Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Are there any words you can't stand?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Lol, you'll want to avoid Cork so...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Some people tend to over use the word 'actually' I have heard it being used 3 or 4 times in the one sentence by some people.

eg.

Actually some people tend to over use the word 'actually' I have actually heard it being used 3 or 4 times in the one sentence by some people actually.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭rugbug86

moist

mucous

oozing

scrotum

hate those words for some reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,697 ✭✭✭ciaran76

I hate when people say "Absolutely" I have no idea why but I cringe when I hear people say it.

Also Legend is another I hate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Carcharodon

"Like" ahhhhh, mainly cos I use it myself alot and I hate it :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

rugbug86 wrote:
    moist

mucous

oozing

scrotum

sounds like a dodgy porno

• Closed Accounts Posts: 627 ✭✭✭preilly79

Über. friggin hate that word when used in english phrases.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭mackerski

Words that don't exist, like "irregardless".

Question marks where they don't belong (spoken or written): I suppose he must be, like, bummed?

"gutted" for any purpose not involving actual disembowelment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,709 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

I hate when people use the word 'literally' when they're not being literal.

"I literally had my me head cut off!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

mackerski wrote:

Question marks where they don't belong (spoken or written): I suppose he must be, like, bummed?

Ah, the australian question-answer....a particular hatred of mine, both the practice and the brainless sheep that utter it every second sentence (?).
    Newsflash; you don't live in an australian soap.

Absolutely has been mentioned already...nothing against it per se, just it's use amongst certain Irish social classes as a replacement for the word "yes"....yet again, morons that think using a 5 syllable word instead of a monosylabic word somehow makes their point more valid or their affirmation more solid.

Oh and one that get's me for no good reason I can think of...the shortening of Blanchardstown to blanch....really irks me. No offence to anyone that uses it or lives there...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭Irjudge1

I hate when people use the word 'literally' when they're not being literal.

"I literally had my me head cut off!"

I'm with you on that annoys the **** out of me literally.:o

Actually and the C word which while I hate it I will use to describe 1 or possibly two people I have met in my lifetime.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 92,550 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Wertz wrote:
    Ah, the australian question-answer....a particular hatred of mine, both the practice and the brainless sheep that utter it every second sentence (?).
    I don't like the Australian Questioning Intonation
    Where you can't tell if someone is making a statement or asking a question.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/High_rising_terminal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,269 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

I love the word 'cvnt' and don't get why it's so disapproved of? Something to do with women not liking their own bodies or something? I dunno.

Anyway, on topic, for me it's 'Ghetto speak', using Axe for ask etc. That drives me fvcking crazy, especially when it's coming from middle class white kids.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 no comment

It really gets me when somebody repeatedly asks, 'ja know wha I mean'. Yes, I know what you mean. If I required clarification I would ask :mad: .

The usual words frustrate me too ledge, man, like etc. In this vain I used to have a teacher used to say 'in fact' at the beginning of every sentence.

Sometimes though it's just the pronunciation that gets me - 'arts' being pronounced 'orts' , 'dart' said 'dort' etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 143 ✭✭Zonko

Buzzwords drive me mad. I just can't stand people using fancy and yet meaningless terminology, particularly regarding technology.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Donald-Duck

The word "I-pod" being applied to all MP3 players

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

Using 'my', as in "I love *MY* football"; I love *MY* pizza. It's not yours ****er!

• Registered Users Posts: 446 ✭✭man1

Yeah you are right, I cant stand it when someone (usually a skanger) says "ya know what I mean" Six times in one sentence. Ha! Ha!

Also hate:

"like"

"roish" - (right)

"Blanch" - (Blanchardstown)

"Bling"

I also cant stand "I was just ringing to touch base" Aaarrggggghhhhhhhhh!!!

People who say "Basically" several times in one sentence.
    "well basically roish we went to like blanch and basically like it was like great roish, so basically at the end of the day roish we like had a good time basically"

But the worst of all thats gets to me so much, that I want to hit who ever utters it is a type of sentence that doesnt make sense at all and recently has been used a lot and has become annoyingly popular.

It seems to be common in sportstalk for some reason??????

for example if a guy talks about football teams he will say " well my team watford will never compete with your arsenals, your man utd's or your chelsea's" as if there are several arsenals, man utds, chelseas etc
    or they might say "Ireland have a lot of injuries but still have your duff's and your keanes who are available" ?????????????????????

Or in politics "well there are the big countries in the EU and then you have your poland's, your latvia's and your malta's" AAaaaaaaaaaarrrrrrrGGGGGHHHHHH!!!!!!
    What the ****???????? As far as I knew there is only one Poland, Can someone correct me there?

Everyone seems to be using this now, where the **** did it come from?

We know what they are trying to say but it is just so ****ed up, it really gets to me. Is this a correct way to speak?? Perhaps there are some english teachers out there in your carlow's, your kildare's or your galway's who could help me here.

• Registered Users Posts: 838 ✭✭✭purple'n'gold

A lot of the rather undereducated younger members of our underclass use the word “spa” to describe someone who they reckon are stupider than themselves. It’s a horrible word used in that context and makes me cringe every time I hear it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 938 ✭✭✭chuci

stall the balls said in a really high pitched accent or
    oh my god said in the same accent as above
    really grinds my gears

• Closed Accounts Posts: 783 ✭✭✭Skellington

'Savage' or when shortened to 'savo' (which is worse) really gets under my skin. Or one I've heard alot lately is 'pure deadly' or 'pure rapittt'. Makes me want to vomit with rage when I hear these.
    A few that only slightly bother me are 'chillax' and 'tbh'. That last one is used far to often and unnecessarily on Boards.ie:( .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 575 ✭✭✭JustCoz

People who say "Heino" instead of heineken- makes my blood boil.
    The word "pet" as a term of endearment.
    Also, I don't care for the word moist. I'm not sure why :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 475 ✭✭Dutchology

"Should of"... Should of? It really irritates me. It's should HAVE people, HAVE, not OF... ARG.

And then there's using "baby" as a term of endearment for your loved one... I find it degrading to be called "baby" and will only use it myself in a purely sarcastic tone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Shift - Lets move some people, shall we?
    Ride - Horse riding lessons for all!
    'be with' - Sure lets all huddle together for a nice photo, shall we?

pretty much any other things like that. the irish need to seriously fúcking get a bigger vocab.

oh and people who pronounce 'horse' like 'herse' etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,251 ✭✭✭The Walsho

Random being used when it's totally unsuitable (ie. not random at all).
    Literally being used when when it's totally unsuitable also.
    People saying something is "Ridiculous" or "Unreal" when it really isn't.

I know there's more but I can't think of them atm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭Futureman

Random being used when it's totally unsuitable (ie. not random at all).
    Literally being used when when it's totally unsuitable also.
    People saying something is "Ridiculous" or "Unreal" when it really isn't.

I know there's more but I can't think of them atm.
    I hear ya on all of those.

I hate:
    Guesstimate
    Chillax

And from Boards specifically:
    Pighead feels that...
    Atari Jaguar in a poll
    Won't somebody please think of the children

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,651 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Max_Damage wrote:
    It's mainly Californians that say 'like' in every sentence.

alot of young irish people seem to throw 'like' into their sentences nowadays. Its really feckin annoying.

I also dislike 'no worries' unless its spoken by an aussie. people need to be more original.

people who use the word 'actually' unnecessarily also pi$$ me off. 'i actually like beer'. just saying you like beer is sufficient, unless everyone else (more than 2) state they dislike beer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭Drag00n79

The thing that annoys me most is not a word but a phrase. It's "...don't get me wrong, but...". I find it so ****ing arrogant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

rb_ie wrote:
    The only word/phrase I hate is the word "cúnt". I absolutely despise that word.
    all girls hate that word*. it's kind of still taboo unlike the rest of the curse words.

*i'm not saying your a girl
    The word "I-pod" being applied to all MP3 players
    this pisses me off also.

i hate when people tilt their head, squint their eyes, raise the pitch of their voice and say "you know that way?" makes me want to kill person and bring him or her to a hospital to be brought back to life just so i can kill him/her again.

also:

there= in or at that place; "they have lived there for years"; "it's not there"; "that man there"

their= of or relating to them or themselves especially as possessors, agents, or objects of an action; "their furniture"; "their verses"

they're= a contraction of they are

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,191 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

When people answer the phone and they say, "Who's this?"

I manfully try to guess who it is.

It's "Who is that [speaking]?"

Another one that has taken over is "at the minute..."

"Where's John?"

"He's not here, at the minute"

I'm sorry but it should be "He's not here at the moment"

Reasoning: A moment is an indefinite period of time, while a minute is a definite period of time.

And I'm not being facetious, like. Ya know that kind of a way...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

Slow coach wrote:
    Ya know that kind of a way...
    tell me where you live so that i may slay you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭bohsboy

Uber - sweet jesus, this drives me mad!

And of course - ....can I have a "hang sangich"? Em..are you retarded?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,651 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

all girls hate that word*. it's kind of still taboo unlike the rest of the curse words.

*i'm not saying your a girl

it depends on the girls i suppose. if used in a humourous way its kinda funny. its only a word anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 195 ✭✭blahhh

silly

I've just always hated that word.......

and "ridiculous"

Don't know why.......

And I also hate The over use of "random, "like", "Basically", "You know like", "Babes".....etc

Shamrok wrote:
    The thing that annoys me most is not a word but a phrase. It's "...don't get me wrong, but...". I find it so ****ing arrogant.

psychologists say that when someone says something that has a 'but' in it, it means they dismiss your statement completely.

e.g. i agree that the film was gory but....
    Basically they didnt think the film was gory at all.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,062 ✭✭✭walrusgumble

more a phrase, when someone is talking to you and asking alot of questions, and then they say "do you mind me asking you...." and then ask the question.

really annoying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

more a phrase, when someone is talking to you and asking alot of questions, and then they say "do you mind me asking you...." and then ask the question.

really annoying.

Another variation of that is "Can I ask you a question?"

You just did jackass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭MontgomeryClift

Ironic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,986 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

Vapid, Meme, Succinctly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,258 ✭✭✭swingking

I hate the word

Atari Jaguar

What's the point

Joke's over, done:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭smallpaws

"energize"

"paradigm"

"think outside the box"

the extraordinarily overused "appropriate"

and as another poster pointed out, "axe" for ask.
    I once overheard someone say in a serious, snotty tone, "Well then, let me AXE you this......"

Christless retard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Unfortunately, earlier in life my friends and I picked up the nasty habit of using words and phrases that we hated(or thought were unbelievably stupid) in mocking the people who use them. Cases in point: Bjore, Boweller (sp?) Ledge, describing a girl as 'fit' etc...

From years of using these words as a means of mocking others they now are part of our vocabulary.

This happen to anyone else?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭JIZZLORD

Wicked
    not in the pensioner "jaysus its wicked cold" sense, but in the "that's wicked" as in cool

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭rediguana

"Craic"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 303 ✭✭coyote6

I hate the term "as per". I had a freaky, weird boss that used to say it. Just way too corporate culture creepy for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,986 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

rediguana wrote:
    "Craic"

**** off back to swaziland then ya communist!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

want, as in 'i want'. i hate it, can people not just say 'can i have'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 paramettscane

One that's coming back here:

"Yo, that's dope."

Check out that ride.
    "Yo, that's dope."

I gotta go to school.
    "Yo, that's dope."

Chili Dog
    "Yo, that's dope."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 139 ✭✭Scrotum

rugbug86 wrote:

scrotum

:(:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

Anything that comes out of D4, this thread only confirms this.