Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

TSB laser card

Options
  • 28-01-2007 7:03pm
    Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,687 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Hi

I've been banking with ptsb for about eight years now, and found them ok.

However in the last six months their service has gone completely down the tubes, and they have introduced some bizarre new policies.

The latest and greatest came about two months ago.

I have my own account and then a joint account with my partner, so before paydays there may not be a lot of money in the joint account as we both get paid into our own accounts then transfer funds using online banking.

That was fine, until ptsb changed their laser policy.

Their new policy is that at 530 each morning the laser system checks how much is in your account and sets that as your limit for the next 24 hours, irrespective of whether or not you transfer/lodge funds to your account during that time.

So yesterday I had 500 in the account in the morning and then transferred in from my own account as I'd been paid.

I then paid my credit card using my laser (paid 500) and forgetting the inane new policy, went and filled the car up with petrol, and paid with laser.

Darn thing declined (as according to the laser system, I had no funds in my account despite having transferred)

Thankfully as the shop had an atm I was able to go and take cash out and avoid some of the embarrassment of the laser declining.

Now ptsb say this is a laser issue, not a problem with their banking setup.