Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bomb Scare on O'Connell st

• 27-10-2006 12:31pm
    Registered Users Posts: 995 ✭✭✭

What's happening? seen it a couple of minutes ago on online.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭bongo85

Yeah, heard this aswell.. Apparently there's something outside the police station???

• Registered Users Posts: 705 ✭✭✭CTU_Agent

news reports are saying the scare centres around an airport- aircoach on O'connol street and Army bomb disposal are at the scene.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,622 ✭✭✭✭okidoki987

Great site.
    http://www.dublincity.ie/living_in_the_city/getting_around/traffic_cameras/

Pictures updated about every 5 mins.
    If the picture of O'Connell street doesn't show any buildings the next time
    it's updated, guess it's not a scare any more ;)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,719 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

okidoki987 wrote:
    Great site.

Pictures updated about every 5 mins.
    If the picture of O'Connell street doesn't show any buildings the next time
    it's updated, guess it's not a scare any more ;)

Hasn't updated in 20 minutes... :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 336 ✭✭Damomanye

From ireland.com

suspicious package was found on a bus.

The package was noticed by the driver of an airport shuttle bus and reported to the Garda Station on Upper O'Connell Street.

A Garda spokeswoman said army bomb disposal experts had been called to examine the package.

Witnesses said there was significant army presence in the area

• Registered Users Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

• Registered Users Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

According to Newstalk, traffic is returning to normal going Southside on O'Connell street and still some delays travelling Northside.

Latest camera image:

EDIT: Snap JoeSoap :)

• Registered Users Posts: 746 ✭✭✭whitetrash

Looking out the window, everything seems pretty much back to normal. Guards are still blocking some traffic though.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Jaysus look at all the wasters have they no jobs to go to !!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,807 ✭✭✭✭Orion

It's reported on the Irish Times now. Anecdotal evidence of army all over the place there too.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

gandalf wrote:

Anytime I take a weekday off and wander around the shops I'm always amazed at the number of people walking around town.

I always think 'Lucky so and so's don't need to work for a living' then I think 'They're probably looking at me thinking the same thing!' :D

Seriously, they can't all be on a day off can they? What do they do for a living?

Oh yeah, if WhiteTrash doesn't post back then we can probably take it that things didn't quite go back to normal :)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,694 ✭✭✭ciaran76

Why do people stand and watch to see if there is a bomb ? :eek:
    I would be out of there as quick as I can !

• Registered Users Posts: 995 ✭✭✭cousin_borat

I'd just like to punish those muppets who leave suitcases etc lying around.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,719 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

ciaran76 wrote:

I have always wondered this too. I remember in the 90s when there were quite a few bomb warnings around town, it was standard for idiots to hang around gawping. All those glass buildings nearby! :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

ciaran76 wrote:

LMAO!

'Lookit, dis bleedin bag is tickin! Whatcha reckon irris? Jaysus, I reckon I'll know if I shake de bleedin ting! Come on lads, lets all shake de bleedin ting!'

• Registered Users Posts: 311 ✭✭tracert

Nice early lunch for some people*

*I do actually hope that it is not a real threat, of course.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

Latest

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,951 ✭✭✭L5

• Registered Users Posts: 10,622 ✭✭✭✭okidoki987

Just people being nosey :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

Lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭Kingsize

ciaran76 wrote:

Knobjockeys -Cos the phrase Bomb Scare makes it seem okay ? its not a bomb its a bomb scare so i'll stand around & watch.
    Do people forget about the Dublin /Monaghan/Omagh Bombings not to mention countless others where people got no warning.
    Nobody deserves to be bombed but if you get yer legs blown off rubbernecking at a police barrier when you couldve got the hell outta there dont come running to me.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭chillywilly

gandalf wrote:

what are you doing on boards?? get back to work:p :p

• Registered Users Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

what are you doing on boards?? get back to work:p :p

The url accidently fell onto my work related browser :p (honest!)

This thread could make for great photoshop prospects.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭el rabitos

tourists :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭Don1

Just wait til the sensible ppl have left the area, call out the bomb squad etc. and "blast those foo's" who stayed behind. It's a modern spin on Darwinian theory.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

connundrum wrote:
    LMAO!

'Lookit, dis bleedin bag is tickin! Whatcha reckon irris? Jaysus, I reckon I'll know if I shake de bleedin ting! Come on lads, lets all shake de bleedin ting!'

Who remembers the "interesting bomb" in the game MDK?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭smcelhinney

Incidentally ..

Amiens St is looking very... ummm... "blue"....

Or is that those O2 dudes putting their advertising everywhere again..

• Registered Users Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭chillywilly

gandalf wrote:
    The url accidently fell onto my work related browser :p (honest!)

well that explains it:D