Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lloyd O'farrell - GJP Champion!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,287 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

Well done, spend the few bob wisley!\

e.g. no blind omaha!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

ianmc38 wrote:
    There's a picture of Lloyd on antesup in the final day updates page.

Yes I've seen it.

Who is Lloyd on boards?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,502 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

Mighty stuff Lloyd - really chuffed for you. All this from winning an EPT qualifier in the Jackpot.

Now go find that guy who folded 66 and buy him a bottle of champagne.. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭Hitman Actual

What everyone else said. Brilliant result Lloyd, very well done! I thought you were f**ked when I saw your chip count at the start of day 2.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

... following his victory Lloyd O'Farrell, in true Dannenmann style lamented that he was "probably only the fourth or fifth best player in my home game".

ah lloyd, you're too kind! :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭fiddlesticks

Well done lloyd...great result!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 730 ✭✭✭aodea

I reckon he is the top player in our home game now even with Ditpoker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭ianmc38

I have a proposal. I know that you're a gambler so have a listen...

My proposal is to offer you a chance to swap your winnings for a large mystery box. It has oversized ? signs on each side (each of which adds to the mystery). If you're interested let me know and I'll bring said mystery box into the casino next time we're heading in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,895 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

Reminds me of that pokerstars ad with moneymaker in his homegame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,764 ✭✭✭DeadParrot

nice result mate wp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,450 ✭✭✭califano

Lloyd. I congratulated you on the AntesUp thread so i see no reason whatsoever to concratulate you on this one:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭bottom feeder

Lloys i just heard about your win, well played...
    im delighted for ya and what a come back
    YA LITTLE DAISY....

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

That.... was a lot of fun.

Chuffed for Lloyd and Marq. Indeed the tournament structure delivered a final two tables of quality players of all different styles (from Niall with his walkman to Conor Doyle and his iNano!). Everyone at the final tables were terrific fun to deal with, something that was characteristic of the whole weekend thanks to a great bunch of competitors. I've never seen a final table with more joking around on it! My head hurts from weird sleep patterns but just wanted to add my congrats to Lloyd!

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,434 ✭✭✭cardshark202

Lloyd, well done again. Great result.
    And just in case anyone doesn't believe how much of a degenerate Lloyd is; guess what he does after winning the trophy? Yup, you guessed it, he gets into a 2-5NL game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Marq

Well done Lloyd. In getting to the final table and to the chip lead you made a lot of good reraises which rarely got called. when they did you always had the best hand. Well played!

also congrats on getting the deal. I would agree that Liam was the best player of the last three and was finally in a position to make an attack at yourself and brendan. The deal was a good result for everyone.

I would agree with tony that you need to control your emotions better. It was a pleasure sitting beside you and chatting for most of days 2&3 but I doubt it was a pleasure for the guys you knocked out to hear your triumphant shouting. I realise that you were having a rollercoaster ride and that you in no way intended to offend people, but you came across a bit Mattias andersson at times!

I enjoyed the weekend immensely. While I was quite disappointed at never seeing a hand above A9 for 4.5 hours on the last day, I was probably lucky to get the prizemoney that I did considering my inactivity at the final table.
    toughest tourney ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭jbravado

Lloyd-Brilliant result.Doubt youll be taking that break now!!Again man really well done!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭willis

Great result Lloyd and wp Marq,I enjoyed following the coverage on Antes Up,wp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

Marq wrote:
    I enjoyed the weekend immensely. While I was quite disappointed at never seeing a hand above A9 for 4.5 hours on the last day, I was probably lucky to get the prizemoney that I did considering my inactivity at the final table.
    toughest tourney ever.

Good result for you Marq. You did look slightly dejected at the FT because you couldnt get a hand. You showed from the last 2 or 3 tables that you had the game to mix it with the best in the tournament, just a pity that the cards dried up at the FT. i'm guessing it wont be the last time we see you there.

BTW Lloyd, go buy yourself a set of poker chips and practice trying to stack them!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,054 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

Congrats to all boardsies and in particular Lloyd. I'm sorry I couldn't be there, at the least to have a few drinks. Oh well always next year. Glad it all went well as GJP deserve it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 329 ✭✭DocO

Lloyd, Led End, congrats mate. My mate paddy tobin said it was a pleasure playing at your table as i already know myself, fair play. would you believe in my head whilst sitting at your table in jackpot i was about to ask did u want a stake into the big one. admire ya for buying in and fair play to ya. congrats to mark aswell, who with a few more cards would no doubt have been splittin it with ye. congrats everyone who got results, aswell as tom and mike for such a well run event.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 834 ✭✭✭peeko

Well done Llyod! Hope this is the first of many for you :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,405 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

Marq wrote:
    Well done Lloyd
    ditto, well played lloyd great result fair play after a long few days. as for Marq wp too and to reiterate my sentiments regarding the end of Day 1LuQbox!:) what % was the tea worth?lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭pok3rplaya

The big blind omaha win was obviously a sign of things to come.

Well done Llyod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

pok3rplaya wrote:

Well done Llyod

well we all know, it's the truest test of skill in poker
    I mean smurf won it and final tabled the 300 event
    Screw horse blind omaha is where it's at!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭BigDragon

pok3rplaya wrote:

Well done Llyod
    The weird thing is he sold 10% of himself to me in this. I turned €3 into €16.50 cause he actually split it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,450 ✭✭✭califano

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,895 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

BigDragon wrote:
    The weird thing is he sold 10% of himself to me in this. I turned €3 into €16.50 cause he actually split it.

I got a measly 15yoyos for my 10%. pfft, big tournament win and he short changed me for that....:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭smurph

Congratulations to Lloyd for a brilliant win, unfortunately that's a player I have to knock off my list of blinds to rob:rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Congratulations to everyone for surviving the phenomenon that was Chief Brody and Niall "The Poet" Murphy being in the same room, the cosmic balance was completely screwed there.

Niall “The Poet”. Murphy played exceptional poker the last 2 days and was unfortunate to loose his AK v A7 and pocket QQ's against AK. He is a gentleman and a great winner and most importantly a very gracious loser.

I cannot thank Mike Tom and Brian for all their sterling work over the weekend. The atmosphere was electric and there was great fun at every table.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,864 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

I agree with all the sentiments. It was a relaxed, friendly, but very well organised weekend, and apart from getting dogged in the ME, very enjoyable even though I didn't make it on Sunday.

I'd also like to say that the dealers were excellent in both cash games and tournaments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

I suppose now the quest must begin to find the funniest and most disturbing photo of Lloyd to have on the Hendon Mob database.