Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bernard Dunne fighting on the 25th March in Dublin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 barrykil

its not so much years that age boxers,but wear and tear.you can be an old man in the ring at 20 if your not brought along properly.
    id let Dunne off the leash at world level after he completes another 4 or 5 long distance fights.he needs to experinnce doing the championship distance first because hes not going to score any stoppages at world level.
    but the worst thing to do would be rush him before hes ready,so many prospects have been ruined like this.
    i fear you`d be too brave a manager Walsh

manny pacquiao is 29
    rafael marquez is over 30
    israel vasquez is around 29 or 30
    juan manuel marquez is at least 33
    marco antonio barrera is 33
    edwin valero is 26
    vic darchinyan is around 30
    omar nino is over 30
    pongsaklek wongjongkam is around 30

no way will it be too late for Dunne,hes 27 now
    ricardo lopez retired as an undefeated minimumweight and lightflyweight champion in his forties.
    im not gonna try to convince anybody that Bernard is heading for the hall of fame but the way he`s being brought along is about right,thats all.
    and come on ....he`s a nice guy
    he`s no swaggering egotist like a hamed, he does`nt taunt opponents.
    the lad just enjoys what he does,and most people enjoy watching him. :)

one thing that gets MY back up tho
    myself and some friends have been to all of dunnes fights in dublin and when the price of our tickets went up by 50 euro for the pickering match,i thought nothing of it due to the quality of the match and change of venue,but when the price was hiked up yet again for the show on the 25th i cant help but feel MR Peters is taking the proverbial Michael.
    im no skinflint but 200 euro is a bit steep to watch Bernard KO a volountary challenger.
    i just feel that bernards deserved pay rise should come out of the pocket of the man making the REAL money (yes you Brian) ,not the lads loyal fans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

barrykil wrote:
    i dont remember him claiming to be brilliant or the greatest anything?
    are you a boxing fan?
    have you ever actually put on gloves?
    something tells me your not one of us,..i just dont understand why?

I can tell you now that walshb put the gloves on many times and at the top level in ireland too-i was his sparring partner and can testify that walshb knew his boxing in and out of the ring-also he is 1 of us but bernard has yet to win him over, if he can win walshb over then we know he's made it.

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭delrun

delrun wrote:
    Full Lineup (subject to change)

• Bernard Dunne V Yersin Jailauov - European Super Bantamweight Title (12 Rounds)

• Matthew Macklin V Jason McKay - Irish Middleweight Title (10 Rounds)

• Neil Sinclair V Francis Jones - Welterweight contest (8 Rounds)

• Stephen Haughian V Chill John - Light Welterweight contest (8 Rounds)

• Scott Belshaw V To Be Confirmed - Heavyweight contest (4 Rounds)

• Lukasz Wawrzyczek V To Be Confirmed - Middleweight contest (8 Rounds)

• Paul Truscott V To Be Confirmed - Featherweight contest (8 Rounds)

Latest line up taken from http://www.britishboxing.net/schedules-Europe.html

Bernard Dunne vs. Yersin Jailauov European (EBU) Title
    Lukasz Wawrzyczek vs. TBA Middleweight
    Stephen Haughian vs. TBA
    Paul Truscott vs. TBA Featherweight

Looking like a very poor line up at the mo,price of tickets have gone up and the standard of fights are getting ****,fair play brian

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,999 ✭✭✭✭walshb

barrykil wrote:
    manny pacquiao is 29

one thing that gets MY back up tho
    myself and some friends have been to all of dunnes fights in dublin and when the price of our tickets went up by 50 euro for the pickering match,i thought nothing of it due to the quality of the match and change of venue,but when the price was hiked up yet again for the show on the 25th i cant help but feel MR Peters is taking the proverbial Michael.
    im no skinflint but 200 euro is a bit steep to watch Bernard KO a volountary challenger.
    i just feel that bernards deserved pay rise should come out of the pocket of the man making the REAL money (yes you Brian) ,not the lads loyal fans.

Well Barry. You are still going to pay are you NOT?
    I wouldn't pay much to see a total mismatch. The guy is ranked outside the top 5 in Europe, is not a puncher. Peters and Dunne know exactly what thety are at. As you said, why risk their fighter when they can fill stadiums whilst he fights 'bums'...No disrespect, but that's exactly what they have been doing and it's working. The guys you pointed out who were 29 and above are top class and are actually on the decline, but still a 27 year old Dunne would not trouble any of them. And at 27, a world class opponent would definitely beat some of those guys. Dunne is past his peak in my estimation

Paul, thanks for the kind words. And what a tough sparring partner you were. Look forward to seeing you in action soon at the ringside

ah walsh youd have to at least give him a chance with anybody around flyweight,in fairness,he could hurt some of those guys!
    what makes you think Rafael Marquez is in decline? he just scored the biggest win of his career against Israel Vasquez,and how you can say Vic Darchinyan is past in his prime astounds me.have you ever seen him??
    i dont think he`s been on television here but you should watch out for him,he`s an absolute wrecking machine.his peak has`nt been seen yet.
    my point, as ive said is that its not really years that age fighters !
    and yes i will be at the fight,but when i paid,i WAS expecting to see the return of Matt Macklin in a decent match with Jason Mckay,but there you go.
    hopefully Peters will at least try to line up a half decent replacement.
    but unfortunately it seems he is quite happy to take advantage of Dunnes popularity at the expense of the paying fan.the Pickering show at the point,a good headline match but the undercard!!!! absolutely atrocious.....and i see the big heavyweight Belshaw is back.no offence to the lad,he is only starting out but he`s a total novice badly in need of amateur schooling, theres no way he should feature on a big bill.
    if you havent guessed,i am definetly NOT a Peters fan

Barry it's obvious you are more tuned in and up to date on the current pro scene than I. The guys you mentioned I barely have seen, so I'll take it that they are all still quite brilliant. Pac for example is 30 or so, but he's been at the top for a fair few years now. Dunne still hasn't made it there and he's 27.
    I suppose that's my point. Pac though brilliant is still a little less so, as the years creep by. If I was rating Dunne on a world level, I would be very generous to put him top ten. I look forward to watching the show, and assessing Dunne further. I just know however that the fight is a pure mismatch, so I can't get in the mood.

i understand totally Walsh,im not exactly wetting myself over the match either.
    speaking of Dunnes rating,do you know "the Ring" magazine actually rate Dunne at #10 at super-bantam.personally i think its maybe a little flattering at this stage but generally (bar a few exceptions) i do respect the magazines ratings.perhaps the ratings panel see some of the same potential in Dunne that i see.
    on the subject of Pacquiao,i think he is at his absolute peak RIGHT NOW,what a fighter he is.a real force of nature.
    im sure you know that Dunne trained extensively with Manny in Roche`s gym in Hollywood but..and of course you can only pay so much heed to gym gossip but it was actually widely reported that skinny little Bernie was running rings around Pac-man in sparring !! believe it or not

I don't believe it for a minute, unless of course Pac tied one arm behind his back. Dunne would be lucky to go 1 round with Pac, that's how far apart they are. But like you said the Ring have him at number 10, so I'll respect that. Do you not think at 27, Dunne should at least be aiming higher. I know he and his team keep gibbering on about world titles in the future, but I think it's a smoke screen to try keep an interset in Dunne, all the time while he faces poor opponents and fills the Point Depot.

well as i said walsh,you can hear all sorts ,but i could show you recorded footage of experienced and knowledgeable boxing commentators telling the tale to the world on ESPN in america and on SKY over here,i sheet you not, seriously
    anyway however exaggerated ,true, or not ,sparring is one thing !
    with the small gloves on ,no headguard and under the big lights, Bernard himself would surely admit he`d be in big trouble with Pac-man ,who is dont forget a big JUNIOR-LIGHTWEIGHT now not to mention the fact that his boxing ability is greatly improved of late.he`s no longer the predictable "all left hand -banger" that he was even in his first match with Erik Morales.
    he`s greatly developed the previously under-used right and shows far more poise these days.you could not seriously argue with anybody who choses to call Manny the best pound for pound fighter in the game.half the fighters in the business would struggle to last any distance with him
    sorry im gone away from your question,i agree with you to a point,nobody wants to see these mismatches...hey i paid good money after all...!!!! but as ive said already he really needs to get some late and championship rounds under his belt first.to throw him in to top world level without the neccessary experience would ruin him.it would be criminal.
    so much of bringing a prospect along is timing.
    i have to be to honest walsh,no offence meant but you seem very cynical about this.i feel sure that Dunne wants to face the best,the lad trained day in day out with some of the best small men in the world in the states,he knows the business and knows he can hold his own.how many fighters in all fairness really DONT want to see how far they can go??
    is`nt that why every kid puts the gloves on??

I'm all for 'one step at a time'...but Bernard is a pro a good number of years now and is 27. He is not like Amir Khan who has several years ahead of him should he keep progressing. Time is not on his side and he still has yet to meet a formidable opponent. Pickering is the best on his record and he was useless, but Dunne still could not get him out of there. Cynical?, I would say very realistic. Dunne will not beat a top 8 world class opponent for two reasons. He has not got the stamina and I mean sustained stamina and he has not got the chin. His punch is OK, but still lacks real venom.
    I would not put Bernard in with a world class opponent, not now and certainly not when he is close to 30. If anything he has a better chance now-6 months than he ever will in say late 08 or early 09. I like him, want him to do well, but that's not enough for me to believe he can. He just is not world class

the 25th is a Sunday?
    Why is the fight not the typical Saturday night affair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

He's the special half-time guest at Friday evening's Shamrock Rovers v Longford Town game at Tolka Park.

And that's the reason?
    Strange?

walsh i get the feeling we could argue around in circles til we`re lookin across the nursing home at each other. :D
    i personally i dont rate Dunne as a puncher AT ALL.he couldnt have knocked out esham pickering if hed kicked him on the jaw! (pickering was only stopped once i believe and that was mostly due to being dead at the weight and it still took the rugged Mauricino Martinez to do it) but his boxing ability is most certainly world class,(thats why he made Pickering look bad to you ,i was there and actually scored it a bit closer than most,yasee Pickering is used to being the awkward boxer in his fights and Dunne beat him at his own game) i feel Dunnes chin is unproven at best-questionable at the worst- and as for sustained stamina,i think it must be his style as much as anything that makes you think this.Stamina of course is one of the main reasons he needs that bit more seasoning before being thrown in at the deep end.of course it would be fantastic if he`d turned pro at 18 or 19 but hey ,que sera sera !
    i just have a feeling that despite his shortcomings in physical strength and power that Dunne can ,with his boxing ability alone,make a fine European Champion and maybe, given the right opponent at the right time make some kind of mark for himself at world level. remember he does hold an amateur win over IBF champ Steve Molitor ( the champ his camp would surely eventually want to match him with)
    lets just hope your wrong and im right.....agree?
    :o

no thats definetly not the reason.town are away to rovers THIS friday.
    the day ANY other sporting event is scheduled around an Eircom league match is the day il eat the contents of my young fellas nappy

ill try to get there anyway,another tough one for the town

For all Dunnes's shortcomings, he certainly is a classy boxer and always has been. That I definitely agree with you. But he is more suited to the amateur ranks because he most definitely lacks the vital tools like a heavy punch, sustained and increasing stamina and a sturdy chin. Look at why McGuigan was so brilliant. He had a vicious body attack, a granite chin and the most amazing stamina. Yet Dunne was possibly a better boxer than Barry, but wouldn't last 3 rds with him in the ring. That's the key and Pickering is an extremely poor fighter to try and rate Dunne a stop class. I do hope I'm wrong by the way. The pro game separates the men from the boys

i totally agree with your McGuigan comparison walsh,but lets get one thing straight,while a heavy punch is a huge asset to a boxer,it is most certainly not VITAL.plenty of great fighters were not big punchers,some would`nt break an egg!
    as for the chin and stamina,well i think we`ve covered that arguement already,i see them as unproven and underdeveloped,i know your opinion....i think only time will tell.

I agree that it is not vital, a huge asset. But these great fighters like say Sweet pea had sublime skills, stamina and granite chins. Bernard is skillful but at a pace he is comfortable with. The greats can adjust the pace, take the shots and fire back, not necessarily with hughe shots, but damaging shots. Dunne cannot rely on purely his skills as he is not adept at boxing and moving for 12 rds at a fast pace against a big hitter, well at least he hasn't shown that capability yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,994 ✭✭✭Big Ears

Dunne has dropped down from #10 in the Ring rankings due to Rafael Marquez's move up and subsequent victory over Israel Vasquez .

Dunne has very little wear on him so im not too concerned about his age compared to progress . He isn't ready for world level at the minute but being moved onto it within the next 12-18 months would be within a good timescale .

Dunne's skill is good enough for world level , his chin is reasonably untested(shook once by a decent puncher many fights ago) , his stamina the same(only 1 12 rounder under his belt) and he hasn't that much experience .

Hopefully those 3 things can be proven/rectified within the timeframe for him to fight for a world title .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Dunne has great ability.. technically, he's a great boxer. I don't think many would dispute that.. he seems to fade in later rounds however, and doesn't really have the weight in his hands to put people out.

What happened between Dunne and Freddie Roach?

dlofnep wrote:
    Dunne has great ability.. technically, he's a great boxer. I don't think many would dispute that.. he seems to fade in later rounds however, and doesn't really have the weight in his hands to put people out.

What happened between Dunne and Freddie Roach?

Totally spot on!!!

The Pink Panther and Francesco Pianeta added to the card

• Bernard Dunne V Yersin Jailauov - European Super Bantamweight Title (12 Rounds)

• Jim Rock V To Be Confirmed - Super Middleweight contest (6 Rounds)

• Jason McKay V Darren Rhodes - Middleweight Contest (6 Rounds)

• Stephen Haughian V Chill John - Light Welterweight contest (8 Rounds)

• Scott Jordan V To Be Confirmed - Light Welterweight contest (8 Rounds)

• Francesco Pianeta V To Be Confirmed - Heavyweight contest (8 Rounds)

• Lukasz Wawrzyczek V Conroy McIntosh - Middleweight contest (8 Rounds)

• Paul Truscott V Peter Feher - Featherweight contest (4 Rounds)

Just to remind everyone-Dunne already beat world champion moliter(who prob will be his next fight) in dublin as an amateur so maybe he's not that far away from a title.

cowzerp wrote:
    Just to remind everyone-Dunne already beat world champion moliter(who prob will be his next fight) in dublin as an amateur so maybe he's not that far away from a title.

The only thing that means is that Dunne will be confident against Molitor , other than that it means **** all . Audley Harrison was olympic Super heavyweight champion , what did that mean when he turned pro , in terms of skill **** all . however he did get £1 million and lost all his hunger . He's now 21-3-0 and hasn't even won the British title , he hasn't even won an English title .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Running Bing

Just wondering what time will the dunne fight start at?

Fight is being streamed here for free: http://www.rte.ie/live/index.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Who the hell was that singing the national anthem? lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Nothingcompares

well done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,287 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

Cracking performance....well done!

great finish. good fight

The_Edge wrote:
    Cracking performance....well done!

At the same time if I had paid money for that I would have felt a bit robbed. It was clear this guy was never gonna be any match for Dunne. I still have not seen Dunne in a proper fight. Whether that is testament to Dunnes skill as a boxer or he is being shielded from decent competition I dont know.

He keeps saying he wants to see how far he can go and how good he is, so when is he gonna step up?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,062 ✭✭✭walrusgumble

brilliant, pride of ireland.

not know too much about boxing but always watched whatever was on tv and went to national arena twice, what is his chances of pushing up for a world title in a year or two?

dlofnep wrote:
    great finish. good fight

really? it was a bit like watching brazil playing saudi arabia tbh.

dlofnep wrote:
    great finish. good fight

You use that term very loosely.

lol ok :) i was just trying to be reserved.

dunne beat him like he was his prison b*tch!

So Dunne fights Martinez next, and after that most likely a world title shot against Molitor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Dunne fought a Muppet, simple as!.

Terrible.

Dunne boxed great and land some crisp hooks and uppercuts-moliter will be soon and we know dunne has beat him before-c,mon the irish....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭paul moran

I have been to the point for the past 2 of Dunnes fights and the stadium for the most of his previous home fights, and this one was the worst value for money in terms of the fight card!

Unless 'Peters' puts on a decent undercard next time, he will do well to sellout the point again. Andy Lee, Duddy, Macklin should all be showcased for the money we are paying. Rant over.:)

Dunne was always going to destroy this fella, Hunter did it in 2 rounds. Next step Martinez and then he needs to step up otherwise he'll be hitting the stage where he will find it hard to mantain his 8'10" fight weight, and will be forced to retire or move up and fight more powerful fighters.

His performance was almost flawless (to be expected really.) But to be picky, I don't like the way he pulls back with his arms up in the air when moving out of range, a more explosive and gutsy fighter will KO him with that bad habit. Also he likes to admire any good shots he lands by stepping back with his hands down after landing, all showboating I know, I just fear that kind of thing will lead him in trouble against the world Champs, like Vazquez and Ponce de Leon. (Who I think Dunne could out 'box' but would be in trouble if caught in a war!). Molitor is his best chance to the world title though. I don't know much about Caballero?

Nice to see Jim 'pink panther' Rock get a nice KO for a change. He looked pretty sharp for a guy who was supposed to close to retiring?!?!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

Great bout I thought, and I cant understand all this stuff about him being given doormats and pushovers to fight. As Walrus said back there, great night for the sport and the country. Cant say I watch a massive amt of boxing as I dont have sky sports but hes a fast mover and a vicious brawler, great to watch.
    Also, he never gave me the impression of being up his own arse like someone here said. In interviews he comes across as a cool, quite funny chap, and I thought the speech where he gave a nod to the Ireland squad last night was great.

Not to mention his enterance. Gwan the Irish Rover :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭mickith

dunne was always gona win that fight last nite. it was just a matter of how and when. he shouldnt have really been in the same ring as dunne tbh. dunne was always gona destroy him.
    it puts dunnes confidence up, if it can go any higher :)
    i think that he needs a couple of more fights against tougher opponents before he can challange for a world title. maybe next year have a go at molitor.
    havent seen too much of molitor but he is obviously a lot better than when dunne beat him in his amatuer days.
    would like to see a tougher fight next time and see if dunne could start puttin some power into his punches like he did last nite and have a few more knock downs behind him

really? it was a bit like watching brazil playing saudi arabia tbh.

Saudi Arabia?, don't insult them. More like San Marino.
    That opponent was quite possibly the worst excuse for a boxer
    I have ever seen. He was like a blown up Light Fly, no defence, no offense and a paper bag puncher. C'mon guys, let's be honest, Peters and the Dunne camp are having a laugh and if that's what can fill the Point depot, then its a sad day for boxing. Bernard did the job, but let's not make out it was anything more than a light sparring session against CRAP!!!

He needs to at least make a mandatory defence next time or he will lose any credibility he ever had.

Another thing, Do the RTE boxing comentary team remind anyone of the BBC commentary team for Engalnd games? I believe the word is obsequious. They cant say a bad word about him.

I would love to see Dunphy give the boxing a shot, that would be entertaining.

Agreed. It's terrible having to listen to the likes of Dowling, Magee and McCauley talik up such a load of crap, making it out as top class boxing etc etc. A little honesty without being too brutal is in order. It's such a turn off to have to listen to that.

Fair play to Rock. He did the business too. Against a dud, but Jim is so dedicated and loves the sport. Not that easy for a 35 year old who was retired a year ago

As for Dunphy, a muddled drunk we could do without. Leave that to the soccer. I don't think boxing needs his sort

walshb should send his cv into rte...;)

Cheers, I'll take that as a compliment!!!

paul moran wrote:
    I have been to the point for the past 2 of Dunnes fights and the stadium for the most of his previous home fights, and this one was the worst value for money in terms of the fight card!

Unless 'Peters' puts on a decent undercard next time, he will do well to sellout the point again. Andy Lee, Duddy, Macklin should all be showcased for the money we are paying. Rant over.:)

Dunne was always going to destroy this fella, Hunter did it in 2 rounds. Next step Martinez and then he needs to step up otherwise he'll be hitting the stage where he will find it hard to mantain his 8'10" fight weight, and will be forced to retire or move up and fight more powerful fighters.

The card wasn't the best but to be fair to Peters , Macklin was on the card in a fight against Jason McKay(17-1-0 , only defeat was controversial) but got injured . Neil Sinclair was also meant to be fighting Francis Jeffers which would have been a good one.It's hard to get the likes of Duddy and Lee on these cards , Duddy would have been possible to get in the past but he's getting big crowds in the states and Peters simply wouldn't have the money or quality opponent to attract him to fight here . As for Lee , he's mainly been fighting on the undercard of world title fights in the states and is going to be in big demand after his brutal one round ko of Carl Daniels . Maybe it would be possible to get Lee , im not sure .

However this isn't to say the card shouldn't have been of higher quality , it probably would have been possible to get James Moore , also other good prospect such as Andrew Murray and Simon O'Donne and Martin Lindsay are all good prospect who would have been possible to get . Kevin O'Hara is another decent fighter that could have been got .

The problem for Peters though is that he had both Macklin v McKay and Sincalir v Jones lined up , two very good fights lined up and unlikely but didn't come off because of injuries . This left him with a limited time to find replacements and no prospect is going to agree to a competitive fight on short notice .

Dunne was always going to destroy him but the Hunter doing it in 2 meant nothing , it was the most premature fight ive ever seen , Hunter only landed one decent right and Jailauov wasn't even that hurt . It took world class Somsak Sithchatchawal 7 rounds to put away Jailauov and Jailauov has beaten Yuri Voronin .

They wanted to make a voluntary fight before fighting Martinez and they weren't left with many options . Michael Hunter is ranked #1 by the EBU but he is moving up to Featherweight and his camp have stated he will not fight Dunne or anyone else at Super Bantamweight ever again . Pickering is #2 , no point going over old ground and even if Pickering wasn't in a fight to regain his old British title recently(which he succesfully did) his camp wouldn't have excepted a fight . #3 Miguel Mallon and #4 Salem Bouaita fought for the EBU-EU title(a title that works you up to the real European title) only 3 days ago , which Bouaita one btw and will now obviously be ranked higher but the point is neither of them could fight .

The rest if as listed: #5 Reidar Walstad(who was stopped in a round by Mongolian S.Flyweight journeyman Shinny Bayaar) , #6 Yersin Jailauov , #7 Tuncay Kaya , #8 Isaac Ward(commonwealth champ) , #9 Fausto Bartolozzi and #10 Arsen Matirosyan .

For those of you complaining about the opponent who should he have fought in a defense(because it was always going to be a defense of his title) instead ?

Martinez will come next who will provide a much bigger test , however he is inexperienced(much more so than Dunne) and Dunne should take him without too much trouble . Molitor however is another story , a real quality boxer who I would favour 60/40 over Dunne . It looks like Martinez will be the last defence of Dunne's title so it will either be an international fighter or Molitor after that , so those of you worried about quality of opponent won't need to be worried for long .

As things stand Dunne has no chance against Rafael Marquez(the real champ) and gets bombed out in 3/4 rounds .

"As things stand Dunne has no chance against Rafael Marquez(the real champ) and gets bombed out in 3/4 rounds ."

Big ears, that's all there is too it. I don't like always sounding negative but I think people are right to complain about the state of Dunne's opponent. Even rated a low 6 is a damn compliment to him. That division must be the worst in pro boxing at the moment. But if people are willing to fork out money to watch that crap and listen to the experts talk crap, that's their business. Make no mistake about it, any half decent fan of boxing could see that the program last night was a complete farce, well at least the Highlight fight. So what does that say for Dowling, Magee and McCauley...