Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Will it be delivered?

124»

• Registered Users Posts: 15,540 ✭✭✭✭vectra

Flunked wrote:
    Yeah, they probably are if I knew where to get them;)
    I searched sadle pack on ebay to no avail:rolleyes:

You mean like these ones ?
    This guy has several packs for sale....!!!

Yeeeoooowwww...!!! :eek: Look at these

3 nice packs here for you.

You could buy these and assemble them yourself. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭g5hn710m4xpdwy

vectra wrote:
    You mean like these ones ?

Yeeeoooowwww...!!! :eek: Look at these
    Think they are dead?

Flunked wrote:
    Think they are dead?

Why do you think that?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

Lads, veronica gerin the film is on now, just to leeve ye know;)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 3,455 Mod ✭✭✭✭coolwings

vectra wrote:
    ....I do know is that anyone in our club that races and uses Stick pack's (New or used) can say goodbye to any hope of winning a race.. They are absolute rubbish compared to the race packs that we use....

The difference between a good pack and a bad pack made from the same batteries is that one pack has a higher resistance than the other.
    The best batteries have very low internal resistance, so the power flows out with little lost power.

Some inline "stick" packs are soldered end-to-end.

Cheap inline packs are actually saddle packs spot welded to a stip of steel, and then folded to they appear to be end-to end. but there is two layers of thin steel between each battery. And steel resists electricity flowing through it. Note this is irrespective as to whether the individual cells are high or low quality.

The cheapest inline packs will not only have steel insulaters between the cells, but the cells themselves will be pretty rubbishy batteries, so these packs don't win races, they die after a very short lifespan too.

However if you pay for and get a "good" inline pack, there is merely a shim of solder between the individual cells that make up the pack. The solder gets very close on a molecular level so there is almost nothing between the cells to resist the power flow.

If you have a saddle pack, there is a layer of solder then a wire, then a layer of solder onto the next cell. In good saddle packs the wire used is very low resistance. The very best saddle packs use silver plated extremely low resistance joining straps instead of steel - these battery packs are almost as good as a good inline pack and I have made up many for my own use.

But a properly prepared inline pack is better (by a tiny margin) and since I learned to solder end-to-end with a hammer-head soldering iron, I mainly use this method.
    Occasionally the saddle method is more desirable for centre of gravity balancing reasons, and in this case I would go for saddle.

coolwings wrote:
    But a properly prepared inline pack is better .

Enough said... :D

Coolwings knows his stuff!

Plug wrote:
    Coolwings knows his stuff!

You are probably right. ;)
    That is why all the team drivers all over the world use SADDLE PACKS..!! :rolleyes:

:p
    I know, this is the way i look at them:
    Saddle packs
    high performance
    Require assebley

Inline pack

cheap
    Good for beginners
    Not as powerful as saddle packs.

I bet Flunked is just saying to himself "what are they rambling on about now":rolleyes:

Of course a saddle pack might weigh a gram or two more than the same cells in an inline configuration.

Certain airplane modellers would take such small weight differences into consideration. Others might reckon the glue from the last crash repair(s) weighs far more than any power pack weight variation!

Plug wrote:

I bet Flunked is just saying to himself "what are they rambling on about now":rolleyes:

In all honestly, you are right:o

OK so inline packs are basicly stickpacks are they?

Yeah your right;)
    IMO if you want performance go for vectra style, saddle pack or if you want RTR ease go for coolwings inline pack:)

I really only want longer run times :D
    So a higher mAh would be better, no?

Yes. A higher mAh will get longer runtimes.

vectra wrote:
    Cool..
    Kind of sorry I sold it now.. :(
    Someone asked could they buy it already:D But im not going to. Seems to be getting alot of attention.

What did you do with your t-maxx?

Plug wrote:
    Someone asked could they buy it already:D But im not going to. Seems to be getting alot of attention.

How much did they offer ?
    did you have it out again today?
    Must be clocking up the tanks of nitro on it now..
    Still think you should get some Byrons 16% down from the North ;)

What did you do with your t-maxx?
    Still have it, up for sale, the lad asked me to sell it but i said no that i already have another one up for sale, he's calling up during the week. " do a burn out, fcukin mad thing" words he spoke of it:D
    How much did they offer ?
    did you have it out again today?
    Must be clocking up the tanks of nitro on it now..
    Still think you should get some Byrons 16% down from the North

Didn't make an offer but he would have to offer alot before i think of selling this little baby. I went through a few tanks today about 5 xonsidering it was raining abit. Getting more lively by each tank. About that Bryons 16%, it might be too expesive but i'll see how things go;)

how much are you plannig on selling it for?;)

Plug wrote:
    About that Bryons 16%, it might be too expesive but i'll see how things go;)

Byrons @ £18.99 gfallon..!! :eek:

Cant get cheaper than that.

OR
    Byron 25% race fuel if you are man enough..!! :rolleyes:

The bottle in the picture looks like a US gallon to me.
    = 3.5 litres.

If that is so, then a 4.551 litlre (one gallon) container would be about 37.50 euros.

Not cheap. Can get cheaper than that. 15% cheaper.

(assuming I'm right on the fuel bottle size of course)

coolwings wrote:
    The bottle in the picture looks like a US gallon to me.
    = 3.5 litres.

If that is so, then a 4.551 litlre (one gallon) container would be about 37.50 euros.

Not cheap. Can get cheaper than that. 15% cheaper.

(assuming I'm right on the fuel bottle size of course)

Yes,
    You are right. They are U.S. Gallons.
    BUT
    The TRX Engines absolutely love the Byron Fuel.
    Now that is not just my opinion.
    That is an opinion of the majority os Traxxas owners. ;)

Flunked wrote:
    how much are you plannig on selling it for?;)

A bit now to say the truth. BUT there are aload of spares in there aswel, too much to list tbh. Sorry now but them big joe proline wheels arn't included:o
    vectra wrote:
    Byrons @ £18.99 gfallon..!!

Cant get cheaper than that.
    Thats fairly good i must say, the same price I get my stuff:) Would this lad make a trip down to the republic with the stuff?
    OR

Byron 25% race fuel if you are man enough..!!
    You can go stick it:p

Well,
    Are you still knocking the tanks of fuel?

Getting adventureus yet with it?

Getting fed up of it maybe and thinking of selling it back :(

Wish you haden't sell it eh?:D
    it was raining a bit the last few days so I had to take it handy but still managed a few tanks. It's still getting more livlier as it goes, still didn't touch the tuning yet and still flips when doing wheelies! Yup:D
    Even the gaurds stopped and took a look!

Hope they didnt try to pull you over for speeding and careless driving.. :D

vectra wrote:
    Hope they didnt try to pull you over for speeding and careless driving.. :D
    Wouldn't be surprised at the way this country is going:rolleyes: *looks at boy racers:mad:*

Plug wrote:
    Wouldn't be surprised at the way this country is going:rolleyes:

I think they might have second thought about confronting anyone around these parts for a while now.. :rolleyes: