Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best Duleek Pub

• 09-01-2007 7:39pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭

Hello,

I was on a return visit to Duleek Village recently and had the pleasure
    of "going" for a few pints in a Pub at the bottom of the village.
    I don't want to name any names but i'm sure people will know it.;)

Its been refurbished lately, but the drink was awful in it and pricey.
    Now i've had my fair share of bad pints in my day but this was a joke.
    The lager tasted like there was a shot of vodka in it or paint strippers:eek:
    my throat warmed up as i drank it.
    The problem is this, this isn't the 1st time this happened to me in this pub?
    I had 4 pints and the next day i was dying :mad:
    And the people i was with also drinking Porter felt the same.
    And before anyone asks no one was spiking our drink.

Just putting it out there to see has anyone else had this happen to them?

Oh yeah, i had these pints in the Bar. I refused to pay Euro5 entry to an empty lounge to hear a DJ Playing to himself.
    Come on its a Village lounge for Gods sake!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 538 ✭✭✭~Leanne~

Dunno which side you are on about, it was either O Neills or The Greyhound. I used to live in Duleek and drank in the pubs twice! Hated them. Everyone is clannish - your best off heading into Drogheda or the Toll Stone on Drogheda rd. Lovlely pints and a cosy atmosphere. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 631 ✭✭✭andrewie

Drink in the pub you're talking about maybe once every two weeks and the drink out of the lounge is awful.

Ask to be served out of the bar or go into the bar!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭MOTHERTRUCKER

Maybe you didn't understand me.
    Why would i order drink out of the Bar in O neills if thats where the problem
    was in the first place?
    To tell you the truth i,ve stopped drinking there altogether now.
    Its happened too many times, they must be watering down the beer or the glass washer is filthy.

I,ve tried the suggested Tollstone, AKA Carranstown Lodge for a few pints recently and found it very pleasant, cosy and friendly.
    Best Pub in Duleek in my opinion.

Its a shame really that a Village with a population of between 4 and 5 thousand people doesn't have a decent Pub in the "Village".

Any other suggestions, comments or criticism on the above is more than welcome.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 538 ✭✭✭~Leanne~

I know its unreal. o Neills is supposed to be turned into a hotel in the next 2 years, but Kellys and Greyhound are just filthy and back in a 80's timewarp!

• Registered Users Posts: 122 ✭✭Quarrybaby

Id have to agree, the Toll is by far the best place to go for a drink in Duleek. Best of a really bad bunch that is.

Its best to stay well away from the pubs in Duleek. The same faces sitting in the same spot at the bar as they have been for years!!!!

Quarrybaby wrote:
    Id have to agree, the Toll is by far the best place to go for a drink in Duleek. Best of a really bad bunch that is.

Its best to stay well away from the pubs in Duleek. The same faces sitting in the same spot at the bar as they have been for years!!!!

Yeah totally agree. I heard O Niells Pub were charging E25 entry :eek: into the lounge new years eve night and when nobody bought any tickets they had to drop the price to E10. Pathetic or what?

Who was it that said "Don't bite the hand that feeds you Shay".
    When will they ever learn, and as for the prices in the place, were not in Temple bar for gods sake.
    No wonder everyone stays at home and drinks.
    The Futures not looking very good for the place if he keeps that sheite up.

• Registered Users Posts: 122 ✭✭Quarrybaby

I heard O Niells Pub were charging E25 entry :eek: into the lounge new years eve night and when nobody bought any tickets they had to drop the price to E10. Pathetic or what?

Yea thats true. I have to say i would be reluctant to pay E25 into any pub for new years eve!!! But into O'Neills...... ha ha ha!!!

I heard they spent 1/4 million renevating the place, maybe theyre tryin to get some of the cash back!! Apparently they recently got planning permission for the hotel. Looking forward to seeing the rates they charge!!

About time they done something with O Neills, if i had my way i'd knock it to the ground. Its only a glorified shed.

It makes me laugh the "Owner" runs around on a Saturday night with an ear piece on, like a member of a SWAT team or something. The way he goes on you'd swear it was a busy nightclub in Dublin. The place was empty(Lounge 16 people - Bar about 26 people).
    With 2 big bouncers on the door and an admission fee into the lounge :eek:
    i know they have a late bar but come on.........

This is a country Village pub, if he wants country people to come into his pub he has to start treating them with some respect,
    (1.) Drinkable drink (I taught Guinness are suppose to call out to clean taps?).
    (2.) Clean toilets. (the Bar toilets are disgusting)
    (3.) Reasonably priced drink (At the moment he's the most expensive in Dul)
    (4.) No admission price into A LOUNGE :mad: . (Its a country pub)
    (5.) Friendly environment. HUGE sign in the bar saying (NO CREDIT SLATE FULL) Is this suppose to be funny? Sure its the law not to give credit :confused:
    If that isn't the nicest way to say F off i don't know what is?

Maybe they could have saved some of there 250k face lift and asked people what they really want... one things for sure its not 10 plasma screen tvs..ha ha..ha..

I heard even the regulars didn't even get a christmas drink this year.
    Where's the loyalty in that?

Maybe the Celtic Club is getting too big :D

Agree with you about most of the things, especially the toilets in the bar and the guiness.

Its €3.50 for a pint in the bar and €3.80 out of the lounge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭Santa Claus

I miss the shiny exterior that Big Toms used to have !

andrewie wrote:
    Agree with you about most of the things, especially the toilets in the bar and the guiness.

Its €3.50 for a pint in the bar and €3.80 out of the lounge.

Do you know what Duleek needs?
    A GAA club house.

Think about it, nearly every club GAA club in Dublin and Kildare have club houses and i mean Proper club houses with function rooms, bars and gyms.
    One thing Duleek needs is community spirt and a friendly environment to have the craic and socialise.
    Think about all the Dubs ( non Duleek nationals :rolleyes: ) that have moved in to the village in the last 10 years and they don't even know their neighbours. O Neills just thinks that now all the Dubs have come to the village he can get away with charging Dublin prices. And we all know thats blowing up in his face.
    Whereas with a GAA Club house everyone can use the facilities, either by renting the function rooms for a 21st or christenings, or even to hold meetings for all the Clubs in Duleek.
    (Like most Rugby Clubs)

Why doesn't Duleek have a proper GAA Club house :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Linda Evans

As I am from Duleek, I find mothertrucker to be a lying mother ..cker. First he was on a return visit now he is a regular. I have drank in all of the pubs in Duleek, and yes O'Neills is by far the best. Its the only place you can get a legal drink at the weekends without been raided by the gardai. The place having been renovated is very clean, including the toilets. The pints are cheaper that Kellys and you thank god you don't have to take cover in case you get shot. The crowd is made up of both Dublin and local people. Its the safest place to drink in Duleek. I have been there on many occassions where Shay the owner was just feeding everyone in the bar and lounge with wings and things. Maybe he got it wrong on new years eve with the price but he had the balls to change it and it was packed. Great night had by all. Free shots handed out that night. Five Euro is nothing to pay for a late night out and the DJ on the Saturday night is the same fella out of the earth, so it can't be bad. Things to change- assholes like you running down our local pub.O'Neills is full of very decent people and Shay is brill

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 the big bouncer

[To Mother Trucker.

I live in the village of Duleek. I enjoy my pint. O'Neill's has the best pint of Guinness in the village and maybe in the North East. I get four free pints in the post during the year. The price is the cheapest in the village. €3.50. It is 15 cent dearer in Kelly's, 5 cent in Greyhound, and the same in the Tolestone. The pints in the lounge are colder. The crack is great and everyone enjoys themselves. If your looking for cheap drink I sugest Aldi/Lidl, seeing you wouldn't spend a €5 for a late drink in a fab place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 the big bouncer

[Why the hell do you want a good G A A clubhouse for if you were only home at Christmas.?

The pints in the lounge are warm not cold and are slop and its €3.80 for a pint in the lounge. 30 cent difference for pure slop!

Your a big-mac guy I can tell. I bet you like Jade Goody as well. If you don't like it stay the **** out of it, or maybe your barred. You sound like someone who should be. I will set Shay on you and make a 'slop' of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭europerson

So many suspicious new accounts and such a strange path for the discussion to take... the mind boggles...

Your a big-mac guy I can tell. I bet you like Jade Goody as well. If you don't like it stay the **** out of it, or maybe your barred. You sound like someone who should be. I will set Shay on you and make a 'slop' of you.

I'm pretty sure Seamus hasn't barred me as he served me the other night.

How much you get paid to advertise?

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

This thread has served its purpose I think. Linda Evans/the big bouncer banned for having multiple personalit... I mean, accounts.