off or something? 1 had his hand down his trousers. Not good at all.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,350 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

Love2love wrote:
    Guys who scratch or touch their nether regions in Public. Seen 2 today, what is it with that? Are they checking to see if its fallen off or something? 1 had his hand down his trousers. Not good at all.

Ooh no don't like that either.

Guys who spit or hock up in public :(
    Guys with little or no concept of basic hygiene
    Guys who don't brush their teeth
    Guys who smoke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Theres nothing more unsexy than a girl who doesn't laugh at Pigheads jokes. Fake laughs turn me on.Mmmm

Oh and girls who don't bother to fake the big O thus risking hurting my fragile feelings. They can fcuk off too.

And finally if your names Jacinta you can keep on walking.
    Apart from that though, PIgheads easy.

re the ball scratching:
    OK Sometimes, you get a shooting pain, maybe a hair pulled out down there or something, and regardless of where you are, human dick survival instinct kicks in and we have to grab. Other times, guys are assuming nobody is looking and just re-arranging down there. Because our genitalia is external, it gets itself into all sorts of crazy places and zany situations.
    Someone should really make a movie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Interesting thread.

For me turn offs are:
    - Strong Dublin accents i.e "Ah jaysis howiye" Get away from me!
    - Excessive swearing. I absolutely hate it.
    - Drug use. I don't mind if a girl smokes a bit of pot from time to time but if they're doing pills,coke etc then I don't want to know them.
    - Tattoos. Some of the small ones can be cute but anything on their arms,chest,back etc. are a major turn off.
    - Spitting. Don't see it too often, but a girl spitting in public is disgusting. Same applies for guys I would imagine.
    - Wearing sports jerseys casually. If a girl has training,or its a match day then grand but wearing jerseys casually is wrong and a big turn off.
    - Overuse of fake tan. A little can look well once applied properly, but layers of it leading to the orange look (which rubs off on their/your clothing) isn't nice.
    - Wearing too-revealing clothing. A bit of skin is nice, if you've got it then flaunt it but boob-tubes,micro-skirts etc, even on a great bodied girl just scream "I want attention!!!" and thats something I don't like.
    - Too short hair. Girls with short hair are a major turn off for me.
    - Excess bítching. A bit of gossiping is fine by me, but if someone continually bítches about their friends or other people behind their back then I don't want to know them.
    - Hairy legs, armpits, upper lips, backs etc.
    - Bad breath.
    - Excessive and tacky jewellery. Simple is nice, but wearing a lot of jewellery or tacky crap is horrible.
    -Scumbag girls in general (though they'll fit into a lot of the above categories.)

Thats all I can think of at the moment...
    Guys who wax
    >guys who fart in public
    >guys who sweat a lot
    >guys with smelly feet
    >guys with dundruff
    Guys who spend longer than me to get ready

Lack of self hygeine - I like the rugged look and even the scruffy look but you can still be clean

Guys who oogle every single girl/woman that pass by

Arrogance - think Robbie Williams - something about him that turns my stomach and I've met a few who've had his air about them. Hard to explain but some guys have it and it just turns me right off.
    >Guys who have very short or shaved heads
    >Guys with big muscles
    >Guys with hairy chests
    >Guys with long hair
    >Guys with ear peircings
    >Guys with trousers that are too short or for them or just generally badly fitting clothes, I always date guys who dress better than I do!
    Guys who spit or hock up in public
    Guys with little or no concept of basic hygiene
    Guys who don't brush their teeth
    Guys who smoke

1 out of 24 (I smoke) so far so I think I'm pretty safe :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭layke

Love2love wrote:

Do you know what it's like to have a hairy bollocks stuck to the side of your leg?

It sure ain't comfy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

OliviaM wrote:

What? Does this happen?

What the hell is face powder?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 197 ✭✭Endasaurus

rb_ie wrote:
    Interesting thread.

For me turn offs are:
    - Strong Dublin accents i.e "Ah jaysis howiye" Get away from me!
    - Excessive swearing. I absolutely hate it.
    - Drug use. I don't mind if a girl smokes a bit of pot from time to time but if they're doing pills,coke etc then I don't want to know them.
    - Tattoos. Some of the small ones can be cute but anything on their arms,chest,back etc. are a major turn off.
    - Spitting. Don't see it too often, but a girl spitting in public is disgusting. Same applies for guys I would imagine.
    - Overuse of fake tan. A little can look well once applied properly, but layers of it leading to the orange look (which rubs off on their/your clothing) isn't nice.
    - Too short hair. Girls with short hair are a major turn off for me.
    - Excess bítching. A bit of gossiping is fine by me, but if someone continually bítches about their friends or other people behind their back then I don't want to know them.

Bravo, my sentiments exactly!!

Also when a girl is very poor at keeping conversations interesting, a small level of wit and interest is needed to keep a conversation afloat. Talking about the mundane when out on a date or meeting someone for the first time can be very dreary.

And when you text them and you need a translator for all the jumbled text speak that comes back! A small level of this is practical but I hate it when its hard to make out a word!

Girls who seem to think they have that their sex have the monopoly on feelings and that guys should just be hulking GAA fanatics who love to get pissed, and nothing more.

And gingers :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Weird noses. It's my "thing", I can't stand noses that are oddly proportioned.

Skinny women - if your elbows are wider than your forearms (or your biceps :eek: ), and your tits looks like bee stings, you don't have enough fat on you. Same goes for that freaky "My shoulders look like big rounds balls on the top of my tiny bicep" thing. Ugh.

Any woman in the usual scanger look - big dangly hoopy earrings, finglas facelift, "an' all an' anyways" accent, etc.

Bad breath, or general bad odours...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 296 ✭✭BeansMeansHynes

Ha ha funny but rank layke.

I have to say guys in tracksuit bottoms turn me off altogether especially fat blokes with their big hairy belly hanging out over the top . Gimme a nice tight pair of jeans anyday.

Blokes who continually spit and hack up bits of their lungs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 822 ✭✭✭Kastro

phycotic girls..
    girls that think the world revolves around them...
    girls that are up thier own arsse
    girls that are 2 forward.. e.g. getting a txt from a girl you hardly know saying something like "i want to **** your brains out" it just dont do it for me.
    chavs :D
    the orange clothed chavs
    girls that expect a fella to oay for everything
    girls that are naturally under the thumb
    girls that complain they dont know why they aint got a fella coz they would be the perfet gf.. (the whining is what gets to them i bet)

i dont have a problem with body hair.. if she has it so be it..

ill think of more and get back to yis

layke wrote:
    Do you know what it's like to have a hairy bollocks stuck to the side of your leg?

It sure ain't comfy.

If it's not comfy, then shave it! I understand that sometimes it has to be done but when a bloke is walking the street with his hand down his trousers, Al Bundy style or worst actually playing for more than a couple of seconds, well that's just wrong on sooooo many levels!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,458 ✭✭✭CathyMoran

* short men
    * men who are not clever
    * men who do not have a sense of humour
    * men who do not even know how to switch on a computer
    * men who spend a lot of time on their appearance
    * men who are vain
    * men who do not believe in a balanced work and home life
    * men who do not have nice eyes
    * men who are thoughtless
    * men with low libidos

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭Miss Fluff

CathyMoran wrote:
    * short men

Oh Good Lord yes indeedy! Little Man Syndrome, always perpetually angry at the world at being so wee imo ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭skeegan

people who litter...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

CathyMoran wrote:
    * short men
    * men who are not clever
    * men who do not have a sense of humour
    * men who do not even know how to switch on a computer
    * men who are vain
    * men who do not believe in a balanced work and home life
    * men who do not have nice eyes
    * men who are thoughtless
    * men with low libidos
    Hurray, 1 of 34 now (afaik!) :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 ✭✭✭JungleBunny

CathyMoran wrote:
    * men who are vain

Very true!
    Especially don't like men who use GHD's and take longer to do their hair than me!!
    Long hair in general for me is a big turn off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Girls who expect lads to do all the chasing (It's how I lost all my weight as a teenager :()
    Girls who always use the men versus women arguement for everything.
    "You go girl!"
    Shaaddapp!

You Go Ruu!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

girls who are orange
    girls who are hairy
    girls who constantly need reassurance
    girls who can't make up their own mind
    girls who start sentences with "n'anyways"
    girls who wear tracksuits
    girls who have short hair
    girls with underwear too small (you know 4 boobs, 4 ass cheacks)
    girls with underwear too big (size 14 thong on a size 10 girl, somewhere up around her bellybutton)
    girls with big feet

probably more but I don't know?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

Major Turnoffs...

Exit 9 off the M50?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

seamus wrote:
    finglas facelift

Genius!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 822 ✭✭✭Kastro

finding a a pube in your burger king chips....
    its happened to me.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭el rabitos

women with hairy nipples...wtf is THAT about :eek:
    hairy women in general
    noisey eating habbits
    women that say "lets party!"
    cant stand jewlery on women, such as necklaces and rings, piercings and tattoos on the right girl and in the right area can be very sexy tho.
    hairy upper lips :eek:
    thick dublin accents
    too much make up, or any make up really, less is more
    women who wear revealing clothes, weather their hot or not, if you dont know how to be sexy with clothes on, you have no hope with them half off, tacky.

um....thats all i can think of right now, but mandy moore could have all of the above and i'd still eat chips out of her knickers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭free2fly

guys with really bad breath
    guys with little or no intelligence
    guys with no respect for women
    guys who think that only the woman should cook and clean
    guys with no sense of responisibilty
    guys who are intimidated by independent women
    guys who aren't even a little affectionate
    guys who don't know how to kiss

• Closed Accounts Posts: 197 ✭✭Endasaurus

free2fly wrote:
    guys who don't know how to kiss

How will they learn if you dont help them? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

*Guys who arent tall
    *Guys who smoke
    *Guys who like the pub scene every weekend
    *Tracksuits
    *Celtic jerseys
    *Cork, Kerry and Dublin accents
    *Short/no head hair
    *Torso/Back hair
    *Baseball hats
    *Spitting in public
    *Bad hygiene
    *Jewellery
    *Guys who show off/exaggerate in front of their friends
    *Guys who dont know what intimacy is

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭free2fly

Endasaurus wrote:
    How will they learn if you dont help them? :)

At my age I certainly hope a guys knows how to kiss ;) but if it was a young'n I suppose I could force myself to give him a few lessons :D

• Registered Users Posts: 393 ✭✭Dickmcsavage

You could definitly say the same thing about girls TBH. In my personal experience, I've seen more girls do that sort of thing to blokes than the other way around and I'm sure alot of blokes will agree with me on that one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

turn offs: stupidity, snobbery, loudmouthedness, uptightness, complete girlie-girl-ness, clinginess, showing too much flesh, too much make-up.

turn ons: sense of humour, ability to be silly (not take herself seriously), intelligence, nice bum.