Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Arise "Sir" Paul Hewson KBE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭luckat

People used to be too proudly Irish to accept a British title, quite apart from admiralgar's point. (In fact, the Cabinet can discuss a request by an Irish citizen to hold a foreign title; was this done?)

The English like to give titles to Irish notables as a way of claiming them as *really* British, and only pretending about that oul' independence lark.

But to see someone forever lecturing the world about hunger delighted to be sirred by the granddaughter of the Famine Queen...well... one's gobsmacked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Ah the British establishment claiming yet another covetable Irishman for their own.

Nothing new here then...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,078 ✭✭✭theCzar

Though I agree with the many people who've said live and let live, this irks my republican nature nonetheless. I would have liked for him to have stood her up and pretended to be rock n roll for a day.

Remember this is the same fella who's mates with Berlusconi, so lets not be surprised at his willingness to rub shoulders with the blue bloods of "dem across de water"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

robinph wrote:
    He's already accepted the equvalent honour from the French though so they must have already taken his Irish passport off him for that offence.

French, Chilian, a citizen of Mar's.. it doesn't mean the same as the BRITISH. I don't hate British people, but dammit I hate British history in Ireland and for that their different.

Ok, I might include the Vikings, but they gave us Dublin, so I won't.. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,786 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Mairt wrote:
    Ok, I might include the Vikings, but they gave us Dublin, so I won't.. :D

Just be careful there....;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Wertz wrote:
    Ah the British establishment claiming yet another covetable Irishman for their own.

Nothing new here then...

Should'nt there be a ;) after that?

Mike.

Contemporary reportage of the Battle of Clontarf shows that some of the Vikings had already settled in well by that time:

http://omacl.org/Njal/11part.html

(Search for 'Brodir' (Bruadar, in the funny Scandi spelling) to cut to the chase; the beginning is a bit featury.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭jahalpin

I assume that Bono is getting this award for his "humanitarian efforts" rather than as his job as an entertainer.

For all the publicity he generates for himself from his work in the third world etc., it would probably help them more in the long run if he paid his taxes in Ireland, which would help us to reach the planned 0.7% of GDP in foreign aid.

He's probably also getting it for being nice to his pal Bush, who he never criticizes, while he criticizes every other country in the world for their alleged behavior.

Overall, Bono is only into the whole humanitarian thing for the money and publicity that it generates for himself and U2, which by the way I would have no problem with, if only he was open and admitted as much.

He does not deserve such an honour and it is a disgrace that the Queen is wasting a knighthood on such a person

PS: The same goes for "Sir" Bob Geldof

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭vesp

InFront wrote:
    Wow, a foreign head of state compliments the great work of one of our fellow countrymen by making him an honorary knight, and all we can do is be bitter and complain about it?

I suppose it would be better if he was some yob in a Celtic jersey down the pub singing 'go on home you british soldiers'

Lets just get over ourselves and such petty ideology. This is a good thing.

Well said. There are too many Irish who are bigoted and racist towards the British. I say well done to all the lads in U2 for what they have done over the years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

vesp wrote:
    I say well done to all the lads in U2 for what they have done over the years.

but it is Bono, not U2 getting the award

he will be Sir Up His Own Hole now. my tolerance of him was never too high

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

Yarr~! Up the begrudgers!

But meh - who cares? U2 suck - see Bill Bailey's excellent deconstruction in "Part Troll"!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 94,296 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

What about Sir Anthony O'Reilly ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭vesp

Mossy Monk wrote:
    but it is Bono, not U2 getting the award

I know that, Bono is getting honoured more for his work highlighting third world problems....

I take my hat off to any group of 4 lads from Ireland who start off with nothing and end up as successful as they have. At least they do not wear celtic jerseys and get drunk and sing auld anti-British ballads. Some of the poor posters here are typical Irish begrudgers and mopers ( most oppressed people ever ! ) and would probably prefer if they did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

What about Sir Anthony O'Reilly ?

Like Wogan, he holds both British and Irish nationality, so can use 'Sir' correctly, even though they only received honoured knighthoods (KBE).

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 94,296 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

whiskeyman wrote:
    Like Wogan, he holds both British and Irish nationality, so can use 'Sir' correctly, even though they only received honoured knighthoods (KBE).
    yes but the point is he uses it, at least Wogan lives and works there and has done for most of his life.

He's not exactly just a little Irish businessman with all his interests solely here.
    It's their own choice at the end of the day - I'm sure O'Reilly loves the extra noticeabilty of it. His media stables here used to refrain from using it for a while after he received it, but seemed to cave in after all other rival houses would overuse his full title, almost to try and embarress him in front of our nation of begrudgers and anti-monarchs.

For Wogan, he has always been known as 'Terry Wogan' throughout his broadcasting life. You can see why he chose not to use the 'Sir' on air - but he still accepted the honour all the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭dvega

When pat kenny was interviewing bob geldof he didnt once call him sir,they would warned before hand.

dvega wrote:
    When pat kenny was interviewing bob geldof he didnt once call him sir,they would warned before hand.

And rightly so, as his honour does not allow him to use it. Having someone like Plank use it would just make things worse, and we might get a fleet of micras crashing into RTE HQ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 799 ✭✭✭Schlemm

An honourary Knighthood for someone who went to court over a pair of pants?! Old hat if you ask me...

The man has gotten too big for his boots. He needs to show a little humility sometimes. Now, I don't doubt that he has raised money and awareness for the situation in Africa, but it's become an image as well as an issue. Compared to someone like Angelina Jolie, who may not have raised as much money as Bono, but has certainly achieved plenty without acting like a pompous windbag.

If I may quote from the book 'Is it Just Me or is Everything Sh!t': ''The UN has essentially become a factfinding service for Bono''. Couldn't agree more. I can't doubt the man's passion for the African problem, but his words never seem to really come from the heart.

And as for acknowledging his 'service as an entertainer'...oh lord. First of all, he's part of a band. And second, their music (with about 3 exceptions) is mediocre at best.

Just a thought...I wonder would they ever offer a Knighthood to Thom Yorke, especially given his position on the American and British governments..maybe the Queen should take a leaf out of his book and put Tony Blair in his place.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

admiralgar wrote:
    its against our constitution for irish citizens to hold titles of nobility.
    It's not a title of nobility because he is Irish though but I think it is the same level of award. He does still have to get permission from the Irish head of state before he can accept the honour though, that permission was given.

Terry Wogan did not have to get permission though as he is British so he just has to say yes or no.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

ffs Bono getting a KBE! This guy is already so far up his own arse its not funny. Why not I suppose? What have they not got by now anyway? Just in case we ever forget about U2 you can always point to the 'U2' skyscraper in Dublin when its finished to remind you of how big Bono's ego is.

http://www.cbc.ca/arts/story/2006/10/06/u2-tower.html

'A recording studio for U2, with views of the city and the ocean, will be in a penthouse at the top. Bono and the band will have a dedicated elevator to take them between the studio and the café and terrace on the ground floor after a long hard session in the recording studios ' LOL!!!

Bono will have his own bible soon! lol.

Surely you mean the Sor U2 Tower?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,315 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

So... Bono gets knighted for telling everyone else to give all their hard-earned cash to charites, but the greedy ****er will move his empire to avoid paying tax, or any money for that matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

simu wrote:
    But meh - who cares? U2 suck - see Bill Bailey's excellent deconstruction in "Part Troll"!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4u6Eeb0YrKY

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

It's just like the Queen saying "Cheers bud".
    Couldn't care less tbh.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

I'm half asleep and sick and misread the title as:

Arse "Sir" Paul Hewson KBC

thinking he was in the Kevin Barry Cumman and that someone called him an arse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

Im sure it wont go down well with alot of people alright. Personally I wouldnt accept one but Im not really sure what my opinion is on him getting one, Im indifferent.

Im one of the least republican people you would meet, however Ive always imagined that if I was at a U2 gig during Sunday Bloody Sundays "NO MORE!" part Id attempt to get the entire crowd shouting "BRITS OUT!" in response. Not to offend the English, just to annoy Bono during his "its not a rebel song" rebel song.

Maybe when theyre retiring and doing their last ever tour winding up at Slane or whatever, Bono should himself get the crowd roaring it :D Y`know, just to **** with people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,575 ✭✭✭junkyard

the_syco wrote:
    So... Bono gets knighted for telling everyone else to give all their hard-earned cash to charites, but the greedy ****er will move his empire to avoid paying tax, or any money for that matter.
    Well said, I'm sh*t sick of this w**ker too going on about world hunger etc., if he's that concerned about it why doesn't he give some of his own money instead of trying to embarrass us into it, its not as if we give nothing, and those who think we don't our government gives it out whether we like it or not. Very little of the money that's given to charity gets to sort out the problem anyway, it just ends up feeding soldiers who hi-jack it and makes a lot of charities very wealthy. My sister worked first hand with a well known charity and was horrified at the waste and corruption involved, so much so she quit her job and would not contribute to 3rd world charities ever again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭InFront

Personally I don't like Bono or U2, but expecting him to give away all of his money to charity because he does charity work is like expecting a pensioner who fundraises for African children to throw out all his or her luxuries and devote themselves entirely to the cause.

What's more since when has Bono asked people to "give all their money to charity"?? I dont know much about him, but isn't he mostly into all that "debt alleviation" strategy as opposed to fundraising??

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 42,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

dotsman wrote:
    Apparently, he won't be called "Sir" beacuse he is Irish.

Don't see anything wrong with him getting knighthood. It would be a bigger issue if he turned it down. It's no real biggie...
    Under Article 40 of the constitution he can't accept it so he may as well wipe his bum with it as it is otherwise useless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭dotsman

kbannon wrote:
    Under Article 40 of the constitution he can't accept it so he may as well wipe his bum with it as it is otherwise useless.

Article 40, Section 2, Subsection 2: "No title of nobility or of honour may be accepted by any citizen except with the prior approval of the Government."

I think someone ealier said that the government had ok'ed it. If they haven't, I imagine they will. It would be a large diplomatic faux pas for them to prevent it or for Bono to turn it down.

As I keep saying, I don't understand what the fuss is. Some ol' lady in London is saying "I like your stuff" to Bono, and he's saying "cheers love". I certainly won't call him 'Sir', but at the same time, I have no problem with him accepting the honour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

ah well, at least he'll be at home with the rest of the up-their-own-hole gimps who should be wiped off the face of the planet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,257 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

What would be the correct way of addressing him?

Would it be Sir Twat Bono or Twat Sir Bono? I know that these titles have to be placed in a certain order but the rules escape me at this point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,665 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

I think the term "wanker" would suffice!!??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭Mucco

I agree with everyone above. The likes of Roger Casement didn't go to the gallows so Bono could receive a knighthood for services to the ego.

And while we're on the matter of honours, who do these Swedish arms manufacturers think they are, giving gongs to our poets. I think famous Seamus should through it back in their face.

M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,415 ✭✭✭stooge

Fair play to him I say, get as many titles as you can...but as long as you dont use a British title in Ireland its ok by me.

....maybe the irish government should make up some titles for honourary Irish citizens:

Answers on a postcard please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭dotsman

This thread really shows the begrudgery of the Irish, (and an immature, uneducated and dangerous hatred for British people)

Wether you like their music or not, you still have to admit that U2 are one of the biggest bands of all time, and to have lasted 25 years without any fights/breakups really says something about them as people. Do people not like him because he is trying to help those who cannot help themselves? (and yes he has a lot of money, but he's not asking us for ours, all he wants is for people to put pressure on their governments to cancel world debt and tackle world poverty)

As I keep saying, I don't see what the big deal here is. People should be happy for him, I don't understand how it is pi$$ing so many people off!

As for those who you who are taking issue with the fact that it's a British Honour (800 years etc. etc.), one day, hopefully, you will wake up to reality. What's in the past is in the past. GOI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,257 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Mucco wrote:
    I agree with everyone above. The likes of Roger Casement didn't go to the gallows so Bono could receive a knighthood for services to the ego.

And while we're on the matter of honours, who do these Swedish arms manufacturers think they are, giving gongs to our poets. I think famous Seamus should through it back in their face.

M

Wasn't he "Sir" Roger Casement?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

ejmaztec wrote:
    Wasn't he "Sir" Roger Casement?
    The quotes are not needed in his case though as he was born a UK citizen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 570 ✭✭✭manonthemoon

Zebra3 wrote:
    Irish people accepting crap like that should have their passports revoked.

Seriously.

I dont know what all the controversy is about.

I think it is a great honour for an Irish person do receive an honour from the Queen of England

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,238 ✭✭✭Kwekubo

Apparently a parliamentary group in Westminster proposed a couple of years back that the Order of the British Empire be scrapped and totally reworked so as to be less militaristic and imperialistic: http://www.publications.parliament.uk/pa/cm200304/cmselect/cmpubadm/212/21209.htm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

I have great respect for people who pay their full taxes in their own country and who exercise their franchise to vote in Elections where they are eligible to vote.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭InFront

Why is there no Irish Honours system? The people of the year awards are all very nice and all, but should there not be some more permanent mark of respect for those who have paid outstanding contributions to Ireland, I'm thinking specifically of guys like John Hume, Mary Robinson, Seamus Heaney, etc.

Some sort of new, probably non-British style system of salutation (like a revamped Order of Saint Patrick) that recognizes the exemplary endeavours of Irishmen at home and on the international scene? I can't think of anything that comes close at the moment.

InFront wrote:
    Why is there no Irish Honours system? The people of the year awards are all very nice and all, but should there not be some more permanent mark of respect for those who have paid outstanding contributions to Ireland, I'm thinking specifically of guys like John Hume, Mary Robinson, Seamus Heaney, etc.

Some sort of new, probably non-British style system of salutation (like a revamped Order of Saint Patrick) that recognizes the exemplary endeavours of Irishmen at home and on the international scene? I can't think of anything that comes close at the moment.
    It's been mooted in recent years to resurrect the Order of St Patrick as a jointly awarded honour from the President of Ireland and the UK monarch.

I'd be in favour of such an award as long as it didn't come with imperialistic baggage (which it almost certainly wouldn't if the Irish Government were involved).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

And political baggage... would you be ok with that.????

Arise Sir Charlie;) ;););)

And political baggage... would you be ok with that.????

Arise Sir Charlie;) ;););)
    Tens of countries have civilian honour systems like this; I suppose you can debate as to whether the prospect of politically driven knighthoods etc would actually do much good. But I think some sort of award to recognise Irish citizens who have had a significant impact during their life, whether nationally/internationally or on a local level, would be a good thing.

Kwekubo wrote:
    Tens of countries have civilian honour systems like this; I suppose you can debate as to whether the prospect of politically driven knighthoods etc would actually do much good. But I think some sort of award to recognise Irish citizens who have had a significant impact during their life, whether nationally/internationally or on a local level, would be a good thing.
    Seeing as the only way of currently honoring any one with just Irish citizenship is to get the Queen to do it I'd say its well overdue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

ziggy67 wrote:
    Speaking as someone who is technically British (i.e. i am, but i would rather be independently Scottish) i can't understand why anyone would accept an award from someone who gained her position simply by accident of birth.

Especially if i was Irish given the history between the countries.

LOL, did you see the survey carried out in November where 52% of Scots people want an independent Scotland. 54% of English people wanted an independant scotland as well:rolleyes:

so it's acceptable for the people of Britain to spend millions on U2 albums and make the man rich, but if they honour him with a KBE it's outrageous.:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,786 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

I don't think anybody cares about the actual conferring of the honour itself, I certainly don't. It's what comes afterwards that gets up people's noses. Before long anybody with an English title is claimed by the British media as being British with only a grudging concession to their true nationality. "Well, Ok he's Irish but sure isn't Irish really British, wink, wink".:mad:

robinph wrote:
    Seeing as the only way of currently honoring any one with just Irish citizenship is to get the Queen to do
    Well you could say there are honorary doctorates etc from NUI, but those aren't really the same and are only given to well-known people.