Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Halting Site Moving To Dunmore Road!!!

• 05-01-2007 10:40am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭

I have heard (what I hope to be) a rumour that the halting site at the back of Ballybeg (beside Templers Hall) is to be moved to the Dunmore Rd. somewhere!!!

Can someone shine any light on this.

Thanks.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Dan133269

Jesus imagine that, best of luck to ye lads! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭Freddie59

shapez wrote:
    I have heard (what I hope to be) a rumour that the halting site at the back of Ballybeg (beside Templers Hall) is to be moved to the Dunmore Rd. somewhere!!!

Can someone shine any light on this.

Thanks.

Not at the moment. Story goes that permission has been granted for four 'social housing schemes:rolleyes: ' one at the Carrickphierish Road; one at Green Road/Wiches Lane; and one at the Outer Ring Road section between Airport Roundabout and Tesco Roundabout.

But it doesn't end there. There are plans to multiply this by FOUR in each ward. The City Council were extremely sneaky in the first planning persmission. As you will be aware, you have to post a planning notice at the nearest public road. As the Carrickphierish Road was not officially opened, the notice was posted at the exit near Genzyme.

Not very up front. I would expect more of the same with subsequent applications. It's ridiculous really that the City Council apply to themselves for planning permission for anything.

Who watches the watchers?:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭shapez

Cheers for the info.

I am assuming that there will be a lot of other applications in by builders for new housing estates along with the social housing??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,937 ✭✭✭fade2black

I have this image of Superman picking up the whole place and flying it out to space...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 699 ✭✭✭meldrew

Its being built already on the Dunmore Road , just opposite the golf course on the outer ring road , work is well advanced putting in the roads etc for the traveller housing , its just above the proposed new multi million retail cinema development which is planned for that area eventually once it clears Mccann . I wonder did the council inform the developer of what they were putting there when they sold the land for 30 million euro?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Correct me if I'm wrong but is'nt Dunmore rd area Ward 3 which is notorious for not ever having an offical travellers site?

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭Tanabe

Why should the travellers get anything? They will only wreck another free housing scheme as they have done in the halting site on Lacken Road. I'd be well off putting them anywhere near the Dunmore Road, leave them travel if that's what they want to do.

As for the sneaky city council - the only reception they should get from here on in is objection objection objection!!! Wouldn't it be great if we all got 'free houses'. It would be more in their line to fund the first time buyers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 257 ✭✭mad man

Tanabe wrote:
    Why should the travellers get anything? They will only wreck another free housing scheme as they have done in the halting site on Lacken Road. I'd be well off putting them anywhere near the Dunmore Road, leave them travel if that's what they want to do.

As for the sneaky city council - the only reception they should get from here on in is objection objection objection!!! Wouldn't it be great if we all got 'free houses'. It would be more in their line to fund the first time buyers.

I think your confusing council housing with a halting site.All I can say to that is if the government didn't provide social housing it would leave less well off members of society vulnerable to shyster landlords and a corresponding high crime rate.

As for first time buyers fair enough but you could be just fueling house price inflation and lining developers pockets.

Another thing is why shouldn't ward three get a halting site.If the council is obliged to provide accomodation for travellers in each ward then all wards should get one..Its not fair to communities like Ballybeg who have carried the can for years while the middle class areas have got of the hook.

It will interesting to see when the objections come if the bleeding heart cuddly green/socialist politicians will stick to there principles or if they will take the populist approach.My money is on the latter.

Kids in Ballybeg have been stignatised for years in Waterford by there community being labelled "Knackers Paradise".It's time the more well off shared the social responsiblity instead of talking the talk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,792 ✭✭✭Bards

well said.. However they are building houses with accomodation for one caravan each to be parked next to it not a halting site.. These are for settled travellers...It is not on the Dunmore road, but in the Williamstown area.

This area already has social houses in the neighbourhood - Farran Park & St. Catherine's Grange.

It is about Time the Dunmore Road got some social housing to be a more inclusive society

mad man wrote:
    I think your confusing council housing with a halting site.All I can say to that is if the government didn't provide social housing it would leave less well off members of society vulnerable to shyster landlords and a corresponding high crime rate.

Yes I think I was. Thankyou for clearing that up for me.
    mad man wrote:
    As for first time buyers fair enough but you could be just fueling house price inflation and lining developers pockets.

If we're gonna give to everybody why not start here with the first time buyer? It shouldn't have to be the case of fueling house price inflation & lining developers pockets if it was designed correctly.
    mad man wrote:
    Another thing is why shouldn't ward three get a halting site.If the council is obliged to provide accomodation for travellers in each ward then all wards should get one..Its not fair to communities like Ballybeg who have carried the can for years while the middle class areas have got of the hook.

Why should ANYWHERE get a halting site? Why should the council BE obliged to provide such a facility which will only be taken for granted and destroyed quicker than a hot snot? I agree with you that it's not fair to the neighbouring housing estates who would have to put up with having such a hell hole on their doorsteps. This isn't a case of let's keep it away from what you define as a 'middle class' area.
    mad man wrote:
    Kids in Ballybeg have been stignatised for years in Waterford by there community being labelled "Knackers Paradise".It's time the more well off shared the social responsiblity instead of talking the talk.

Refer to my points made above. I totally agree with you. It isn't fair on the neighbouring housing estates at all but shifting the problem somewhere else isn't a solution.

Bards wrote:
    well said.. However they are building houses with accomodation for one caravan each to be parked next to it not a halting site.. These are for settled travellers...It is not on the Dunmore road, but in the Williamstown area.

This area already has social houses in the neighbourhood - Farran Park & St. Catherine's Grange.

It is about Time the Dunmore Road got some social housing to be a more inclusive society

Sounds to me like this area has already done it's bit so. Let's put social housing everywhere & all live 'inclusively' everafter. Amen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 510 ✭✭✭Car Mad

Dan133269 wrote:
    Jesus imagine that, best of luck to ye lads! :D
    well said saying that they are very close to the hospital:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,362 ✭✭✭Trotter

Im pretty sure that due to deciding to study and work part time last year, I earned less than some of those people getting a free house from the council with ample parking for a caravan.

I scraped together enough to get on the property ladder and what did I get from the council? A massive bill for wheelybins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,218 ✭✭✭Junior

And where's the objection from McCann't on this sort of topic ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

Trotter wrote:
    Im pretty sure that due to deciding to study and work part time last year, I earned less than some of those people getting a free house from the council with ample parking for a caravan.

I scraped together enough to get on the property ladder and what did I get from the council? A massive bill for wheelybins.
    Everything you earned was declared though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭shapez

Folks,

Many thanks for your inputs. It seems like a lot of grass is going to disappear from both sides of the new ring road no matter what way we look at it. :confused:

However, sometimes you might have to agree with Mr. McCann on somethings. At least planning permissions get held up until the general public see exactly whats happening and then they too can decide even though it may not be worth anything.