Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

just got a big bill - value?

• 30-11-2006 12:14pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭

Hi lads,

Car (Citroen Saxo) is due it's NCT next week so, being the conscientous owner that I am I wanted to make sure that my baby was fully prepared for the winter and the test.

Did the following:

DIY: Oil (semi synth) and filter change, air filter element change, new front pads, changed a headlight bulb and fuel filter, topped up brake fluid (just a drop) and windscreen reservoir. All that came to just under Eur90 being DIY.

Then decided to drop the car in for the T-Belt given it has 70k on it and is 6 years old. Told 380 which I knew was about right (local guy is a Peugeot Citroen specialist). Then got a call saying the clutch was fcuked :eek: Is this right at 70k? To be fair it has been making strange noises of late but still works fine..

Looking at a total bill of Eur700 meaning new clutch is Eur320 extra. I've been told this is actually a good price for both these jobs to be done, and to be fair the guy is a Citroean specialist and does good work. Just wondering what people here think of the price as I've never had to pay for a clutch change before??

• Registered Users Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭kluivert

Timing belt is a bit expensive in my opinion but really depends on what part of the country you are from.

As for needing a new clutch, like you said, it appears to be working fine.

Does the clutch slip when pulling away at junctions or lights, or in general. Meaning is the rev's higher than what it should be in any particular gear.

Normally this is a sign that the pressure plate in worn down, cant be replaced as its built into the clutch so the whle clutch needs to be replaced.

What type of noises has it been making. squeeking noises - adjust or tighten the clutch cable, this will improve the clutch pedal resistant, but its only a short term solution.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭skyhighflyer

kluivert wrote:
    Timing belt is a bit expensive in my opinion but really depends on what part of the country you are from.

As for needing a new clutch, like you said, it appears to be working fine.

Does the clutch slip when pulling away at junctions or lights, or in general. Meaning is the rev's higher than what it should be in any particular gear.

Normally this is a sign that the pressure plate in worn down, cant be replaced as its built into the clutch so the whle clutch needs to be replaced.

What type of noises has it been making. squeeking noises - adjust or tighten the clutch cable, this will improve the clutch pedal resistant, but its only a short term solution.

I've just noticed over the past 5k miles or so a bit of a judder / shaking feeling pulling away in 1st - no other gears though, clutch was still light and changing gears was no problem. However, when I sat in the car and left the door open and pressed the clutch I could hear a rattling noise that disppeared when I let it back out. The mechanic said there's a few more k left in it but I don't want to just leave it until it until i get stranded somewhere.

That said, I heard that a test for the clutch was to put it in 4th at low speed and accelerate fully to see if it slips. It didn't. :confused:

Anyway the mechanic's after ringing I got him down to 650 for cash and it'll be done today. Might as well get it out of the way as I'll need the car over Christmas.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭kluivert

At least get a new clutch not new from a breakers yard.

That test is a great way to feck up your clutch. Not advised to do it too often. I suppose every year is ok. Simpler test is not the revs in first gear up to say 10mph and then 20mph. Then every couple of months check it again and see if they are the same, if so the clutch is grand.

The weather can make a car make funny noises.

If your happy with the price and the service then 650e for a new timing belt and clutch is not bad and you will at least have a piece of mind knowing that you are not going to get stuck somewhere sometime.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,949 ✭✭✭SouperComputer

If its juddering you should get the clutch done. Otehrwise the rivets on the friction disk will make a mess of your flywheel, further adding to the cost.

70K is early for it to go, but it depends heavily on the driver. You could destroy a clutch in 20 miles handy enough!

650 for a tbelt and clutch is a good deal!