Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CompTIA A+ v's Mcsa

• 24-01-2007 12:18am
    Registered Users Posts: 103 ✭✭

I am in the process of choosing a course to be done online. I'm new to the IT scene and stumbled upon the CompTIA course and thought it was what i was looking for then seen this forum mention Mcsa.

What I want to know is, am I on the right track with CompTIA or is there much of a difference between the two.

Or is there another someone could suggest, whichever one I do is not being done as a career choice YET, it's really just for myself (something to do & I dig computers):)

Any input is appreciated.

Comments

This is what you should do.

First take the A+eaam. This is computer machanics and is a good intrduction. Then take comptia network plus. This is an introduction to networking. If you sit both of these exams you will only have to do three exams for your msca. I have done all of these exams:)

• Registered Users Posts: 103 ✭✭zale

Thanks for that, does it matter who I do it with (i.e. the course provider) or are they all the same. In that I mean same modules, support and price.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

You can do the A+ with Fás or what I done was, learn the material myself and got some hands on experience at a local computer shop at the same time. I'm sure there are others but the exam fees are the same I think. Then you can take the test at a test center. You can locate test centres with Pearson VUE or Thomson Prometric. Best of luck.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,957 Mod ✭✭✭✭Moonbeam

They are completely different!