Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DIY Tiling - a lot of it!!!

Options
  • 02-01-2007 12:12pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,399 ✭✭✭

Yeah I know, another "how do you do tiling" thread.

However, now that our house is almost complete, funds are running VERY low and after getting some obscene quotes for tiling (I know they have to make a living but some of them are charging more for the work than what the tiles cost!!!) we ,i.e. the wife, has decided that we, i.e. me, will do the tiling ourselves, i.e. myself.:rolleyes:

Now I've never done any tiling before and I have the following to tile:
    a 24 ft x 21 ft kitchen
    a 8 ft x 13 ft Utility/Toilet
    a 13 ft x 9 ft bathroom
    a 6 ft x 6ft ensuite
    a 9 ft x 5 ft ensuite

How the hell do you do it? I have gotten loads of advice which to be honest is putting me off doing the job even more than before I asked for the advice. Getting the tiles to run straight is the main problem as to end up with a row of tiles that are deviating away from a wall would drive me mad. I want to get this job done prior to the kitchen/bathroom stuff being installed as I would then avoid having to cut tiles to fit around fixtures and fittings.

Can someone please give me a basic lesson in tiling, i.e. for floor tiles-
    How do you get floor tiles to run straight vis-a-vis walls that may or may not be square
    How do you get tiles level with the adjoining tiles
    How do you get the spacing correct
    How can you avoid having thin strips of tiles at the edges of the room

For wall tiles,