Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Help needed with new Processor

Options
  • 15-10-2006 7:41pm
    Registered Users Posts: 773 ✭✭✭

Hey i was just wondering if i can upgrade the processor in my hp dc7600 pc as the current processor is an intel pentium D 820 2.8Ghz and i want a faster one

I have been looking at this one on komplett to upgrade to

Intel Pentium D 945 3.4GHz Socket LGA775, 4MB, BOXED w/fan
    http://www.komplett.ie/k/ki.asp?sku=322651

But since its dual core would i need to buy two? (dont laugh im new to dual core stuff)

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 812 ✭✭✭neGev

Dual core processors contain both cores on the same die, so no, you wouldn't need to buy two.
    Just make sure your current motherboard will support whatever processor you're looking to buy.

• Registered Users Posts: 773 ✭✭✭#Smokey#

ah i see.i have the following MB would that support it?

motherboardpc1.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,874 ✭✭✭✭PogMoThoin

Googled your mobo m8 & found very little on it. Are ya sure its a Pentium D, all i found mentioned P4 & hyperthreading?

yep its a pentium D 820

says so on the startup screen.

And i was wondering if you can upgrade the mobo of hp pc's or would i need a new MB as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 DOTA_POWA

I have a pentium D945 for sale. Currently it is only 2 weeks into use. SO I am selling at 125 euros. So would you like it?

I noticed you chipset is intel 945GZ/945G. They both support dual core. And the D945 is dual core anyway. Check this link http://www.intel.com/design/chipsets/express_flyer.htm

• Advertisement
  • Registered Users Posts: 340 ✭✭BULLER