Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Economics Jobs

• 21-11-2006 10:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭

What do you all work as? What sort of jobs lend themselves to economics graduates? Aside from the few Banks, what other jobs look for economics students?

I'm in second year and I'm going to send out some CV's to places to try and get a summer job. But even after my degree, what sort of places should i be looking to? I'm finding it hard to think of places.

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭J.S. Pill

I works in a call centre me. Incidentally, I'm in the process of applying to train as an Economics teacher for next September. I don't have a degree in Economics as such, I've a degree in Public Administration and a masters in Politics but there was quite a lot of economics (in one form or another) involved in both. I seem to be eligible so far, I look forward to teaching kids all I know about curves...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

Economics does not have a set career path, but it is looked upon quite well in business circles. Its not like a degree in philosophy which gets you bupkiss outside of what having any degree will get you.
    It teaches you certain ways of looking at the world and evaluating options. The objectivity that economics gives you, (the cinema ticket experiment being the best) allows us see things in terms of ultimate cost and benefit, disregarding personal bias.

The Cinema experiment:
    Two groups
    1st told that they buy a €10 cinema ticket, then loose it. Do they by another?
    Most say no.