Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pictures, pictures, pictures!

• Registered Users Posts: 315 ✭✭RTT

Hi guys,

Mounted my 50inch Samsung tv on the wall over the weekend and put in background lighting behind the tv. It looks much better in the flesh than in the photos. Also connected up my Sony 5.1 system which is on a shelf to the left of the tv.

• Registered Users Posts: 79 ✭✭Hifi Keith

Looks cool but I'm not sure I get the whole lighting behind the TV thing, think its awful on the ambilight tv's and not something I'd be recreating. Seen it on a drop down projector box and worked well though.

Nice work though :thumbsup:

Ah its just something I messed around with, can always take them off. Its actually easier on the eyes when watching the tv in the dark. More of a novelty factor really though.

• Registered Users Posts: 79 ✭✭Hifi Keith

Was going to ask about that alright, looks cool anyway so worth doing.

Had lighting all around my room in a hotel like that recently, was similar to a lutron system but less complex

This is what it looks like with the tv on.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,511 ✭✭✭digitaldr

Lovely neat job. Personally I have my TV at eye level - maybe you're just very tall or have a really high sofa :D

Thanks, well the couch is 3 metres away from the tv so its grand when we're sitting down.

• Registered Users Posts: 110 ✭✭opengoal

Nice job RTT. Where did you get the backlighting and how much do they cost? was looking at maybe doing something like this in the next few weeks. Thanks.

Thanks opengoal. I bought the lights in Ikea. They are called dioder and I bought two sets of them. Heres the link. http://www.ikea.com/ie/en/catalog/products/30119408

I know they seem pricey but I think its worth it. I joined two sets together. One long strip of four along the top of the tv and joined two down either side. I also bought one of those remote control sockets to plug the lights into so I can turn them off without reaching in behind the tv. http://www.buy4now.ie/woodiesdiy/productdetail.aspx?pid=10597&loc=P&catid=7.12
    They were handy for the Christmas lights too!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭ronaneire

• Registered Users Posts: 144 ✭✭Ricochet69

This is my setup at the moment. Im going to be wall mounting the tv and moving the projector (have to find a bigger house)

Wow, nice set up! You'd swear it was the control centre for some cctv company with all the screens! Is that 3 Xboxes you have there? And a ps3?

Thanks, yep well in total we have 4 xbox (if you dont include the 2 bricks holding the table up). Also have a pool table and darts in the other room. All we need is a bar in the corner and we will never need to go out again. Im living with 3 other lads so its a shared investment. MGS4 on the 55" screen in surround sound is savage.

BTW guys if you want to run media off your pc and have it hooked up to a tv i recommend XBMC. im currently using it to get all my media off our 4 TB nas and my god it is some lovely piece of software, also the new version can be put on apple tv/ipod/ipad if your an apple fanboy that is. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭ronaneire

Why so many TV's in the one room?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,656 ✭✭✭C14N

Ricochet69 wrote: »
    Thanks, yep well in total we have 4 xbox (if you dont include the 2 bricks holding the table up). Also have a pool table and darts in the other room. All we need is a bar in the corner and we will never need to go out again. Im living with 3 other lads so its a shared investment. MGS4 on the 55" screen in surround sound is savage.

I see ye have the proper Rock Band drums too, nice! What speakers and amp are you using?

And why so many tellies? Why not just buy one top of the line one instead?

ronaneire wrote: »
    Why so many TV's in the one room?

Well each of us own a tv and xbox before we moved in and its great for big lans of halo. The main reason was for playing Battlefield bad company 2 (only allows one person per console)

either way if someone wants to game and everyone else wants to watch tv there isnt any conflicts :P

C14N wrote: »
    I see ye have the proper Rock Band drums too, nice! What speakers and amp are you using?

And why so many tellies? Why not just buy one top of the line one instead?

yep gots me some real electronic drums and put the midi out to guitar hero drums to allow me to play them on the xbox.

boston sub, the rest of the speakers are just ones i got with the tv and other ones i picked up (need to get some good new ones) The amp is a ONKYO 7.1 its a lovely amp.

Sure that 55" Sony is really good i dont think i could get much better without going LED and your talking 3k plus for a good one that size

• Registered Users Posts: 480 ✭✭Morf3h

Ricochet69 wrote: »
    BTW guys if you want to run media off your pc and have it hooked up to a tv i recommend XBMC. im currently using it to get all my media off our 4 TB nas and my god it is some lovely piece of software, also the new version can be put on apple tv/ipod/ipad if your an apple fanboy that is. :D

Why not use your apple tv?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 155 ✭✭torrestorres

Morf3h wrote: »
    Why not use your apple tv?

Correct me if im wrong but apple tv will not play AVI files, and most movies are downloaded in this file type.

I wanna pick up a apple tv myself to use as a source in my multiroom av system.

• Registered Users Posts: 480 ✭✭Morf3h

True but they vary alot. I use Handbrake to convert any avi files that I get. it's a free software tool that's very easy to you and has an "Apple Universal" format that will play on anything from a 10ft projector to an ipod

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 155 ✭✭torrestorres

best option is to use apple tv,but jailbreak it to have boxee on it, boxee will read all avi files and has a great interface, no need to convert files then.

• Registered Users Posts: 63 ✭✭HomeBoyDeluxe

Here is a Picture of my humble set up!!! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

HUMBLE ???????????????

• Registered Users Posts: 5,159 ✭✭✭rednik

I recently purchased a JVC X3 projector with a Grandview tab tensioned screen, here are a few photos of the set up. I have 100hrs on the bulb and will calibrate the X3 in ther next few days although the picture from out of the box is stunning.

F3B7411BCD4C4A9F8AB9F5CC6DE59808-0000336305-0002423239-00640L-4CB7D00559D5419E9D043AF364B2E40B.jpg

00BB557F1F8A4600B4A734A2B4C0BE98-0000336305-0002423243-00640L-DC8E358880A44D5FAC0B00A2602BC12C.jpg

A91B806E29414F85A392EAE37510086D-0000336305-0002423232-00640L-F28F26609F4D46DF82894F80BCC74F08.jpg

AC357E8D9A2C463EB6EAFFF5B31A48E8-0000336305-0002423231-00640L-244CFC73140545C1AFE3CF87528C5302.jpg

39507087B4EC483B9E8DF7EE34BE0F08-0000336305-0002423229-00640L-53606E9EB57E42758870A811B63068B9.jpg
    My Philips 42" 9664 probably going into hibernation for a while.

F24E60AEC5CE4E958935B1A31B5AC108-0000336305-0002423227-00500L-17216E49DD264D04B6CF5B690AE493B8.jpg
    Apocalypse Now of course.

679FE70DF0F24E84B344A0CBA0C24FA4-0000336305-0002423226-00500L-90392A7E11044ADC90672474B0A3C63E.jpg
    Scottish Open.

57860D010D1A427EA18E9EA834837B10-0000336305-0002423224-00500L-BAF21F3ED67D400592A87749422A7F2C.jpg
    Just rented Battle Los Angeles.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,205 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

You should get black out curtains, makes a big difference

They are blackout blinds, not enough room between screen and wall for curtains. No problem at night, just during a very bright day but I am not using the projector much during the day to be honest.

• Registered Users Posts: 160 ✭✭millhouse

Blackout blinds definitely the way to go to finish off the room. If you get the right guys to fit them they won't allow any light in whatsoever. They need to be fitted tightly so get the professionals. Nothing is as bad as a glare on the screen especially considering what you have paid for the projector & screen. I recently had a cinema done with the JVC X3, what a piece of kit

millhouse wrote: »
    Blackout blinds definitely the way to go to finish off the room. If you get the right guys to fit them they won't allow any light in whatsoever. They need to be fitted tightly so get the professionals. Nothing is as bad as a glare on the screen especially considering what you have paid for the projector & screen. I recently had a cinema done with the JVC X3, what a piece of kit

3D is very good but in 2D it is exceptional. I will tinker around for a while until I get the right set up including positioning of speakers and the rest of the AV gear. Watched Avatar 3D and the picture was better than when I saw it in the cinema.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,656 ✭✭✭C14N

That's a nice set up but I'm not so sure it's good for the speakers to but the TV on top of them like that