Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Signature Tattoo

• 06-12-2006 4:59pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭CorsetRibbons

I want to get an autograph tattooed on. Where is the best place to get it done in Dublin City Centre. I want it exactly as it is on the paper I have, so I don't want someone to make a mess of it. Is there anyhwere that's particularly good at this kinda tattoo?

• Registered Users Posts: 273 ✭✭stipey

No idea I'm afraid... but out of curiosity who's autograph is it?

Your's or a hero of your's?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭CorsetRibbons

Pink.

She's so unreal. She was a very important part of a very difficult time for me. And she oozes substance. That is a rare rare thing for any superstar these days.

• Registered Users Posts: 273 ✭✭stipey

Cool fair play - i hope you get the information you need so you can sort it out.

I'd have a fair bit of time for Pink alright - her music mightn't be my thing but she gives the impression that she is genuine and also that her convictions wouldn't be changed by fame or wealth.

Can't think who my equivalent person would be though.

I've thought long and hard about getting her (or anybody elses) sig on my body but I know for definate it's what I want.
    If you can't think right off about who you're equivelant is, then it's likely you don't have one. They'd stick out in your mind a mile if you did. My work hours suck. It's all about getting the time to go to a parlour. And they never take credit card so I have to wait till the cash flows in my direction. Why don't they take credit card?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭amazingemmet

Cos on the credit cards they have to pay 21% vat as it counts a purchase on their tax return where as if you take money in you only pay 16% to the tax man as it comes under your personal returns. Ah the intricaies(sp?) of running a parlour.

As for where any of the reputable places should be able to do it.

Snake bite don't take 'em and they are v. reputable. But it's a good reason not to do so. Go them!

I went into Zulu today to get the above mentioned tattoo. I filled out the form and sat down to wait. I got a very weird feeling about the place and it appeared less than sterile. I got up and walked out. Did anybody else ever get a strange feeling in there? My instinct was telling me to leave. I'll wait for cash and go to Snake Bite I think.

Also, does anyone know the name of the tattoo parlour in the little shopping mall on the main street in Naas? They done a great job on my sisters tattoo and they're open Sundays.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭Chavster

I got mine done in zulu (like many people) and i thought it was fine. Tat was healed up in a few days with no problems.

To be honest it just sounds like there was some cold feet or nerves involved, bring along some moral support next time! Good luck on your next try :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭Maccattack

You'll regret it.

She might be your hero now but how can you be sure she will be even in a year or two?

Ever hear of Taylor Dane?

She was a similar female personality back in the 90's. Im sure a lot of girls looked up to her coz she was the real deal.

Anyone with a tat of her name now would look like a goose.

Pink could very easily fall off the face of the earth tomorrow. Why not wait 12 months. If you still feel the same then go for it. I doubt you will though.

Chavster wrote:
    I got mine done in zulu (like many people) and i thought it was fine. Tat was healed up in a few days with no problems.

To be honest it just sounds like there was some cold feet or nerves involved, bring along some moral support next time! Good luck on your next try :D

Actually, I already have several tattoos. I don't get nervous about having them. I love having them and I love the pain of them. Zulu looks scruffy and that is the reason I left. Staff weren't particularly friendly either. I also had a friend with me. I'd feel better in snake bite. They're clinical in there.

Maccattack wrote:
    You'll regret it.

Pink could very easily fall off the face of the earth tomorrow. Why not wait 12 months. If you still feel the same then go for it. I doubt you will though.

I won't ever regret it. Life is too short for regrets. I've already been thinking about it for the last 12 months so I'm not gonna wait any more. Regardless of whether she slips out of the charts, doesn't mean she'll mean any less. I'm not getting it becuase 'ooh, I'm a fan,' I'm getting it because I admire everything she stands for. That's not going to change just because she stops making music.

You may change though, and realise she is a corporate rocker like the rest. She aint no Ghandi.

or she may change, her music could stop selling and she changes her image to reignite the sales. Its not like that never happens.

Fair enough if you respect her. Im not knocking that, but youre getting a tat of her name because her songs meant something to you during a rough time. A time that in years to come (hopefully) will be a mere speck in your memory. But you'll still have the tat. Thats not what I'd call moving on.

Trust me, that time was most definately not a mere speck I will not remember. It was rather life altering.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 958 ✭✭✭porn_star

I always wonder what the artist would actually think or say to you if they knew you were going to do it. Like if it was me, I'd be totally freaked out! Each to their own I guess.

Trust me, that time was most definately not a mere speck I will not remember. It was rather life altering.

Well its your life and your body. whatever it was I hope youre ok now.

I know and I know. I'm alright now. Thank you:p

• Registered Users Posts: 32,381 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

I would consider getting some "pink" related symbol instead. I remember being really into a band when I was about 16 and thinking of getting a tattoo, even back then I was thinking I would not get their name, they had a logo on albums which I loved and would have just got that. From the 2nd album on I didnt like them much, glad I never got it, but even if I did it is just some nice logo that not many people would regonise, even though most would know the bands name they didnt use the logo much when they got more mainstream

I remember on some thread here somebody "claiming" their mate had gotten a gary glitter tattoo in the 70's, and now regretted it, I don't believe it for one second, but I could see what he was getting at, in the thread I think some girl wanted a picture of the guy from green day tatooed on her.

• I think it's a bad idea as well. I suppose at least it will just look like the word 'Pink' and maybe not be associated with the singer in years to come. I know someone who got a massive tattoo of Jennifer Lopez that covers his whole back........ I nearly died when I saw it :D

It's only a small little autograph. Its not a sprawling monstrosity. I'm getting it on my thigh so its not like it cant cover it up. Also there's always removal or getting it tattooed over if i find myself regretting it 50 years down the line. I wouldn't even consider getting her face tattoed on or anything. Theres no symbol I could get. The exclamation mark in her sig is the only one.

if i ever find myself regretting it, I promise to tell you and welcome you all to tell me, 'i told you so.'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 471 ✭✭Debracd

Ah I love pink! But would you consider getting a line from a song or something instead of the signature? It would be quite ironic really to get Pinks signature as a tattoo because you like what she stands for(as do I so i'm not getting at ya ;) ) considering she herself wouldn't even get Carey's name tattoo'd on her because she 'doesn't do names' :D

Best of luck whatever you decide! I'm getting another one soon myself, haven't quite decided what to get though :D

Deb

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 R N' R

Id love to get a guitar or a bluesman still on a stool facing the other way playing an accoustic, but id never get a band or persons name tattoed on me

The idea of getting some art work form one of her albums is better and less obsessive looking

Debracd wrote:
    Ah I love pink! But would you consider getting a line from a song or something instead of the signature? It would be quite ironic really to get Pinks signature as a tattoo because you like what she stands for(as do I so i'm not getting at ya ;) ) considering she herself wouldn't even get Carey's name tattoo'd on her because she 'doesn't do names' :D

Best of luck whatever you decide! I'm getting another one soon myself, haven't quite decided what to get though :D

Deb

This may be so, but I wouldn't not get a name just to adapt to her 'no name' way of thinking. I know she says she 'doesn't do names', yet she has a massive 'Corky Moore' on her left arm with dates I think. Corky was her dog.
    Surely pet's name count in this equation?

Oooh, also, I have considered getting a lyric from one of her songs but couldn't pick the right one. I need to pick the right one... recommend, recommend.

Most of em mean something to me anyway and the name incorporates it all.

*sigh*

Feck, now I have doubts. I did get a voucher for a tattoo for Christmas though.