Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What pisses you off while driving?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭ergonomics

gatecrash wrote: »
    Now that reads as you hug the white line and pull over when there's someone behind you, indicating out. Which is fair enough. But you should be keeping left.

As for being on a high horse, look at my posts here, i certainly don't hold any illusions of being a jockey or anything such. I've admitted to suffering from the old leaden foot, and once upon a time driving when too tired, back in the days of my early licence, so tired in fact that i actually made myself ill.

Perfect driver, of course not. However I AM of the opinion that being stuck a driver who is not making it easy for the following driver to overtake can be annoying. You said in your first post that you agree that the speed limits can be unreasonably low in certain areas, so why do you feel that it's your responsibility to hold other drivers to those limits? fact is, it isn't. It's up to each of us to drive responsibly. And that means keeping left. Which will allow others to pass you if they feel it is safe.

You seem determined to prove that I am a bad driver for no reason. Feel free to make unnecessary assumptions about my driving from this reply as you have done so far. Also feel free to twist things I have said to prove your point.

I NEVER hog the white for many reasons. The person coming against me might drift, or cut the corner, or have to swerve out. Also the person behind me might want to overtake me so I make sure I'm nowhere near the middle of the road so I won't impede this maneuver. Where possible as well, when I anticipate someone does want to overtake me I pull in even more to make it really easy for them, and less dangerous for me.

But no, you've assumed that I hog the white line, trying to dictate what speed everyone else drives at. I'm more than happy to have people overtake me and break the speed limit because it's them who'll get the points. It just pisses me off when they feel the need to overtake me DANGEROUSLY. As I have said three times now, I was run off the road by someone overtaking dangerously. I don't give two craps if they've been stuck behind me while I drive safely at the speed limit or if they're in a rush. There is NO excuse for driving dangerously. The rules of the roads, are RULES not SUGGESTIONS.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

People who dont indicate - especially at roundabouts
    People who use the wrong lane entering a roundabout and expect you to move over for them
    Tailgaters
    Impatient motorists who beep if you dont take off from a junction in 0.00000000001 seconds
    People who dont yield at roundabouts
    Sh!itbox glanza's/punto's racing up and down the road

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭pow wow

People who speed up when you're trying to overtake them, even though they've been poodling along at a snails pace for the last few miles.

People tailgate you madly and insist on overtaking you when you're about 8th in a queue of closely moving cars stuck behind a slow moving vehicle - does it really make a difference to be one car ahead?

Men at roadworks who are too lazy to switch the 'Stop' sign to 'Go' and instead just kind of look at you to say 'why aren't you moving yet?'. And then the people behind you who overtake you to go, even though the sign still says 'Stop'.

People who don't indicate - ever.

Soccermoms doing dangerous and stupid things with a brood of kids in the back (Mahon Point any weekend).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,752 ✭✭✭cyrusdvirus

ergonomics wrote: »
    You seem determined to prove that I am a bad driver for no reason. Feel free to make unnecessary assumptions about my driving from this reply as you have done so far. Also feel free to twist things I have said to prove your point.

I NEVER hog the white for many reasons. The person coming against me might drift, or cut the corner, or have to swerve out. Also the person behind me might want to overtake me so I make sure I'm nowhere near the middle of the road so I won't impede this maneuver. Where possible as well, when I anticipate someone does want to overtake me I pull in even more to make it really easy for them, and less dangerous for me.

But no, you've assumed that I hog the white line, trying to dictate what speed everyone else drives at. I'm more than happy to have people overtake me and break the speed limit because it's them who'll get the points. It just pisses me off when they feel the need to overtake me DANGEROUSLY. As I have said three times now, I was run off the road by someone overtaking dangerously. I don't give two craps if they've been stuck behind me while I drive safely at the speed limit or if they're in a rush. There is NO excuse for driving dangerously. The rules of the roads, are RULES not SUGGESTIONS.

I'm not determined to prove that you are a bad driver at all. The very fact that you used prove in your reply implies that you feel this yourself. (insert spoon, start stirring ;))

This has all come about because I asked for clarification to your very first point.
    People who beep/flash/overtake me when I'm going at the speed limit. Yes, half the time I agree with you that the road should be faster than say, 50KM/H, but the speed limit is there for a reason and I'd rather not get points.

Are you hugging the white line when you're doing this, or keeping left? If you're keeping left, than fair enough but if you're hugging the white line and saying to yourself "This is the speed limit and I'll hold it and make these feckers behind me hold it too!!"
    I pull away from the white line to allow drivers to overtake me if they wish, I'm not going to cause an accident by forcing them to stick to the limit
    Now that reads as you hug the white line and pull over when there's someone behind you, indicating out. Which is fair enough. But you should be keeping left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,610 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

ergonomics wrote: »
    I drive safely at the speed limit .

So driving at the speed limit is your main criteria for being safe on the road?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭ergonomics

So driving at the speed limit is your main criteria for being safe on the road?

Oh dear God, what is with people on this forum making assumptions about other drivers?

No, driving at the speed limit is not my main criteria for being safe on the road. I have no one 'main' criteria. To be safe on the road I follow all the rules of the road amongst other things.

@ gatecrash - I don't feel like I need to prove that I am a good driver. Nor do I need to prove that I am a bad, or adequate driver. All I wanted was to get off my chest what annoys me about driving and instead I have people judging and making assumptions about my driving. Unless I state very clearly exactly how I drive, how I take ever corner, go through every set of lights, how I turn at every junction I feel that people are just going to make assumption that I don't do things properly.

Stop assuming, stop passing judgment. Au revoir.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,715 ✭✭✭blackbox

People driving on parking lights.

I'd like to bring in a law that said these have to be on a separate switch labelled "PARKING LIGHTS - NOT TO BE USED WHEN IN MOTION"

:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭Cmar-Ireland

blackbox wrote: »
    People driving on parking lights.

I'd like to bring in a law that said these have to be on a separate switch labelled "PARKING LIGHTS - NOT TO BE USED WHEN IN MOTION"

Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,085 ✭✭✭✭Stark

It's dangerous to be driving on parking lights when you should be driving on dippeds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

People behing me beeping at me because I'm yielding to someone...they have the right of way! Cop on to yourself!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 OllieMac

Cyclists not using the cycle path!! Also - taxi drivers that feel they own the road!

OllieMac wrote: »
    Cyclists not using the cycle path!!

If you're referring to the on-footpath cycle paths, those things are dangerous to both pedestrians and cyclists. Everyone agrees it's dangerous and illegal for cyclists to cycle on the footpath, but then some idiot in DCC comes along and sticks a cycle path sign on the footpath and suddenly it's supposed to be okay.

I remember someone posting here a while back after his nephew got his arm broken when he wandered into the cycle lane portion of a footpath and was struck by a cyclist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,651 ✭✭✭Captain Slow IRL

Gyppo's

Taxi drivers (what's an indicator!?)

Speed limit's

Irish roads

Irish road users

I'm gonna get a bicycle this summer, then at least the speed limit won't be an issue:D

Stark wrote: »
    If you're referring to the on-footpath cycle paths, those things are dangerous to both pedestrians and cyclists. Everyone agrees it's dangerous and illegal for cyclists to cycle on the footpath, but then some idiot in DCC comes along and sticks a cycle path sign on the footpath and suddenly it's supposed to be okay.

I remember someone posting here a while back after his nephew got his arm broken when he wandered into the cycle lane portion of a footpath and was struck by a cyclist.

Well, the cycle paths are there for a reason - to be used. I think its dangerous when cyclists use the road, when there is a separate path that has been built for the cyclist. You can say the same about a pedestrian walking onto the road and not looking - pedestrians need to be just as careful when crossing a cycle path, just as the cyclists need to be careful when using them.

Pedestrians don't walk on the road as a matter of course though. It's also not compulsory for a cyclist to use an on-footpath cycle path as it is with an on-road cycle path. On-footpath cycle paths are just a way of inflating statistics on cycle lane infrastructure. They're not there for anyone's safety.

There are also those cycle paths that weave between the footpath and the road just to make life exciting for cyclists, drivers and pedestrians alike. You'd have to be a class A moron to be swinging between the road and the footpath while trying to follow those things.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,790 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

People driving whilst wearing a hood :eek: WTF is that about? No wonder you were beeped at when you went to change lanes, you couldn't see the f****** guy right beside you!! :mad: (99D Primera I saw this happen to yesterday :confused: )

But pedestrians shouldnt walk on cycle paths either? Thats the point. I would liken it to a pedestrian walking on the road, when there is a footpath beside them - it's unecassarry, and increases the chance of being hit by a car on the road, just as cycling on the road increases your chances of being hit. If there is a separate specific cycle path, then it should be used. And everyone doesnt agree that cycle paths are dangerous at all - I have trained for Triathlons on Dublins roads, and we all agreed that using cycle paths is far safer than using the roads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

Road markings - now-you-see-me, now-you-don't lanes with a few s-bend wobbles in them to fnck with your head. All within a 10m distance of course.

I have trained for Triathlons on Dublins roads, and we all agreed that using cycle paths is far safer than using the roads.

You trained for triathlons on footpaths?

An attempt at a joke?!

No, on Cyclepaths, see:

"I have trained for Triathlons on Dublins roads, and we all agreed that using cycle paths.... "

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 dpddave

Idoits that pull out in front of you and then stop in the middle of the road looking at you so you have to slam on the brakes!! If they just kept going it wouldn't be so bad.

But what about shared cycle path/footpaths, which are essentially just footpaths? You can't be telling me that you found doing over 30km/hr on a triathlon bike in a shared cyclist/pedestrian space to be safe. It must have either being a cycle path that was segregated from the footpath, or just very quiet at the time. I would liken doing fast cycling on a shared cycle path/footpath to driving a car at 50km/hr through the shared car/pedestrian areas in Temple Bar.

Sticking a blue bicycle sign on a footpath does not make it safe to cycle on imo. In fact, in a lot of areas, I notice people seem to see the cycle path half of the footpath as the "power walker's lane".

The Cycle Path and the Foot path are separate, and are mostly painted in red - one side for walking, the other for cycling. Most cyclists that have common sense tend to slow down when coming towards gaps in the road, or alot or pedestrians. It is up to the pedestrians to stay on the footpath, and the cyclists to stay on cycle path. Your comparison is way off also - likening it to doing 50k in Temple Bar!

If pedestrians use the cycle path, then it is their fault if they get injured. Exact same if a pedestrian walks out in the middle of the road to an oncoming car, this isnt the driver of the cars fault.

Bottom Line - The cycle path is there for a reason - use it. Its pretty simple.

What about the cycle paths that aren't separate and painted in red? The ones that are marked out by a barely visible white line? Should cyclists use those as well?

Yes, a cycle path is a cycle path.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

Employ Darwinian Resolution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭bitemybanger

Fog lights, no fog:mad:
    Breaking every time they pass a car coming the other way:mad:
    Somone driving realy slow and then when you go to overtake they put the foot down:mad:
    People who blind you with thier beams just before they pass you:mad::mad:
    ford transits sitting on your ass no matter what speed your doing:mad:
    people who overtake in a huge line of traffic.. whats the point:mad:
    mopeds:mad:
    tractors on the road during rush hour:mad:
    Womem who do thier makeup in the car on the way to work and dont realise the light is gone green:mad::mad::mad:
    Drivers that sit in the overtaking lane going way under the limit and wont move over:mad:
    Have i missed any?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭Cmar-Ireland

Fog lights, no fog:mad:
    Breaking every time they pass a car coming the other way:mad:
    Somone driving realy slow and then when you go to overtake they put the foot down:mad:
    People who blind you with thier beams just before they pass you:mad::mad:
    ford transits sitting on your ass no matter what speed your doing:mad:
    people who overtake in a huge line of traffic.. whats the point:mad:
    mopeds:mad:
    tractors on the road during rush hour:mad:
    Womem who do thier makeup in the car on the way to work and dont realise the light is gone green:mad::mad::mad:
    Drivers that sit in the overtaking lane going way under the limit and wont move over:mad:
    Have i missed any?

You might have missed a few, but that's ok. They will be covered on the forum a million times all over again :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭D_murph

idiots who make a heroic effort to dangerously pull out in front of you at a T junction etc, when you have the right of way only to drive actually lower than the already ridiculous limit when youre stuck behind them :mad:. what was the panic for if they werent in a hurry in the first place FFS?

usually you see these same muppets waiting at the junction for ages even though theres nothing coming because they probably dont think its worth it to take the "chance" but then at the last second they run out of patience and pull out in front of you like a rabbit caught in the headlights forcing you to brake :eek: :mad:

some peoples logic astounds me :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,565 ✭✭✭corcaigh07

i saw some idiot who was obeying the yellow box going west at the bridge over the lee near mccurtain street,cork. then the orange traffic light came on and he decides to boot it across into the yellow box and block the traffic heading towards Patricks Hill. he knew the rules and still willingly broke them. what the hell...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,346 ✭✭✭blindpilot

Women who drive holding their damn dogs. Saw two today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭towel401

newblue08 wrote: »

whats so bad about that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

Has anyone else noticed that the need to be considerate to other road users seems to be inversely proportional to how expensive your Mercedes is?:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,359 ✭✭✭cyclopath2001

Yes, a cycle path is a cycle path.
    Not if it's designed and constructed by either Fingal or Dublin councils.

stevec wrote: »
    Has anyone else noticed that the need to be considerate to other road users seems to be inversely proportional to how expensive your Mercedes is?:mad:

yea.and they are always in a mad rush. if you driving any bit slow at all they will overtake if its safe or not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,346 ✭✭✭blindpilot

Whats good about it? One of them nearly hit me cos they couldnt control the car properly. They dont have to hold them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,189 ✭✭✭✭L1011

towel401 wrote: »
    whats so bad about that?

Please tell me you're being sarcastic...

I get pissed off by the presence of any other drivers on the roads, at all. Which is why I clock up about 80% of my miles between at 11pm and 5am :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

MYOB wrote: »
    I get pissed off by the presence of any other drivers on the roads, at all. Which is why I clock up about 80% of my miles between at 11pm and 5am :D

/looks at watch

People who post on boards while driving are dangerous:D

stevec wrote: »
    /looks at watch

People who post on boards while driving are dangerous:D

No, really, I'm perfectly capable of keeping this laptop balanced on the dash, really I a

*NO CARRIER*

MYOB wrote: »

Please tell me you're being sarcastic...

it doesnt bother me. its not like i have to hold the dog for them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

towel401 wrote: »
    yea.and they are always in a mad rush. if you driving any bit slow at all they will overtake if its safe or not

Hah..I love when I get these drivers behind me.

Had a woman behind me in a mercedes once doing her hair in the mirror trying to go 50mph through a tight street.. I slowed right down to 20mph and watched her getting really frustrated. was great fun

ClioV6 wrote: »
    Hah..I love when I get these drivers behind me.

Had a woman behind me in a mercedes once doing her hair in the mirror trying to go 50mph through a tight street.. I slowed right down to 20mph and watched her getting really frustrated. was great fun

hahaha.. probably an automatic then? usually real snobby/busy people drive those cars

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 Lilibet

One thing that really annoys me is being stuck behind the car where the parent is oblivious to what is going on in the back seat.The little darlings are not belted in and are kneeling looking out the back windscreen making rude gestures at the person driving behind.This becomes tedious if you are stuck behind them for any length of time.

Some time ago,having put up with that crap while stuck in traffic on the way to a shopping centre,I was lucky when the lady in question pulled into the same shopping centre.She got a piece of my mind about responsible parenting and driver responsibility,and the little darlings were left in no doubt that I didn't find them or their actions remotely funny.Her look of embarrassment at being told off in a public place by a complete stranger in front of her kids was priceless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,429 ✭✭✭✭star-pants

newblue08 wrote: »

People driving holding babies
    I've seen it a few times - stupidest thing ever

Also people who think it's fine to stop on a roundabout and block the traffic, and then LAUGH at you because they know they've blocked you.

People who reverse without looking (when you're behind them and they're reversing onto a main road!)

People who think it's grand to take up the whole road (cuz obviously they're driving some sort of tank)

People who pull out in front of you without warning but think a wave is acceptable after you having to hit the brakes

People who don't use indicators (because obviously it's a secret to where they're going)

People who get annoyed when they're in the wrong lane and you won't let them cut you off

People who push their children/buggies out onto the road to cross because obviously you'll stop for children...

People who drive up your ass

People who sit in the fast lane at a good bit below the speed limit

I'm sure I'll come back with more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

People who facilitate others skipping the build up of traffic. ie people going down buslanes and jumping back into the right lane at the top or people using right/left turn lanes to do the same. Theres always some idiot near the top that will let them in (all the while not realising they would have been through the lights a couple of turns earlier had other such idiots not been doing the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭conneem-TT

One thing that I suppose scares me more than pisses me off is.

Now I've only seen it a few times, but when I'm cruising along on a motorway at ~120km/h and a car goes past me at ~130-140 and it has a space saver wheel on :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

star-pants wrote: »

People who sit in the fast lane at a good bit below the speed limit

I'm sure I'll come back with more
    It isn't a fast lane it's an overtaking lane.

conneem-TT wrote: »
    One thing that I suppose scares me more than pisses me off is.

Now I've only seen it a few times, but when I'm cruising along on a motorway at ~120km/h and a car goes past me at ~130-140 and it has a space saver wheel on :eek:

That'd be my mother probably, she thought the big "80" sticker on the space-saver meant you could drive 80 km on it, not a speed limit...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,429 ✭✭✭✭star-pants

Sam Kade wrote: »
    It isn't a fast lane it's an overtaking lane.

Well yes that one - I just call it the fast lane or outside lane sometimes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Was gonna start a new one of these but might as well just bump this one.........

Anywho,

1. Tailgaiting
    2. Dawdling
    3. Full beams and fog lights on for no reason
    4. Other ridiculous lights that illuminate the whole neighbourhood and blind other road users