Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Rooney has to be dropped

• 01-01-2007 9:24pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭

Rooney has been awful this season. Reckon its the injury and coming back to soon for the world cup that has effected him. When did anyone see one of those strong runs of his where he bursted at defences nearly every game last season? He carried a weak team full of average players such a park,fletcher and oshea by himself last season. With Larsson available now is the perfect time to rest him as he looks like his lost pace,strength and form and is starting to look like all the other average misfits he carried last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭Vokes

Granted he's not playing to the level he's well capable of but he's hardly been awful.

8 goals + most Assists for ManU aint too shabby.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭TonyD79

awful by his standards...........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,818 ✭✭✭Bateman

Kevin Doyle as outscored him in his first season in the Premiership.

In fairness, it's not all Rooney's fault, Ferguson is not playing him where he wants to be played. And when you pay that much money for a gun (around the same as Drogba), there's no point in chopping off the trigger.

• Registered Users Posts: 143 ✭✭Waster

Going to sell him from my fantasy team. He hasn't done anything in weeks. Doesn't look happy, his body language is wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

He was played in position for most of this season, but he hasn't preformed there.
    I agree he shoulda been dropped for Ole today, but, with Saha injured, I think until Larrsson can prove he can still play at this level, he and Ole are our best 2 fit strikers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

Waster wrote:
    Doesn't look happy, his body language is wrong.
    his reaction to both of scholes goals state otherwise. rooney is playing a different role than other years, he is sacraficing his own game for uniteds.

its not his role..he seems slower,unable to break clear of players like he did last year and he isnt as strong .. saha is the one holding the ball up for them this season..simple fact is he isnt the player he was last year and because the english media hasnt jumped on the fact no one bar man utd supporters seem to realise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Looks overweight to me

• Registered Users Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭el rabitos

nipplenuts wrote:
    Looks overweight to me

yeh, looks like he needs a haircut too, his hair might be in his eyes. toenails could use trimming too.

ffs, anytime utd drop points theres a seperate thread disecting wheather ronaldo's too pretty, giggs & scholes are too old, how **** carrick is...etc etc

/mini rant/bitch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,225 ✭✭✭Chardee MacDennis

el rabitos wrote:
    ronaldo's too pretty, giggs & scholes are too old, how **** carrick is...etc etc

well i'm glad you said it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

I can't believe people are saying he looked slow today, some of his bursts of speed were unreal.

8 goals and 7 assists is a great return considering the position he has been playing in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

Top of the table by 7pts. No pleasing some people!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,232 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Bateman wrote:

I dont think thats comparing like with like. Doyle is an out and out striker while Rooney has being playing all over the place this season.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

I don't know what people mean by Rooney playing out of position, alright he has played wide left in most of the European games at some stage... But he certainly wasn't out of position yesterday. He had a very average game yesterday, meaning he did ok and showed glimpses of what he can do but by his standards he wasn't good.

I definately think he should be dropped or rested. He clearly does not look himself and maybe a stint on the bench will light up a spark in him again. Unfortunately with Saha injured SAF will not be able to drop him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,235 ✭✭✭iregk

7 points clear and we have a thread saying Rooney has to be dropped. Heaven forbid he was playing at his best. What do United fans want? Just wait for the thread saying Fergie should go if Chelsea win tonight as it will then be a meager 4 points!!!

The shame of it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

United have scored 47 goals so far. How many exactly do you want to score ffs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,424 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Rooney has been off form all season - his goal tally is pretty good, but he hasn't bossed a game or been as impactful as he was last season. Anyone who thinks different is watching a completely different player to me. He has had the odd moment of brilliance in the odd game, but there has been no consistency to his performances. Personally, i don't think dropping himj is the answer either, i don't know what is. He couldn't buy a goal at the moment, and he really needs one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,072 ✭✭✭✭event

Bateman wrote:

ah the seasons is over, is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,245 ✭✭✭sofireland

He should have had one yesterday cept for a brilliant save from given!

Its more important that we don't rely on one player to win us games, ie rooney, we have a team where there are a number of players who can do this for us! Giggs, Ronaldo, Scholes...

Yeah it was disappointing to drop points yesterday, but at the end of the day we weren't clinical enough in front of goal. Which we need to be, still, we're 7 points clear, chelsea won't get any easy points off villa, plus teams see how "fragile" their defense is at the minute and are having a go!

sofireland wrote:
    He should have had one yesterday cept for a brilliant save from given!

Its more important that we don't rely on one player to win us games, ie rooney, we have a team where there are a number of players who can do this for us! Giggs, Ronaldo, Scholes...

Yeah it was disappointing to drop points yesterday, but at the end of the day we weren't clinical enough in front of goal. Which we need to be, still, we're 7 points clear, chelsea won't get any easy points off villa, plus teams see how "fragile" their defense is at the minute and are having a go!
    Is that just excusing the poor performances of rooney though? The team has done better then many of us could have dreamed, but that should not mean we do not look objectively at the players themselves.

Take the previous two wins against Reading and Wigan - Silvestre was at fault for the late goals conceded in both games. We won regardless, but should Silvestre screwing up twice and costing us two goals be ignored because of that? I don't think so.

The team has done well, and on paper so has rooney, but i think it is obvious that he has not reached, or come close to reaching, his own standards yet this season. It is a worry and it should be a worry. it is said that you learn more in defeat then you do in victory, and maybe this is a case in point. If we weren't winning more of an issue would be made of his poor performances, but just because we are winning (generally) we should not be ignoring where improvements can be made. and improvements can certainly be made in Rooneys game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,003 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

Drop rooney and replace him with who ?

He has not been his usual self for a while now but he is still worth his placce in the team. Park was rubbish yesterday, sylvestre was rubbish saturday there are a couple of candidates that need to be dropped and moved on before we start dropping our best players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭wheres me jumpa

Rooney hasnt been playing to his standards. Even so he is doing his bit for the team. Take yesterday, and nothing ball was hit over the top, looked the CBs ball all the way, Rooney sprinted from a long way away and powered the CB out of the way to win a corner.

He is still producing nice touches and passes in games, all he needs is to polish them off with a goal. Goals are not a problem for this United team at the moment so Im happy to wait for Rooneys season to ignite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,846 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

The Muppet wrote:
    Drop rooney and replace him with who ?

there ya go thread starter. A question that cannot be answered really. Rooney is playing very average by his standards this season, he is bound to hit better form and even still there is nobody as of yet worthy to replace him week in week out.

Come on Villa!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

Its simple really.
    He isnt as good as people make him out to be.

England's answer to Pele?? Yea right.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

jank wrote:
    Its simple really.
    He isnt as good as people make him out to be.

England's answer to Pele?? Yea right.
    Is it really? When he is on form he can be one of the best in the world. He is very much off form at the moment and still has managed to get a number of goals and assists so far. Obviously not as good as people make him out to be for having the sheer audacity to be off form.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 661 ✭✭✭CountryWise

He's doing well for the team maybe not top form but thats how far he has raised the bar and got great reviews yesterday, in fairness he is marked well in most games which frees up room for the other players and this is starting to show with the midfielders chipping in with goals, some people are never happy, he plays for the shirt, he loves United, hates losing and thats when his body language is not good.
    And to all ye non United supporters if he aint playing well at the moment, your kind of in trouble then aren t ye when he hits top form

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    Is it really? When he is on form he can be one of the best in the world. He is very much off form at the moment and still has managed to get a number of goals and assists so far. Obviously not as good as people make him out to be for having the sheer audacity to be off form.

Thats it though. When was the last time he actually had a bit for form for England and United. Since euro 2004 he has been ****e for england. Remember Micheal Owen around the late 90's! He was **** hot! Now he is a washed up has been that plays for Newcastle!

He was good in parts last season with United but Heinze won united's player of the year last season so figure that one out. He did win young player of the year though but so did jermaine jenas 2 years before him.

Roy Keane was right about Rooney. He has everything to prove and time will tell will he prove it.

no he didn't - heinze was injured last year, he won it the year before. Rooney got it last year.

Lads this always happens after players have a really good season. The next season they're targeted by opposing mangers & teams and pretty much marked out of the game (think Robben, Duff and many others who escape me momentarily).

I would predict that this season's stars will struggle next season (Drogba, Ronaldo, Doyle etc). I think teams just "wise-up" to a player's tricks so the player has to take his game to a whole new level. Whatever about Rooney struggling I don't follow all United's games but didn't he recently score a hat trick to break his duct? And United are top ffs!

I think Rooney's having a patchy season and I also think defenders get so obsessed with keeping him quiet that they forget about Scholes and Ronaldo. Maybe Fergie knows this and is using Rooney as a decoy or maybe its just an inevitable side effect of young big money signings under pressure.

Savman wrote:
    Lads this always happens after players have a really good season. The next season they're targeted by opposing mangers & teams and pretty much marked out of the game (think Robben, Duff and many others who escape me momentarily).

I would predict that this season's stars will struggle next season (Drogba, Ronaldo, Doyle etc). I think teams just "wise-up" to a player's tricks so the player has to take his game to a whole new level. Whatever about Rooney struggling I don't follow all United's games but didn't he recently score a hat trick to break his duct? And United are top ffs!

I think Rooney's having a patchy season and I also think defenders get so obsessed with keeping him quiet that they forget about Scholes and Ronaldo. Maybe Fergie knows this and is using Rooney as a decoy or maybe its just an inevitable side effect of young big money signings under pressure.
    while agreeing with you overall - i think Doyle is the only one of the 3 mentioned that will have it tougher next season.

When he is on form, Drogba is unplayable - fast, strong, direct, physical. As much as i hate him, there isn't a lot you can do to stop him unless you have world class defenders. And as for Ronaldo, he already gets double and triple marked in games and he still does brilliantly. Now that his corssing is improving, he can be dangerous whether the defender gets tight or drops back so he can't zip past them.

Robben's problem is he is very one footed, so if you push him on to his right he is less of a threat. van Persie will find this soon enough, once defenders learn to NOT show him inside when he is out wide.

As for Rooney - i don't think he is getting marked out of games, he just isn't playing well. Hopefully he'll hit a purple patch soon enough, cause Ronaldo can't keep carring us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,563 ✭✭✭kinaldo

Rooney was physically dominated by Taylor yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,003 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

kinaldo wrote:
    Rooney was physically dominated by Taylor yesterday.

I have never seen Rooney Physically dominated by anyone . It,s a team game and United have been playing well as a team this season , Rooney's form is not as good as he can be but his worth to the overall team performance and Uniteds presence at the top of the league is immense. To even consider dropping him maks absolutely no sense at all. A good manager will always stick by his players when they dip in form becuase the alternative would not benefit the team in the longer term. Rooney is still a young lad and he ha many great years at United ahead of him, as the saying goes form is temporary class is permanent

Yer right Rooney's crap, send him up to Villa Park we'll take him off yer hands :p

The thing about great season's followed by bad seasons I think is to do wth how young players learn and develop.

Ronaldo in his first season at United was fantastic, then he had a poor second season, because he was a massive threat and everybody was aware of it. GReat players comeback the following season having learnt from the season before, and can work within a system where they are marked out of it. Ronaldo has done this, Rooney has not yet, and needs to step up his game.
    Keano is right, Rooney has a lot to prove.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

PHB wrote:
    The thing about great season's followed by bad seasons I think is to do wth how young players learn and develop.

Ronaldo in his first season at United was fantastic, then he had a poor second season, because he was a massive threat and everybody was aware of it. GReat players comeback the following season having learnt from the season before, and can work within a system where they are marked out of it. Ronaldo has done this, Rooney has not yet, and needs to step up his game.
    Keano is right, Rooney has a lot to prove.

Wow wow wow a minute.Ronaldo has had a fantastic season so far and Rooney has had quite a poor one but in the long run who would you want in your team?

I think you are delusional if you think tht Ronaldo has "proved" himself and Rooney hasnt.Ronaldo is playing much much better than Rooney at the moment,but ask me who is the better player and who will be remembered as the better player and I dont even have to blink an eye lid - Ronaldo, no only joking Rooney of course.

One last thing.Its the start of January.The season ends in May.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

Jeez, are some people ever happy? Ronaldo has 12 goals in the league; Rooney, Solskjaer and Saha have 8 goals. Also, United have scored the most goals in the league by a garden mile this season.

People seem to forget that Rooney carried United last season. The difference about this season is that Ronaldo and co. have stepped up to the plate. Therefore, Rooney hasn't had to play out of his skin to get United results this season. As long as United stay top of the league, I don't think Rooney has to answer to anyone. The real test for Rooney (and indeed Ronaldo) is the Champions League.

I meant dropped as in rested for a few games. It ovbious his fitness and form have been effected by his particiapation and injury in the world cup. Bursting pace?? and his shot was straight at given for gods sake. His playing at 65-70 % of his form form last year and frankly he wont get back to that form unless his taken out and rested. I say rested rather than dropped now cause the talent he is means he would have to be put back in . Look at heinze.he came back too soon to play in the world cup and then got injured again after. Larsson and saha/Solskjaer upfront for the next month should allow rooney the rest he needs.

Wow wow wow a minute.Ronaldo has had a fantastic season so far and Rooney has had quite a poor one but in the long run who would you want in your team?

Ronaldo for me.
    As long as United stay top of the league, I don't think Rooney has to answer to anyone.

Yeh, but when we don't get 3 points, partly because of his bad preformances, he has to anwser for it.

I think he needs to be dropped completely, to give him back his hunger. Players get comfortable with playing all the time, and to get the hunger back, you gotta drop them, so they work extra hard to get back in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Rooney's been playing sh*te lately... I'd nearly prefer to have Solksjaer up front rather than him. Rooney's got a tonne of power, but he doesn't seem to be getting into good positions when he's not on the ball. Solksjaer isn't as tough as Rooney, but he gets the opportunities and usually takes them. I don't really wanna drop Rooney cos he is so strong, but Ferguson needs a new strategy for him in my opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,494 ✭✭✭ronbyrne2005

Rest him allright or use him as an impact sub for a few games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,659 ✭✭✭The Rooster

Reported in one of the English papers yesterday that Rooney is being rested and will not be in the squad v Villa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,966 ✭✭✭Jivin Turkey

Reported in one of the English papers yesterday that Rooney is being rested and will not be in the squad v Villa.
    Well Larsson will surely start so they have a carbon copy replacement so it's not really a big shock.

I'm sure Rooney will come back stronger for it, but I have a feeling that Villa may snatch a draw on Saturday, and at 4/1 they are not bad odds.

Well Larsson will surely start so they have a carbon copy replacement so it's not really a big shock.

I'm sure Rooney will come back stronger for it, but I have a feeling that Villa may snatch a draw on Saturday, and at 4/1 they are not bad odds.
    I hope its not a draw on saturday - i would prefer a loss! United's squad is thin enough without throwing in more games to stretch them over.

IMO, losing in the FA Cup game would not be too bad. 3 games against Villa in 4 weeks, they're bound to get a result in at least one of them, and the 3 league points on offer at OT against them in a couple of weeks is far more important.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭herbieflowers

I don't think it's mattered really. They've played well with him "off-form" so it can only be good news for the club when his form starts to pick up. Imo it;s better to have him playing not at his best now so that when the club does go through a blip and needs results he'll be the guy to produce that bit of skill to grind a result out, a la Cantona in the 95-96 season, there was about four games in a row that March - Cantona a matchwinner in all...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,966 ✭✭✭Jivin Turkey

Tauren wrote:
    I hope its not a draw on saturday - i would prefer a loss! United's squad is thin enough without throwing in more games to stretch them over.

IMO, losing in the FA Cup game would not be too bad. 3 games against Villa in 4 weeks, they're bound to get a result in at least one of them, and the 3 league points on offer at OT against them in a couple of weeks is far more important.
    The thing is though United's record against Villa is brilliant so I would be surprised to see them win all the games.

It's just with MON in charge I have a feeling that Villa could have their name on the cup this year, and for some reason I think Larsson will draw a blank on Saturday.

Fergie said like a week ago that Larrsson and Ole would be playing, it's nothign to do with how Rooney preformed, it's just cause it's the FA Cup

• Closed Accounts Posts: 868 ✭✭✭tdv

Rooney has never been a consistant player anyway. Even when at he was at Everton he had spells of brilliance & then didnt seem to do a whole lot for a few games & that was enough to get him through a whole season. And its pretty much the same story with United.

His standerds where set way too high when he came to United after a great European Championship & then scoring a hat-trick on his debut I think people where expecting him to score 2 or 3 goals every game.

Rooneys not a great player. What he is, is a very hard working player who has the potential to be a great player. We've seen that he can do great things but until he starts doing these great things on a regular basis then he'll be a great player.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

Right, I don't like united and I don't really like Rooney but here goes:

Simply because he's not living up to his hype, doesn't mean he's not helping the United cause.

No one could play the game that the tabloids expect of Rooney. If people start seeing him as a useful player instead of expecting him to stand out as the best thing ever in every match then you'll see he is working very well at united. 8 and 7 is a good return for a second striker. How many goals and assists has giggs gotten this year, or scholes?

People need to stop expecting too much from Rooney. He's a great player playing in the most potent attack in the league....and it's working well.

Just understand that he's part of that attack, he doesn't need to be the whole bloody thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

well, wat do people make of rooneys "poor" season now! right now, he is uniteds most important player and has come up with some big big goals and performances this year, with 11 goals in his last 10 games, 23 in total this year, with about 12 assists, in all competitions. not bad at all!

vital goals -

yesteday, to put us up 3-2.
    milan, when it really, really mattered, he did the business, twice.
    vital goal away to roma, completely changed the whole tie.
    2 fa cup semi final goals
    and 2 goals off the bench against pompy in the 4th round when we were struggling.
    2 contenders for goal of the season.

i could go on......!