Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Irish football this weekend

• 05-10-2006 8:20am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,890 ✭✭✭

Contrary to the rumour that there is no club football this week...

Premier Division
    06 October 2006
    Cork City v Longford Town 7:45
    Derry City v Bohemians 7:45
    St Patrick's Athletic v Drogheda United 7:45
    UCD v Bray Wanderers 7:45
    Waterford United v Shelbourne 7:45

First Division
    06 October 2006
    Monaghan United v Limerick FC 8:00
    Athlone Town v Cobh Ramblers 7:45
    Galway United v Shamrock Rovers 7:45
    07 October 2006
    Kildare County v Dundalk 7:30
    Kilkenny City v Finn Harps 3:30

FAI Cup
    Quarter-final 05 October 2006
    Killester United v Sligo Rovers 8:00

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭YeatsCounty

Killester 0-1 Rovers after 12 minutes. :)

And now it's 1-1 after 18 minutes. Bugger. :-/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

You can do it Killester :D

kdjac

KdjaCL wrote:
    You can do it Killester :D
    No they can't, the Bit O'Red will prevail! :D

It's a bit nerve wracking right now but I'm still confident.

Killester 1-2 Rovers :)

Alan Hughes with the header from a corner.

Killester 2-2 Rovers after 51 minutes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

haha

haha
    And now Rovers are leading 3-2.

Haha.

Scrap that. Now it's 3-3.

Lol

Cmon 10 minutes left !!!!

kdjac

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

They'll do it in injury time.

Full time: 3-3

It's going to extra time. Rovers could have snatched it right at the death but we like to make life difficult for ourselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,147 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

Sounds like a cracking game, listening to it on the web stream on ocean fms page.

4-3 rovers.

Yes! 4-3 to Rovers, Paul McTiernan just before the end of the first period of extra time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,206 ✭✭✭gustavo

4-3 !

Sounds like a cracking game, listening to it on the web stream on ocean fms page.
    Same as. I wish I was at the game but I'll have to settle for going to Montreal hockey games instead, heh.

I'll be back next year though to see Rovers play again. :)

*wipes brow*

We survived, just about. :o Rovers win 4-3. Semi finals, here we come!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,426 ✭✭✭Roar

big night at the top end of the table tonight. Tricky ties on paper for Cork CIty, Shels and Derry, but i'd expect all three to win easily.

City on a high after beating bray 6-0 last week, but hat trick hero roy o'donovan is out. John o'flynn is set to come back in, but will he last more than 45 minutes without stubbing his toe or breaking a fingernail or whatever "injury" he has this week? im not sure. we need a fully fit flynny for the run in, and 90 minutes tonight will do him the world of good.

While damien richardson is saying that we can still win the league, we're relying on shels and derry to slip up more than us winning all our remaining games..

Well I cant see us putting up much of a fight against ye lot. But I have been proved wrong in the past ;)

ye've always given us tough games.. at turners cross ye tend to sit back, pack the midfield and go on the counter attack.. i reckon there's only gonna be one goal in this one..

Dan oconnor is a big loss for us, has been pretty solid all season. Matthews wont be at the game either due to the current issue with the FAI. Aaron O'Callaghan will be taking charge.

what issue with the FAI?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

He got suspended for something regarding the Pats game I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,890 ✭✭✭SectionF

Potentially, we have no fewer than eight out. Should I say good luck to Derry now, or should I wait for a bit? :p

FRIDAY 6 OCTOBER
    EIRCOM LEAGUE PREMIER DIVISION
    Cork City 0-1 Longford Town 7.45
    Freeman 31
    Derry City 0-1 Bohemians 7.45
    Hunt 22
    St Pat's Ath 1-0 Drogheda Utd 7.45
    Fahey 10
    UCD 1-0 Bray Wanderers 7.45
    Dicker 9
    Waterford Utd 0-0 Shelbourne 7.45

Lol cmon waterford :D

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

Watching City here, can't believe they're 1-0 down while practically dominating the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 536 ✭✭✭swalsh

any body know the score between galway utd and shamrock rovers, i think utd were 1-0 at half time

FRIDAY 6 OCTOBER
    Freeman 31
    Derry City 1-1 Bohemians 7.45
    McHugh 54 Hunt 22

St Pat's Ath 3-0 Drogheda Utd 7.45
    Fahey 10 Gavin s/o 69
    Keegan 80
    Quigley 90
    UCD 4-0 Bray Wanderers 7.45
    Dicker 9, 56
    McNally 40
    D Doyle 66

Waterford Utd 0-1 Shelbourne 7.45
    S Byrne pen 62
    www.rte.ie/sport

2/2
    EIRCOM LEAGUE
    LATEST SCORES
    FRIDAY 6 OCTOBER
    EIRCOM LEAGUE FIRST DIVISION
    Athlone Town 2-1 Cobh Ramblers 7.45
    Magee 15 Carey 61
    Rossiter 80

Galway Utd 1-0 Shamrock Rvs 7.45
    O'Brien 45

Monaghan Utd 1-1 Limerick FC 8.00
    Farrell 15 Waters 13

Get in 3-0 Vs Drogs , we owed them that....

http://www.rte.ie/aertel/p222.htm for future reference but its so wrong sometimes its not even funny.

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 536 ✭✭✭swalsh

KdjaCL wrote:
    FRIDAY 6 OCTOBER
    Freeman 31
    Derry City 1-1 Bohemians 7.45
    McHugh 54 Hunt 22

St Pat's Ath 3-0 Drogheda Utd 7.45
    Fahey 10 Gavin s/o 69
    Keegan 80
    Quigley 90
    UCD 4-0 Bray Wanderers 7.45
    Dicker 9, 56
    McNally 40
    D Doyle 66

Waterford Utd 0-1 Shelbourne 7.45
    S Byrne pen 62
    www.rte.ie/sport

2/2
    EIRCOM LEAGUE
    LATEST SCORES
    FRIDAY 6 OCTOBER
    EIRCOM LEAGUE FIRST DIVISION
    Athlone Town 2-1 Cobh Ramblers 7.45
    Magee 15 Carey 61
    Rossiter 80

Galway Utd 1-0 Shamrock Rvs 7.45
    O'Brien 45

Monaghan Utd 1-1 Limerick FC 8.00
    Farrell 15 Waters 13

Get in 3-0 Vs Drogs , we owed them that....

http://www.rte.ie/aertel/p222.htm for future reference but its so wrong sometimes its not even funny.

kdjac

Exactly the reason I was asking!!

swalsh wrote:
    Exactly the reason I was asking!!

Bit late now but it was on galway radio station, maybe check GUFC website forum next time :p

kdjac

Great night of results for us.

We are top on merit now, nine points clear of Derry and they have three games in hand, with us to play. They have to play Drogheda three times though, which will be tough for them.

A Cork City fan who posts not a million miles from here conceded the title in a text to me tonight. :D

seansouth wrote:

A Cork City fan who posts not a million miles from here conceded the title in a text to me tonight. :D

Whereas reality conceded it the day the season kicked off and they signed >......<

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

splendid win for Galway United tonight, sure makes the run in interesting, Galway 6 pts ahead of Rovers now, but Rovers have two games in hand. down to the wire between us, Rovers and Dundalk.
    great crowd as well, and i have to give credit to the Shamrock Rovers supporters who travelled in large numbers.with the athmosphere like tonight, i think both clubs have a lot to offer the new Premiership next season.
    we wait to see how the Premiership numbers will be decided.:confused:

Gutted! So so close but fair play to the lads, showed great teamwok and commitment tonight, im quick to complain when we show no effort but will gladly hold my hand up and acknowledge the performance we showed tonight. Least it is the end of the langers aspirations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

seansouth wrote:

In all sincerity, if that is a word, I honestly thought at 7.45 tonight, we were going to win the league. To say I am gutted beyond belief is understating the matter entirely........Fark sake, after the game I, among others, had to tell other 'fans' why Rico is not the anti christ. There was almost trouble FFS.

Tonight, well, lets put it like this, Longford are a shíte team who only know how to defend. Their goal came from a dubious free. Dave McKeown reffed, so neither of us could complain.

Meh, hopefully CCFC can decide where the title goes. Thing is, I dont know who I want to get it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

Great night for Shels last night! Pressure is all on the two City's now!

P W D L F A Pts Shelbourne 23 15 6 2 52 21 51 Cork City 24 11 11 2 28 11 44 Derry City 20 12 6 2 33 15 42 Drogheda U 22 10 8 4 23 17 38 Sligo Rvrs 23 11 5 7 30 29 38 St Pat's A 25 7 9 9 26 26 30 UCD 25 6 11 8 21 22 29 Bohemians 25 9 4 12 27 26 28 Longford Tn 23 6 8 9 17 19 26 Waterford U 25 2 5 18 18 50 11 Bray Wndrs 25 2 5 18 17 56 11

I reckon we eliminated Drogs from title race last and longford did Cork, god bless small teams and their little milestones.

kdjac

Drogs were gone weeks ago. Nay, months.

Down for the match on tuesday Seansouth? Flandogs are on me :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,890 ✭✭✭SectionF

Not a good feeling helping Shels win the title, TBH, but nice to have taken a point off St Stephen at last.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

A win is a win, very happy today! :D

arrrghhhh..

i hate longford.

Their manager last night was a disgrace, going on to the pitch trying to get john o'flynn sent off, then manhandling danny murphy.. he should have been sent off.. baker's a nasty piece of work and i was delighted to see him sent off..

on the actual football side of it, fact of the matter is last night, longford were poor, and city were poorer.. we had a number of chances, and were it not for a combination of poor finishing/that stupid fecking crossbar/and shay kelly having a superb game in goal for the town, we would have won easily.

while i wont be as hasty as gimmick in conceding the league title, i will say that after last night, its looking far less achievable. meh.. fingers crossed.

you can cross your toes as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

Down for the match on tuesday Seansouth? Flandogs are on me :D
    I'll (relucatantly! ;)) nab one! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,954 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Just about got the win on Friday. Was a deffo peno and comfortably put away by Stewie Byrne.

Very surprised to see Derry drop points at home to such an understrength Bohs team. :)

Pressure all on Derry now. They host Drogheda on Tuesday while we visit Longford. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

i never thought i'd see the day when league of Ireland first division football is way more exciting than the International side. well, it's pretty exciting for the top three. no lacking in commitment from players here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,818 ✭✭✭Bateman

There's no doubting who the big winners this weekend were, it's now Shels' to throw away; the good news is that they've thrown it away before, so there could yet be a few twists in the run-in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,954 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Bateman wrote:
    There's no doubting who the big winners this weekend were, it's now Shels' to throw away; the good news is that they've thrown it away before, so there could yet be a few twists in the run-in.

Ha ha!!! Nice try. We've dropped the same amount of points as Derry so it's not exactly in the bag, is it? And given that we still have to play Derry in the Brandywell, many would see them as favourites. Although our far superior goal difference is probably worth an extra point at this stage of the season.