Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Recruitment agencies - name, shame (and praise)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 511 ✭✭✭flash harry

Monday-Friday bit is BS I think we'll agree?

Yes I know the other happens, and I agree, should be a level playing field for all applicants

FH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

Yeah the monday-friday thing is a bit far fetched but the essence of his statement is still true in a lot of cases, I know i've experienced it a couple of times in the past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Munster_Gal

I work for a recruitment agency on a temp desk. I get hundreds of CVs everyday, of which i read through and identify if they have the right experience for the role to which they have applied.
    Most if the time they dont.
    When you send your CV to an agency dont ring them the next day - they have received it - they will call you if they are interested. the chances are they have a better candidate on file. just becasue you have a qualification doesnt mean you can do the job. most of my temps have little or no qualifications, but excellent experience. the experience is what counts.
    we will choose a candidate who will satisfy our client, there is no point in putting someone forward who cant do the job.
    i would rather have 30 good candidates registered and interviewed, who i know i can place than 300 who i cant.
    i will always be honest and tell someone if they do not have the relevant experience and give advice on other agencies who may help, or mention any jobs i have come accross in papers and online.
    the nature of the industry is to put the right people in the rigt jobs, to make the client happy and the candidate also.
    more often than not the client decides the salary/payrate - we have no influence over this.
    recruitment agencies are not job clubs so dont expect to get a job from them because you have sent your CV.

Fairplay PanteraChick for sticking up for us guys working in recruitment. Of course 300 people can't be replied to every day. And anyone who thinks that they're guaranteed a job just because they contact a recruitment agent is living in la la land. recruitment agencies are there to assist you with finding a new job. We don't recruit for every company out there so there may not always be suitable jobs for everyone who sends in their CV's.
    While I understand that some people may have had bad experiences dealing with recruitment agents... Generalising it is a bit unfair as most recruiters spend most of their time going through CV's that they receive trying to find the best people for jobs that will suit them and not landing them in crappy ones!!!

Nonsense, I can count on one hand the number of times i've dealt with a recruiter who had the first clue about matching a CV to a job.

Don't ring me and waste my fscking time asking me to go for a job as a programmer or a lotus notes developer simply because you've seen I did some Java programming in college, and did Notes administration in a previous job.

I've said this before in a previous post but it seems to me a lot of the bad feeling on recruiters on boards (in general) seem to be IT field? An observation more than anything......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

I've said this before in a previous post but it seems to me a lot of the bad feeling on recruiters on boards (in general) seem to be IT field? An observation more than anything......

Thats because the majority of IT recruiters don't have a clue about the different technologies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,374 ✭✭✭InReality

I've worked in IT and had a mate in IT recruitement for a number of years so think I have a fair idea of how they work.

My advice re agencies would be
    1) It depends more on who you deal in an agency then the agency itself.
    2) Companies pay agencies, not you directly. So don't expect the same "customer care".
    3) If your on a mailing list , ask to be taken off it. I don't see why this annoys people so much :)
    4) You can always mail companies yourself and not deal with any agencies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭Maglight

Rather than send my CV off again to the agencies, I intend to be a lot more selective this time. So can anyone recommend a headhunter in Dublin? They do exist, don't they?

Try Merc partners www.merc.ie, Amrop Hever or KPMG Executive Selection. www.Irishjobs.ie also as an Executive room with only senior level jobs advertised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭herya

eth0_ wrote: »
    If it's not true, why does the recruiter ring you after the interview and often grill you on what you were asked?

To know what's the company's policy, what kind of questions they have for all candidates, how do they come across in personal aspect, in general what the interviewing process is like. Most likely the company is a regular client so the consultant will have other jobs from them, they might even need more employees for identical role or something similar enough so knowing the process well gives you an advantage in sourcing and placing.

Some of this you know from the company but most you have to piece together talking to your candidates and of course the longer you do that the better feel you develop for the company's needs and style.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,032 ✭✭✭She Devil

My friend owns a recruitment agents in wexford, he gave me excellent advice the other day about recruiters in Dublin, TRY TRY TRY not to go for the temp jobs, if you ever want a full time position, because if you are any good they will keep moving you to look good for them!!

I am going solo looking for my jobs now, i am sick of the fake bunch of "£$£%$%$%$, isnt it amazing how they are so nice to you at the beginning, and then when you start saying no to the shyte they are trying to pawn off on you, they get ****ty!! ARGH i hate them, and i honestly used to think they were great!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,212 ✭✭✭✭Tom Dunne

I've spent the morning looking for a job.

What I do is fairly specialised, so there aren't too many jobs around, but there are a few places hiring.

What I have noticed is Company X advertises on their own website and the job description, word for word, appears on at least five different recruitment websites.

And you can tell the company hasn't commissioned the recruitment agencies, because usually the job adverts start with "our client, a leading.....", whereas these all start with "A leading...... is looking for.....".

/rant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭Farls

I done a contract role with GCS recruitment, found them very professional and excellent to work with.

Currently looking for a new position and have a lot of companies calling me looking to waste time more than anything from what I can see. Had two companies send out my CV to positions that I told them I was not interested in and call me back a few days later to say things are progressing nicely?!?!!

Had realtime recruitment call me up and tell me I would never work again at the salary I was looking for, then everyone that has rang me since reckons I could probably look for a bit more?!!!

Overall my feelings are that it depends on who you deal with within the company more than the company itself.

I'm getting a lot of call from two guys in harvey nash at the moment, has anybody had any dealings with HN good or bad?

I was just talking to VanRath in the North there also, they seem very professional, ie. the guy was actually technical that I spoke to.

• Registered Users Posts: 60 ✭✭ronan001

I was searching for a job recently and i've found recruitment agents to be utterly useless. They lists hundreds of jobs that dont exist, just trying to get CV's in case something suitable actually does come in.

I spent hours looking through web sites, picking jobs that are suitable for me, only to be told, "no that one went yesterday, i need to take it off the web site". But of course two months later, these jobs are still up.

It should be illegal, surely its false advertisement?.

I know its difficult to find out about companies who need people, but it is far better to deal directly with a company. First of all, unlike agencies, they actually read your CV. The agencies just call you, and ask you everything thats in your cv because they are too lazy to read it. I will do everything in my power to ensure a recruitment agency never makes a penny out of me in my life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭mrpink6789

ronan001 wrote: »

I know its difficult to find out about companies who need people, but it is far better to deal directly with a company. First of all, unlike agencies, they actually read your CV. The agencies just call you, and ask you everything thats in your cv because they are too lazy to read it. I will do everything in my power to ensure a recruitment agency never makes a penny out of me in my life.

Sorry to hear you had bad luck with agencies, it's unfortunate that there are so many idiots out there in the area. I'm a recruiter myself so I hate hearing about these people giving me a bad name.

It's not always better to deal directly with the company trust me. Like some agencies, some HR people are jokes so your CV gets brushed aside, only a small part of their job is to deal with CV's for hiring managers so its never top of their list.

If you are still looking for work feel free to drop me a pm, you don't want to deal with agencies and that's fine but I'll at least give you some free advice on what kind of jobs are active in the market place at the moment. Luckily for me my company isn't shamed on this thread.

Either way best of luck with the job hunt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

mrpink6789 wrote: »
    It's not always better to deal directly with the company trust me. Like some agencies, some HR people are jokes so your CV gets brushed aside, only a small part of their job is to deal with CV's for hiring managers so its never top of their list.

I agree with this. I know a few HR people who will only use agencies.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Same as that, been looking myself lately, 1 job in my area appears on Monday, date is on it.
    I apply and asked for more details, said email me as I cant take a call. Agency rings, rings again 2 minutes later.
    I email, dont call me, cant take the call. Ring me again.
    Following morning, 8am, ring me, in the car.
    Emailed, said that I wanted more detail on the job. Did not get it. Emailed again, asked about job, no reply.
    The 2 days after advertised, got email Oh job gone. I said sound ya
    This morning, whats up there again, the same job!! What a shower of wasters.

Emailed another crowd. Dont want a perm job in X area as too far away.
    What do I get, a voice mail. Lovely job in X area, give me a call.
    Emailed, whats the job, what daily rate?
    Got back reponse, its X per year, need you to call me.
    I reponded is it perm.... shock horror it was!!

I wish to GOd that companies would just advertise themselves, at least they can see the people intersted and vice versa.

Sorry, rant over!! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭mrpink6789

yop wrote: »
    Same as that, been looking myself lately, 1 job in my area appears on Monday, date is on it.
    I apply and asked for more details, said email me as I cant take a call. Agency rings, rings again 2 minutes later.
    I email, dont call me, cant take the call. Ring me again.
    Following morning, 8am, ring me, in the car.
    Emailed, said that I wanted more detail on the job. Did not get it. Emailed again, asked about job, no reply.
    The 2 days after advertised, got email Oh job gone. I said sound ya
    This morning, whats up there again, the same job!! What a shower of wasters.

Emailed another crowd. Dont want a perm job in X area as too far away.
    What do I get, a voice mail. Lovely job in X area, give me a call.
    Emailed, whats the job, what daily rate?
    Got back reponse, its X per year, need you to call me.
    I reponded is it perm.... shock horror it was!!

I wish to GOd that companies would just advertise themselves, at least they can see the people intersted and vice versa.

Sorry, rant over!! :(

Yeah I don't know how people won't do their jobs right. Its worth their while to remember your details so they are not wasting their time ringing candidates who won't do the job, plus it just makes you not want to deal with them again.

Don't let this be a reflection on all agencies though, some of us are actually good at our jobs and develop strong relationships within it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭Lil' Smiler

I have had ****e luck from agencies

No word back after Initial phone call from Celtic Careers and other random ones that rang as they found my CV on irish Jobs etc

Met with Top People in Dublin.. traipsed around Harcourt Street on a horrible rainy day for ages trying to find them. Waited for them for ages when someone finally arrived to interview me. Went through CV twice with 2 different people. There was some problem with their computer so couldn't do whatever tests typing etc, said they'd email it to me. No email came through. Rang them, no one rang back, emailed, no reply. So just left it, about 2 months later someone rang to ask if I was still looking for a job. Gave them a piece of my mind and insisted I was removed from their databse.

Recruitment Solutions in Bray, thought I'd try my local one. Ridiculous. The guy was so enthusiastic saying my Cv was so employable la la la, was in constant contact which was grand until he started sending me for jobs. Was sent to a company who were looking for a HR assistant....I was looking for a secretarial/receptionist/admin role. I went into the interview and was practically laughed in the face as I wasn't at all qualified in HR, she asked why I wanted the role and what I knew about the type of position it was.

I was not impressed with that. He then sent me for another job supposed to be another Admin - exactly the same as a previous job but it was for a Pharmaceutical Company. Again was laughed in the face at, although this man interviewing was SO much nicer. He said he was very sorry for wasting my time but the job was for a guy in a warehouse.

I've just found over the last few weeks, that I email agencies and never hear very unimpressed with that. Have not heard back from Sigmar, Mary B, La Creme, Executive Connections, Ann O'Brien. At least Storm Recruitment in Greystones were honest and said that the people with the best CV's will only be the ones considered.

Anyone have any recommendations for Office work type agencies?

It is completely unfair to name agencies here with complete anominity and effectively slander them. Should the recruiters here be able to start a thread and name candidates who have not did what they said they'd do?

I do believe in replying to everyone who sends their details to me but as some of the other recruiters will agree with, some people will just apply for jobs they have absolutely no credentials to do so for and it can get tedious sifting through them and replying individually - hence why most agencies have a generic automated response.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,306 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

mrpink6789 wrote: »
    The one person who would know most about the job would be the manager. However, it's most likely HR that will be looking at them. From different HR's, I feel that most agencies have a better clue of the job, than the HR. HR will know about people, but not the specifics of the job, what it entails, etc.

Thus, agencies in their fields usually know about the jobs specs, can ensure you suit the job, etc. CPL, shower of *******s that they are, mostly do know they sh|t, and will usually not send you to an interview for the sake of sending you.

Manpower, having gotten a job in Eircom from them, I'd never touch again. They were total cowboys at the time.

Hays IT, brillant. Yer ones knew about the jobs they were sending me to be interviewed with, and all the jobs were jobs that I wanted. True, one job was a bit advanced for me (would have needed more experience/certs to get it), but it was an excellent interview experience.

Head-Hunt International Limted.. the interview was going well, untill I mention having a CompTIA. Blank luck. Told be job spec. I asked a question about a technology used. Blank look. The twat didn't have a clue other than what was written on the page. Have avoided them as well since.

=-=

Anytime I'm looking for a job, I tend to go back to the same recruitment people, CPL, Hays, and some other that I forget atm. True, they're **** half the time, but, they're **** that have a good understanding of the job they're putting me forward for, so in my book, that makes them competent.

And more agenices get added to my black list:pac:
    It is completely unfair to name agencies here with complete anominity and effectively slander them.
    Although I partly agree with you, it's always nice to know that when X agency screwed you around, it wasn't just a once off, but one of a number of reasons to avoid them.

Example: thought Manpower was just crap whilst handling the recruitment in Eircom. Things sometimes happen beyond an agencies control, and all that. But, nope, found out they were like that elsewhere. Saved myself a lot of hassle avoiding them since then.

=-=

For the record, anyone job hunting should check out jobbank.fas.ie - mainly direct dealings with the company, with no middle-man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 649 ✭✭✭Peewee_lane

I have had ****e luck from agencies

No word back after Initial phone call from Celtic Careers and other random ones that rang as they found my CV on irish Jobs etc

I've just found over the last few weeks, that I email agencies and never hear very unimpressed with that. Have not heard back from Sigmar, Mary B, La Creme, Executive Connections, Ann O'Brien. At least Storm Recruitment in Greystones were honest and said that the people with the best CV's will only be the ones considered.

Anyone have any recommendations for Office work type agencies?

In the same boat as you and this morning, I have a list of their phone numbers, names, emails I sent, times and dates I sent them, and Im going to find out why I havnt been contacted, what exactly is wrong with my CV and speak to the manager or someone over them. Why arnt they even acknowledging people?

Why arnt they even acknowledging people?

Because your skillset/experience isn't going to make any money for them. They are only interested in candidates who can be placed in a job asap.

They should contact you though - even a copy and paste e-mail saying they won't be proceeding with your application, please try again in a few months.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭IRISH RAIL

In reality its because they have no jobs a friend of mine used to work for an agency till a month ago she said its desperate out there.

if we were to believe the various websites there would still be a shortage of workers in Ireland, most have old jobs that never were just to phish peoples cv`s if they find one they like they will get in touch.
    heres one for ya there was a job advertised in the herald two weeks ago with a g mail address guess what the mail address wasnt taken I emailed the herald and never got a reply :mad: sounds a bit funny?

In the same boat as you and this morning, I have a list of their phone numbers, names, emails I sent, times and dates I sent them, and Im going to find out why I havnt been contacted, what exactly is wrong with my CV and speak to the manager or someone over them. Why arnt they even acknowledging people?

I actually heard back from 3 agencies between today and yesterday which I'm quite happy about!

I contacted Southside Personnel in Blackrock but said the market is quiet and tough so they didn't have anything for me. I was happy with that.

Jackson Stone recruitment in Kilmac, Wicklow, the guy rang me to check up about my Cv etc, had nothing today but will keep in touch. Sounded slightly promising

Had a voicemail form a woman from Ann O' Brien's today so waiting for her to return my call now!

Pretty sure AOB is part of the CPL group.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭universe777

Agencies, where do i start, they make my blood boil!

Kaizen Recruitment (on the corner of Sth. William Street facing the side of Stephen's Green SC).
    One of the worst agencies I ever worked for as a temp. It happened that I was sick for 4 days in a row, everyday I called the agency and the job to let them know if i'd be in the next day, they said thats ok, see you on friday which was the day i was supposed to be in. Friday morning i turned up for work to find someone sitting at my desk, the agency never bothered to tell me they put someone else there even though i spoke to them everyday. They owe me holiday pay also, I phoned, called in person etc, got the old "cheque is in the post" lark.

Top People - easy enough to find, I told them on the phone I did not want a customer service/call centre role, they said fine we have plenty of admin roles, I go in and see them and they do the hard sell on call centre roles..

Manpower- useless, same as above.

Contact Recruitment Tallaght - very unprofessional offices and staff, their office is over a used car lot, my interview was in what seemed to be a file room.

CPL - any dealings with them have been clear, concise and very professional. They got me a job at the start of the year which i turned down at the start of the year, been kicking myself ever since.

Symbio Select - in IFSC, very unprofessional and disinterested at interview, seem to be a 2 man operation but try to swim with the big fish.

The People Group - lots of communication, no work though.

Sigmar - as above.

Grafton Recruitment - they advertise other roles but always push CS roles in Ulster Bank.

I have had way more (mostly) negative experiences with agencies, cant think of them off the top of my head. I dont expect to get work from every single of them but I do expect a REAL job, one that exists, and a transparent process like if I have the courtesy to go to the job interview with the company I expect feedback from the agency yes or no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭statss

La Creme pretty much landed me with a ideal job last March, very happy with their service.

The guy I met from CPL was the biggest gob****e ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Dan133269

Anyone have any experience with Matrix recruitment in waterford?
    myself and a person I know both went to their open day thing, signed up, haven't heard from them since. We both have degrees in different areas, both have languages, work experience in different fields, we've both e-mailed them and they don't even bother to reply. Some cheeky arsholes :cool:

Also seems to me like half of the jobs on Lacreme are completely made up?

the_syco wrote: »
    Pretty sure AOB is part of the CPL group.

Yeah it ism I couldn't figure that bit of the message out.

Didn't hear form her after I left msg for her so since it was a friday I mailed her at 4.30 to say I hope she got my msg and she rang me straight away - interview tomorrow morning!! Wuhoo!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭universe777

Dan133269 wrote: »
    Also seems to me like half of the jobs on Lacreme are completely made up?

Very true, a few weeks ago I applied for a specific job with La Creme, through irishjobs. A few days later I received an email from the consultant thanking me for sending in my cv for their files.
    I applied for a specific job, not to fill up their database, muppets!

I'd say 75% of agency advertised jobs don't exist..

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

How can agencies continuous advertise jobs that dont exist, the post in here where I mentioned a job last Monday week which was gone by Wednesday is now back up again.

This has to be false advertising!

I've been called by cpl about 3 times in the past few about the same job. A job with a company that I know well and I know they aren't recruiting for this position at the moment. It's a merry go round with a lot of these agencies!

CPL are members of the NRF - why dont you complain and tell uss all what happens?????

good point but if the agency are not listed there then thats another issue :(

yop wrote: »
    good point but if the agency are not listed there then thats another issue :(

I know but CPL are listed. I continually make this point BUT no one has ever done it and reported back which leads me to believe it is very easy to anonymously slaughter a company on boards - less easy to actually REALLY complain to an organisation who are, alledgedly, guaridians of the recruitment world!!!!!!!!!!

I wud if I cud, but these cowboys are UK registered.

Again they have gone and advertised the job today. FOr someone who is out of work and desperate for a job, which are rare where I live, and to see this job, only for it not to exist! Shower of f**KRS

I have to say, after my giving out and reading some bad things about CPL, they just got me a job.

Ann O'Brien office specialists helped me get a job this week. The girl I dealt with (stillorgan office0 was constantly in touch by phone or email and was really helpful!

Woooo!! Job for me!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭Kila

I got my current job through Next Generation Recruitment, and found them very good. Dealt with a woman called Aoife, who brought me in to review potential interview questions, my CV, my interview technique, etc. She was always available to talk if I had questions, and was really approachable.

• Registered Users Posts: 120 ✭✭Aloysius Flyte

Thankfully this time next year there will be fewer agencies.
    It's an unregulated market and it's full of cowboys.

Most companies who are still hiring aren't using agencies, so even if you see a job advertised by an agency, apply directly, because chances are the agency aren't representing the company.

Never tell an agency where you are interviewing and where your CV has gone.

Be proactive, talk to your network and apply directly

• Registered Users Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭Hellm0

Dealt with a few in Ireland, was not really an active contractor but I found Computer futures to be alright for what little I worked with them. That said I have had encounters with some real scumbags in other companies. CPL tried unsuccessfully to place me, very little feedback and late in replying to calls/emails.

On a side note, I prefer to refer to these guys as "Pimp's" as that is what they are in reality.

Hellm0 wrote: »
    On a side note, I prefer to refer to these guys as "Pimp's" as that is what they are in reality.
    Wouldn't that then make you their "ho", or "piece of ass"? :D :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

CPL seem to be good.... for other people. I have not had any success with any recruitment agency, yet I still apply to them. I do not know why. One woman (from an agency I cannot remember, I will get the name tomorrow) asked me to ring her so we could organise a meeting, I rang it all day and got her voicemail, then I emailed her and still no reply. God damn it, don't get my hopes up for the ****s and giggles.

Hunter Marshal are rubbish, don't reply to anything I have sent them.

Top People have to be the best, and only positive bunch I have dealt with. They had no work but they encouraged me and told me why I wasn't getting selected. Explained to me how the current market was and they gave me some tips. Friendly and very polite.

I think the service the give their clients is great but to the average joe they don't really give a damn.

Good agencies i've dealt with though have been the Allegis Group, the guy even got me lunch a month afterwards during a meeting to make sure all was going well, and Netnation International.

Netnation are fantastic. Haven't a bad word to say about them.

Allegis..maybe it was the guy I dealt with but I found them shoddy and unprofessional. I took a 3 month contract with them a few years ago and after about 2 weeks I contacted him saying I felt I couldn't stay in this role as the manager was an absolute b*stard, constantly using foul and sexist language and the job itself was more like that of a receptionist than sysadmin (what I had been hired as). He told me to hang on for a while longer and he'd see what he could do.

In the end I left on Friday 2 or 3 weeks before my contract was due to end because I just couldn't face going back. I emailed Allegis and explained there was no way I was going back there. They rang me and threatened legal action. LOL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 574 ✭✭✭oldscoil

I was umemployed a few months ago, and to be honest i was sh1tting my pants as nothing was showing up work wise.
    I was scouring website scouring websites till i found i job i thought looked good.
    So i rang the number and got through to John Travers, head of Circle recruitment. http://www.circle.ie/

He said he had seen my cv when i applied for a differnt job a few weeks back, and really wanted to talk to me. He asked me if i ever thought about a career in Human Resourse. "My clients are big, and the work is tough but its very financially rewarding" he told me.

Best suit on, and out to Broombridge. (Between Finglas and Cabra).
    Sit in reception for 20 minutes, no big deal. Finally John comes down.
    Nice friendly English guy. We start to shoot the breeze.
    He asks what i've done. I give my schpeel.

He then proceeds to mock me for about 40 minutes. Asking where i went wrong and how my career had got this bad. He finally admits that the only reason he invited me in was because "he was curious how i had let my situation get that bad".....??!?!?!??!!!!!!

We never spoke about jobs, HR or otherwise!
    He said he wanted to help and would re do my cv and send it back to me.
    I never heard from him again.

I know this sounds a bit emo, but i was totally gutted, i had been 5 weeks on the dole with mortgage payments and was reall y really starting to get scared. THIS FCUKING CNUT DID NOTHING FOR MY CONFIDENCE. And completely wasted my time!!!!

I got a job in the end.

By the way, my CV is fine, I've been around and its mixed but its not bad.

But the way this guy Travers looked at my CV you could swear it read........
    1994- 1999: Unemployed.
    1999-2003: Mountjoy, Armed Robbery.
    2003 - 2005: Thailand.
    2005 - 2006: Unemployed.
    2006 - 2008: Mountjoy, Rape.

Avoid this time waster!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 60 ✭✭ronan001

that is hilarious. i wont ever be going near him so.

Its unreal how awful these people can be at their job.

oldscoil - just curious, did you sit there and let him talk to you like that or did you ask him who the hell he thought he was to be mocking you like that?

You should report him, that is absolutely crazy behaviour.

oldscoil wrote: »
    1994- 1999: Unemployed.
    1999-2003: Mountjoy, Armed Robbery.
    2003 - 2005: Thailand.
    2005 - 2006: Unemployed.
    2006 - 2008: Mountjoy, Rape.

You should become a recruiter.

eth0_ wrote: »
    oldscoil - just curious, did you sit there and let him talk to you like that or did you ask him who the hell he thought he was to be mocking you like that?

You should report him, that is absolutely crazy behaviour.

That is unbelievable oldscoil...but having dealt with a lot of recruitment companies its believable at the same time!!

David M with HarveyNash ...talked a lot but done nothing

Trish in CPL...got me an interview and never heard a word back, take it that didn't go well...thanks for the feedback!!

Phillip Martin in CPL rang looking for news about the last place I worked more than anything, same as a few others I can't think of off hand!

Berkley ...plagues.

I've had 2 calls from different recruiters in the past few weeks 'responding to your email that you sent us'!

One this morning, there wasn't even a 'hello', just a 'Jaysis eth0_, i'd say you're dying to get a job at this stage!'. I'm not looking for a job and haven't emailed a recruiter in years!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 alices_wonder

Hey had a friend who had dealings with Orange Recruitment who claimed to have special inside public sector jobs....was a whole load of ****e and the interview was terrible. My friend came out realising the entire thing was a shame. They calimed to be super special and elite and she said the woman interviewing her looked like she had just rolled out of a garbage can and the offices were horrible.

I just signed up to Eden recruitment today. any word on them?