Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

is bupa run feasible for a newbie?

Options
  • 05-02-2007 1:20am
    Registered Users Posts: 2,144 ✭✭✭

Hiya. I'm kind of new to this. Did the Couch-to-5k programme last summer, and by autumn was able to run 3 miles in just about 30 mins. Running has been erratic since then, and hoping that setting goal of running the Bupa Phoenix Park run will help me focus.
    At the moment, my 5k time is about 35-36 mins. I've bookmarked Hal Higdon's 10k race programme, but am I going to make a fool of myself if I horse along to the Phoenix Park in April with my rank amateur status?
    Any input appreciated.
    M

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 3,308 ✭✭✭quozl

Don't be daft :) If you can already run 5k now you're miles (literally) ahead of a large proportion of this years future entrants. You'd be fine at any Irish 10k fun-run, but you'll be especially fine at one that attracts such a large proportion of people who don't run very much. Plus it'll provide some motivation for your running for the next couple of months - it's a really good idea.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,524 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Exactly what Quozl said..

I went from heavy smoker to Bupa 10k, with about the same amount of preparation time as you have. It is more likely that you will find that many participants will slow you down during the race..

Based on last years results, and your 5k time, you should finish right in the middle of the field (pardon the pun).. Happy running!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos