Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester United Transfer Rumours/Discussion 2007

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

NO im not wrong, its my opinion that i say Henry is not world class, he's over rated i think ( you dont have to agree ).

Ok then define 'World Class'. To me it's someone who can mix it with the best whether it is domestically, in European competition or on the international stage. I think it's safe to say Henry's done that.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

...but id rather have someone who works hard for the team all round and doesn't moan at own team mates.
    Henry works hard for the team. Sometimes, like most strikers, he has a spell where he goes missing, be it in a game or for a few games. But in general he gives it socks.
    He does look a little lazy, because of his style on the ball, but he aint.
    I said he was an average player. If he was the best player for the last few seasons then who won PFA in 2005? John Terry and 2006 Steven Gerrard and they both deserved it more then he did. European Player in 2005 was Ronaldinho and 2006 Cannavaro. Arsenal player has never won the european award.
    Lots of players don't get the awards they should. And lots of awards go to overrated players. You can't use individual awards to judge players.

But you are indeed entitled to your opinion and I don't think we'll gain anything by arguing further about Henry. So, no more about him from me.
    I dont think you watched the game from the comment you posted above. PJS wasn't even on the bench for the arsenal game, but i do "agree" that he would have being a good sub to have, shame he wasn't there alright :rolleyes:
    Don't be silly, of course I watched the game. I missed the subs line up at the beginning when I was getting a pint.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,563 ✭✭✭kinaldo

Those who say players like Thierry Henry are merely average or not world class are usually trolling or just have some sort of irrational disliking towards the player by the way he looks, talks or celebrates. Or perhaps it's too painful for them to give such a great rival any credit as it reminds them of all the goals he's scored against their team, or trophies won at their expense. Either that or they're fúcking idiots. Imo.

P.S.

I still haven't forgiven Henry for disgracefully trying to cheat Puyol and Spain out of the World Cup.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 911 ✭✭✭Little-Devil

kinaldo wrote:
    Those who say players like Thierry Henry are merely average or not world class are usually trolling or just have some sort of irrational disliking towards the player by the way he looks, talks or celebrates. Or perhaps it's too painful for them to give such a great rival any credit as it reminds them of all the goals he's scored against their team, or trophies won at their expense. Either that or they're fúcking idiots. Imo.

I'm not trolling here, im a manu fan and yeh i dislike arsenal and liverpool, Arsenal play the best football in england no doubt are great to watch. The term "World Class" is exagerated far to much in football these days, but everyone is entitlited to there own opinion. I do rate Henry dont get me wrong, but i dont think he's world class. I hate the way he goes around with the arrogance on pitch as if no one is allowed to touch, he is always moaning when things dont go his way, but more so towards his own team-mates.

I dont like him as a person. Yeh i rate him as a fooballer, but world class :rolleyes: I dont think so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,847 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

I dont like him as a person. Yeh i rate him as a fooballer, but world class :rolleyes: I dont think so.

okay Little Devil, thats a fair enough comment. Id kinda agree with ya, but I think he's alot closer to world class then you are suggesting. Better than any forward options United or Chelsea have...If your talking about the current crop of footballers in todays world then yeah he is up there at the top of the tree, but nowhere near former greats etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,072 ✭✭✭✭event

I'm not trolling here, im a manu fan and yeh i dislike arsenal and liverpool, Arsenal play the best football in england no doubt are great to watch. The term "World Class" is exagerated far to much in football these days, but everyone is entitlited to there own opinion. I do rate Henry dont get me wrong, but i dont think he's world class. I hate the way he goes around with the arrogance on pitch as if no one is allowed to touch, he is always moaning when things dont go his way, but more so towards his own team-mates.

in your opinion, who are the world class players at the minute?

and who is the best striker in the world?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭bucks73

Can this argument about an Arsenal player please move to a new thread?

event wrote:

Well I think there is very few world class strikers at the minute... Ruud Van Nistelrooy, Henry etc are the closest to WC as it comes now. You'll be looking to add the likes of David Villa, Drogba and Larrson to that list next. Who IMO are "just" not world class. I agree with the above however. This isnt the thread to discuss this

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

bucks73 wrote:
    Can this argument about an Arsenal player please move to a new thread?
    EXACTLY.

I wonder is there any truth to this rumour about Aldo Duscher? He seems to be touted to United alot but nothing seems to be happening at all. But no one seems to be ruling it out either...

I'm not too sure about him really. I don't think he'd play that well at United.

event wrote:

Best striker in the world at the minute? Thats a hard to call at the moment cause no one is scoring week in week out for me. I admit henry is probably the best striker in the premership at the moment, but there's not that many to choose from in the prem. Drogba is having a good season, but what about next season? I think before you call him world class you have to wait and see how he finishes this season and next season. I do remember last season everyone was saying what a waste of £26million, but look at him now.

I can't think of anyone that stands out at the moment. I do think that Kaka:) of AC Milan is class prob the best midfielder attacking wise anyways, but AC are going through a rebuilding stage at the moment so he isn't on form and i expect to see him in spain next summer. Barca could do worse then swap Ronnie for Kaka and cash i think

This is a Manu thread so can we stick to Manu. I admit i have gone of topic myself.

For those of you who have been saying that Rossi won't ever make it at the top level, this is his goal for Parma last weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    For those of you who have been saying that Rossi won't ever make it at the top level, this is his goal for Parma last weekend.

What is? :D

PHB posted it above anyway.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

So it looks like this transfer window is gonna zoom by without a Utd. signing. The Hargreaves transfer doesnt seem to be happening this time around.
    To be honest, I am glad, no real interest in seeing Hargreaves in a Utd. shirt. He's a good player but he's not as good as the asking price. Bale seems to be signing for every club in the premiership at the moment. No other players seem to be realistic targets for us....
    Worried now about our state in the league too. Losing against Arsenal, but moreso, being outplayed by arsenal pointed to how lucky we are to be in the position we are. If we keep letting chelsea away with it, eventually they are gonna get back in contention. We still have to play them at Stamford too, right?
    Rossi is a striker right? So do you think Fergie will play him on the left wing, or the right?

MrJoeSoap wrote:
    What is? :D

PHB posted it above anyway.
    Feckin shoite computer... I didn't mean to post that... ;)

Just for good measure... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rXfFlBeDWCw :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,510 ✭✭✭sprinkles

There'll be plenty of them I think... I really hope he doesn't go. I'd love to see him get his chance at United.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

I think next year is looking good for Rossi, and I think thats what Fergie always planned.
    This year he loaned him out to Newcastle for some good experience so he could come back after getting into gear and help the title push. Newcastle ****ed that up, so hes gone to Parma to get the same thing. After next year, with Larsson gone and Ole getting older again, Smith sold, then Rossi will be able to make the push.

what is the story with Smith? Did somethin go on behind the scenes I wonder

He's out almost a year now and no sign of him making his first team return. I'd imagine he'll be shipped off in the summer. I never thought he'd make it as our first team striker but I do like him and his style of play can prove very useful against lesser more physical teams. It'll be a pity to see him go. He never really got a chance to show what he's worth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭LostinBlanch

Rumours in Newcastle are that they are going to get Silvestre or O'Shea (Please) on loan for the rest of the season.

http://home.skysports.com/list.aspx?hlid=443737&CPID=8&clid=4&lid=&title=Roeder+closes+on+deal

Fingers crossed :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

it will be silvestre id say, his united career is as good as finished. fergie loves o shea. BTW, savage rossi goal at the weekend, lets hope that puts him on a runof scoring over the next few months.

Latest crap from sky - Spy at Old Trafford??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,667 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Trilla wrote:
    Latest crap from sky - Spy at Old Trafford??
    probly the KGB from london :rolleyes:

It made front page of the mirror! So that means it's really important :rolleyes: What crap will they dream up next

sprinkles wrote:
    It made front page of the mirror! So that means it's really important :rolleyes: What crap will they dream up next

Glen Johnson to Bilbao, or other such nonsense probably!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

Off topic
    I admit henry is probably the best striker in the premership at the moment,

What are you on about?
    He has been the best striker in the premiership for the last 4 to 5 years.
    2 League titles
    3 FA Cups
    PFA player of the year twice (only player ever to win this back to back)
    Writers player of the year 3 times
    Top goalscorer in 4 out of the last 5 season
    European Golden boot twice.

Yea fairly average alright:rolleyes:

Henry is brilliant okay?

Now whats this spy jizzle all about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,879 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

Who cares if someone seen them training? i dont see how that could hold any advantage for anyone! All they can tell is who is not training due to injury and what position the fit players are training in...and I'm sure there's easier ways to get that info. OH and maybe they can tell tactics...assuming the plane took video and not still images. Bit of a slow news day, i'd say.

The_B_Man wrote:
    Who cares if someone seen them training? i dont see how that could hold any advantage for anyone! All they can tell is who is not training due to injury and what position the fit players are training in...and I'm sure there's easier ways to get that info. OH and maybe they can tell tactics...assuming the plane took video and not still images. Bit of a slow news day, i'd say.
    yeah but Henry is the best striker in the last 4 years :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,772 ✭✭✭✭Paul Tergat

Lads quit the talk on Henry, not for this thread!!!

Would be good to see Silvestre leave and may mean that one of our younger centre backs will make first team squad next year (Evans/Pique).

Class goal from Rossi by the way.

p_larkin99 wrote:
    Lads quit the talk on Henry, not for this thread!!!

Would be good to see Silvestre leave and may mean that one of our younger centre backs will make first team squad next year (Evans/Pique).

Class goal from Rossi by the way.

I would be more then happy if Silvestre or O Shea went to newcastle on loan for the rest of the season. I think silvestre has being a great player for manu, ok he made some terrible error's in his time, but who doesn't these days. John will never be good enough for manu's starting 11 and i think for his own career he should move where he will play week in week out.

I would love to Evans/Pique fighting it out for a regular spot next season. I haven't seeing much of Pique, but from what i have read, he seems to be doing ok.

Off topic here ;)

Gareth Bale a player who is been touted around at £10,000,000 who has made 27 apperances and scored 5 goals for southhampton this season. I haven't heard many people giving out about the transfer fee as of yet, but that will probably happen once he makes a move to Arsenal, Spurs or Manu.

My point is that everyone is giving out about the price Manu paid for carrick £14,000,000 with £4,000,000 depending on apperances and how successful manu are. Then there is talk of Hargreaves for £20,000,000 who has played in the European Championship's, World Cup and Champions League over the last 3years with Bayern.

I think looking at price of Bale, that Manu have done alright with Carrick ( still dont think he is good enough for Manu ) Hargreaves who i think is good enough and i think would improve the squad and be money well spent.

Sorry for rambling on bit, just thought id point it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,072 ✭✭✭✭event

that type of money for a kid is madness.

he could flop majorily, god he hasnt even played against a premiership team yet

still doesnt mean they got a bargain with carrick though ;)

event wrote:
    still doesnt mean they got a bargain with carrick though ;)

Agreed :) lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,772 ✭✭✭✭Paul Tergat

I think silvestre has being a great player for manu, ok he made some terrible error's in his time, but who doesn't these days.

I really dont think he has, he did better at left back where mistakes would more likely have less chance of being punished. Whenever he plays i always fancy him to cause problems for us, whether that be reading the game badly, tripping over his own feet or overplaying at the back!

silvestre while not being the worst of players and id say is a decent chap, has been very lucky to have stayed so long at united.him, richardson and fletcher, with possibly smith(though i still think he has a part to play) should he sold to bring in 2 decent players instead, with rossi, pique, foster and evans bolstering the squad.

another of the young lads join sunderland on loan. this fellow is supposed to be class, but I aint seen much of him.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/s/sunderland/6300117.stm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭LostinBlanch

Homerjay, I'd have Fletcher instead of O'Shea any day of the week.

As for Bale he's getting good reports, Fergie is supposed to be looking at him one last time when City play Southampton in the FA cup I think.

But I'd like to see Darron Gibson back at Old Trafford instead of Antwerp where's he's been player of the season. He'd sort out the midfield, if he ever got a chance that is! Bloody Glazers keeping down the wages by loaning out our best young players so we can't get them back when we need them! :mad:

As for Bale he's getting good reports, Fergie is supposed to be looking at him one last time when City play Southampton in the FA cup I think.

Or for the first time... he hasn't seen him play yet, in the flesh anyway. And Saints haven't been on Sky a lot this season either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

SSN are reporting that Munich are waiting until monday to make a decision on Hargreaves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,425 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

at which point they will reject the offer, giving united just enough time to go completely crazy and offer 30million to ge the deal done before midnight tuesday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭Brian017

Isn't Wednesday the last day???

Homerjay, I'd have Fletcher instead of O'Shea any day of the week.

I agree, fletcher always gives 100% when he comes on, usually :rolleyes:

But I'd like to see Darron Gibson back at Old Trafford instead of Antwerp where's he's been player of the season. He'd sort out the midfield, if he ever got a chance that is! Bloody Glazers keeping down the wages by loaning out our best young players so we can't get them back when we need them! :mad:

How old is this darren gibson? I have't heard much about to be honest or danny simpson who has gone on load to sunderland ( another possible feeder club ;) ). Any other manu fans seeing Gibson play? How do would rate him?

I would say ferguson will decide at the end of the season who of the young lads coming though will made the step to first team training and probably let a few leave. I think if your around 20 and been loaded out, then its likely you'll never be good enough for manu, just look at david jones signing for derby county. I remember everyone raving about him a while back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

How old is this darren gibson? I have't heard much about to be honest or danny simpson who has gone on load to sunderland ( another possible feeder club ;) ). Any other manu fans seeing Gibson play? How do would rate him?

Darron Gibson is 19 since October. I saw him play against Scotland for the Ireland B team there in Dalymount a while back. Not afraid to put in a tackle in midfield and looked a good player. Certainly one of the best Irish players on the night. Voted youth team player of the year at United last season. I'd rate him.

based on the players out on loan, here would be an alternative united 11, with defo the likes of foster, pique, rossi, evans good enough.gibson is highly rated by all around OT.

foster

simpson bardsley pique evans
    r jones gibson martin
    rossi cambell dong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭gracehopper

I was in Madrid this weekend and caught the Athletico v Racing game. It was a great atmosphere but the match was brutal, way too slow and too much diving. The ultras behind the goal sang the whole way through the game and i have to be honest i was quite impressed by they're loyalty.
    anyway, I just though i'd say that having seen torres play live i dont think he's worth near the 25-30 million athletico would want for him. In fact i think he'd have little or no impact at United.

Players that impressed were munitis (Racing), pablo and luccin. It was a really cold night and with the exception of these 3 the rest of the 22 didnt look interested.

Based on this game i think United would be mad to sign torres.

Its probably the first time you have seeing him play? The top clubs in the world would send there scouts to look at players more then once before they decide if he is good enough or not. I admit that he's not worth the £25/£35million that everyone is talking about, but tell someone who is or has being worth there transfer fee?

Athletico aren't a great team, they have some good players, but i think that he played at Barca he then you would see how good he is. I remember England v Spain about 4yrs ago and he made a show of Rio Ferdinand and the rest of there defence.

I would suggest you watch the England V Spain in February and see how good he actually is. I dont think you can judge a player on one game alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭gracehopper

Its probably the first time you have seeing him play?
    The second time, I saw him live last year aswell. I watch la liga every week aswell.
    I would suggest you watch the England V Spain in February and see how good he actually is. I dont think you can judge a player on one game alone.

MY opnion on him having watched numerous "la liga" games and seen the guy play twice is that he's not a Rooney, not a RVN and not even a Saha. Somewhere around the alan Smith mark is where i'd put him. There were better players on the athletico and santander teams.

on another note does anyone know if United are on live tonight??

4yrs ago

:rolleyes: leave it out will ya.

4 years ago is a long time. Alot of players change by then, especially when they are young. Even if he did play well that day he's still overratted. Wayne Rooney is slightly overratted but Torres is nowhere near as good as him. 30m, u is avin a laugh mate!

Somewhere around the alan Smith mark is where i'd put him.

He's no where near the alan smith mark, dont make me laugh. I agree your entilted to your own opinion as i always say here anyway, but i do think he's good enough for Manu, maybe not worth the £30,000,000,000 that everyone is saying. I admit he hasn't set the world light at the moment and he probably if stays at Athletico any longer.

I expect him to move to AC Milan / Barca or Manu in the summer.

We all know Manu need a top class striker in the summer, Saha isn't good enough. Who would you all like to see Manu sign in the summer.