Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

EL Transfers and Rumours Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Jonny Arson

redzerdrog wrote:
    rumours have it that drogs are about to sign a striker:eek: by the name of richie foran, I heard this today off one of the lads so dont know how reliable it is but it is a rumours thread after all.
    If you guys had 200k+ in your bank account then I might believe it!

BTW rezerdrog, does anyone in Drogheda circles know what is Doolin planning on doing with Mark Leech? Wouldn't mind it at all if he ended permanently at Shels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,750 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

If you guys had 200k+ in your bank account then I might believe it!

BTW rezerdrog, does anyone in Drogheda circles know what is Doolin planning on doing with Mark Leech? Wouldn't mind it at all if he ended permanently at Shels.

I am fairly sure he will never play for drogheda again. Doolo hates him. he would have gone at the start of the season but drogs were looking for 10k and no club would pay it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

How many strikers do you need :eek:

Rogers a done deal to us 2 year deal. Prunty we in talks over a price for him prolly 10k.

Some spanish lad on trial who played in Wales last season.

Cunningham wants 6 grand a week off us.

Thornton wants 5, Cardiff accepting offer for Byrne, doubt he will move tho.

And O Neill didnt do his ligaments should be back in 2 weeks.

kdjac

Anto Flood and Lee Roche have signed for Shelbourne.

They join Mark O'Brien, Stuart Malcolm and Marc McCulloch became Shels players from July 1st.

Anto Flood and Lee Roche have signed for Shelbourne.

Crouch and slowpoke :D Also signing Rooney off us depending if O Neill out for season.

Pats confirm Rogers, Keane and Gibson http://www.stpatsfc.com/news.php?id=1688

All 3 trained today and signed after medicals, Keane is interesting was a promising player.

Awaiting clearance for
    Welsh Premier career details for Jacob Mingorance

Llanelli AFC Exciting Spanish midfield general who was formerly with Malaga CF and made a big impact during his first two seasons in the Welsh Premier with Llanelli. Voted into the managers' dream team in both his seasons at Stebonheath Park, he was unable to agree a new deal for 2007/8 and left the club.

Totals 54 9 23

And Byrne has to decide his future himself after Risdale agress fee with Kerr, hopefully Cunningham and Thornton told to **** off.

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Decision due to be made tomorrow on Shaun Williams. We got him on loan from the Drogs at the start of the season. Hes been Dundalks best player this year. Really hope those dirty Drogs don't take him back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Looks like 3 decent signings for Galway united.:cool:
    Former Scottish U-21, Shaun Fagan (23) signs from Motherwell Football Club where he made a total of 80 apperances in the Scottish Premier League.
    Dutch striker Yeboah Mensah, a former U-19 International, signs from Dutch 3rd Division side Leonidas.
    18 year old Daryl Robson signs from Middlesbrough FC

Pighead wrote:
    Decision due to be made tomorrow on Shaun Williams. We got him on loan from the Drogs at the start of the season. Hes been Dundalks best player this year. Really hope those dirty Drogs don't take him back.

he was u21 player of the year last season for us but havent a clue what doolo has in mind for him.
    How many strikers do you need

well the only fit ones are Zayed, sami and fitz and it looks like fitzy days are numbered. its no use having 27 strikers if they are all injured.

redzerdrog wrote:

well the only fit ones are Zayed, sami and fitz and it looks like fitzy days are numbered. its no use having 27 strikers if they are all injured.

According to wiki you have 7, we have 2 and one injured :confused:

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,147 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

John Martin to Shams from Longford.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Is there a major clearout going to happen down the FlanSiro?

Oh yeah.

Derry have a new boss.

http://rte.ie/sport/soccer/2007/0703/derrycity.html
    Former Hearts manager John Robertson has been installed as the new boss of Derry City.

The 42-year-old, who won 16 caps for Scotland, has agreed terms with the Candystripes on a initial 18-month contract with the option of a further year.

Robertson is due to arive in Cork today to meet up with the squad ahead of their FAI League Cup quarter-final encounter with Cobh Ramblers.

He'll take charge of the side for the first time against Sligo at the Brandywell on Friday night.

Peter Hutton had been in charge of the Derry first-team on a caretaker basis after Pat Fenlon resigned.

City have struggled to replace Fenlon, with Pat Dolan being among those linked with the role, but in Robertson, they have finally found their man.

Looks like a decent appointment, and always nice to see some fresh blood in the league.

God knows Seansouth, we have not much left to clear out. Prunty will leave id say.

Is Kev Doherty still there?

Would love him back in the red.

He is but he is injured.

Should have known.

Bigger sicknote than Darren bleedin' Anderton that fella.

Shels' New Signings
    Shels add to their squad with a number of new arrivals at Tolka Park- by Gareth Penrose

Shelbourne FC are pleased to announce that they have signed the following players:

Lee Roche
    Marc McCulloch
    Stuart Malcolm
    Mark Rooney
    Alan Keely
    Anthony Flood
    Mark O'Brien (loan)

Further information on these players will be released in the next 24 hours.

seansouth wrote:

Signing another 4 too (clarke of Rovers is one) last time you signed the best players in the league now going for the worst :)

kdjac

i was talking to one of droghedas first team coaches last night and he doesnt expect any more signing in the window so that richie foran rumour was a load of bollox:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Didn't Foran just recently sign for Southend anyway?

I expect Citys 'spending' to be at an end also.

gimmick wrote:
    I expect Citys 'spending' to be at an end also.
    So I take it you think that Roy O'Donovan won't be moving to England to bring in those vital transfer bucks...

we are top of the league, we are top of the league:p :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

:(

We were bad last night from players to manager had 2 signings in the stand

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Keith_Barker ex Blackburn would ask BBurn fans if he any good but like any round here know about reserve players

And vartic masek(sp?) ex Czech international/

kdjac

http://cs.wikipedia.org/wiki/Michal_Macek

ex u20 player attacking mid, Kerr likens him to ndo/Mbazai on loan till end of season.

Kerr mentioned last night in fans meeting No EL team would sell their strikers to us and we bid for 5 :confused:

Zayed, Sammon and??????

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭John_C

KdjaCL wrote:
    Kerr mentioned last night in fans meeting No EL team would sell their strikers to us and we bid for 5 :confused:

Zayed, Sammon and??????
    If the bid was in any way serious you'd get Sammon.

http://www.stpatsfc.com/news.php?id=1701

5 signings confirmed and available to play in UEFA cup all will play some part in morrows game vs Spurs (the game which pays their wages for the rest of the season :D ) ,Pats were told not for sale by UCD afaik.

kdjac

I see Roy Keane is chasing Chopra off Cardiff.

Might put paid to Jason Byrne coming back to Ireland for a while.

seansouth wrote:
    I see Roy Keane is chasing Chopra off Cardiff.

Might put paid to Jason Byrne coming back to Ireland for a while.

Said no to us, wanted 5k a week we offered little over half that. Noone else has that kinda cash over here.

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,982 ✭✭✭Big Ears

KdjaCL wrote:
    Said no to us, wanted 5k a week we offered little over half that. Noone else has that kinda cash over here.

kdjac

How much is he reported to be getting at Cardiff ?

Those Pats signings seem decent enough , even Rogers is okay as a squad player........well kinda :p .

It seems Pats are taking more of a Shakhtar Donetsk route rather than a Chelsea type one and although they are willing to pay players good money they're not giving in to ridiculous demands(such as Byrne earning 260k a year , is that euro or sterling btw ?)

Joey Ndo off to Luton according to some weekend reports.

That bar at Inchicore can start turning a profit now.

seansouth wrote:
    Joey Ndo off to Luton according to some weekend reports.

That bar at Inchicore can start turning a profit now.

Never get a work permit, almost forget what he looks like at this stage.

Keane is our new Messiah :)

kdjac

SPA sign Glen Fitz http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2007/0801/fitzpatrickg.html?rss

Hate seeing ex-Shels lads at that club.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,686 ✭✭✭✭PDN

seansouth wrote:
    SPA sign Glen Fitz http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2007/0801/fitzpatrickg.html?rss

Hate seeing ex-Shels lads at that club.

Good move by the Drogs. Fitzpatrick can run fast but that's about the limit of his ability.

Pat's fans can start painting up those signs: "Run, Forrest, Run"

Also, Greg O'Halloran joined Galway from Derry City yesterday :confused:

Boggles the mind how a good player like Greg wasn't snapped up by one of the top four or five clubs tbh.

Son of a man nipple.

Eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,956 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

PDN wrote:
    Fitzpatrick can run fast but that's about the limit of his ability.

Yeah, right. :rolleyes:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CVJF2QWCBjA
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YDa_IxzYsfw

Merely displaying my shock at greg going to Galway.

Zebra3 wrote:
    PDN wrote:
    Fitzpatrick can run fast but that's about the limit of his ability.
    Yeah, right. :rolleyes:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CVJF2QWCBjA
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YDa_IxzYsfw
    In fairness, Glen Fitz has become a pretty poor striker since those crazy days back in 2004, Drogs must be pissing themselves laughing with Pats taking him. Certainly a very strange signing by Pats

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,890 ✭✭✭SectionF

Certainly a very strange signing by Pats
    True.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,956 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

In fairness, Glen Fitz has become a pretty poor striker since those crazy days back in 2004, Drogs must be pissing themselves laughing with Pats taking him. Certainly a very strange signing by Pats

Yes, but to say runnning fast is all he is good at is ignorance.

And yes, it is a strange signing by Pats. Still so was Jamie Harris for us in 2003, yet he gave us an edge in the run-in that no-one else apart from Nutsy could see.

Zebra3 wrote:
    Yes, but to say runnning fast is all he is good at is ignorance.

It's not ignorance at all. I've lost my voice too many times at United Park while screaming at Fitzy to tackle, to pass, to shoot ... to do something!

He did more in that tie against Lille than he did in his entire stay time at Drogheda.

Panic buy of the highest order, imment Quigley departure to Leeds if they can afford him and Adam Rooney said no to coming on loan to us.

Ndo could be available fairly soon for anyone,free.

kdjac

KdjaCL wrote:
    Leeds if they can afford
    rofl

KdjaCL wrote:
    Bar money down recently?

seansouth wrote:
    rofl

Bar money down recently?

Nope hes been a bold boy.

kdjac

KdjaCL wrote:
    Panic buy of the highest order, imment Quigley departure to Leeds if they can afford him and Adam Rooney said no to coming on loan to us.

kdjac

Do you know if any money changed hands in the Glen Fitzpatrick deal (in either direction!).

PDN wrote:
    Do you know if any money changed hands in the Glen Fitzpatrick deal (in either direction!).

18k heard that from a drogs fan tho.

kdjac

KdjaCL wrote:
    18k heard that from a drogs fan tho.

kdjac
    we paid you 18k???

redzerdrog wrote:
    we paid you 18k???

Him and Vinny Arkins will probably be up front for the rest of the season :confused:

kdjac

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,294 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

This was in the Sun today
    Leeds United and Stoke City are on the trail of UCD striker Connor Sammon. Sammon, 20, caught the eye of Leeds boss Dennis Wise when he watched UCD draw 2-2 with St. Pats in May. Wise has watched him twice since, most recently the 1-1 draw between the same teams Monday night, and is now ready to make a move for the striker.

But Leeds face stiff competition from Championship outfit Stoke City as their scouts have recommended him to manager Tony Pulis. Sammon made his UCD debut against Cork City in April 2005, just days before his 18th birthday and has netted 10 times in 37 appearances. He is out of contract at the end of the season but UCD would be due compensation as he is under the age of 23.

KdjacL you told me about two months ago that Leeds were after Sammon and it seems to be the case. He is an ok player but I don't think he would cut it over in England.

Any further word on Quigley because he is a player I would like to see over at Leeds?