Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

some pics of my half done studio

• 05-01-2007 1:54am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭

and i decided to take some pics for a before/after kinda thing

for anyone remotely interested in that kinda thing, here they are:

2.jpg
    my ****ty bass and the corner of one of my decks, nicely covered in books and stuff

3.jpg
    my monitors (tannoy reveal aktivs), a uc33e, an akai sg01v vintage synth module [which ****in rules] (the thing on top of the speaker), and half of my newly acquired dx7... a synth which is older than i am

4.jpg
    the other half of the dx7, a roland sh32 (best budget synth ever), a packet of halls soothers, and a kawaii k1m (which is another ancient, yet sexy, synth)

5.jpg
    most of the stuff from the last pic is in the top of this one, then theres a korg m1 (ALMOST as old as me) on the counter, and a yamaha an1x on the stand

6.jpg
    my decks (2x1210s), you can see how much use they get cant you, my djm 600 mixer, and cheap, yet adequate for djing, edirol ma10a speakers

7.jpg
    my non-synth racks, think theres 8 of them in that pic. includes my esi esp 1010 soundcard, esi m8u midi hub, a dual channel yamaha compressor/limiter, a 48 channel patch bay (which i need another one of coz im gonna run outta poxy space), a cheap as chips behringer 16:2 line mixer, and some effects units which i cant actually remember the names of

8.jpg
    on the left, top to bottom... novation ksr synth, design synthesis db9 (roland 303 clone), korg m3r synth, on the right... akai mpc4000 (sex on 4 stubby plastic legs) and a clavia nord rack 2

i just realised i never took a pic of my mixers, which are a yamaha 01v with extra analog input card, and a behringer 18:4:2 something or other, which is surprisingly ****ing great for a sub mix, or my ****ty epiphone les paul special geetar

its not finished, nothings connected, the racks arent up, the room is messy, and the walls look like ****. plus its not acoustically treated yet, but by god is it sexy standing in the middle of all that gear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,945 ✭✭✭Anima

Looks cool :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 444 ✭✭DUB1

Looking Gud M8,wat Sort Of Stuff U Going 2 Produce.........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭Tomohawk

Or you could just buy a laptop mate? ;)

Fair play to you though for still using hardware! I've rationalised down to a DJX MK1, a Behringer rack mixer like wot you got, korg ER1 mk2, dusty MC303 and 2 old old akai and roland samplers...and that's all I need, sequenced on 48 midi channels by an old ibm thinkpad PII 300. Of course it all gets swithced on about 3 times a year, but it's looks fabulous setup in the corner of the room!! Yes yes I was a gear junkie, first got hooked in 1988!

I spent all my time in the garage fixing old bikes these days...:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

Tomohawk wrote:
    Or you could just buy a laptop mate? ;)

the most powerful laptop in the world would still run out of processor power before i was even half done

none of that worry with hardware

DUB1 wrote:
    Looking Gud M8,wat Sort Of Stuff U Going 2 Produce.........

same stuff as always

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭Tomohawk

Tomohawkstudio07.jpg
    Studio furniture by Argos.
    There's a Roland JS30 on its way from ebay at the moment. They're some paperweight of a sampler them lads...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭jimi_t

Bah... Now you get to see the "student" studio.

67037578a3124453855b247758737l.jpg

ESI-32 Turbo Sampler, (another) Akai SG01v, Alesis NanoCompressor, Yamaha TG33, Novation Nova, External DVD burner, Numark Axis 9, Gemini PS-676 Pro2 Mixer, Ariston CDj1210.

67037578a2209027171b603854963l.jpg

M-Audio Keystation 88es MIDI Controller keyboard. 2.66ghz PIV laptop with Ableton Live.

Not shown are my few amps, 2 electric guitars (Korina Les Paul, 25th Anniversary Squire Double Fat Strat), 2 Acoustic (Fender Steel String, SX Dreadnought) and POS Bass guitar.

Got a mention on matrixsynth.com just there - one of the bigger synth porn/gear blogs about.

http://matrixsynth.blogspot.com/2007/01/akai-sg01v-vintage-synth-sound-module.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 karl davis

good stuff m8, keep it rocking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭skkatter

skkatter_studio.jpg
    I should really get a higher desk for those decks. :)

whats the grey lad at the top? between the left monitor and your computer screen?

A sherman filterbank! Class yoke

http://www.vintagesynth.com/misc/sherman.shtml

ooh sexy

There is a MachineDrum under the LCD Screen - far sexier I assure you

meh

i dont like drum machines tbh