Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Presenters I do not like.

• 06-11-2006 7:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,962 ✭✭✭

Need to get this off my chest.

I listen to Morning Ireland alot but cringe when I hear Aine Lawlor not sure if anyone feels the same way?

On Five Seven Live or whatever they call it well I'm not keen on Fergal Sweeney never understood how he was tolerated on Five Live.

Can't stand morning and daytime Talksport presenters.

Finally have to turn Five Live off for 5 minutes every half hour morning time in the weekend as the sound of Dot Reece/Davis kills me.

Like mentioned on another thread can't stand George Hook on Newstalk.

Well rant over feel free to add or comment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

You don't really explain WHY you don't like any of these presenters...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Yeah,give reasons.

Can't understand why you don't like Áine Lawlor,in my opinion she is one of the best presenters on RTE.

Sweeney I would agree with you on,but he only read out sport results on Five Live.

Des Cahill is totally unsuited for the slot he has at the moment.

Derek Mooney should have stuck to the wildlife programme.

Some goon with a Clare accent at 2300 hrs on RTE really gets my goat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,962 ✭✭✭Greenman

Ok explaining here goes.

Aine Lawlor, I can't stand the way she talks, I find her childish, she states the obvious, maybe better suited on a childrens TV programme.

Fergal Sweeney, accent is cat,seems to fluffs nearly everything,seem to forget what he is going to say.

Talksport daytime presenters, I just really don't like them, it just dosen't do it for me.

Dot Reece/Davis, the accent is cat and really grateing on my nerves, I've heard her interviewing its cat.

George Hook, its the accent, cat!!!!

Speaking about Mr Mooney well that woman Eanna ní Lamhna can't stand her, once again the old chestnut, the accent is cat!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Lots of cat accents in there, and yet no mention of Joe "Da Dub" Duffy ? Woeful accent for national radio.

What accents would you view as acceptable ?

Mind you, it's weird that you've put the accents ahead of comments on ability and presentation style (and in the cases Hook and Mooney and Eanna, the only criteria).....have we really gone so far that the accent is more important than talent ?

Yes, there are accents that grate on me too, but my priorities would be
    1) Presenter's Ability
    2) Presenter's Style
    3) Programme Content
    4) Programme Style
    5) Presenter's Accent

and with 3 of those related to the presenter, we all know what Meatloaf once said.........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Meow then.

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,726 ✭✭✭✭DMC

Some accents do annoy, but I'd sooner have clear diction in a regional twang than everyone having clear diction using received pronunciation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 835 ✭✭✭miketv

For me its Michael Mac Muuullannnn, arrsenall and you'r kkknightedd..
    ah hate his accent..

• Registered Users Posts: 166 ✭✭Kaylee

OP, I know what you mean about Aine Lawlor, I find her a bit irritating also - not her accent or interviewing style so much as the crappy little jokes she sometimes makes. She has a smugness or something about her, like in school when teacher tried to be funny.

Accents don't really bother me (except maybe for M. McMullen!), sure isn't that the way we speak? Eanna has a lovely Louth accent - nothing wrong with that! I remember a while back Derek Mooney did read out a letter from some guy who tore Eanna to bits - especially her accent.

It's hard to say which presenters I don't like, as even the ones I do like grate sometimes. I'm not crazy about the woman who is presenting with Ger Gilroy in the mornings at the moment, she tries a bit too hard. Also dislike most of the presenters on Dublin 104 and 98 fm.

Just remembered - yer woman who does the newspapers on Newstalk some mornings - she was on this morning, omg she gets on my nerves. She tries to see the funny side of everything, really can't stand her chortling away in the mornings. She's the marketing manager for some business magazine or something, can't remember her name.

Glad I'm not the only one who does'nt 'rate' Ms Lawlor. It would help if she could remember who she was speaking to at any given moment and could read a clock.

Joe Duffy can really annoy with his insistence of needless repetition of some 'shock-horror' factoid for cheap effect - "You paid 6.35 for a pint, 6.35 FOR A PINT?????? etc.

I find his campaigning a bit wearing too. At the moment he is doing a Gobbels against the Mater hospital on behalf of a woman who's book he launched which details the shoddy state of the hospital. Its use of public airwaves to
    get a climbdown by the Mater on an essentialy private issue (Matars lawyer sent cease and desist order to author).

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

mike65 wrote:
    Joe Duffy can really annoy with his insistence of needless repetition of some 'shock-horror' factoid for cheap effect - "You paid 6.35 for a pint, 6.35 FOR A PINT?????? etc.

I find his campaigning a bit wearing too. At the moment he is doing a Gobbels against the Mater hospital on behalf of a woman who's book he launched which details the shoddy state of the hospital. Its use of public airwaves to
    get a climbdown by the Mater on an essentialy private issue (Matars lawyer sent cease and desist order to author).

Mike.

On one hand I agree with you - I think you could raise any issue you liked on Liveline, and, with clever editing, make it sound like the whole country is either rabidly pro- or anti-. But I have to say, in this case, I've been genuinely shocked at some of the stuff I've been hearing, and I've a pretty severe bull**** filter when it comes to complainers. Anyway, sorry for straying off topic. :)

I don't like Tom McGuirk, just because of his booming voice, I usually like Ian Dempsy but have found him irritating of late - really want to like the breakfast guy on phantom but just can't do it - I love Matt Cooper and I think John on DCAL traffic in the evenings is really good - very informal style, but forsters a sense of community when you are stuck in a jam :)

Kaylee wrote:
    OP, I know what you mean about Aine Lawlor, I find her a bit irritating also - not her accent or interviewing style so much as the crappy little jokes she sometimes makes. She has a smugness or something about her, like in school when teacher tried to be funny.

Thank you very much you said all I wanted to say and more "cringe,cringe"

Now on to Joe, well he was not great when doing leg man for Gaybo but I have to say I quite like him now, sometimes guilty of not listening to the answers of his questions.
    Liam Byrne wrote:
    Lots of cat accents in there, and yet no mention of Joe "Da Dub" Duffy ? Woeful accent for national radio.

What accents would you view as acceptable ?

Mind you, it's weird that you've put the accents ahead of comments on ability and presentation style (and in the cases Hook and Mooney and Eanna, the only criteria).....have we really gone so far that the accent is more important than talent ?

Yes, there are accents that grate on me too, but my priorities would be
    1) Presenter's Ability
    2) Presenter's Style
    3) Programme Content
    4) Programme Style
    5) Presenter's Accent

and with 3 of those related to the presenter, we all know what Meatloaf once said.........

Yes I could go down the attribute road but what about I just don't like listening to them.

I am not an accent basher as I could list a ton of presenters with regional accents that I love. Alan Green,Fergal Keene{BBC),James Naughtie,Ian Robertson,Nicky Campbell and many more.

More to my don't like list, Dotun Abebayo,Phil Williams,Marian Finucane,

Dose anyone not like Dot Reece/Davies ala Five,Live.
    Some goon with a Clare accent at 2300 hrs on RTE really gets my goat.
    Its "Jacksie" from Killinaskully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,907 ✭✭✭Badabing

Evelyn o' rourke really annoys me! She thinks she's so funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,739 ✭✭✭sudzs

Badabing wrote:

she is the worst! And that forced laff of hers... :mad:

A close second is Avril Hoare.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,577 ✭✭✭Heinrich

No mention of Gerry gynaecologist-wine specialist-paediatrician-thesbian-detective-Ryan of the wobbling jowels?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

I haven't listened to him in so long, I've forgotten.

I saw Gerry Ryan a while ago near mount st - think he was coming from dobbins. He was walking along with his jacket hooked over his finger, smoking a massive cigar. The best way to describe his walk was strutting. i was thinking "fair play to ya, I'd be strutting too if I'd a gig as easy as yours!" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

In all fairness to RyanOnTheRadio, I heard him the other morning when he had Fiona Looney in and was talking about eating people (She'd eat Brian O'Driscoll, he'd eat Keith Wood...) and myself and the missus thought it was great craic.

Generally don't like his show though and think he's wrong for a station like 2FM on a number of levels. He could very easily be transferred to Radio One and replaced with a mid-morning music madniess extravaganza whizz-bang type show... 2FM IS meant to be the national music/entertainment station after all - taking 3 hours out of the daily schedule for a phone-in chin-wag show is really a bit ridic... don't ya think?

Talkin about Looney,pity something wouldn't eat her.Preferably something of the saurian species,with fondness for remote creeks in Northern Australia .

Bard wrote:
    Generally don't like his show though and think he's wrong for a station like 2FM on a number of levels. He could very easily be transferred to Radio One and replaced with a mid-morning music madniess extravaganza whizz-bang type show... 2FM IS meant to be the national music/entertainment station after all - taking 3 hours out of the daily schedule for a phone-in chin-wag show is really a bit ridic... don't ya think?

I agree, but all the local stations have to have 25% news, so for a talk show on 2FM, it puts it on a par with the locals, and therefore less finger wagging from the independent sector.

In saying that, I've long been an advocate of of getting rid of Gerry Ryan from 2FM. His is the show that makes any other changes in the schedule ineffective. You can put Nikki Hayes or Damian Farrelly at lunchtime or Marty in the Morning or Marty at Midnight, the schedule has a fixed three hour show that is in the eyes of RTÉ brass, an immovable object. Because of the topical nature of Gerry Ryan's show, his age shows up more quickly than a newcomer hearing Larry Gogan for the first time. I don't think that Gerry Ryan has a natural home in RTÉ Radio 1, its either 2FM or somewhere else; I'd favour somewhere else.

At between 9am and 12 noon, there is a dearth of non-stop "pop" music shows on national radio, and if you have radio outside of Dublin, its practically non-stop chat in that time on any frequency.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭popebenny16

Yesssssss..... Aine Lawlor and David Hanley when Des Cahill was doing the sport. The way they would top and tail his spot with a joke, or simply laughing at the fact that the sport was on next, as if they were told "Sport: light-handed touch there"

Lawlor: Ha ha ha and now, ha ha, here's Des with, ha ha, the sport
    (Hanley in the background laughing)

Des: Yeah, firstly motorsport and the trajic death of the driver in the German Grand Prix...... (Des mentions broken leg in the Championship, a horse having to be put down, couple of other horrific sports stories all including injuries)

Lawlor: Ha ha , thanks Des, it's a quater to nine, I mean eight, he ha

(Hanly can be heard falling off his chair in the background laughing)

DA DA DA-DA

• Closed Accounts Posts: 751 ✭✭✭Chillwithcian

Derek mooney = UUUGHH! And horrific jingle.
    I love newstalk presenters.... Can't see why other people don't (Don't judge a person by their accent people, the content and quality of the program are way more inportant.)

I hate the sound of my own voice on radio, always sounds like lumps in my throat, lol :o (Having said that, nearly all presenters do, but they never tell you ;))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,344 ✭✭✭NUTLEY BOY

mike65 wrote:
    Mike.

I don't think that this is fair comment.

Liveline have been doing a public service by bringing attention to an issue which is one of of major public interest irrespective of whatever views Duffy himself might hold on the issue. Incidentally, I don't think that he uses the programme to push any personal agendas.

The "Gobbels" remark is surely not intended in the same way that Michael McDowell said something similar of Richard Bruton ??

NUTLEY BOY wrote:
    Incidentally, I don't think that he uses the programme to push any personal agendas.

Charlie Bird's book, perhaps?

Duffy is becoming a dab hand at using his programme for the propagation of his own views, he just uses carefully selected members of the 'public' to do his bidding.

Mike.

jaysus ,Duffy had some poor dude from FineGael on the blower today about the drunk driving thing.He got the poor divil to say that zero drink and drive was now Fine Gael policy.He then proceeded to beat that statement into the ground with a mallet for the next hour and a half when any half wit would know that that was NOT Fine gael policy.

I'm sure there was statement from their Press office later,I had to do a bit of work so couldnt follow up.What a pillock

jaysus ,Duffy had some poor dude from FineGael on the blower today about the drunk driving thing.He got the poor divil to say that zero drink and drive was now Fine Gael policy.He then proceeded to beat that statement into the ground with a mallet for the next hour and a half when any half wit would know that that was NOT Fine gael policy.

I'm sure there was statement from their Press office later,I had to do a bit of work so couldnt follow up.What a pillock

I noticed this myself, the FG guy was about to go into a meeting etc so sort of had to go suddenly and Joe like a reporter heard the no drinking or driving and took this from that moment as the partys new campain telling every caller after "so what do you think on FG policy of zero drink and driving from now on?" yes he did beat it itto the ground and yes the press office at the end of the programme said this was not their policy

LOL... Fine Gael policies.. make it up as we go along... what ever the cause of the day is, some FG'er has a microphone shoved into his face, or ring Liveline, and say anything, and I mean anything that presses some buttons.

The likes of what went on yesterday sounds very much like what happened prior to the last election, when Noonan and Mitchell said anything that might sound like crowd pleasing.
    They still haven't learned how to manage their troops in the media. Really. 5 years is more than enough time to get coherent again.

Two radio programmes in two days on two different stations, and two FG'ers face the wrath of the FG press office. Doing themselves no favours on the nations media.

(edit: last few posts might be better suited for a general Joe Duffy thread?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

Gerry Ryan :mad: nuff said

Also Ian Dempsey but don't know why, can't warm to the guy at all - seems a bit smarmy or something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,659 ✭✭✭magnumlady

Heinrich wrote:
    No mention of Gerry gynaecologist-wine specialist-paediatrician-thesbian-detective-Ryan of the wobbling jowels?

I can't stand him at all. He has to bring sex into almost every topic and I wish he'd learn how to say cervical, instead of the way he says cerviacal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭Big Tone

Got a new tag he could use "Its Gerry Ryan at your cervix" :p

somebody i do like is "pearl" on phantomfm
    nice voice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 474 ✭✭Ryaller

As someone said earlier - "Oiwoyam Mawoichal Mawackmullan-aaah"
    I breath a sigh of relief whenever it's the other sports guy.

And Ray Foley. Him and that other fool he has on with him annoy the hell out of me. One of them says something vaguely risque a child wouldn't laugh at, and the other one leaves 30 seconds of dead air then goes "right".

This.
    Is.
    Not.
    Comedy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭popebenny16

Ray Foley.

Isnt there a ban on discussing him here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 474 ✭✭Ryaller

Isnt there a ban on discussing him here?

What???? Why?????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

I agree, Gerry Ryan annoys the bejaysus out of me, as does Tony Fenton.

Used to love the Today FM Breakfast Show, but for the last while (for some reason) Ian comes across like he's bored or disinterested.

I almost never listen to 5-7 live or whatever its called now, but on the way home I bothered my arse for a while as Mary Wilson is the pits.

She comes across rather like a 8th grade teacher, humouring the kids. Also she shouts, most women presenters do this unfortunatly.

Oh yes John Kelly - Lyric FM! What happened there? I like much of what he plays but the man is a complete no-no for his "presence" and waffling.

Mike.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 92,550 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Gerry ****ing Ryan

Badabing wrote:

Thats another of the Aine Lawlor type, was thinking of her today and wanted to add her,well done.

BTW Why do many RTE Radio 1 presenters say "Thank you indeed" Whats this indeed word?

Indeed.

Sorry, couldn't resist :D

Ryaller wrote:
    As someone said earlier - "Oiwoyam Mawoichal Mawackmullan-aaah"

reeeeeaaaalllooollllyyyy haaaooove to oooorgreee with you theeooreee :D:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 205 ✭✭Stugots

Turbridy - don't know how many times I've nearly crashed the car rushing to change channel when the smarmy git comeson after the 9am news....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,739 ✭✭✭sudzs

Did anyone mention Derek Mooney yet???

That child-man is unbearable with his gibberish and infantile insults and the way his voice goes up an octave and his adolescent giggling.. :mad:

How in godsname did he manage to land all his RTE jobs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

I hate them all equally...

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,651 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Ruth Scott
    Rick o' Shea

in that order. Especially ruth scott and her size 9 feet. God im getting angry thinkin about her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,659 ✭✭✭magnumlady

I had the misfortune to be stuck waiting in the hospital the other week with Pat (the plank) Kenny on the radio, could he be anymore dull!

magnumlady wrote:
    I had the misfortune to be stuck waiting in the hospital the other week with Pat (the plank) Kenny on the radio, could he be anymore dull!

I like him alot on the radio but not great on tv.

Has anyone heard Dot Davies? DMC I'm sure you have.
    What do you think of Peter Allen? I think he's not great and so sad that he thinks he is so funny, he's not!!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

I really cannot stand the following:

Ryan Tubridy
    Pat Kenny
    Martin King :mad:

Greenman wrote:
    Has anyone heard Dot Davies? DMC I'm sure you have.
    I should, but I don't listen to 5 Live as much as I used to, only listen to live soccer, and even that is more occasionally than before. 5 Live is not the station it once was. I'll come back to this in a sec.....
    Do you refer to Dotun Adebayo?
    Greenman wrote:
    What do you think of Peter Allen? I think he's not great and so sad that he thinks he is so funny, he's not!!!!!

Peter Allen, to me, is the best presenter on 5 Live. His show, Drive, with Jane Garvey, is the one show that hasn't changed much in all the time. Its the one show, and their style, that hasn't been tampered with much over 10 years. Everything else is just cat.

FFS! Aine O'Conner did it again this morning, "its 8,27" She exclaims just prior to an ad break, then after it she appologieses for causing panic in the nations kitchens!

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,733 ✭✭✭squonk

Greenman wrote:
    Thank you very much you said all I wanted to say and more "cringe,cringe"

Now on to Joe, well he was not great when doing leg man for Gaybo but I have to say I quite like him now, sometimes guilty of not listening to the answers of his questions.

Yes I could go down the attribute road but what about I just don't like listening to them.

I am not an accent basher as I could list a ton of presenters with regional accents that I love. Alan Green,Fergal Keene{BBC),James Naughtie,Ian Robertson,Nicky Campbell and many more.

More to my don't like list, Dotun Abebayo,Phil Williams,Marian Finucane,

Dose anyone not like Dot Reece/Davies ala Five,Live.

Its "Jacksie" from Killinaskully.

It is indeed and the guy's name is Paraic Breathnach. He's not from Clare afaik. I think he's from Galway or up that direction.

Worse again!!!