Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Acer Aspire 9513WSMi - What do people think?

• 17-10-2006 8:32pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,152 ✭✭✭

Ok I'm in the market for a new laptop, budget of about 1,300 to 1,700 euro

I was thinking of getting this
    http://www.laptopsdirect.ie/Acer_Aspire_9513WSMi_LX.ABY05.012/version.asp

I want a powerful laptop to do pretty much everything from gaming to developing applications.

What does everyone think? Is it overkill? Could I get something similar for cheaper?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

This seems to be a new model on the market. I had problems finding a review and couldn't find any actual user issues with it.

laptop review:
    http://www.pcpro.co.uk/shopper/labs/94448/aspire-9513-wsmi.html

Never been a fan of Acer myself to be honest.

http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&lr=&safe=off&q=Acer+laptops+problems&btnG=Search

http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&lr=&safe=off&q=Acer+Aspire+problems&btnG=Search

Heard a lot of people complaining about the Ferrari model they had and overheating.

The laptop is a good spec but make sure that they will cover the warranty and that it's a decent one to ensure your covered if it starts overheating.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Great laptop, extremely good price.

I'd be annoyed at the 1.83Ghz Core Duo though - with such a great card and large amount of memory I'd have thought it might be a 2Ghz model, as featured in most dells of the same price (but which have far inferior cards in that price range)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,152 ✭✭✭sound_wave

Thanks for the replies lads, I'll prob go with that one so, my brother has the Acer Ferrari and has had no issues with overheating, fingers crossed that I wont either.

Now to order!!

• Registered Users Posts: 522 ✭✭✭smithy1981

I'm looking at this laptop too, looks solid enough for the price. Let us know how it is when you get your hands on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 padwad

I'm thinking about buying that laptop too. Where abouts are you buying it from???

i have it ordered from laptopsdirect.ie should be here tomorrow, fingers crossed! I'll let ye know what I think when I get it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,962 ✭✭✭Greenman

sound_wave wrote:
    i have it ordered from laptopsdirect.ie should be here tomorrow, fingers crossed! I'll let ye know what I think when I get it!

So did it arrive?

NO!! :mad:

Been waiting since Friday for it and whenever I ring they tell me they can't contact the driver etc.. I'll wait until tomorrow, then the sh*t will hit the fan

Finally arrived today. Posting from it just before I bung XP Pro and Ubuntu onto it ( fired up the Ubuntu Live 6.10 CD and I must say it was perfect)

First thoughts, its big, really fecking big, so its going to take some getting used to as regards the keyboard from my Tosh Satellite. Screen is nice and bright and it runs very very fast, boot time is around 15 seconds to login screen.

Acer bundled a load of software with it which I won't be needing which all loaded and installed the first time I booted which was a little annoying. Other than that theres not too much to report until I get XP Pro running and some tinkering with Ubuntu.

I'd say go for it lads.

*EDIT*
    Oh yeah the packaging it arrived in was a joke, there was a large hole in the boxes that had pierced right through the outter box and the actual box the laptop was in and luckily it must have just stoped short of the laptop itself.