Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rent Relief

Options
  • 17-12-2006 8:37pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 14

Well after finally getting of my ass to claim this for the past years , I get a letter back from the revenue. i am living with my parents and am claiming for the 70quid a week I've been paying for the past two years.

I get a letter back from the revenue reminding me that they have received a high number of claims which appear to be ungenuine and they are auditing all claims for rent relief .. it also quotes section blah blah does not cover "the provision of goods and services under the rent relief act" ... seemed a bit random to quote that portion of the act but anyways it goes on to say that I must supply copies of electricity / phone bills etc... no problem there but the request for proof of payment could be difficult seen as it's always just been the few bob thrown in cash at the end of the month. I was thinking of saying that I pay the phone and electricty as my portion of the rent .. but I'm wondering if the portion of the act they quoted above would negate me from claiming for this.

Other than that I suppose I could retrospectively write up rent books for two years !! Any suggestions or should i just tell them it's been cash handed over.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 78,396 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Be honest.

• Registered Users Posts: 569 ✭✭✭texas star