Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Insurance

Options
  • 05-01-2007 10:01pm
    Registered Users Posts: 90 ✭✭

Does anyone know what the deal is with insurance for tenants. Are they covered under the landlord's house and contents insurance? i.e. im a student renting a house, if i drop my telly or whatever am i covered under the house's house and contents insurance?

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

moved from AH before it descends into hell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

I always had to buy my own house insurance when in college, maybe it has changed since then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 999 ✭✭✭Noelie

The landlord may only have building insurance, ask him your landlord if he has contents as he may not.
    if he doesn't get your own it would only be about 100 or less.

• Registered Users Posts: 22 reg_anam

it is possible but quite unlikley that the landlord has anything other than buildings insurance - it is of little value to him/her and most insurance companies don't like the thought of insuring items for theft/damage when the owners or occupires are unclear / free to come and go.

You should insure contents yourself unless you are prepared to take the risk yourself. You may need to declare that the property is a tenancy/shared

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 12,916 Mod ✭✭✭✭iguana