Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The cyclist's exasperation

Options
  • 11-12-2006 8:36pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭

I need to get this off my chest.

I have been cycling throughout Dublin since I moved here in 1999 and I have just come across this forum. My line of work demands that I can get around the city swiftly and at short notice so I think the bike is best. (I'm the fast fella on a slicked Schwinn ATB accelerating past the couriers on their racers :D)

Over the past six to nine months I have noticed a surge in the number of commuters using bicycles in the mornings and evenings. That's great because it may be taking cars off our roads and that's to be welcomed.

With the increase in the number of cyclists, I have noticed an increase in the number of accidents and near misses - I see them every week, if not every day - usually due to the cyclist not knowing the rules of the road, and the motorist (there's always a car or van involved) not using his/her mirrors and generally not concentrating.

However, what's twisting my melons is the increase in the number of crashes caused by cyclists hitting into each other. I saw two on the same stretch of road seconds apart last week.

May I offer this piece of advice to any new cyclists who are venturing onto the capital's already dangerous streets: LOOK OVER YOUR RIGHT SHOULDER BEFORE YOU GO AROUND AN OBSTACLE! Other bikes don't make any noise!!

Anyway that's my rant.
    Thanks for listening.