Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gerry Hannon, like him or loathe him?

• 04-02-2007 7:48pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭

I was just wonder what the general opinion is on the man, i have heard alot of negative but always figured he was pretty popular, well kinda... anywho, please give ur own opinion.

Do you like RLO's Gerry Hannon 35 votes

No, Strongly dislike
    2% 1 vote
    No, Have a few gripes
    65% 23 votes
    Undecided, border line
    20% 7 votes
    Yes, somewhat/ completely
    11% 4 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,338 ✭✭✭hobie

he must be famous because he has his own entry on Wikipedia which is a damm site more than I have ..... :p

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gerry_Hannan

GerHannanRLORaid2006December.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 4,871 ✭✭✭Karmafaerie

Are you kidding me!

The guy's a pox on the city!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Each to their own.....my dad used to listen to him all the time......

• Registered Users Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭billy the squid

A poll on liking or loathing something with three levels of dislike and one of like, how balanced is that.

I will abstain from the Poll because I've never heard him say anything .......

in fact I've never seen him untill I saw the photo below of him having a Chinese supper ..... :rolleyes:

he does seem to have enjoyed it .... :p

GerHannanRLORaid2006December.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 51,239 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Who is this guy to warrant a poll?

• Registered Users Posts: 128 ✭✭jay_haych

thats not a very nice thread

• Registered Users Posts: 87 ✭✭rorymagory

I can't stand him. When RLO was taken off the air i seem to remember that his argument was along the lines of 'The council are out to get me, gardai/council/government are out to get the elderly people of limerick by depriving them, won't someone think of the old people' It was an argument I would have expected from a 14year old. Maybe he forgot that it was a pirate station he was on. The law caught up with him, simple as. I get angry thinking about him, particularly remembering his rant at Frank McCourt from the audience on the LateLate Show a few years ago.

While I personally can't listen to the guy, I'd stand over his opinion that elderly people are deprived. Where my opinion varies from his is his opinion that RLO are the only station worthy of serving the old people and that they have the "right" to do so.

This is a situation that has arisen because of the lack of a second licence for Limerick; IMHO, the elderly people could be much better served (and were, in the past, through stations like Raidio Luimni, Country Gold, KRFM, NCW 106) but because of the high profile of RLO it appears to have been leading the campaign.....this has been a disadvantage, because having had RLO on air illegally and with such a high profile for over 10 years, the BCI is unlikely to want to be seen as "giving in".

The issue is much bigger than Gerry wanting RLO's licence back; there is a need for a service for the older people in Limerick, simple as that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭limerick_man

A poll on liking or loathing something with three levels of dislike and one of like, how balanced is that.

Well 2 options are for dislike and 1 for like plus 1 for having no opinion.
    If it was reversed the votes for people who mildy dislike him would be cast with those who do not like the man whereas here those who anyway feel positively about Gerry Hannon get counted together.

I was just wondering how popular he is... as for this being a mean thread, he's a celebrity. See some of the stuff written about broadcasters in the 'Radio' forum or 'After Hours', etc... I may not agree with some of his views (priate radio is illegal, period) but i dont dislike him

It's odd, though, thinking of Gerry as a "celebrity".......he'd love to see that, negative or not.....even his own jingles are rip-offs of Howard Stern or someone, asking why people listen considering that they hate him......

Still, he's done more than Jade or Paris Hilton (in that it is what he does that made him moderately famous, unlike them) so maybe he should be on the next "Z-list Celebrities eating worms in the jungle" ?

Still, he's done more than Jade or Paris Hilton

Bet you he hasn't built any big Luxury hotels in Limerick ..... :confused:

Our Paris has !!!!! ...... :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭IrishMike

loathe isnt a stong enough word to describe my feelings for that man

hobie wrote:
    Bet you he hasn't built any big Luxury hotels in Limerick ..... :confused:

Our Paris has !!!!! ...... :p

Oh yeah, I forgot that I saw her with a hard-hat and a plastering trowel there last week..... ;)

C'mon....Paris has done SFA other than star in dodgy porn videos and wander round in a series about two brain-dead blondes, contributing SFA to society apart from her ill-thought out comments and pointless observations......

Oh, hang on....maybe she and Gerry have something in common after all....?

Maybe they both have millions and billions of euro's behind them ...... ;)

When you have as many yo yo's in the family bank accounts as gay Paris who cares what people think of you ..... just stay away from the Booze, fags and drugs .....

and enjoy your life (with plenty of sex of course) .... :p

• Registered Users Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭Raiser

When is Gerry gonna release those Peruvian Pan-Pipe People he has playing in the UL Concert hall by night and in town beside Supermacs/on Cruises Street by day ? Poor bastards are stood there day after day playing the Titanic Theme tune and missing those snowy-capped peaks back home :(

* Edit - I'll alway remember Gerry for his radio show when he used to let da auld ones phone in and witter on about how great he was for 20 min.s at a time........When the odd caller didn't agree with him the line used to always inexplicably fail, all of a sudden like ????

he used to let da auld ones phone in
    ....or used to ring them if they didn't......I always remember one "caller" hanging up live on air with "Thanks for the call, Gerry!" :D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,848 ✭✭✭Poxyshamrock

Still though, when Sammy Benson's Burnt Down, he gave them around €2000 to get new equipment.

Hadn't heard that......if so, fair play!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 E.L

I know his brother Dom who is harmless and lovely character.

Gerry on the other hand I met first when I worked in Eason's and he is without doubt one of the rudest people i ever met.

Used to speak to the staff like something he wiped off his shoe , He has some notions about himself!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭gaf1983

That Late Late Show performance and the 'Tis In My Arse book (not that I've read it, just the idea of it) gave me the impression of a very bitter man with two bags of extra large chips on both his shoulders.

Saying that, his show did give an opportunity for elderly people to air their opinions on whatever they pleased. Does anybody know what the listnership figures were? It was undoubtedly quite popular in its day. Though saying that, it was being broadcast illegally.

You can hear one particular interview he did here, which he might not like to put on his CV!

• Registered Users Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Ah Gerry, what a goon. I used to prank call him in college. The guy has an ego Mike Tyson couldn't match.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭billy the squid

Zombie thread