Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So you wanna play rugby.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,686 ✭✭✭EdgarAllenPoo

Go to leinsterrugby.ie and look up the club contacts, there's usually an email address for each club.
    Send them an email and ask when they start training again. Most of the first teams are already back training but I hear J3 teams still have a few weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Amz

masseyno9 wrote:
    Hi, looking for a club for next season. Been playing for tallaght for many years (from U14 up to 20s and seniors), but highest level of rugby is J4/5 and i want to push myself a bit more. Going to college in UCD and have considered belvo, bective and old wesley because they'd be handy for training and that. Any advice/recommendations? or does anyone know when training is on for these clubs? Also wouldn't mind getting to see a match or 2 to see if i'm in with a shout of getting a game.
    If you PM me your email address I can forward you an email from Belvo Junior's manager. Their pre-season training has already started (As it has in most clubs by now) so I'd suggest maybe getting out and getting some running in while you're looking for a club or whatever.

I found out that Belvo pre season started three weeks ago, Juniors training at the moment is Tuesdays and Thursdays but that will move to Wednesdays shortly. Training time is 7pm.

Out of Belvo,Wanderers,Wesley and St. Mary's which club would be best for someone with no experience to start out with and improve/progress to playing serious rugby?

Yeah, we've been training with the Juniors up until last Thursday. They've only been doing fitness so if you've been doing your own thing or would be able to do your own fitness stuff to catch up on what you missed I wouldn't worry about it. They'll be doing their own thing from tomorrow on :) (No girls around).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,693 ✭✭✭tHE vAGGABOND

There is not really a gigantic difference between the big clubs lads, you should not focus on "which is best out of..." We are not premership footballers, its just social rugby. The big clubs have 5+ teams, and you will find a mix of people who have played for years but are very unfit and people who have only taken up the game [and may also be unfit anyway!] on those teams :)

At the end of the day, the best club is the one thats best for you to get to and from midweek for training, and then weekends, for games..

Righto. Can you answer me this then. Which of those clubs is the easiest to get to from the city centre using only public transport?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,939 ✭✭✭mikedragon32

The question should be which club is it easiest to get HOME from using only public transport. You may get a lift home from a club, but not always... If you're still living in Dunshaughlin, you may have an effort getting home on a bus!

Well Marys is out of the question, as is its right out here in Rathfarnham..

Belvo and Wanderers are only out by the RDS [as a good point of reference for you]. Both are very well serviced by busses [45 and 7 are both every 2 seconds]

If *I* was living in town I would pick Belvo, and then Wanderers - but thats cos I knew some heads in Belvo - no other reason really.

Well, I live in Leixlip and ease of access was the primary reason I picked Belvo over Mary's too.

There are several bus routes going through Donnybrook and by the RDS (10, 46A, 145 etc.). It makes it very handy getting to and from training during the week.

Where are Belvo training at the moment, their website is down for maintainance at the minute.

Belvo's home ground is half way down that road between the RDS and Donnybrook church - soz cant remember the name of the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

Anglesey Road is Belvo's ground. Clontarf is easy to get to if you dont mind going northside. 130 from Abbey Street or any bus going up the howth road or the Dart to Killester, all less then 5 minutes from the ground.
    Junior training is starting for all this evening I believe.

They've been training at UCD or Herbert PArk as their pitches are unavailable at the minute. I'll PM you the email address for the manager of the Junior Team and he should be able to help you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭kermitdfrog

Anyone still looking for a club, CYM is a junior club based in the heart of Terenure village - easily accessible by bus from town or from Knocklyon/Templogue/Tallaght directions, and close to Rathmines etc.

Always open to new members, whether you've played before or not. Teams in Leinster League 3, and in J4. All about enjoying your rugby and enjoying the craic round the club. Having only joined two years ago, having never played for a club before, I can heartily recommend it - have really enjoyed it and continue to do so. Super bunch of lads, very welcoming and very supportive. And great social life.

Training Tues, Thurs and Sundays (for now during pre-season), starts 7.30pm Tues and Thurs (so be there a bit beforehand, so you're ready to start at half), Sunday time TBC, in CYM's home grounds (between Mick Dowling's Sports and the old Quinlan's pub). All welcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 742 ✭✭✭easyontheeye

hi,

i'm 25, 5 8', 11 stone. im very fit and really strong, have good stamina. i have been doing boxing for a few years. putting fitness aside would i be too small to play or pick it up now? just curious

cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

hi,

i'm 25, 5 8', 11 stone. im very fit and really strong, have good stamina. i have been doing boxing for a few years. putting fitness aside would i be too small to play or pick it up now? just curious

cheers

Ill quote Neil Back one of the best flankers of all time who was 5 10 "If im good enough im big enough"

Just get out there and play mate and see what you think. Size doesnt matter if you stamp your presence down !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

hi,

cheers

if you are fit you will be a far better player than most in the Junior game! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 742 ✭✭✭easyontheeye

cheers guys,

what field position is best for someone of my size? where am i less likely to get creamed lol

Fullback or scrum half or wing. Jason Robinson is only 5'8. Peter Stringer is 5'7. As someone who is 5'6 and about the same weight those are the psoitions I'd be aiming for, particularly 9.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,548 ✭✭✭Luckycharm

hi,

cheers

Are you quick if so you could play in the backs, scrumhalf would be ideal but as you are new to the game you would need to work on passing etc. Best position to learn would probally be wing until you learn the game, you should be fine though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭rugalo

does size really not matter ive been thinking of joining a club for a while now but i just dont want to get laughed at over my size and fitness, i think i cud be gud on the wing.i heard there is a club in clondalkin but do they have junior teams for beginners.

rugalo wrote:
    does size really not matter ive been thinking of joining a club for a while now but i just dont want to get laughed at over my size and fitness, i think i cud be gud on the wing.i heard there is a club in clondalkin but do they have junior teams for beginners.

You won't get laughed at because of your size (the fitness might be another story depending on how bad or good it is).

If short people didn't play rugby there'd be no scrum halves and if lanky streaks of misery and brick $#!thouses didn't play there would be no such thing as a forward:D

I actually discovered the other day that I'm taller than I thought. I'm actually 5'8 not 5'6 as I thought before. That gives me a bit of encouragement positions wise.

whats a laughable fitness level?

I would say jogging half the pitch and being knackered would be laughable. As with all physical activity if you keep doing it you will get fitter and it will get easier.

Depending on where you end up playing you may be running full steam all the time or in short bursts.

So see which you find easier, sprinting or running for prolonged periods and go from there.

A scrumhalf needs to be more of a sprinter than a marathon runner. In other back positions you need a little of both. As a forward you need to be able to do the equivalent of a sprint into a brick wall and be able to do it again a few seconds later.

thanks gdm i hope i can meet all the required demands.i red a book by a chap called john lark its called "get fit for rugby" ive been slowly progressing through his set workouts and i have to say its extremely tough especially since ive just quit smoking so wish me luck

Good luck and don't go back on the fags whatever you do. If you do and then play a match you'll probably keel over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 thefatlad

Any body know of any clubs looking to take in inexpereinced players. I'm 27 and living in Dublin city centre but haven't played since school. I'm a huge fan and am looking to get into playing again. For a lot of reasons but mainly for getting fit and being part of the team atmosphere again. Any suggestions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭BraveInca

Helpful thread! How about age? Late 30's too old to start again? Anyone join a club at that age?

Never too late to play as clubs have teams of all abilities and ages!! You can join Stillorgan if you are interested, just come down training which Tues and Thurs starts at 7.30pm in bird avenue. Check out
    www.dublinrugby.com

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 thefatlad

Howya Kermit. I'm interested in joining. Can you send any details to me please at ......[mod edit] Haven't played since school but def into getting back into it

Mod edit: use pm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,939 ✭✭✭mikedragon32

thefatlad,

It's generally not a good idea to include your e-mail addy in a post. You never know when some superfreak (like the Vaggabond) will start sending you links to pron or looking for your bank details!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭Crusaderjim

Anyone looking to join a club on the Northside then have a look at Swordsrfc.com. They play in the ALSAA comlpex up beside the Airport and are are going to be a big club in a few years due to the catchment area. There are u12,u14,u16 and for the first time u18 sides.

Training is on Tues and Thurs 7.15. Some great coaching especially for lads that havent played in a while. Infact the team is full of returnees to the game! The craic is great and are renowned for the end of season tour which is in Europe or North/South America on a rotation. This year its Texas!

Visit the website for more details!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭Santa Claus

Anyone looking to join a club on the Northside then have a look at Swordsrfc.com. They play in the ALSAA comlpex up beside the Airport and are are going to be a big club in a few years due to the catchment area. There are u12,u14,u16 and for the first time u18 sides.

Training is on Tues and Thurs 7.15. Some great coaching especially for lads that havent played in a while. Infact the team is full of returnees to the game! The craic is great and are renowned for the end of season tour which is in Europe or North/South America on a rotation. This year its Texas!

Visit the website for more details!

Playing at ALSAA and exotic tours, is this what used to be the Aer Lingus rugby club ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 218 ✭✭book smarts

I'd be interested in starting rugby. But having heard the horror stories about injuries in mauls and stuff I'd only really be interested in sevens, which has the two elements of the game that interest me most, tackling and running movements, without piles of bodies crushing someone's spine into a knot. Theres also loads more space to run, which is good.

Are there any places in Dublin that do sevens?

I'd be interested in starting rugby. But having heard the horror stories about injuries in mauls and stuff I'd only really be interested in sevens, which has the two elements of the game that interest me most, tackling and running movements, without piles of bodies crushing someone's spine into a knot. Theres also loads more space to run, which is good.

Are there any places in Dublin that do sevens?

Nope very little 7's in Ireland, Fiji would be your best bet ;)

Anyway that is rubbish about all the injuries, I am playing 27 yrs and (touch wood) had no real injuries, strained knee ligaments but nothing broken etc - my worst injury was playing soccer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭zorkmundsson

maybe i was barking up the wrong tree, but this "injury" thing has put me off before.

when i came up to ucd a couple of years ago, i thought about taking up rugby. rang the bloke i found on the ucd website, who asked me if i'd ever played before (no) or if i'd played gaa (no).

he went on to say that, given my age (a doddery 22) and lack of experience he'd be reluctant having me play rugby for fear i'd hurt myself badly. however, having read what you've all been saying, this sounds like bollocks. was it just a ucd thing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭zorkmundsson

daveirl wrote:
    that's what i thought, cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭case_sensitive

I'm in the same boat, haven't played rugby since I was 12, though I'm moderately fit (we'll see just how fit soon enough), looking for a club central to Dublin. I've emailed the lads at Unidare fc (DCU), but Belvedere school is literally around the corner, surely their team plays somewhere in the North city? My old man used to play on the wing for them, presume they have an adults junior team?
    I used to play American football in the Phoenix park, and I'm nearly sure a few teams lined out there on sundays for matches.
    Another thing, my memory of school rugby was primarily of it being gratuitously violent, rucks were an excuse to stamp on someone’s nuts, line-outs mainly concerned with elbows to the face rather than securing good ball! Do I need a cup? At the time a week’s lay off of the southern goods wouldn’t have impacted my social life much, but I’d miss them more now. Also, I teach in a respectable training centre for a living, what kind of state can I expect my face to be in after a match? 

Just bought a ball and gumshield, looking forward to giving this a go.

Old Belvedere have a few Junior teams, they play at their grounds on Anglesea Road between Ballsbridge and Donnybrook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

I'm in the same boat, haven't played rugby since I was 12, though I'm moderately fit (we'll see just how fit soon enough), looking for a club central to Dublin. I've emailed the lads at Unidare fc (DCU), but Belvedere school is literally around the corner, surely their team plays somewhere in the North city? My old man used to play on the wing for them, presume they have an adults junior team?
    I used to play American football in the Phoenix park, and I'm nearly sure a few teams lined out there on sundays for matches.
    Another thing, my memory of school rugby was primarily of it being gratuitously violent, rucks were an excuse to stamp on someone’s nuts, line-outs mainly concerned with elbows to the face rather than securing good ball! Do I need a cup? At the time a week’s lay off of the southern goods wouldn’t have impacted my social life much, but I’d miss them more now. Also, I teach in a respectable training centre for a living, what kind of state can I expect my face to be in after a match? 

Just bought a ball and gumshield, looking forward to giving this a go.

Generally seems to be a school thing iv been playing club rugby all my life and the worst you get is the odd legal rake or maybe a sly punch but nothing serious then that. I know lads who played for schools and they used to always say that they were always looking for cheap shots in rucks and like.

Dunno maybe in club rugby if that happened fights would happen a bit too often last fight i was in was two weeks ago and that was just for a tackle and i was pushing the guy down to get up [surprise surprise the smallest player on the pitch ran over to start things of which cracked us and the whole Clondalkin team watch up]

All this Fight/injury stuff is rubbish. Like anything else if you go looking for a fight on the pitch you will get one - if you play within the rules hard and aggressive without reverting to stamping, punching you will be fine. Plus if you keep getting in fights you will be a liability to your team and will find you will not be getting picked.

As most of you are probally new to rugby chances are you will be playing Junior rugby against other people who are newish to the game. If you learn to tackle properly etc you should be fine. People tend to get injured when they try and protect themselves. There is a chance of getting injured but no more then any other sport - if you start worrying thinking about this sort of stuff then you might as well stay at home wrapped in cotton wool :D

As for Northside clubs there are Unidare, Swords, Mallahide, Suttonians and clontarf plus a few others. Old Belvedere is practically beside the RDS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 graham.brennan

Anyone got any info for a total beginner in the sport?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭case_sensitive

Bit of an update to this..
    I did go down to play with Unidare in the end, been playing with them since the start of the season, and it's all going pretty well. Training is Thursday night, and we play in the J4 league every saturday, we're 4th I think.

Myself and a few other new guys with no experience joined together and have all got some game time, though the coach still has to put out his best team every week, so there's a lot of waiting around for someone to get tired!
    We play tag games in training as well as during the warm-ups before most matches, so if you're not used to contact you're not totally left in the cold. That said, I'm not going to lie, people get injured in competitive matches, it's the way of the game, as Kev says, "it's not f'ing tiddywinks lads". Oh, and by the by I haven't seen a single fight yet.

I went along to some training session with a Dublin club (technically I'm still listed as playing for them) back in October but was pretty much told I had no chance of getting any match time. In all fairness I was a beginner and didn't expect to get match time for a few months but I was basically told even then that they had so many players that I'd basically being carrying water for a looooonng time so my rugby training ended there.

Basically if you join a smaller club you have more chance of getting gametime or a club that has plenty of teams that they need to fill. If you show potential you will generally be given your chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭theKramer

Luckycharm wrote: »
    Basically if you join a smaller club you have more chance of getting gametime or a club that has plenty of teams that they need to fill. If you show potential you will generally be given your chance.

Exactly. Make sure you join a J4 team as well. I joined a J4 team , for one of the bigger clubs, but they have 2 teams, and I have started every match so far this season!!!

And as for the age thing, I am 30, and only started playing rugby this season! I had played GAA for all of my youth though.

I have havent had any bad injury yet this season, just few bumps and scrapes, is all.

So I would say, give it a try.

theKramer wrote: »
    Exactly. Make sure you join a J4 team as well. I joined a J4 team , for one of the bigger clubs, but they have 2 teams, and I have started every match so far this season!!!

And as for the age thing, I am 30, and only started playing rugby this season! I had played GAA for all of my youth though.

I have havent had any bad injury yet this season, just few bumps and scrapes, is all.

So I would say, give it a try.

You obviously joined Marys or The Gick- my guess is the gick

Forgive my ignorance but who are the gick.

I joined a club at the lowest level they had and they still had too many players. I suppose I could have stayed and I probably would have if it didn't take me three hours to get home from training every week.

Meh, armchair playing's your only man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl