Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

And the Darwin award goes to ...

• 03-02-2007 8:42pm
    Registered Users Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭

...This tosser

Look how I can make my car spin while standing next to it ...:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

He deserved that, the clown

• Registered Users Posts: 16,164 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Hard to believe there are people that stupid...

• Registered Users Posts: 51,239 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

At least Karma prevaled in the end.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

ah karma...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,931 ✭✭✭dingding

The dumb clever balance ahs been restored.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,245 ✭✭✭drdre

excellent video.what a muppet:)

• Registered Users Posts: 28,861 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

What an idiot.. I laughed tho (does that make me a bad person?) :p

• Registered Users Posts: 15,065 ✭✭✭✭Malice

What a tool! Laughing at people being stupid = A great way to start Sunday morning,

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 39,725 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

The car got revenge on him for putting that yoke on the bonnet

• Registered Users Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

I may not be perfect, but i'm not quite sick enough to find the sight of a person being dragged under a car funny.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭smemon

hilarious :D

got what he deserved. no sympathy for people who show off and get injured as a result :)

• Registered Users Posts: 20,987 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Was he killed? It's not clear from the video how badly he was injured. He can't get a Darwin award if he wasn't killed or castrated :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭gyppo

I think its in poor taste. OK, the guy was stupid, but no one deserves to get hurt - I dont see anything funny in it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,173 ✭✭✭overdriver

How's the air up there on the high horses Anan, and Gyppo?
    Idiot. he got what he deserved. Bear in mind it's the people going home and copying these clowns we need to worry about as well.

overdriver wrote:
    How's the air up there on the high horses Anan, and Gyppo?
    Idiot. he got what he deserved. Bear in mind it's the people going home and copying these clowns we need to worry about as well.

Air smells a lot better here, thank you very much.

I think what he did was incredibly stupid, no question on that. However, I'd find it very hard, if not impossible to believe that no poster here has not done something stupid at some stage in their life - the difference is getting away with it.

So, if someone loses an eye by hammering a nail into a wall (and not wearing safety glasses), then he/she got what was coming to them?

The point is, we've all done something stupid at some stage and maybe only afterwards realised the danger.

Maybe a little more compassion, and a little less smugness might be in order.

See, it's the fact he was showing off while he did it that's the source of the hilarity. A person hammering a nail into the wall is not showboating to onlookers.

A person falling off a bicycle is not funny.
    A person falling off a bicycle, having just been waving his hands in the air going " Look at me! No hands!" is hilarious.

The Germans call it shameful joy - schadenfroide

overdriver wrote:
    See, it's the fact he was showing off while he did it that's the source of the hilarity.

Hilarity? Depends on your viewpoint I suppose.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭cpoh1

Anybody stopped to consider that this might actually be at a proper car show or event where it was part of the entertainemnt? This kind of thing goes on at loads of big car events across the world, his car was certainly modified for just this trick and loked unlikely to be in any way road legal.

Too many people here quick to judge!

• Registered Users Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

I don't think it's particularly funny either, I didn't really post this for its entertainment value (though it has some of that:D ) but rather as a warning not to underestimate the sheer force of a car.

Accidents happen when people get smug (and careless)
    This video is a prime example for that.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,398 ✭✭✭fletch

I don't get all the bashing this guy is getting and I certainly don't find it funny.....Russ Swift(think that's his name) does this kinda thing at shows all the time and he is very respected as being an entertainer and having excellent car control - are you wishin him dead too?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭NiSmO

Might I point out that at no point in the original post did the OP suggest that this guy was a professional entertainer. That, of course, places a different slant on things. The trick is still perhaps unacceptably dangerous even for a pro, and anyone trying it who is an amateur is a statistic in the making.

Also it's a bit disingenuous to get hot an bothered when one has information others didn't at the start of the thread, to be fair.

Professional entertainer or no professional entertainer ...
    If only one person thought they might try that some time, watched this video and now changed their mind about this stupid idea ...then it has served its purpose.

BTW the OP (me) didn't suggest anything about this video ...simply because I just picked it of the internet without any further info whatsoever ...so your guess is as good as mine as to who the driver is or isn't.

That's kinda beside the point anyway ...getting out of a running vehicle and leaving it unattended is highly stupid anyway. It might decide to run over you (as seen in the vid) ...or it might just decide to stop spinning and race off into the crowd ...

I wouldn't exactly call this kind of "performance" (be it professional or not) as "having excellent car control".

How can you have "excellent car control" when your outside the feckin thing and nowhere near the controls.

Agreed.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭cpoh1

What kind of road car could pull this trick off even if it wanted to lads? Im guessing that the car had some sort of modified throttle cable to do this. I watched Russ swift in the uk a few years back, pulling handbrakes beside people and putting his mini on 2 wheels for 50m etc. there was another fella who pulled off this exact trick at the same show in front of thousands of spectators. These guys are showmen, who do this for a living, if anyone looked closely enough at the car and driver they would have noticed the race suit and helmet with stripped out car. The guys misfortune shouldnt be an opportunity on here for people to have a pop at him.

Im guessing that the car had some sort of modified throttle cable to do this.

A simple wedge or brick on the accelerator would do just as well ...for the "semi-professional" entertainer, anyway :D:D

I saw a similar thing years ago on a public green . But the driver had jumped out, and there were a load of people stood back, but watching this car spinning around in circles. So obviously it can be done without much specialist knowledge.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

overdriver wrote:
    Also it's a bit disingenuous to get hot an bothered when one has information others didn't at the start of the thread, to be fair.
    That he may have been a professional is hardly rocket science. Regardless of the circumstances, to laugh at the sight of a person being dragged under a car is quite sick.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭fits

overdriver wrote:
    The Germans call it shameful joy - schadenfroide

Its schadenfreude, if you're going to try being smart, at least spell it properly.

Dont know how anyone finds that video funny, no matter what the context. I'd say he was badly injured.

Pontification, Ana? How uinlike you.
    I assure you I'm not sick.