Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Major Turnoffs...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 463 ✭✭greenkittie

Derek B wrote:
    What's acceptable? 1.6 inches, no more no less?

Just as long as its not super short shaven hair or below ear length hair.

• Registered Users Posts: 81 ✭✭Sp@rtacus

Mrs_Doyle wrote:
    It is called a Part Time job for a reason, and you should not expect anyone to pay for your education.

Here here! Mrs Doyle
    daveirl wrote:

Full time education my hole. At the risk of going waaay off topic, how many hours a week did you have? 12? 15? Where did the cash come from for your various living and socialising expenses? Daddy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 molypiper

guy

w/ smelly underarm
    w/ smelly feet
    w/ smelly breath
    :eek: :eek: :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Smellyirishman

molypiper wrote:
    guy

w/ smelly underarm
    w/ smelly feet
    w/ smelly breath
    :eek: :eek: :eek:

*snaps fingers*
    Drat. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭Miss Fluff

Find it quite a turnoff when people stray so WILDLY off topic ffs :rolleyes:

Edit: Note to Plonk. Thanks for diving on the proverbial hand grenade to save the sanity of the Boards community btw
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2054996602

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

I have another turn off.... people with no ambition! you know late 20's and stocking shelves in superquinn... have you no drive or ambition to do something with your life?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

In a no doubt ill fated attempt to swing this back on topic....

Turn Offs
    - girls who talk about themselves consistently, or if they do ask you a question it is purely to lead you into asking them back at which point the procede to talk about themselves endlessly.....again
    - girls who have no sense of humour about themselves. For me, self depreciation is a key aspect of anyone's Ego Leash, if you can't laugh at yourself you have f*ck all right to laugh at anyone else. ;)
    - girls who assume that you will be attracted to them as if by looking your way in a pub or club they are doing you some kind of favour. Sorry ladies, we're just here to have a good time, not validate your opinions about how "hot" your supposed to be.
    - girls who treat sex as some kind of favour. Sorry dear, you either want to screw or not, and if your doing it when you don't wanna, then that just worries me tbh.

Is it so much to ask for a nice young lady with an easy smile, a nice laugh, who likes Family Guy and Tool, maybe goes to the gym and lifts a little, see's Fight Club as more than just a film about Brad's 6-pack and men punching each other, understands that Jack Daniels is in fact the finest drink in the world and that Sunday mornings are for lying in bed reading Pratchett (after a shag of course should she be in the mood ;) ) ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭plonk

Dragan wrote:

Is it so much to ask for a nice young lady with an easy smile, a nice laugh, who likes Family Guy and Tool, maybe goes to the gym and lifts a little, see's Fight Club as more than just a film about Brad's 6-pack and men punching each other, understands that Jack Daniels is in fact the finest drink in the world and that Sunday mornings are for lying in bed reading Pratchett (after a shag of course should she be in the mood ;) ) ?

PERFECT. If only dreams could come true;)

plonk wrote:
    PERFECT. If only dreams could come true;)

Okay, so i will keep an eye out for two!! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 703 ✭✭✭ThrownAway

My course is 27 hours a week and I work 35 hours a week that's supposed to be a ''part-time'' job. The thing is - I don't even need the money my parents are paying my way through college anyway. I just need the money to save/spend on nights out. But I can see myself fail first year if I don't quit soon. Mrs_Doyle, you were 14 ffs :D you're just pissed off at the people that have easier lives. Had less worries. Parents want the best for their children. If they have the money, they have the money. There's nothing wrong with it.

More turnoffs...

Guys who let one aspect of life consume theirs.
    Guys who are really really emotional :eek: can't handle that atall.

ThrownAway wrote:
    Guys who are really really emotional :eek: can't handle that atall.

Blame Cosmo and other such mags. It spent years telling you ladies to get us to open up, now you can't shut the flood gates!!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 87 ✭✭WunderFull

Kastro wrote:
    phycotic girls..
    girls that think the world revolves around them...

i dont have a problem with body hair.. if she has it so be it..

ill think of more and get back to yis

Dear I presume you mean psychotic...in that case you misunderstand the term "psychotic", it doesn't mean being out of one's head "crazy"; common enough misunderstanding.

Huzzah for being relaxed with the body hair, keeps the ladies warm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭Bicky

:/ I find both of those things definate turn ons!
    You sound like my kind of girl. :)

ball ox wrote:
    the kind of bird you take out for a pint and she orders a big hefty pint of Murphys.

And why not? Makes up for the farting which no doubt she puts up with from fellas.

Ruu wrote:
    Girls who expect lads to do all the chasing (It's how I lost all my weight as a teenager :()
    Girls who always use the men versus women arguement for everything.
    "You go girl!"
    Shaaddapp!
    Love2love wrote:
    You Go Ruu!!!!!!!

I second that.

free2fly wrote:
    guys with really bad breath
    guys with little or no intelligence
    guys with no respect for women
    guys who think that only the woman should cook and clean
    guys with no sense of responisibilty
    guys who are intimidated by independent women
    guys who aren't even a little affectionate
    guys who don't know how to kiss

Ooh, bit of an adamantly indept woman are we? I detect some feminism here.

Hmmm, should there be a poll for this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

*deep breath* Thread tidied, no more off topicness!
    Jimoslimos wrote:
    Girls with big hoopy earrings
    Girls who wear sovereign rings
    Girls who wear tracksuits AND make-up

Definitely, I have yet to spot anyone in the US with the tracksuits and makeup. Not the same skanger or scally types in America I guess. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭Busterpuss

arrogance
    no sense of humour
    small d*cks!
    Shortness, like to be taller than me
    picking nose
    goaties/beards
    shirts under jumpers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 157 ✭✭Dylan_James

I would have to say, skangers, gold earrings, funny smells (check my other posts) and then, well i am easy i suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 460 ✭✭Lurk

Turn-offs:
    • Moodiness
    • Skinflints
    • writers of long lists

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 996 ✭✭✭Léan

* Guys who are too anti drugs (i.e. think smoking stuff is an addiction :rolleyes: etc..)
    *Guys who boast about how much they can drink.
    *Who think they're always right, or always know better.
    *Guys who like mostly NME music. Boooorrrringgg.
    *Who like McDonalds... Well.. That just kind of annoys me... I'm weird...

One, three and four. The rest i could get over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,559 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

• Sovereign Rings
    • Tats of any kind, especially the dot ones you do yourself at Borstal to show how many years you've been 'in'
    • Piercings other than ear
    • Short, picked at fingernails
    • Unmatching bra and knicks
    • Taller than 6 foot
    • An inch-layer of foundation
    • Bad dress sense
    • Clinginess
    • Aloofness
    • B.O.
    • No sense of humour
    • One eye on me, the other on the biological clock

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

WTF?
    Does this girl exist

Dude,

You are making things really difficult here.
    Not really, to summerise I like chilled out girls who are into good music, have half a brain and don't follow the crowd religiously.

Too much to ask?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

Dragan wrote:

i have every one of those qualities except one. if you can look past the penis i'm yours big boy :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭L31mr0d

Irish chicks *huzzah*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭My name is Mud

Because our genitalia is external, it gets itself into all sorts of crazy places and zany situations.
    Someone should really make a movie.

ROFL!:D

• Registered Users Posts: 193 ✭✭Muzzy

Girls who can't walk in their shoes

Girls who get TOO drunk and make a show of me in the taxi

Girls that I have been with in the night club and then make me walk around with them with arms linked i.e show me off to their mates instead of out the door and to hers/mine

Girls who loose all manners when they get to Supermac's or any late night take-away or 24hr station, both table manners and courtesy to staff

Girls that are my age and ask me if I am on Bebo when having a chat, jesus, it's for secondary school students now

Girls who overplay the ditzy thing

"Oh my god" girls

Girls who look at me all night and wait until they are drunk to say anything to me, not a great turn on when you stagger over to me, have yer left eye facing East and the other facing West, kill a cat cat with Alcohol breath and mumble some sort of a question

Girls who shout "I love this song" when they really mean, "I know what this song is" and race to the dance floor.......MID SENTENCE

....The rest about Orange skin, belly rolls etc has already been covered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 magnum69

girls....

who can't find time to shave their legs

who loves to show off

whoe got wet. clampy hands.:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 murrayeel

men who

snore:mad:

cheats:mad:

lies:mad:

i have every one of those qualities except one. if you can look past the penis i'm yours big boy :D

Sadly dude, someone having a penis is pretty much number one on my list of turnoffs! :D

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 2,432 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peteee

Its probably been said already but.... Dirty dublin city accents on hot girls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,832 ✭✭✭littlebug

...a guy...who smells... of pigs...:eek:

Why oh why did you have to make me remember that?

It's been 20 years ffs!!!

/shudders/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭bongo85

*Girls that think short guys are a major turn off (sure we're all the same size when we're lying down :D )
    *Girls that claim they never fart
    *Too much make up
    *Too revealing close (less is more! or was it more is less?? depends how ya look at it)
    *and finally girls who hate ur music :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭bongo85

Dung breathed woman. yick!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

Peteee wrote:
    Its probably been said already but.... Dirty dublin city accents on hot girls.

Yeah thats bad but it could be worse.....dirty Drogheda/Dundalk accents on hot girls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭ladybirdirl

Guys who think because you're a girl you couldn't have a decent opinion on cars/computer stuff etc :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 496 ✭✭trilo

Smelly boys!!!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,104 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

"Oh my god" girls
    Fake tan
    Smoking
    Girls who wear shoes and complain about them being so uncomfortable all ****ing night.
    Girls without manners.A girl who is too much of a 'girly' girl.
    Spitting.
    Girls that think the more stuff you buy them the more you love them, etc with consumer stuff.
    Are religious.
    No sense of humour.
    Girls who need to drink to have a good time.
    Makeup, less is better, apart from eyeshadow. Rawr etcetera
    Girls who care about celebrities and stupid stupid magazines, although I put up with this one always.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭Dun laoire

A big pair of period panties.:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 463 ✭✭greenkittie

magnum69 wrote:
    whoe got wet. clampy hands.:mad:

Not fair! Some people just have a problem *cries*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭free2fly

WunderFull wrote:
    Ooh, bit of an adamantly indept woman are we? I detect some feminism here.

Perhaps a wee bit ;) I just believe that men are adults too and should be responsible for cleaning up their messes. I'm not his maid, or his mother :cool:

free2fly wrote:
    Perhaps a wee bit ;) I just believe that men are adults too and should be responsible for cleaning up their messes. I'm not his maid, or his mother :cool:

Well if you were his ma then you have much bigger and weirder things to be worried about. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

Very bitchy girls
    Two faced girls
    Girls that smell
    Smoking
    Heavy drinking
    Religious
    Women that can't take a joke
    When they go on about men being pigs and are lazy, smelly, think they are better than women. But then can't take it when men say something bad about women and then have the nerve to go on the "You're a sexsist" rant.
    Oh oh Girls that have a personality of a plank.

Thats all I can think of now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 727 ✭✭✭shinners007

well let me see,:rolleyes:

*guys who talk about cars all the time.
    * guys trying to dance that actually cant.
    * guys who dont shave daily
    *guys who dont gel/comb their hair daily.
    * guys with dirty long greasy looking hair.
    * guys who wear pink tops--such a turn off.
    * guys with earings!
    * Guys that wear v neck jumpers that look like ones their
    mammy knitted for em years ago!!
    * guys with kerry accents- just cant understand a word they do be sayin!!!
    * guys thatt dont brush their teeth.
    * guys with plucked looking eyebrows--just to feminine!
    * guys who spit on the street.
    * guys who pick their noses while driving/talking to some one!!
    * guys who fart and laugh instead of using their manners.

will think of more im sure!!!!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,457 ✭✭✭dabbler2004

* tattoos on breasts (anywhere else is fine though-I'm a bit odd)
    * girls who buy shoes that are 'gorgeous' etc. but then moan that 'my feet hurt!'
    * girls that wear low cut tops or/and cropped tops and spend all the time rearranging them (either cover up or have everything on show ffs!)
    *girls that don't say anything in bed, at all, ever :mad: -any sort of feedback would be good (and no I don't have any trouble satisfying women before ye start)
    *girls whose breath reeks of smoke but I'm not anti-smoking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,662 ✭✭✭Trinity

[QUOTE=dabbler2004
    *girls that don't say anything in bed, at all, ever :mad: -any sort of feedback would be good (and no I don't have any trouble satisfying women before ye start).[/QUOTE]

Some guys are like this too - it IS a turn off! makes you feel like giving up and turning on the telly :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,818 ✭✭✭Bateman

smoke breath is the worst, no doubt about it. I also dislike scaly tongues. Don't think there's a non-weird way of saying it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 197 ✭✭Endasaurus

well let me see,:rolleyes:

* guys trying to dance that actually cant.

How can we possibly improve without practising? :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭el diablo

steve06 wrote:
    girls who are orange
    girls who are hairy
    girls who constantly need reassurance
    girls who can't make up their own mind
    girls who start sentences with "n'anyways"
    girls who wear tracksuits
    girls who have short hair
    girls with underwear too small (you know 4 boobs, 4 ass cheacks)
    girls with underwear too big (size 14 thong on a size 10 girl, somewhere up around her bellybutton)
    girls with big feet

probably more but I don't know?
    yep, I agree with them. my biggest turnoff is fat girls who have their flab on display by wearing belly tops etc.. turns my stomach, so it does.......:rolleyes:

and also bad make up jobs. orange face and white neck is not a good look....:eek:

We're all in this psy-op together.🤨