Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester United Transfer Rumours/Discussion 2006 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,894 ✭✭✭evad_lhorg

well if they are going to get them , any team, they need to have them by thursday as its the date for champions league registration. come on fergie work some magic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,072 ✭✭✭✭event

Atlas_IRL wrote:
    this is a joke, mourinho doesnt even sign the players the chairman does

says who, the mirror?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

Sometimes I wonder exactly what constraints are on newspapers as regards printing factual material.

Well it's based on whether a right-minded person would consider it acceptable, and since no right minded person would listen to any of the ****e, it's allowed. Kinda like the weekly world news.

Torres said a while ago he wouldn't want to join a team like Chelsea, as he wants to play football.

As for Gerrard, I don't think he is a complete midfielder because he can't play just as a central midfielder. He needs to be the most attacking. While he could play with Alonso, he cannot play with Lampard.
    'complete' has connotations as good and bad, it's not, it's just he is more specialised, and he is an attacking midfielder.

Personally, I think he is a freak of a player, who doesn't hold any natural position, and contributes the same to the team almost whereever he plays. For that reason I think his best position is right wing, because he can do what he does in the attacking midfielder position, i.e. make through balls and have long range shots, without the downfall of always trying the killer ball and thus ****ing up Liverpool's + England's attacking tempo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,510 ✭✭✭sprinkles

PHB wrote:
    Well it's based on whether a right-minded person would consider it acceptable, and since no right minded person would listen to any of the ****e, it's allowed. Kinda like the weekly world news.

Torres said a while ago he wouldn't want to join a team like Chelsea, as he wants to play football.

As for Gerrard, I don't think he is a complete midfielder because he can't play just as a central midfielder. He needs to be the most attacking. While he could play with Alonso, he cannot play with Lampard.
    'complete' has connotations as good and bad, it's not, it's just he is more specialised, and he is an attacking midfielder.

Personally, I think he is a freak of a player, who doesn't hold any natural position, and contributes the same to the team almost whereever he plays. For that reason I think his best position is right wing, because he can do what he does in the attacking midfielder position, i.e. make through balls and have long range shots, without the downfall of always trying the killer ball and thus ****ing up Liverpool's + England's attacking tempo.
    but he can't beat a player and he lacks the pace that imo a winger must have.

Peronally I think he's best deployed beside a very good holding midfielder. Alonso compliments him really well.

but he can't beat a player and he lacks the pace that imo a winger must have.

Beckham couldn't beat a player and lacked pace, and still was one of the best players in the world during his hay day.
    Also, it's not like he's slow, and can drive past people, it just requires him running at them before hand. Right wingers can also be right sided midfielders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,510 ✭✭✭sprinkles

PHB wrote:
    Beckham couldn't beat a player and lacked pace, and still was one of the best players in the world during his hay day.
    Also, it's not like he's slow, and can drive past people, it just requires him running at them before hand. Right wingers can also be right sided midfielders.
    But beckham relied heavily on G. Neville to make runs dragging the defender with him leaving becks enough room to cross or he'd slide G. Neville in. He was never an out and out winger and that meant he needed help. Gerrard would be similar. he needs a partnership no matter where you put him. He's not a player constrained to a particular position. By that I mean he's not brilliant on his own in any one position.

Take for example Keane. He didn't need a specific player beside him to work well. Ronaldo/duff etc don't rely on others to make over laps etc becasue they can beat players and have the pace required.

Anyway we're veering off topic here :) ....

I think Carrick needs a partner who can let him look for that killer pass without worrying about covering the defence. He's not a replacement for keane. Doesn't even come close. He needs a keane-esque partner, someone with an engine that can take him from box to box. Where has all the talk of Diarra gone?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

sprinkles wrote:
    Where has all the talk of Diarra gone?

Italy, by most accounts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭gracehopper

When were hammann and alonso preffered to him in the centre?:confused:

Didnt gerrard play on the RHS last year?

anyway enough stevie G talk this is a manu thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

Complete midfielder = Bryan Robson.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Complete Midfeilder = Fernando Redondo TBH!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

evad_lhorg wrote:
    well if they are going to get them , any team, they need to have them by thursday as its the date for champions league registration. come on fergie work some magic

Not neccessary, thats champs lge registration for the pre qualifiers not for the proper rounds*

*as far as I know, saw it online earlier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Didnt gerrard play on the RHS last year?

anyway enough stevie G talk this is a manu thread.

No it was usually Sissoko. But that wasnt because Alonso and Sissoko were better midfielder then gerrard. It was due to the fact that we had no right winger and gerrard was the bestp layer available to play there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,847 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

adox wrote:
    Complete midfielder = Bryan Robson.

yep, closest your gonna get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,149 ✭✭✭BFassassin

it looks like gravesen is on his way out of madrid. he was supposed to have been sent home after a bust up with robinho. he would be a decent player for united and one that has been linked to the club for a long time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Viera has signed for Inter. Another target gone (and for just 6.5 mill)

Mike.

Who says he was a target?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,057 ✭✭✭TheMonster

PHB wrote:
    The English press - don't you know what they say is gospel.:rolleyes:

No way I would want him there - trouble with a Capital T, too much history there.

• Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 9,049 Mod ✭✭✭✭Aquos76

PHB wrote:

From what I could find, Viera himself was trying to get a move to OT rather that Man U looking for him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,057 ✭✭✭TheMonster

Aquos76 wrote:
    From what I could find, Viera himself was trying to get a move to OT rather that Man U looking for him.
    I think you will find was his move to Inter was stalling and thats why he said what he did yesterday - withing hours his move was sealed - coincidence??

Anyone seen much of Marcos Senna?

He's been linked on manutd.com. I've only seen a handful of games on from the CL and a few from la liga but he looks decent. He's 30 though.

Carrick is being unveiled today and we'll be able to see him against Porto on friday night in the Amsterdam tournament.

Do Sky have this tournament or is it MUTV?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,066 ✭✭✭BKtje

Sky have it, they are the main sponsors i think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,613 ✭✭✭Big Nelly

B-K-DzR wrote:
    Sky have it, they are the main sponsors i think.

Sky have it ever year, Arsenal where in it last season and I think Liverpool the year before. Utd played in it a few season back.Usually the games are dreadful

• Registered Users Posts: 378 ✭✭james123

Vieras agent just released that story so Inter would give him a faster and better deal.

Cant belief fergo hasnt signed the two Argentina lads Riquelme and Mascherano they would compliment each other very well and probably some of the best young players in the world in their two roles, just what he needs.For the ridiculous money he has spent on carrick he could have got the two of them with some extra change. 18-19 mill was crazy money!

james123 wrote:
    Vieras agent just released that story so Inter would give him a faster and better deal.

Cant belief fergo hasnt signed the two Argentina lads Riquelme and Mascherano they would compliment each other very well and probably some of the best young players in the world in their two roles, just what he needs.For the ridiculous money he has spent on carrick he could have got the two of them with some extra change. 18-19 mill was crazy money!

and you're suprised?

and you think he could have got mascherano and riqueleme for 19million?

:):):):):):):)

not a chance, and riqueleme wouldn't cut it in england?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,003 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

james123 wrote:
    For the ridiculous money he has spent on carrick he could have got the two of them with some extra change. 18-19 mill was crazy money!

United will pay anything from £14 million to just ove £18 million for Carrick . 14 million being the minimun but for it to reach 18 Utd have to have to be majorly successful over the next few seasons and win the Champions league. If he makes that much a difference even at 18 it will be money well spent.

Fifa plan to change the rules in the near future to ensure that teams competing in Europe have home grown players so in the long term it makes sense to take that into account when purchasing players.

I dont think Riquelme would be a success at United either, for me his perfomance in the CL final indicated that he does not perform well under pressure, I would image any interest united had in him diminished after that game. I doubt very much you could get both those players for less than £18 million

well with that extra bit of change it would have made 30 and I reckon he would have got the two for around 30 mill.
    Everyone seems to be afraid the argentinian midfielders wont make it in the premiership because of one J "lazy" Veron. They are two fantastic players,:confused world beaters and you cant honestly say carrick is the better option:) :):):):)

james123 wrote:

Riquelme is 28, he's not young, mascherano is 22. It would take nearly 40 million sterling to get them 2 players.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

PHB wrote:

Sir Alex himself.

Mike.

Well SAF has just confirmed that he did indeed consider bidding for Vierra but he never actully lodged a bid.

A bit like the Duff situation, how did we miss out on him when we did not try and get him.

james123 wrote:
    well with that extra bit of change it would have made 30 and I reckon he would have got the two for around 30 mill.
    Everyone seems to be afraid the argentinian midfielders wont make it in the premiership because of one J "lazy" Veron. They are two fantastic players,:confused world beaters and you cant honestly say carrick is the better option:) :):):):)

mascherano would make it, riqueleme wouldnt

he needs the team built around him, like villareal, and that argie team has him as the main point of attacks too. he needs a lot of willing runners beside him, and fergie wont do that to a chap of 28
    and he wouldnt leave villareal and spain

aimar was only €12million IIRC, why didnt he move for him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

The Muppet wrote:
    I dont think Riquelme would be a success at United either, for me his perfomance in the CL final indicated that he does not perform well under pressure.
    Aye he was brutal in the final, didn't even get a kick of the ball ;)

Well its to late now considering the money he has spent on carrick but mascherano would certainly be a viable option for a second midfielder bar his brazilian club dont get a infected with the transfer crazy bug which seems to be going around.
    Otherwise From what Ive seen at the world cup Senna would be a decent stop gap for a couple of seasons, but its only a World cup after all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭Ruskie4Rent

event wrote:
    aimar was only €12million IIRC, why didnt he move for him?
    Maybe he didn't want to leave spain.
    You're all thinkin SAF hasn't heard of these people or that he judges them badly but there are thousands of reasons why a deal doesn't happen.

Jesus christ, this is the same thing all over again.

Mascherano has an asking price of at least 20 million, and just yesterday said he wanted to stay at Corinthians to turn things around (they are currently 8th in the league or something)
    Riqueleme was looked at, but wasn't suited, furthermore he stated he wanted to stay at Villareal.

Between them, it would cost at least, at least, 40 million sterling.

As for Vieira, Fergie said he considered a bid, but then decided not to. Thank god he didn't aswell.

Aimar has been utter ****e for 2 years running now, basically since Benetiz left. While I woulda liked to see him play in a United shirt, he isn't better than Scholes is currently.

PHB wrote:

Mascherano has an asking price of at least 20 million, and just yesterday said he wanted to stay at Corinthians to turn things around (they are currently 8th in the league or something)
    Riqueleme was looked at, but wasn't suited, furthermore he stated he wanted to stay at Villareal.

As for Vieira, Fergie said he considered a bid, but then decided not to. Thank god he didn't aswell.

Aimar has been utter ****e for 2 years running now, basically since Benetiz left. While I woulda liked to see him play in a United shirt, he isn't better than Scholes is currently.

well for the money and as a stop gap, i think aimar would have been ok a a squad player

the only other option would have been mascherano, who has come out today and said he wouldnt move

if he had signed mascherano and he didnt settle, in 6 months all the complainers would be asking why didnt fergie go british, blah blah blah

its always the same

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,613 ✭✭✭Big Nelly

event wrote:
    well for the money and as a stop gap, i think aimar would have been ok a a squad player

the only other option would have been mascherano, who has come out today and said he wouldnt move

if he had signed mascherano and he didnt settle, in 6 months all the complainers would be asking why didnt fergie go british, blah blah blah

its always the same

Aimar has already moved to Real Socided

• Closed Accounts Posts: 911 ✭✭✭Little-Devil

PHB wrote:

I dont think Aimar would have being a good signing, Him and scholes in the midfield together? it would never work. I think him and scholes are to simlar players. I think Mascherano would be the perfect signing and probably get him for around £20million. Manu would be the only club in europe that would be interested, barca, real, Ac, dont need him, we do.

so with Fergie in so many words sayin he's in talks/trying to sign 2 players, the likelyhood is that its Senna and the West Brom Polish GK. Now that Foster & Howard gone out on loan, that leaves Thomas Heaton and Luke Steele to deputise VDS.

I doubt should Fergie sucessfully get these two that he'll dable anymore in the transfer market. Beside, the CL deadline is coming up. With Vieira gone to Inter (and at 6m or so I think he'd have been a good purchase for United regardless of him going down hill and his Gooner connections), Javier Mascherano will not be an United player so it leaves us with Senna and that Gk (whatever his name is!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

zabbo wrote:

LOL

I thought he was MOTM, an absolute travesty he didnt lift the trophy ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭herbieflowers

Trilla wrote:
    Mascherano will not be an United player so it leaves us with Senna and that Gk (whatever his name is!)

Kuszcak!

Kuszcak!

yeah thats the one. The reasons behind this I dunno, Ben Foster may get experience at Watford but we're gonna fork out money for a keeper means a waster IMO. Anyhow hopefully Senna will sign at a low enough price, strengthen the squad and give 100% for the club

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,003 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

zabbo wrote:

My bad :o , but you got the point he buckled when the pressure was on.

The Muppet wrote:
    My bad :o , but you got the point he buckled when the pressure was on.

When United were playing against Benfica last year and the team played **** does that mean that united players are all a bunch of bottlers aswell?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,915 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

It means that they were at least as big bottlers as the other team that Benfica knocked out.. :)

We thought it was only fair we gave other teams a chance to win it. :)

A few pics of Carrick's press conference

Is it just me or does anybody else think he looks a bit pissed off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 623 ✭✭✭hawker27

if he,s pissed off i can tell u theres many a man u fan pissed off at him even before he makes his debut.
    maybe he wants to go back to spurs i wishhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.

Aquos76 wrote:
    A few pics of Carrick's press conference

Is it just me or does anybody else think he looks a bit pissed off.

hawker27 wrote:
    if he,s pissed off i can tell u theres many a man u fan pissed off at him even before he makes his debut.
    maybe he wants to go back to spurs i wishhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.

Give the man a chance. He wont do a Dj Dj, kleberson or Veron on it. Fergie was defending his decision on signing kleberson today at the press conference. Was goin on at how its hard for foreigners to settle...language,weather,family,culture,manchester being a kip etc etc....

Carrick will hopefully prove people wrong

Senna talking,
    "I know they are negotiating a transfer and I hope they sort things out as soon as possible, so I know what my future will be," he said. "To be honest, Villarreal opened their doors for me and I am very happy here.

"The club have signed some good new players and I have always said my ambition is to win a title with this club. This season would be a great chance to do that. But we will see."

yeah read that yesterday on sky text, sounds like he'll move if he's offered a good deal imo