Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Epm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭careca

Best of luck lads, love to see one of ye take it down. I wonder will Smurphs premonition come through (Dom to win it and play Drogheda :) ).

I can just see it now. Madam Smurph palm reading, only €20 a go. Will they allow the caravan outside the SE, Fitz, etc ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭willis

GL lads,brilliant stuff to get this far,wp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,771 ✭✭✭carfax

Best of luck lads.

Dom you are playing out of your skin lately!

Was just talking to my Grandad and he said it was the best tournament he's played in a long time. He went out in 13th.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

Antesup is down but I assume ye got to the final table. Well done lads and good luck. Try and be back in time for the bcoop though :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭Hitman Actual

musician wrote:
    Antesup is down but I assume ye got to the final table.

Thats what I gather too. F**king brilliant stuff lads, here's hoping for a first and second!!!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Good luck, good luck, waiting on results here!
    it is on tv you say? :s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

Thanks for the support tonight lads. Just home now and i'm up for work in 3 hours so i'm gonna hit the sack and i'll try and throw up some sort of a report tomorrow. Wp Adrian and Dave (such a nice bloke on and off the table) and its unfortunate Dom that we clashed for most of our chips...sh!t happens!

After sleeping on my result last night, I have to admit I’m quite happy to have finished 4th for 20k last night. My target was to a top 3 place because I felt that Dave and Thomas were the far more experienced and aggressive players at the table and they would walk all over the tighter players like the German, Alan Smurfit and Vera so I’d be caught in the middle of this. If I could have got 3 handed with these 2 then I could play a more aggressive game and anything could have happened. The disappointment of not going further will soon ware off. First off I’d like to thank everyone that sent me goodluck messages and those that came along and gave me some support to make it feel like a home crowd, which I’m sure will come across on the TV!

It was a real rollercoaster battle for me, and I was up and down in chips for the whole tournie. I managed to pull of a few raises and re-raises to take some pots down preflop and never once throughout the tournament, hit a flop where I could bet it thinking I was ahead.

The table became 7 handed very quickly and then when 6 handed, you had to completely adjust your strategy. The Finnish guy Thomas was very aggressive and Dave C, to his right was also at it quite a bit. So I had to wait until they both folded before I could make a move. A couple of times, I reraised them and they threw away, thank God! I also folded JJ early on when Dave raised and there was a reraise over the top..Twice Adrian raised from the button and Thomas came over the top of him so straight away I knew this was going to be the dynamic at the table.

I got AK twice and took it down preflop and whenever I raised with a pair and was called, there was at least an overcard to the board. Same goes for when I called with a pair and missed completely. I never flopped an overpair, top pair, 2 pair, a set or anything I could trap with which I found frustrating.

One hand I had 1010 and I raised preflop to 12k (blinds 1500/3000 I think), Dave makes it 32k and I reraise to 90k. I’ve a feeling I got him to fold the better hand that time. I couldn’t let it go to a flop because Dave seemed to know when I was at it because he made a very good call against me the previous day with 4th pair. I also had to fold to him later when I bet the flop with middle pair and he came over the top.

I got pocket 10s again after that(blinds 2000/4000) and the German guy made it 20k, so I made it 60k. He asked for a count of my stack and I had 23k back. He announces call and pushes all in. TD made this stand as a call so I get to see a flop. It comes K65 and I ship my last 23k into a 125k pot and he folds.

I only limped from open play twice at the FT and both were raised. I had to either come in for a raise or call a raise .I was then forced into trying to make a few moves on the flop, and most moves came while I was in the blinds and got in cheapily.

I called a raise form Dave in the blinds with J8. Flop came K 10 6. I bet he called. Turn was a blank. I checked he bet and I reraised and he threw it away. Made a few moves from the button and CO with rubbish and I was about 80% successful but a few didn’t come off!

I lost a few big pots which could have swung it for me but I wasn’t giving up trying and there was no way I was sitting there waiting for monsters before making a move.

I called a raise in the blinds with 88, flop comes AKx, I check, thomas bets 15k, I make it 40k and he moves all in. I fold and he shows AK

I call from the SB with 74. Flop comes A45. I check Adrian bets 8K (stack is 42k), I make it 35k knowing that he cant really call with any hand here because peflop he raises with an Ace, 44 or 55. He pushed all in and he had 23. I had to call the 7k and I doubled him up

The killer hand for me….Thomas and Dave had been raising constantly at least twice and orbit since we got 4/5 handed. I find JJ in the SB and both players fold. Its last hand before the break (and I’m fuming that neither player raised this time because I was ready to come over the top) so I just make up the BB. Flop comes AA5. I bet, he calls. I bet the turn which is a 9 and he raises all in and I’ve never agonised over a call as much in my life. I reckon I took at least 6 or 7 minutes, went through a lot of scenarios in my head and I figured I’m ahead here a lot more times than I’m behind so I call the 57k. He had A7 and I doubled him up again and I’m crippled on 29k with blinds 3000/6000k.

Three times I doubled Adrian up . Earlier he was extremely shortstacked and he pushes UTG. Folded to me on the BB with 22 and it was 22k more into a 35k pot and his range is so wide here, I know its almost any 2 overcards here so I called (I had 140k). He turned over K7 and hit a K on the river.

After the break I’m in dire straits so I pushed UTG with 5d4d. Thomas reraises and its folded around. He turns over QQ. I say to Dave that you never know, I might flop a straight and just like that the flop is 623. I’m back to 60k.

Next hand I’m on the BB with AJ. Dave raises from the button (pretty standard) and I push. He calls with K10 and manages to hit runner runner straight and that was that. He had some kind words to say to me when I was going and I had a good chat with him when the tournie was over and hopefully I can pick up on a couple of things he said. Also had a long chat with Andy Black and he told me a lot of things that make a lot of sense and I’ll try to implement them into my game over the coming weeks.

Overall I made a lot of moves, because of the lack of cards I was getting, and the majority didn’t come off so as far as the TV cut goes, these are probably the ones they’ll show. If I come across as a muppet, so be it! I’m not looking for any critisism about the way I played a certain hand or for someone to say that they hate the way I played, because I know some look like horrible plays, but each one was done taking in a lot factors and maybe on another day they would have come off..

Anyways it was a good experience being on a televised table and I’ll take a lot from it and hopefully it wont be the last. Just hope I can carry a bit of form into the GJP festival..btw thanks Tom for your reporting but fcku off with the teletubbies comment..didn’t u ever hear that the TV adds 10 pounds plus it was just the way my shirt was hanging lose…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

Good stuff Tony - great read. I cant wait to watch it all back on the TV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭sikes

well played to both of ye

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

Nicely played Lads...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭jbravado

Great results lads-congrats!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭Ollieboy

thanks for the report Tony, wp to both of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭Gholimoli

outstanding lads.
    WP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

fair play tony u weren't fazed and got right stuck in to m, you gave it one hell of a go, congrats. and same goes to 5star, you both should be heading into the gjp next week with some confidence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭connie147

Congrats to ye both. A tremendous achievement.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,858 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Thanks for the support all, it was good to be on the other side for once. I will write up a report of some description in my blog at some point in the next couple of days or so once I feel less gutted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 834 ✭✭✭peeko

Sorry I must of missed it, but where did you end up coming Dom?

WD FlushDraw!

peeko wrote:
    Sorry I must of missed it, but where did you end up coming Dom?

WD FlushDraw!
    7th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭Washout

WD lads...to get through a tough field. and make the FT was great to see.

Tony I could not believe my eyes when i saw you make that call against Lederer with pocket 6's. it was defo a brave thing to do but I heard that you two were batlling ever since ye were moved to the same table.

WP again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,755 ✭✭✭tylerdurden94

Congrats both of u, looking forward to seeing it on the tv!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 834 ✭✭✭peeko

Congrats and hard luck then I guess!

It must be hard getting to the final table and not winning, but at the same time SUCH an achievment to get through such a skilled crowd. Can't wait to see this. Well done both of you :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭ianmc38

Well done Tony and Dom. Great result for both of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,434 ✭✭✭cardshark202

What they all said. Well done lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭Hitman Actual

Very well played lads, great performances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭ChipLdr

Wp lads,Great result.Will enjoy watching this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,720 ✭✭✭El Stuntman

congrats men, enjoy the moment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭shaydy

Congrats Lads!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

When is it on TV?

January at some stage I believe. No idea when exactly.

Thanks everyone for the best wishes. At least we showed them that we werent pushovers and we gave as good as we got throughout the 3 days.Yeah John, i did have a few battles with Lederer throughout the day. I enjoyed the tussles and i did river him when i made the call but i was going on my gut instinct. I would have made the call in a €50 freezeout so i thought why change my mind because it was a 3 grand buyin.

After that call hand a relaxed a lot more and played the game stress free but despite getting rid of Lederer and replaced by Andy Black, then Dave Colclough i just thought of them as another player. Its all experience and will help me to improve so i can go further in the game.

I've played in two €3200 buyins now and finished 5th in June, now 4th in this one, so the only way is up. I dont mind taking it one step at at time!!