Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Banned for being "off topic"

• Registered Users Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

I would submit that mods should be held to higher standards than ordinary posters, due to greater power that they wield.

And I would submit that mods be permitted behave as normal posters on forums that they do not moderate, and thereby expect to be treated as normal posters, and given warnings, bans and have posts deleted or moved.
    There is a large and noticeable difference between two 8-year olds that hit and fight each other, and a 16-year old that kicks an 8-year old.

Yes, but if the 8 year old kicks the 16 year old because the 8 year old has been led to believe in the sanctity of childhood and the untouchability of youth, you get a situation where the power is inadvertently placed in the hands of the inexperienced and immature. This is ASBO territory. When you tie your own hands in the treatment of others for their wrongdoing, you aren't helping yourself or anyone else.
    The younger, and weaker person, fears to strike back, and so becomes sullen and moody, or, reports that person to a higher authority. Children tell their parents, posters run to feedback.

You're missing the point.

I don't think I've ever seen a feedback thread that starts with something like:

"Could there be a central boards charter on the front page that outlines some basic rules for all forums..."

or

"Is there a way to make reading the charter compulsory so you don't get people who are usually law-abiding but accidentally break a rule they didn't realise was in place..."

or

"Here is a useful suggestion on how to make things better that doesn't involve the words 'no', 'not', 'stupid', 'power-crazed', 'so slow', 'the search function' or 'nazi'.

The feedback threads are invariably posted by users who have, in some way, broken the rules of the forum on which they have posted. Your use of the teenager-child analogy implies that mods are bullies who pick on bog-standard users for their own entertainment. Users are banned when they break the rules. They come here because they're annoyed at being banned for having broken the rules.

The exceptions to this are very, very few and far between. Those exceptions are what makes the Feedback Forum useful.

Mods are the people who break up the fights between the eight year olds. Perhaps they should just let them slog it out?
    It is not through spite, or some temper tantrum that they do so, but rather because they may feel that they have no alternative, as the power balence between both of you is uneven.

Yes of course it is. Can't we all be president of the united states? Feedback is a legitimate space for valid complaints. However, it's unrealistic to expect anything but a scathing response to the posts that state "I have broken the rules and been banned, and I feel this is unfair."
    This is why those who hold power must be gracious, and obey the rules, for if they break them, and escape punishment not through pardon, but through contempt of those restrictions, then they remind all those unable to break them that they are under their yoke, and cause those commandments to weigh heavier on all, so that they become not accepted norms of decency, but rather become impositions, so that rules that once were followed without rancour, are now seen as bindings.

I disagree. I think mods should be allowed behave precisely as other users, and get warned, censored and banned accordingly. If they persist in such behaviour, then their moderatorships get taken away. It's really not rocket science, and may well make for a more contented user base than your existing 'one rule for one' suggestion.
    This breeds discontent, and is unfair on those who must obey these rules.

Then let that apply to every single user on the board regardless of their status (the administrators notwithstanding).
    If a man in a village has sex with a 17-year old who is not his wife, then only his wife and the neighbours care. If that man is mayor, then it is a scandel.

Unless he posts on the Personal Issues board, in which case most users suggest that his wife is a sour-faced old trout and she should get over herself, and the Mayor's a great man, and sure woudln't we all love to be screwing a 17 year old. And the users who suggest that it's possible that the mayor have nowt in common with a 17 year old are told they're just jealous.
    Similarly, if a mod commits an infraction that normally would result in a siteban, say, posting porn on a forum that is on what is meant to be a family website. If I posted up such material, I would probably be sitebanned, but I suspect (I was not about then) that you were not.

I think you suspect wrong. Even if you're right, shouldn't you be shouting for mods to be treated the same as other users on forums they don't moderate, instead of requesting that they elevate their behaviour to reflect what you perceive to be an elevated status?
    If you cannot honestly say that this, little quirk in justice, did not stem from your position on boards then you are approaching the WWM mentality, that all non-mods are your bitches to be insulted and shocked for your amusement.

WWMan appears to be an anomaly. A blip in the code? Who knows. He should be banned every times he breaks a forum charter. He shouldn't be treated differently. In fact, I believe he often says he should get banned, and I can fairly guarantee that he'd take any ban handed to him. And if he disagreed with it because he believed it was inconsistent or didn't reflect an actual breach of the rules, he'd PM the mod, and then take it to the feedback forum.
    I am not suggesting that, that is how you feel, but merely that you are happily marching down that road.

That's quite an offensive statement really. So you think that we're all blind sheep, pootling after an idea and not actually understand the ramifications (pardon the pun, baa) of our actions?

I can't be bothered campaigning for moderators to behave better. I'd rather campaign for them to be treated the same. It makes far more sense.

Where you would rather live, somewhere where you expect your president not to look up kiddie porn, or somewhere that would be guaranteed to throw him in jail when he did?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,446 ✭✭✭✭amp

Bravo sir/madam. What a post. Very well said.

Oh looky here. It's a fight the power circle wagon. You and your fellow wagon member are part of that clique of morons that fight the power, not for justice, not in defense of the common user but quite simply for the sake of it.

How do I know this to be true? Well when confronted with basic logic your arguments fall to pieces. When ask to back up arguments with any evidence at all you fail to do so. You are pathetic.

• Registered Users Posts: 118 ✭✭Salaco

At the end of the, when you enter someone's house you are therefore agreeing to abide by their rules - within reason, its part of the contract...if that person happens to be a snivelling bitch, you just have to proceed with more caution..:cool:

Salaco wrote:
    At the end of the, when you enter someone's house you are therefore agreeing to abide by their rules - within reason, its part of the contract...if that person happens to be a snivelling bitch, you just have to proceed with more caution..:cool:

Actually we prefer the term "Slut".

• Registered Users Posts: 118 ✭✭Salaco

amp wrote:
    Actually we prefer the term "Slut".

Awesome - thats nice for you...now why don't you toddle off and make me a ham sandwich...and coffee, black - no sugar...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

Sweet merciful Jesus.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,400 ✭✭✭stooge

Yes, but if the 8 year old kicks the 16 year old because the 8 year old has been led to believe in the sanctity of childhood and the untouchability of youth, you get a situation where the power is inadvertently placed in the hands of the inexperienced and immature. This is ASBO territory. When you tie your own hands in the treatment of others for their wrongdoing, you aren't helping yourself or anyone else.

Aside from our words, the non-mod posters on this site have no power, so there can't be any shift i.e. its not possible (nor should it be) that we have rights to apply laws/rules(or indeed make the rules), only that we abide by them. So the analogy presented by The_Minister is quite possible, the above not so much.

I disagree. I think mods should be allowed behave precisely as other users, and get warned, censored and banned accordingly. If they persist in such behaviour, then their moderatorships get taken away. It's really not rocket science, and may well make for a more contented user base than your existing 'one rule for one' suggestion.

Where you would rather live, somewhere where you expect your president not to look up kiddie porn, or somewhere that would be guaranteed to throw him in jail when he did?

...would you not rather live in the place where the president doesnt do it at all in the first place? not that we dont expect him to, or that he gets correctly punished.

Prevention is better than cure.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,400 ✭✭✭stooge

Salaco wrote:

well, not wanting to be too picky,but technically they don't own the house. You could say they are cleaners appointed by the owner to rid the house of s***e. Doing the job for free as has been pointed out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

stooge wrote:
    the non-mod posters on this site have no power
    You do. Vote with your feet, and sod off somewhere else if you're so unhapy with the system.

stooge wrote:
    well, not wanting to be too picky,but technically they don't own the house. You could say they are cleaners appointed by the owner to rid the house of s***e. Doing the job for free as has been pointed out.

I love being picky. It's great fun. Technically cleaners do not have the authourity to bar people so a better comparison would be a garda or if you really want to be derrogatory a shopping centre security guard. But please call us sluts.

Salaco wrote:
    Awesome - thats nice for you...now why don't you toddle off and make me a ham sandwich...and coffee, black - no sugar...

Now this is more like it. An honest to goodness troll. Nice one Salaco :)

• Registered Users Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

Salaco wrote:
    Ahhh... It starts.

/gets popcorn

Anyone want some? :)

• Registered Users Posts: 22,775 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

You do. Vote with your feet, and sod off somewhere else if you're so unhapy with the system.

aidan_walsh - The Voice of Reason.

Rabies wrote:
    Ahhh... It starts.

/gets popcorn

I think it's just about over. Bring on the cats and owls and dancing dogs for the thread de-railment party! \o/ \o/

• Registered Users Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Rabies wrote:
    Ahhh... It starts.

/gets popcorn

Salted or buttered?
    [TenaciousD]I'm trying to watch my figure[/TenaciousD] :)

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Hey how come nobody told me that someone was acting like a hotheaded twat and pissing off all the mods? That's surely the Dr.'s territory??

If ye ever solved MY totally ignored feedback posts and fixed my Email alerts I'd know. Probably a good thing that ye dont fix those actually. Since losing them I have discovered a wonderful new life outside Boards, filled with embittered sarcasm and vaguely hilarious one-liners.

If my boards posts were money, I'd have sex with them.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

If ye ever solved MY totally ignored feedback posts and fixed my Email alerts I'd know. Probably a good thing that ye dont fix those actually.
    Were they stupid questions? Was the answer in a sticky at the top of the page?

Answer on a post card addressed to Amp. He will take care of you.

r3nu4l, I have the salted buttered popcorn with a hit of caramel.

So... Where is this thread going?

Rabies wrote:
    Were they stupid questions? Was the answer in a sticky at the top of the page?

Answer on a post card addressed to Amp. He will take care of you.

r3nu4l, I have the salted buttered popcorn with a hit of caramel.

So... Where is this thread going?

Whoa, shedloads of virtual calories there, think I'll stay away...well maybe just one or two handfuls *munch*

Where is the thread going?...as Therapy? said back in the day...
    "Going Nowhere, I'm going Nowhere..." :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 164 ✭✭Just My View

amp wrote:
    You and your fellow wagon member are part of that clique of morons that fight the power
    Direct personal abuse, post reported.
    Not that it will achieve anything.

The first rule in fighting the power is to acknowledge that you will never win.
    The second rule is to ignore the first rule and put some faith in the decent people out there.:p

• Registered Users Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

If my boards posts were money, I'd have sex with them.

If your posts were money, you could have all the sex you wanted.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭popebenny16

If a man in a village has sex with a 17-year old who is not his wife, then only his wife and the neighbours care. If that man is mayor, then it is a scandel.
    Similarly

:D:D:D:D

You couldnt make this stuff up.

Why do people get so worked up about mods and their "Powers?" I mean all you get is a little row of buttons that allows you to move things round a bit and ban morons. This is just laughable.
    Not that it will achieve anything.

The first rule in fighting the power is to acknowledge that you will never win.

You dont understand the power of the dark side of the board. Fight it! Fight the power!

Do you want to be a mod, or something?

• Registered Users Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

I was the first to laugh:)

Do you want to be a mod, or something?
    Why would I want to be a mod?
    Does everyone who wants fair play want to be a Supreme Court Judge?

No thanks, I'm quite happy down here, I couldn't take the heady heights of modship.
    Ruggiebear wrote:
    I was the first to laugh
    Don't bet on it, I had a little titter before I hit submit ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Why would I want to be a mod?
    Does everyone who wants fair play want to be a Supreme Court Judge?

No thanks, I'm quite happy down here, I couldn't take the heady heights of modship.

Mods have feelings too dontchaknow. :( Don't tar everyone with the same brush, you..tar brusher you! *runs away blubbering*

Ruu come here till I give you a hug.
    You're one of best of the many decent people (See rule 2) on Boards imvho.

I couldn't take the heady heights of modship.

'tis great, I always shoot up before I mod, gives a good kickback.

I once was mod of a board where i banned everyone, then closed the board for new posters, and posted several hundred posts of photos of me in my y-fronts laughing like a drain.

Now thats oppression.

Ruu wrote:
    Mods have feelings too dontchaknow. :( Don't tar everyone with the same brush, you..tar brusher you! *runs away blubbering*

Aww, now you've gone and upset the Ruu. No fair, see how hurtful your posts can be? For shame Sir, for shame:D

You know? I think it's no coincidence that the word 'Mod' is only three letters long and sounds an awful lot like "God".:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,701 ✭✭✭Diogenes

The second rule is to ignore the first rule and put some faith in the decent people out there.:p

A good idea any minute now the plain people of Ireland will rise up and join you in your struggle.

Yup any minute now. Yes siree bob, the plain decent hard working decent common folk won't put up with this... this... I forget, what piece of dingy wankology were you on about again? It's just your whinging was so high pitched and moany only my cat heard it. And he's not here to remind me, so I don't give a toss.

Yours

The decent honest folk of the aul sod.

You know? I think it's no coincidence that the word 'Mod' is only three letters long and sounds an awful lot like "God".

And Sod.

Not forgetting

bodjh6.jpg

After 200 posts every thread not entitled "Hot Nude Photos" has run its course.

I'm off, Spongebob is on in a few minutes.