Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Underground Ireland

Options

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 polevault

These could be just rumours but here you go.

Garbally College in Ballinasloe is suppose to have tunnels leading from the main building out in the grounds somewhere this was for the priests has an excape route.

hi ,

This is true alright, when i was a student there we found the entrance, it is located in the sacrestry of the church under the old piano, we managed to make our way out into the garden, although there is another entrance in the garden it is blocked up shortly past that. They say it was a tunnel to the church in the town but if you go down the field to where the tunnel is pointing it emerges about 300 metres from the house itself, very hard to spot but we had alot of time on our hands to find it. After some digging we got into it from the other side, could be two explanations!, the first it directed sewege to an open lagoon down the field, second it was a genuine tunnel for escape and never completed. Its really cool though. Also names of students dating back to 1910 are on the walls to the right of the entrance in the church. Whatever about us getting caught down them , if they were caught messing down tunnels back in them days they would have been slaughtered from what i hear about that place!.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭shoelaceface

dig your own hole and see what you come up with!! you might find something new..... :O :O :O :O

• Registered Users Posts: 26 Bebra