Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Movie facts (may contain spoilers!)

• 18-10-2006 9:33pm
    Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,632 CMod ✭✭✭✭

Just saw this on the official site. Anything with a (D) after it is not 100% confirmed. Note Soundwave is now listed as a Decepticon!

General info:
    * It is 'based' exceedingly loosely on G1
    * It is set in the present day
    * Don and fans wants Frank Welker and Peter Cullen for voices, others want celebrities. And now so does Tom Desanto
    * Energon Cube plays central role
    *LaBeouf will play Spike Witwicky, an 18-year-old on the lookout for his first car. When he buys one, he discovers it is actually an elite sentinel for the Autobots.
    * Human soldiers may ally with the Autobots. (D)
    * Transformers and Humans will share the screen time
    * The setting is the American southwest and the Middle East
    * At least three films, maybe more, are being aimed for. (D)
    * The rating will be PG or PG-13. (D)
    * Spielberg has become a major corporate driving force in the production.
    * The Transformers have been on Earth for some time now (D)
    * The budget will be around $150M.
    * Mass shifting will have some part in the film - but its small
    *For at least part of the movie, Bumblebee can not speak, He communicates instead via radio transmission clips. (TFW Script Review) (D)
    *Bumblebee starts out as an 'old' Camero, and later gets upgraded to a 'new' Camero. (Confirmed via Pirctures)
    *Megatron is on Earth at the begining, and has been for some time- frozen in ice. The Decepticons and Bumblebee arrive shortly beforehand, and the Autobots arrive during the movie via stasis-pod like contraptions. (Script Review)(D)
    *Soundwave gets inside Air Force One. (Script review).(D)
    *For most of the movie, the Decepticons speak to each other in Cybertronian. (Script Review)(D)
    *Some action takes place at the Hoover Damn. (Confirmed via pictures)

http://boards.transformersmovie.com/showthread.php?t=3181

• Registered Users Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Infact Cullen has already been confirmed for Prime. I think Welker might be confirmed for Megs too at this point.

Its good that Transformers speak Cybertronian. I always wondered how they managed to speak English.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,401 ✭✭✭✭Anti

*Bumblebee starts out as an 'old' Camero, and later gets upgraded to a 'new' Camero. (Confirmed via Pirctures)

Its a saleen, not a camero :) According to the pictures. look at the license plate

• Registered Users Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

* The setting is the American southwest and the Middle East
    Looks like they will be transforming in to WMDs

• Registered Users Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

plus bay himself has said theyre shooting in alaska too. by the way don murphys said they finished filming on the film already. now it down to the post production to mat in our bots and cons:D

suppose if were dealing in facts in this thread we may as well name the teams

autobots

optimus prime
    ratchet
    jazz
    ironhide
    bumblbee

decepticons

megatron
    starscream
    bonecrusher
    blackout (new character)
    barricade (new character)
    brawl
    frenzy (was meant to be soundwave but changed)
    scorponok

oh and the first real trailer which'll actually focus on the story will be out the end of october or november. don's said it'll be at the "holidays" which he clarified as being thanksgiving. i havent a clue what the date for that is but im sure its around the months ive said

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭DarthWraak

faceman wrote:
    Note Soundwave is now listed as a Decepticon!

W00t, w00t, and w00t again!!!111 :D:):D:):D:):D:):D

I think my avitar just starting jumping around in glee!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,401 ✭✭✭✭Anti

just found a little mod for css, its a transformers mod, looks nice, but the site is in itilian, and i cant understand it at all. but here is the link

www.fpsteam.it

Sorry if this has been posted before.

DarthWraak wrote:
    W00t, w00t, and w00t again!!!111 :D:):D:):D:):D:):D

I think my avitar just starting jumping around in glee!!!

calm down man. soundwave is not in the film. he was meant to be but the character was changed to frenzy coz hes only going to be 6ft tall and very spindly. its all to do with bay and his "no mass shifting " rule.:mad: its feckin stupid, if you can buy phasers and transporters in star trek and superman flying by no apparent means you can buy mass shifting. just toss in some crap about interdimensional quantum transfer or atomic compression. people'll buy it if it sounds plausable. i mean we are talking about living machines

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,632 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

calm down man. soundwave is not in the film. he was meant to be but the character was changed to frenzy coz hes only going to be 6ft tall and very spindly. its all to do with bay and his "no mass shifting " rule.:mad: its feckin stupid, if you can buy phasers and transporters in star trek and superman flying by no apparent means you can buy mass shifting. just toss in some crap about interdimensional quantum transfer or atomic compression. people'll buy it if it sounds plausable. i mean we are talking about living machines

Jaysus man ur committed! I would normally say LOL at this point but i like ur dig at Bay! :)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,632 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Galvasean wrote:
    Its good that Transformers speak Cybertronian. I always wondered how they managed to speak English.

i hope they speak english just like the tv show - in metallic, whiskey laden accents!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭Vokes

oh and the first real trailer which'll actually focus on the story will be out the end of october or november. don's said it'll be at the "holidays" which he clarified as being thanksgiving. i havent a clue what the date for that is but im sure its around the months ive said
    Interesting....

Wikipedia says Thanksgiving is always the 4th Thursday in November. And the big release that week is the scifi film The Fountain. However, im thinking it's more likely that the trailer will be attached to another well-known franchise film, Casino Royale, which is out a week beforehand.

i cant see the first trailer being anything more than explosions n stuff. i.e. no transformers! :(

wasnt the fountain out already? definetly seem to remember rachel weiss at the premier of it on sky news ages ago.fairly tanked if i remember too. far as i know the thanksgiving thing is the release date on the net, havent a clue when we'll actually see the trailer in the cinema:D one things for sure , it better be better than the "announcement" trailer:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

I think The Fountain was screened at Cannes, that might have been it.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

one things for sure , it better be better than the "announcement" trailer:rolleyes:

well michael bay (our glorious leader :rolleyes:) said he doesn't want to do a peter jackson and show off the stars of the show before you actually go to the cinema itself. i.e. peter jackson showing kong ruined the suspense, and showing the transformers would ruin the suspense here.

i like that idea. everything else he no doubt has thought of, i will probably hate though :p

• Registered Users Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

23rd November is thanksgiving...mark it in your diaries

• Registered Users Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

I'm sure when the sequel comes out there will be mass shifting and combiners and everything! You know once the general public ('normies') gets used to the gaint transforming robots.

Galvasean wrote:
    I'm sure when the sequel comes out there will be mass shifting and combiners and everything! You know once the general public ('normies') gets used to the gaint transforming robots.

lol

actually even tho i love soundwave, i dont think i could dig mass shiftin in live action. sorry. you may give me 40 lashes for this.