Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Late Late Show in Limerick

• 17-10-2006 9:57am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 31

I suspect the main reason for bringing the Late Late Show to Limerick will be to discuss our ever present violent crime and problems with anti-social behaviour. As far as I can see it, all this serves to do is further glorify these criminal who love all of this attention. They have achieved celebrity status in the city for their horrendous behaviour as people are afraid to condemn them. There will probably be a flurry of incidents involving murder and grotesque violence between now and the Late Late Show as the celebrity scumbags vie for the limelight and importance they will be given.

• Registered Users Posts: 55,514 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Are you sure someone from Limerick isn't trying to sell a book? :)

When is the show on? Where is it being done from? UCH?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,491 ✭✭✭sioda

I thought it was questions and answers that was coming to limerick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 5 Times

Late Late Show November 10 in UCH Limerick

They will probably have a feuding gang members in with police escorts. Makes good TV. They have no conscience if they do that - a whole generation of would be gang members will start preparing for their own Late Late Show in a few years. Its glorifying violence for ratings. I ma sure Joe Young will be in the middle of it

• Registered Users Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭billy the squid

TmB wrote:
    Are you sure someone from Limerick isn't trying to sell a book? :)

When is the show on? Where is it being done from? UCH?

There is a person selling a book but she won't come near limerick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭vkid

Thats a bit unfair! Did you listen to Pat Kennys show this morning from Moyross. Very balanced in my opinion.
    And the Late Late have already said that they will not nessecarily focus on the crime issue but is dependant on what is on the national agenda at the time.(eventhough it probably will feature at some point i would say..its inevitable really) but the reason its coming to Limerick is because the UCH is one of the only places outside Dublin that could stage a major television production. In yesterdays Indo it reads that it was tried in the Opera House in Cork and Goffs in Kildare and in terms of the look of the show, it wasn't great. It is part of an overall strategy to present more of RTE's flagship programmes from around the country.If they hosted it somewhere else you'd be giving out it wasn't in Limerick. TO me even if there is a section on Limericks crime, the show coming from UCH is a good thing for the city. Half the problem with this city is people have to see negatives in everything!

5 Times wrote:
    Late Late Show November 10 in UCH Limerick

They will probably have a feuding gang members in with police escorts. Makes good TV. They have no conscience if they do that - a whole generation of would be gang members will start preparing for their own Late Late Show in a few years. Its glorifying violence for ratings. I ma sure Joe Young will be in the middle of it

I imagine it will be a normal late late with probably local musicians performing musical acts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

Bill Whelan, Frank McCourt (hasn't he a new book out?), etc. There's plenty of good stuff to report on from the Shannon region too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,338 ✭✭✭hobie

... and the "Shunnel" ..... :)

well, they could look at the route .... :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

vkid wrote:
    Thats a bit unfair! Did you listen to Pat Kennys show this morning from Moyross. Very balanced in my opinion.
    And the Late Late have already said that they will not nessecarily focus on the crime issue but is dependant on what is on the national agenda at the time.(eventhough it probably will feature at some point i would say..its inevitable really) but the reason its coming to Limerick is because the UCH is one of the only places outside Dublin that could stage a major television production. In yesterdays Indo it reads that it was tried in the Opera House in Cork and Goffs in Kildare and in terms of the look of the show, it wasn't great. It is part of an overall strategy to present more of RTE's flagship programmes from around the country.If they hosted it somewhere else you'd be giving out it wasn't in Limerick. TO me even if there is a section on Limericks crime, the show coming from UCH is a good thing for the city. Half the problem with this city is people have to see negatives in everything!

who cares what the show looks like, im sure there dozens of places that could manage it, all they had to do is do away with the camera crane ****e when the song is on... :P

\

And where would these dozens of places be oh wise one, outside of Dublin. Very few! According to RTE there is nowhere in Cork Galway or Waterford. Outside of tht you are looking at the Helix which is surprisingly in Dubland. UCH is very well setup for live TV and thats the reason it has been used many times by RTE in the past.SO tell us, where are these dozens of venues you speak of!:rolleyes:

vkid wrote:
    \

And where would these dozens of places be oh wise one, outside of Dublin. Very few! According to RTE there is nowhere in Cork Galway or Waterford. Outside of tht you are looking at the Helix which is surprisingly in Dubland. UCH is very well setup for live TV and thats the reason it has been used many times by RTE in the past.SO tell us, where are these dozens of venues you speak of!:rolleyes:

they can do live tv from anywhere, whats stopping them?

Not going to even bother! R u from Cork by any chance?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Crea

If they can do it from anywhere then why not Limerick????
    If they picked somewhere else you'd be bi***ing that they're shunning us and if they do it here you're saying (completely unfounded) they have a negative agenda.
    Are you ever happy?

would say he couldnt give a fiddlers and is just stirring ****. Someone with nothing better to do..probably not from Limerick either!

Crea wrote:
    If they can do it from anywhere then why not Limerick????
    If they picked somewhere else you'd be bi***ing that they're shunning us and if they do it here you're saying (completely unfounded) they have a negative agenda.
    Are you ever happy?

no im not I was just asking a very simple question of whats so special about the late late sudioes, that it cant be broadcast from various places, I wasn't making any comment on limerick

• Registered Users Posts: 6,173 ✭✭✭1huge1

lads give him a break
    I think he's dug himself in a corner and lets just leave him there
    or he'll come out with the opinion that Limerick people dont let things go

I have been partially vindicated already

This morning, three weeks before the show is due in Limerick, its is being discussed bt Ian Dempsey on Today.fm this morning.

Apparantly Pat Kenny surprisingly unearthed the fact that Limerick people actually have a sense of humour. Wow - thats almost a positive !!! H e was approached by a gang of teenage 'youths' who brandished a firearm and questioned how much ransom might be available were they to kidnap Pat Kenny.

The subliminal message is clear. We are funny, in an extremely dodgy council estate sort of way......

Thanks - have a good laugh now.

The Herald: "I wasn't surprised by gun toting teen"I wasn't surprised by gun toting teen - Pat:...confronted by a teen armed with a gun..."

The Times: Gardai interview Kenny over Moyross gun: "...shown a pistol..."

The Mirror: (front page)"TEEN PULLS GUN ON PAT KENNY": "...pulled a gun on..."

I am sure the good people of Moyross are delighted with this publicity.

He most definately put his foot in it by saying that a gun in moyross was about as newsworthy as a priest in the vatican.

Further concern surrounding the Late Late Show Limerick Broadcast

http://www.limerickpost.ie/dailynews.elive?id=7351&category=Daily-Thu

• Registered Users Posts: 102 ✭✭Pye

no im not I was just asking a very simple question of whats so special about the late late sudioes, that it cant be broadcast from various places, I wasn't making any comment on limerick

And it's a fair point. But everyone was too busy ripping you to pieces to note it.

Anyone care to enlighten us on why the late late studios have to be so special? And do you have media knowlege to back this up?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭bullets

He most definately put his foot in it by saying that a gun in moyross was about as newsworthy as a priest in the vatican.

Anyone know exactly just what type of gun it was? One paper reported
    it as being a Mauser Pistol but they could date back to nearly 1869!!!
    They are the ones with (early models) the sweeping brush like handles.
    (I'm not gonna give links to firearms pages in case anyone thinks its
    in bad taste)

I reckon that a Gun was not "pulled" on him but rather he was Shown the gun.
    The Papers made is sound like the wild west where someone pulled it out
    and pointed the thing at him.

~B

• Registered Users Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

lol at the comparison to moyross and the wild west,barren wasteland,horses and guns everywhere,crooked lawmen,violence everywhere,its just like it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,338 ✭✭✭hobie

Well I watched the whole show tonight and I thought it was $$$$$$ brilliant ..... music .... the laughs ... everything ....:)

• Registered Users Posts: 403 ✭✭Pikasso

hobie wrote:
    Well I watched the whole show tonight and I thought it was $$$$$$ brilliant ..... music .... the laughs ... everything ....:)
    Ditto

• Registered Users Posts: 6,173 ✭✭✭1huge1

ya it went down very well
    never thought id see the day id be watching the late late and all
    the intro to it showing the pics of limerick potrayed it very well

• Registered Users Posts: 4,871 ✭✭✭Karmafaerie

bullets wrote:
    Anyone know exactly just what type of gun it was? One paper reported
    it as being a Mauser Pistol but they could date back to nearly 1869!!!
    They are the ones with (early models) the sweeping brush like handles.
    (I'm not gonna give links to firearms pages in case anyone thinks its
    in bad taste)

I reckon that a Gun was not "pulled" on him but rather he was Shown the gun.
    The Papers made is sound like the wild west where someone pulled it out
    and pointed the thing at him.

~B

It was a replica.
    The whole thing was blown up, partly by Pat Kenny, as the person who showed it to Pat, told him it was a replica but Pat never mentioned that.

• Registered Users Posts: 51,239 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

I never usually watch the late late show or have much time for Pat Kenny but I though last nights show was good. I thought Pat Short and Jon Kenny were particularly good along with Brendan O'Carroll (for a change).

Of course Wille could not let the opportunity go by without making an appearance.

Once the opening sequence finnished the show went downhill in my opinion. The worst performance came from niall tobin, he is usually very funny but was very disappointed in his interview.

Westlife came along to sing a few careoke songs at the start, they could have at least sang one of their own songs at least.

• Registered Users Posts: 403 ✭✭Pikasso

Once the opening sequence finnished the show went downhill in my opinion. The worst performance came from niall tobin, he is usually very funny but was very disappointed in his interview.

Westlife came along to sing a few careoke songs at the start, they could have at least sang one of their own songs at least.

I agree, Niall's interview was nothing compared to some of his previous ones, but I have to comment on on your "could have at least sang one of their own songs" - I wasn't aware they have any!!!!!!!!