Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Vocab Anyone??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 281 ✭✭Samos

I was at a class party last night and I was talking to the repeat student who had made the bold claim that she had "scored" most of her old class, and she was wondering why everyone assumed she was an absolute slut. It seems that what she meant by "to score" was "to kiss". What she didn't realize was that, where I and my classmates come from, "score" (and "shift") means "to have intercourse with"!! She wondered why this confusion arose, and I suggested that it could have been avoided by use if she used the word "kiss" when she actually meant "kiss"...

• Registered Users Posts: 11,504 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Well, once upon a time i went to St.Michael's college of ailesbury rd, a very D4 destination, and had the nice accent to boot.

However, 4 years of engineering and most of my friends coming from postcodes that are not dublin X, i have picked up a fair few twangs.

My brothers, both of whom are still attending said school, give me an awful time about my new found country slang and slight accent on some words, most notably "Man United", "Hurt" and "No" are said with a country tilt, while I now regularly call my mum "mammy" and say "open that there window" and "jaysus, its a fair bad day out today".

What will they think at the reunions??

N.B. To most country people, if not all, im sure i still sound like I am very much from Dublin, which of course I am proud of :p

EDIT: If you meet me and I do you a favour, I have just remembered that 9 times out of 10 you will be met with a "no bother" instead of "dude, its like, totally cool!"

• Registered Users Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭Scraggs

DirkVoodoo wrote:
    EDIT: If you meet me and I do you a favour, I have just remembered that 9 times out of 10 you will be met with a "no bother" instead of "dude, its like, totally cool!"

Ah lad thats fair bad.. it should be 'no bodder':p

• Registered Users Posts: 12,169 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

DirkVoodoo wrote:

What will they think at the reunions??

I'd ask for you to be escorted out.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

If I ever find myself picking up any terms from around UCD be they bogger, D4,scobe (there were some scobes loitering by theater Q. I mean real ones.Then I remembered arts points have gone down) or fashion intellectuals I want my legs chopped off and my genitals fed to rabbits.

Thats all i have to say on this topic.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭Blush_01

Not enough people use "Well" as a greeting. I'm so ashamed of all of you.

Well lads, how's the goin'? (how's the goin' can also be replaced with how's she cuttin')

"Fcuk that for a bag of chips" - anyone know where that comes from?

Yeah, I use a lot of completely different slang here to what I'd say at home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭Stepherunie

Blush_01 wrote:
    Not enough people use "Well" as a greeting. I'm so ashamed of all of you.

Oh the wonderfullness of it all - just as I read that line a colleague addresses me with the term 'Well' cue me nearly losing my cookie crisp to the floor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Le Rack

From the sounds of it everyone has had an encounter with Wexford and Waterford people, or else we just stole it from everywhere else....
    I'm starting to pick "Your mother" rather than "yore ma"...stupid adam and his shoving spare change in my underwear....
    And "No Bodder" is the BIGGEST BOGGER phrase you will ever come across!

Oh, just remembered, my friend Ed, a big GAA playing fella from Kilkenny, as rural as the come, he works in the Odeon (for like the last 5 years).

Anyway, he said one night some D4 type asked him for "a heino and a cab sav". He said if anyone ever asks for a cabernet sauvignon (excuse my spelling) as a "cab sav" he will knock them one in the jaw.

Cab sav...hehe!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,270 ✭✭✭singingstranger

"This thread is quer amusing."
    - (c) Wexford people.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

DirkVoodoo wrote:
    Oh, just remembered, my friend Ed, a big GAA playing fella from Kilkenny, as rural as the come, he works in the Odeon (for like the last 5 years).

Anyway, he said one night some D4 type asked him for "a heino and a cab sav". He said if anyone ever asks for a cabernet sauvignon (excuse my spelling) as a "cab sav" he will knock them one in the jaw.

Cab sav...hehe!

I hope that person dies of genital herpes:mad:

A CabSav is as common as calling Chapagne "Champ - ag -in "

actually while we are doing this here are the things country (mayo/weford and ??) have called me in my line of work :

"a queer hard b*st*rd"
    "a little runty boll**ks"
    "a ****ing snake, a ****ing sly snake"

there are more but you get the drift. What this has to do with UCD I dont know.

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,727 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

It's one of those borderline pseudo-UCD threads that I read for Sangre's comments and one or two others.

I speak my own Dublin/Greystones/Delgany dialect. I do say "fook" a lot though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

p_larkin99 wrote:

Cupboard = "press"
    Bacon = "rashers"

!
    I was confused with those two as well!

And whats it with 'pearer'....Its a sharpner godammit!

I have never onced called Bacon.... Bacon unless I was explaining what Rashers are to an American.
    Honestly who here says "Elevator" instead of lift?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,764 ✭✭✭✭Paul Tergat

panda100 wrote:
    I was confused with those two as well!

And whats it with 'pearer'....Its a sharpner godammit!

Yeah someone asked me for one in of my first ever lectures, i was like....what? so they then said it slower (like it made a difference)....again what?

It's "parer" and it's not slang kids.

Arrghhh!! I hate that too, a sharpener sharpens, a parer......pares???????

Either sharpener, or twozzle-wozzle will also suffice.

Darn, I just broke my pencil, where's my twozzle-wozzle??

• Registered Users Posts: 4,567 ✭✭✭delta_bravo

parer is also correct.

another good one: is it a rubber or an eraser? :D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

parer is also correct.

another good one: is it a rubber or an eraser? :D:D
    Our guidence councillor in school would never let us say rubber, as it reminded him of the other rubber.

Yea keep it simple, describe things by their function. Although I applaud twozzle-wozzle.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

humbert wrote:
    Yea keep it simple, describe things by their function.
    *Smiles sweetly*
    What do you call women then?
    *Fetches popcorn*

*Smiles sweetly*
    What do you call women then?
    *Fetches popcorn*

:p

it a rubber or an eraser? :D:D

Here if we are going to do this you better put on a rubber

Here if we are going to do this you better put on an eraser.

meh... both are good

• Registered Users Posts: 1,755 ✭✭✭elmyra

Grimes wrote:
    Here if we are going to do this you better put on a rubber

Here if we are going to do this you better put on an eraser.

meh... both are good

The people you sleep with have poor sentence structure. :p

Gotta respect people who start sentences with 'here' though.

It's one of those borderline pseudo-UCD threads that I read for Sangre's comments .

Me too though his comments werent so good in this thread considering how much potential there is to slag off culchies etc etc his standards must be slipping......

• Registered Users Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭Blush_01

I don't care, parer, sharpner, twozzle-wozzle, I still call it a topper.

Here you, now, listen. Hai you... Sound as a pound that you found on the ground.

When did sound stop being a country thing?

Ha, my ma had a problem trying to buy an eraser one day. It wouldn't have been so bad if my dad hadn't been in the shop with her and had to explain that it was an eraser she was looking for to the cashier. (Hehe, lucky I'm not a visual person!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭Stepherunie

Sound was always a country thing.

I've developed a new one from the last few days - well mainly wednesday, 'ya commie b*****d', I'm going to blame Naas. Why this has begun I don't know but I like it. ALOT

• Registered Users Posts: 4,885 ✭✭✭Stabshauptmann

Samos wrote:
    I was at a class party last night and I was talking to the repeat student who had made the bold claim that she had "scored" most of her old class, and she was wondering why everyone assumed she was an absolute slut. It seems that what she meant by "to score" was "to kiss". What she didn't realize was that, where I and my classmates come from, "score" (and "shift") means "to have intercourse with"!! She wondered why this confusion arose, and I suggested that it could have been avoided by use if she used the word "kiss" when she actually meant "kiss"...
    You should have been able to tell by the context.

And in fairness most ppl (and this convo comes up at least twice a year) thing score = meet = 'to be' with = (french) kiss

I can see why score would be a synonom for ****ing, but why shift. TBH, you are the first person Ive ever heard of using shift for ****ing. Shift has always been the teenage disco Will you shift my friend. What are youngsters up o these days...

Why not just say french kiss. Well, because that makes one sound like an american teenybopping twat.
    Why not say kiss? Its not the same thing. Thats why cool people use slang [sic].

Blush_01 wrote:
    I don't care, parer, sharpner, twozzle-wozzle, I still call it a topper.

Topper is even worse then parer!Its a sharpner!