Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Terapins

• 24-01-2007 11:58pm
    Registered Users Posts: 4,093 ✭✭✭

Hey all...thinking of buying the girlfriend terapins. Just...because she's kinda into them! Does anybody know what the story is? Presumably they live in a tank, freshwater right? I was wondering how much one of these tanks costs...what's the difference between a tank and an aquarium? I know these questions are fairly basic...I've never had any pets except for gold fish.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Glowing

No no no! They are soooo much work. And if she's only 'kinda' into them, its not really enough. Its a huge thing to land on your girlfriend by surprise, she will be looking after them for the next 10-15 year, and may have to upgrade the tank to 5/6 footer. Not cheap.

I did a very irresponsible thing and brought two of them home from Spain when I was 15. At the time, they were tiny, size of 50c pieces. They were easy to keep then, put them in a small plastic tank and they were easy to clean out. As the years went on, they just grew and grew and grew. In the end, we had a 5 foot tank for them, with a 'bathing' area as they need to dry out every now and then (which reduces the size of their swimming area dramatically). We had to get a filter as the tank was too large to clean out more than once a week, and it was a big job. We had to get a heater for the tank too because during the winter, as she would go off her food for weeks as her metabolism slowed down. During the summer it was okay as we put her in a paddling pool in the garden.

I would *really* reconsider unless your girlfriend is an avid reptile fan, and has experience and equipment for keeping these sorts of animals.

In the end, we had to rehome poor Michelle as we physically didn't have the space for a larger tank (she just kept on growing into them ....)

Feel free to ask any questions - and if anyone disagrees with me, please say so. But you won't disagree that they are an awful lot of work.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,093 ✭✭✭TelePaul

Man, cheers for the save! She'd have gotten so upset if she had to give them away. Okay..back to square one. I need a pet that's 'better' than like a hamster or gold fish...but still manageable. She has two dogs and a cat. I think perhaps some kind of caged rodent or small mammal.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

I Totally agree with Glowing, they are a lot to take on even when you know what to expect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Shelli

How about a frog? They are really interesting pets and not alot of work involved after first set up?

She might find that most don't like to be handled though, she might also be lucky, my Whites Tree Frog loves nothing better than to sit on the back of my hand while I mess around on my laptop in the evenings! I think he might just be nosy.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,093 ✭✭✭TelePaul

Shelli wrote:
    How about a frog? They are really interesting pets and not alot of work involved after first set up?

She might find that most don't like to be handled though, she might also be lucky, my Whites Tree Frog loves nothing better than to sit on the back of my hand while I mess around on my laptop in the evenings! I think he might just be nosy.

Wow, that's a cool idea. Do they require heat lamps and stuff? I'm really broke at the minute. I just wish I knew more about animals in general..be it the cuddly ones or the slimey ones.

Any reptile you buy in this country that is not native will require heat. I'd suggest reading up on any species of Herp before you buy one and also read up on reptile lighting and heating systems. If the critter is diurnal(daytime active) it's odds on you will need a uv light of some description and a heating system too. Whites Tree Frogs come from Australia so you can be sure they need heat. If they dont get the temperature they need to function and digest their food they will become sluggish and can eventually die. You will also need a vitamin supplement, and bear in mind that most reptiles especially frogs/terrapins feed when they are stimulated by the prey item moving. Is your girlfriend squeamish ? Crickets would be the staple diet for the majority of reptiles/amphibians/exotics and they usually have to be alive to stimulate feeding.

• Registered Users Posts: 18 canislupus

Rats make fantastic small pets, they have a relatively short life span too so aren't nearly as big a commitment! They are very easily handled and become quite tame. If you get a pair (single sex of course) they entertain each other during the day; rats are social animals. Your girlfriend might not like the idea because of rats historic association with disease etc.

A Chinchilla is a South American rodent, very cute, In appearance they are somewhere between a squirrel and a rabbit. They can be handled and are very clean; they don't smell. They're comparively expensive at about €100, and can be difficult to find.
    http://d-mis-web.ana.bris.ac.uk/calnet/pot181/image/chinchilla-live%20photo.jpg

Small breeds (such as lionhead) of rabbit can be kept successfully indoors and are very appealing. large indoor cages are available.
    http://www.centralpets.com/critter_images/mammals/rabbits/RBT_0001492_20030424094832.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 1,702 ✭✭✭bounty_hunter

canislupus wrote:
    A Chinchilla is a South American rodent, very cute, In appearance they are somewhere between a squirrel and a rabbit. They can be handled and are very clean; they don't smell. They're comparively expensive at about €100, and can be difficult to find.
    http://d-mis-web.ana.bris.ac.uk/calnet/pot181/image/chinchilla-live%20photo.jpg
    Chinchillas are A LOT of work, don't be deceived by their cuteness. The require very particular care (they are not at all like other common rodents) and can live for about 20 years if well cared for. I would highly discourage anybody from getting them as a surprise for somebody else, you need to be fully prepared and have done a lot of research before taking them on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭FranknFurter

TelePaul wrote:
    Hey all...thinking of buying the girlfriend terapins. Just...because she's kinda into them!

Please tell me you are not serious?

Animals are not gifts, they are a responsibility.
    Very different from a packet of bath salts...:rolleyes:

What happens to said animal if you and your gf decide to split-up and she wants no reminders?? Its dumped in some rescue usually, at best.

This would be an unbelievably bad idea imo.

B

• Closed Accounts Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Shelli

Your best bet would be to talk to your gf about this, has she expressed a lot of intrest lately in getting a pet?

You can't surprise someone with a present of something that requires looking after, she needs to agree and want the pet before hand. And a lot of the fun of having a pet begins in the choosing of said animal, going to the pet shops and picking out your own little "baby", doing the research and making sure you have the best possible set up and care ready for the little guy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 266 ✭✭SCI

TelePaul wrote:
    Man, cheers for the save! She'd have gotten so upset if she had to give them away. Okay..back to square one. I need a pet that's 'better' than like a hamster or gold fish...but still manageable. She has two dogs and a cat. I think perhaps some kind of caged rodent or small mammal.

Corn snakes are pretty easy to keep
    and a good reptile to start with.There
    is hundreds colours and there pretty
    tame.You can get more info on my
    site,the links on my sig.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,476 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Turtles can live for a 100 years - not 10-15! The cute little ones in the pet shops grow to the size of dinner plates - the tank will need to be HUGE I had mine in a 4foot x 2foot tank & it was a pain to clean out! Takes 2 people & half a day to do it properly!

Do a ton of research & then research some more before you decide on any pet!

• Registered Users Posts: 246 ✭✭Garth

My wife bought one of these when she was a kid -- the shop owner never said a word! In the end they tried to rehome them as they'd grown too big and a "petting zoo" took them, neglected them and they died. Talk about traumatised children, they went to visit their pets and found them dead!

I think turtles are fabulous creatures, but unless I had a serious amount of money to keep them, I wouldn't be going near one as a pet!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭SuperSean11

TelePaul wrote:
    Wow, that's a cool idea. Do they require heat lamps and stuff? I'm really broke at the minute. I just wish I knew more about animals in general..be it the cuddly ones or the slimey ones.

I dont think you can buy them cheaply any more

Even harder to do so when you house them properly heh.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,161 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Here comes a biiiiig read.:D

Firstly not a good idea for the reasons you give. Turtles are quite a difficult pet to look after and require an investment in both time and money. That said, if you put both in they are not as difficult as some may think. I would say the time and expertise would be on a par with marine aquarium setups to keep them happy and healthy.

You'll need a tank/aquarium** big enough to house the youngsters and increasing in size to the adults. You'll need a water heater*** and very good filtration as turtles are far more messy than most fishes. I found the internal box filters not much use. I use a humongous cannister filter plugged into an undergravel* filter and water changes. I found it by far the best for nitrate and ammonia levels over the years. Also add a small amount of marine salt to keep check on fungal problems. Get test kits of various types to check water quality. It's amazing how many turtle keepers don't do this obvious and simple thing that tropical and marine fish types take as read. Mainly because unlike fish they won't show obvious stress in dirty water. the water must be clean not just look clean. If you don't test the water at least once a month, you're not doing it right(and that's being frugal with the test kits).

The tank will have to be divided with a "land" area for basking with a heat lamp. I've found an ordinary household spot bulb is fine. There are specialised ones available nowadays. You'll also need full spectrum florescent lighting to encourage vit D production. You can put certain plants in the tank and they do help with bioload and biological filtering but the turtles can rearrange the tank and eat the plants so.....
    Tallus wrote:
    most reptiles especially frogs/terrapins feed when they are stimulated by the prey item moving.
    Not at all true for the majority of aquatic turtles. In fact quite the opposite. It's the one area where turtles are far less of a sqeamish prospect compared to other herps. The food requirements of species differ. Some are more carnivorous than others. This can even be the case with two of the same species. The turtle pellets are pretty good and they can survive on them, but other food types make for healthier turtles. Change brands regularly though. Fish, mealworms, crickets and vegetables should be added for variety. Red meat should be only offered rarely as it can cause deficiencies.

The species and gender you get is very important. They can have very different requirements as to housing, husbandry and tank size. As was pointed out those small cute ones can grow and grow. The ones I've seen recently have been map turtles and they can get very big, especially the females. Since it's hard to sex hatchlings commonly for sale, this is a problem.

By contrast a stinkpot turtle rarely gets bigger than 4/5 inch in size. They can be delicate when young though. A Reeves turtle if you can source one is small too. Very cute, easy to keep and smart for a reptile. Handfeeding is very easy with these. It's a pity the suppliers don't get these species more frequently as they are far easier to keep and house IMHO than the more common species you see.

I've had/have Amboina box, Red ears, Golden thread chinese, Ornate central americans, Chinese softshells, Mud and Stinkpots, Reeves and Painteds. Of those the Amboina's, stinkpots and the Reeves were by far the best of the bunch in temperament and ease of care. The Amboinas can get big though. The Ornates are beautiful animals but need specialised care and are more land based.

Temperament can vary, even among the same species. I had a Chinese softshell(since gone to another) that is a complete pet. You can handfeed him, he won't try to bite and will sit quietly while you gave him a pat and at this stage hes nearing the foot long mark(not including head and neck. add another 9 inchs). Not the usual profile of a softshell. Not by a long shot.
    Bond-007 wrote:
    Turtles can live for a 100 years - not 10-15!
    Well not really. As regards longevity, while american box turtles can live well over the century mark, most aquatic turtles, unlike their land based cousins the tortoises don't live so long. Probably down to a much higher metabolic rate. Think around an average of the 40/50 mark in perfect conditions for the common ones. That's still a hell of investment.

I would say to anyone, not just TelePaul, research, research, research, before you decide to take one or more of these fellas on.

Here endeth the rant....:D

*Some are very against gravel in turtle tanks for impaction(and hygiene) reasons, but have never lost a turtle to this. I suspect slider type species may be more prone to eat gravel, especially when stressed or bored. They're the only ones I've seen even trying it. In every case the nitrates were up. Given that gravel is part and parcel of their natural environment and they seem to enjoy digging in it and it looks better IMHO. That's just me. Your mileage may differ.

** No offense TelePaul but if you're unsure about the diff between an aquarium and a tank you need to think more than twice about any exotic. In fairness coming here and asking is a bloody good way to start.

*** I have found that switching off the heater(and the lights obviously) at night, while keeping the filter going is more in keeping with their natural rhythms. The ambient heat in the water and the room is enough.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,161 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Oh yeah and don't overfeed. Most people feed them every day. I would suggest only doing that when they're young and sparingly at that. When adult, every other day will suffice. They get to be lard arses too. I've seen box turtles that were so fat they couldn't even close up their shell properly.

Ok Ok here really endeth the rant. :D

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭Shane190

I agree with Wibbs. I have 3 painted turtles in a 3ft tank. Two of them are just over a year old and they are quite big (4 or 5 inchs long excluding the head and tail) The other is about half a year old and is smaller than the other two. I have spent about 550 euro on them so far. I plan to buy a 4ft tamk in the summer with everything that is needed built into it. That will cost about 450euro.

I would suggest only to buy one at first. This is because most pet stores wont tell you that you will need to get a larger tank in the future. If you start of with 2 or 3 you will soon have to get a bigger tank. If you really want to have 2 or 3 I would suggest getting a large tank at the start ( 3ft or 4ft). This means that they wont be effected when moved to a different tank, Also they will have more room to play and swim.

When given the proper care and requirements they are really interseting pets. They give me hours of enjoyment and are are relaxing to watch. The only bad thing about them is cleaning out their tank every 2 to 3 months.:(:(

Shane190 wrote:
    I agree with Wibbs.
    Can I have that in writing? I hear it so rarely.:D
    I have 3 painted turtles in a 3ft tank. Two of them are just over a year old and they are quite big (4 or 5 inchs long excluding the head and tail)
    I could be wrong but I reckon you may be feeding them too much. That's pretty big for ages like that IMHO. I would have thought 3 inches max. try feeding them every second day. Seriously, it won't do them any harm and even then it's a lot more than they'd get in the wild.
    I plan to buy a 4ft tamk in the summer with everything that is needed built into it. That will cost about 450euro.
    Firstly, fair play with the bigger tank. Secondly that may not be big enough especially as they get older and aggression may start. I would have said a six footer is closer for lads that size. Thirdly, check the buyandsell. A lot cheaper than going new. Tanks are like cars, they depreciate rapidly. Forthly(is that even a word?) Filtration is your friend. the internal filters are a pain and IMHO not up to the task except in a small tank. An outside cannister filter is your man. Easier to clean and way better filtration. You can even go my undergravel route or just use the cannister filter as normal. It'll be a lot easier for you. http://www.zooplus.ie/shop/fish/technic_and_accessories/canister_filters

A lot cheaper than most of the ripoff merchants in this country*. You don't have to go for the Eheim(very nice filter) you could go for one of these; http://www.zooplus.ie/shop/fish/technic_and_accessories/canister_filters/13351
    Or one of these; http://www.zooplus.ie/shop/fish/technic_and_accessories/canister_filters/19461
    Go for the biggest you can find the cash for and you should be grand.
    I would suggest only to buy one at first. This is because most pet stores wont tell you that you will need to get a larger tank in the future. If you start of with 2 or 3 you will soon have to get a bigger tank. If you really want to have 2 or 3 I would suggest getting a large tank at the start ( 3ft or 4ft). This means that they wont be effected when moved to a different tank, Also they will have more room to play and swim.
    Good advice
    When given the proper care and requirements they are really interseting pets. They give me hours of enjoyment and are are relaxing to watch.
    Very true.
    The only bad thing about them is cleaning out their tank every 2 to 3 months.:(:(
    Decent filtration like above will reduce that quite a bit if you get things balanced. Big tip, when you clean your filter, don't wash the filter material under the tap. The chlorine will kill the beneficial bacteria that break down the nasties and that means your filter will take weeks to get back up to speed. Wash it in some of the tank water. Also do partial water changes every couple of weeks and that will also reduce the amount of times you will have to clean out the tank.

* I've seen price differences between here and other countries for filters etc and you honestly wouldn't believe it if you hadn't seen it for yourself. Celtic tiger my arse. The internet is your friend.

Thanks for the advice Wibbs. I have tried to cut down the feeding but they have become more aggresive when they do get food. Also whenever I go near the tank they start flapping wildly and splashing about wildly. Do all turtles do this? When I see them do this it makes me think that they are hungry.

Also I think that I over estimated their size. The two bigger ones are roughly 3 and a half inchs. The smaller one is only about 1 and a half inchs.

When you say check the buy and sell, what do you mean?? Do you mean E-Bay or something like that?

My filter is a bit on the small side so I will take a look at those websites and hopefully find one that suits me.

Thanks..

Shane190 wrote:
    Thanks for the advice Wibbs. I have tried to cut down the feeding but they have become more aggresive when they do get food.
    Aggression can be a big problem. Usually it's down to overcrowding but not always. Like humans you just have a nasty bugger. They vary quite a bit in temperament.
    Also whenever I go near the tank they start flapping wildly and splashing about wildly. Do all turtles do this? When I see them do this it makes me think that they are hungry.
    Nah, they all do that, especially if you feed them at the same time every day. You can set your watch by some of them. Creatures of habit they are. One trick, though it may not work so well with juveniles is to offer them lettuce instead. This will chill them out as you're still feeding them but with far less calories. They can be quite herbivorous especially as they get older. In fact I've found older ones of most species get far less interested in meat as they age.
    Also I think that I over estimated their size. The two bigger ones are roughly 3 and a half inchs. The smaller one is only about 1 and a half inchs.
    That's more like it.
    When you say check the buy and sell, what do you mean?? Do you mean E-Bay or something like that?
    The buy and sell magazine or website EG; http://www.buyandsell.ie/browse.php?quicksearch=aquarium&textopt=all&imageField_x=0&imageField_y=0&m=22&s=22&g=00193&
    Second hand is often the way to go. Might even source a filter this way, though buying new is better for that.
    My filter is a bit on the small side so I will take a look at those websites and hopefully find one that suits me.
    Yea it"ll make a big difference I can tell you. Saves a lot of time and keeps the water cleaner.
    Thanks..
    No worries at all. It's rare I can be of help so...:D

What do you think I should do about aggression? I dont really want to separate them and even if I did I dont have the money:(:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 tortoise17