Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Absolutely no question - Stan has to go!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

LuckyLloyd wrote:
    Diatribe?

The original post I dismissed talked about having an Eircom league manager and players representing Ireland. This would do the International team a serious disservice in my opinion. To back up my point:

Think of recent examples of Eircom league players and managers who had success at domestic level and made a go of the English game.

Roddy Collins enjoyed some excellent seasons with Bohemians before looking completely out of his depth at Carlisle (they nearly dropped out of league football under his stewardship). Colin Hawkins went over to the UK heralded as one of the finest centre halfs in the domestic game - he had to return tail between his legs a couple of seasons after. Wes Hoolohan is gradually working his way up through the ranks in Scotland and England - but is probably approaching his level in the Championship - when he was with Shelbourne he would easily have been one of the key stars of a potential Eircom XI. Richie Foran was destroying people in the Eircom league - he is approaching his peak levelling out as a solid but unspectacular pro in the Scottish premiership.

There are other examples along the above lines (and I will follow Stephan Kenny's progress with interest) - and I hope that such cases illustrate the extreme gulf in standard between the Eircom league and the upper echelons of English football. Any Irish player regularly involved in the Championship, Scottish premier (to a lesser degree) or the Premiership should automatically be selected ahead of any Eircom league player as he will be better prepared to represent us on the International stage. And in terms of management - experience outside the domestic game is what we require.

you're kinda missing my point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

I really feel sick after that game, I wanted to hit Stan after his intereview, jesus christ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Thank god I didn't watch that match. I had a class to go to, well I lie I got to see 20 minutes in the pub beforehand, the team were like a pack of headless lemmings from the little I saw.

Staunton has to go. Its obvious we won't qualify so a new man (ie a proper manager with experience FAI :rolleyes:) needs to be brought in with the WC qualifying campaign in mind.

As for the suits in the FAI if they had an ounce of honour they should resign but they will brassneck it out as usual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,077 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

even TV3 news were pretty scathing there! takin the piss out of stan but also saying its not so much his fault he's out of his depth, its those that put him there.

On another note, the RTE report linked above is exactly the same as the football365 one..i wonder who's it actually is.

http://www.football365.com/preview/0,17033,8741_1901638,00.html

<EDIT> hehe f365's post time "Posted 07/02/07 22:10" RTE's post time "Wednesday, 7 February 2007 22:23"

so looks like RTE took the words out of F365's mouth!

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

VinnyL wrote:
    good god

worst performance in years. i saw a staunton out banner in the crowd aswell, they must have been prepared for a result like 1-1
    That was a Delaney Out banner actually. Just thought I'd point that out...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,407 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

you're kinda missing my point.

If your point is about the fact that Eircom league players, as lower level pros, would be more motivated and deliver greater levels of effort and determination if given the chance to play for Ireland: I say that even if they gave 110% at all times, they still wouldn't provide a better long term solution for the national team, as the disparity in actual talent is too great to be bridged by extra effort.

While nights like tonight against the true minnows of World football like San Marino might be better from the fans perspective with humble EL pros on the pitch - trips like those that lie ahead in the Czech Republic and Slovakia would really suck.

The long term solution is to provide a proper Managerial support to the current squad - i.e. get rid of a guy hideously out of his depth and replace him with an individual capable of managing at this level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭LostinBlanch

He wasn't assistant manager of Walsall, just the Waterboy.

As for all those people asking who could we have? There are so many people. If it's money that's the problem, I think that getting someone like Fenlon or Richardson from the El might be an option, they've done better in Europe than Staunton has. Aldridge is postitioning himself for the job IMO which is why he wasn't saying anything bad tonight. Whelan was covering for a team mate. At least Kev Moran called it what it was, an embarrassment. At this stage I'd take anyone else other than Staunton as I feel he is the worst thing happening to Irish football at the moment.

Under Staunton we are going backward at a rate of knots, and it will only get worse, and worse. He and Delaney are so lucky that TV3 have the rights to the away games, Dunphy would have torn them both new a**holes by now. Even Giles is saying that Staunton staying on doesn't encourage him at all. Damning words from someone that never likes to say anything bad about anyone.

Not only does Staunton's, managerial ineptitude, lack of tactical nous and inablility to communicate in anything other than the most hackneyed of (badly delivered) cliches and stubborn refusal to see the truth get to me. But his sheer arrogance in taking the fans (myself included) cheering on the team against the Czech Republic in Landsdowne as 100% support for him really makes me want to give him a good kick up the arse. :mad:

As someone who was 100% behind Keane in the Saipan debacle, I'd very gladly welcome Mick McCarthy back as manager! Anyone, anyone but Staunton.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,894 ✭✭✭evad_lhorg

Ah now come on lads we were away from home. every game away is tough and the lads fought hard and got the 3 points.

ha ha ha ha im funny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,147 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

I think its time for my Fai Failure banner to make the long march from Flancare up to Croker :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 256 ✭✭patto_chan

The Wikipedia police are fast.
    Within 5 minutes of me seeing that unflattering Staunton entry someone had sanitised it.
    Luckily I took a screen dump.

I can't really see us finishing better than 5th in this group. 4th if we're very, very lucky.

But hey, that's ok because Staunton has a 4 year plan. Pity it hasn't got anything to do with football.

I think its time for my Fai Failure banner to make the long march from Flancare up to Croker :)

You better brush up on the words of "Cheer up Stephen Staunton" while you're at it. :rolleyes:

I've tried but I still can't get the last line right? Anyone got any ideas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭Soby

ye so he says..get rid of the young lads.let them get experiance in the under-21's...was about to go on a rant bout the whole team but 1:its 11.30 and im tired and 2:nothing i say no one doesnt know already////

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

I think that getting someone like Fenlon or Richardson from the El might be an option
    You mean someone who has experience in a league equivalent to about the Championship?

You mean... Stan?

We need someone completely different. Someone with Champions League experience, preferably, someone who can organise tactics against sides of the quality of Germany. Forget about the likes of Fenlon or Roddy, think the likes of Gerard Houllier. Not advocating him personally, but think more of that calibre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,510 ✭✭✭sprinkles

I was going to stay out of this as I thought everything had been said, but I need to get it off my chest if I'm to sleep tonight.... so here goes:

If Stan keeps his job (and I think he will) it will be down to a lucky last minute goal. No manager should be kept on based on that. If we had have drawn he'd be gone. Simple. Further to that there is no premiership team, no championship team and I'd be amazed if any league 1 (??) club would hire Stan as the FAI did. In my mind the FAI should be pushing for someone with credentials.... managerial credentials!!! We've got Stan. Ridiculous.

Tonights performance was headless. At no time did I have confidence in our players. I don't mean ability wise, they are performing week in week out at the highest levels in England and they come together and produce this!? I mean the management. No one seemed to know what their job was. Ireland floated, Keane and Long were looking for the same ball, nothing was in place.

And what was his response to the shocking performance. "... 3 points...."

He deserves to go for that alone. I expect the national team manager to address the fans with a bit more honesty and not like a bunch of retards. I know how many points we got. Do you know how many we deserved?

I hope he has the humility to resign. Dave O'Leary's out of a job......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭LundiMardi

Ibid wrote:
    You mean someone who has experience in a league equivalent to about the Championship?

You mean... Stan?

We need someone completely different. Someone with Champions League experience, preferably, someone who can organise tactics against sides of the quality of Germany. Forget about the likes of Fenlon or Roddy, think the likes of Gerard Houllier. Not advocating him personally, but think more of that calibre.

Houllier isn't doing much better at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭BobbyD10

Unfortunatley for Staunton, he doesnt seem to have the requsite skills neccessary for management at any level, he dosen't have people skills, seems a shy character, has he got motivational skills I doubt it, can he lead the team forward to greater things i doubt it, is he getting the best from the players he has...? Keane, Duff, Oshea the more experienced squad members are chronically bad in a green jersey.

However, I dont blame Stan, he was offered the managers job, which he jumped at and so would I, with no experience at all, to manage your country what an honour.

I blame Delaney he selected Stan as a cheap option I might add at a mere €250,000 a year, a big drop from Kerr's wage. Delaney needs to take a big slice of the flak. He was lucky Ireland did win, as Corke Park may well have been empty for meaningless games....!!!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,245 ✭✭✭✭Fanny Cradock

Out of curiosity, is there anyone who thinks Stan should stay? Go on... admit it!

About the only bone of contention I've seen here - excluding the pointless EL debate (start another thread, please) - is the timing of his departure.

Results and tactical ineptitude aside, I can't see how the players could possibly form a bond with a goon like Stan; he is the antitheses of inspiration. If I'm to believe the Championship Manager/ Football Manager games, motivation of players is one of the key managerial skills. I really can't see much in the way of player support for him... or at least I hope so. What a clueless tool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,077 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

LundiMardi wrote:
    Houllier isn't doing much better at the moment.

What, like 11 points clear at the top of the league and into the next round of the champions league in a league phase winners position?

To be fair i know what you're saying, 3 loses and 2 draws in last 5, but their problem of not being motivated is a bit different seeing as they've already effectively won the league. Im sure they'll be back to top form come the champions league return.

Ibid wrote:

You mean... Stan?

Dont think you will see even the most diehard of EL fans want Roddy to do ANYTHING!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

The vandalised (but accurate) version of Stan's wikipedia page seems to be gone back up again.

Naughty...lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 868 ✭✭✭tdv

"It's three points," Staunton said. "Tremendous fighting spirit, we controlled the game from start to finish. But we were sloppy at the back.

"We should have been three or four up at half-time but we didn't take our chances. We need to be more ruthless in front of goal.

"We're all frustrated, none more so than me. But we're third in the table and looking forward to two great games in Croke Park. What more can I say, we had four great chances at the end. Thankfully we got one. Tremendous spirit."

When asked if he felt he had the FAI's full backing, Staunton said: "No question, yes."

"San Marino are going to develop as the group goes on, we knew that. But we had six or seven chances to win the game comfortably but didn't take them. But we've three points and we're delighted."

WTF is he on about seriously? How the hell did we manage to get stuck with this wierdo. Thats what he is a wierdo who cant talk properly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,105 ✭✭✭mada999

The players need to take some of this flak as well..they are supposed to be pros....have they no pride or heart??.. too many spoofers on the pitch (Harte, John O'Shea, Carsley, Kilbane)...and what was our keeper at ?

Some might say they are not playing well because they have an inexperienced, tactically inept manager....but come on it's SAN MARINO FFS they should have at least got 3-4 goals.......even if Bosco was the manager.. :mad: :mad:

get that clown Delaney and his cronies out now..bring in someone decent...

FOOLS..AND..IDIOTS = FAI

/RANT

Republic of Ireland boss Steve Staunton says his side displayed "tremendous fighting spirit" to beat San Marino 2-1 and move to third in Euro 2008 Group D.

:( goodnight.

tdv wrote:

"San Marino are going to develop as the group goes on, we knew that. But we had six or seven chances to win the game comfortably but didn't take them. But we've three points and we're delighted."

Frightening words....:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

if taking the piss with comments like that. The result is bad enough, but him to come out with that is unreal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭smemon

well in fairness, if you watch the replay, mcshane was pushed, so it should have been a free out :)

anyway, I blame the players, the pitch, san marino's tactics and the running track around the ground.

Had the fans been closer to the action, the Irish lads would have upped it a bit due to the pressure.

80,000 booing you off the field in croke park should be enough motivation for stan for the next couple of matches ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,723 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

We should be aiming for the likes of Mark Hughes or Sam Alardyce , but with skinflint Delaney in charge , Dowie is about as far as his purse strings will go !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,007 ✭✭✭mad m

I laughed when Brian Kerr said "Man of the match,pity I cant vote for someone off the San Marino team" haha.Well not in those exact words but you catch my drift.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

If Stan's contract was up tomorrow would it be extended? Not a hope in hell. Surely that's reason enough to get rid of him. He'll never walk away.

Its not in Irish fans nature to boo, so i fear it will be similar to after Cyprus , where he will hang on , the crowd will get behind the team , the team will do well , and then Stan will angrily ask what all the fuss was about -- hes a muppet , that needs to go now , before the Croker prawn sandwich brigade cheer him on to cause perment damage to Irish football !
    English fans rounded on McClaren tonight, i just can't see there Irish counterparts doing likewise , when the situation is much more critical, in fact its comical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭StickyMcGinty

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    That was a Delaney Out banner actually. Just thought I'd point that out...

ah i thought it was a staunton out one, i just saw it as the camera was panning across the screen

doesnt make a difference anyway. they should both be shot

by the way, does listening to Brian Kerr on TV3 irriatate the hell out of anyone else??? he obviously cant really criticise the manager who took his place, why does he comentate on these games, he talks for the sake of talking

edit: not RTE, my bad, TV3

VinnyL wrote:
    by the way, does listening to Brian Kerr on RTE irriatate the hell out of anyone else??? he obviously cant really criticise the manager who took his place, why does he comentate on these games, he talks for the sake of talking
    Aye, non stop talker with a voice not made for commentating. :)

Whoever has that Delaney out banner should stick it on the railings of Merrion Square during the night. Take a few pictures of it too for the media.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

sprinkles wrote:
    I expect the national team manager to address the fans with a bit more honesty and not like a bunch of retards. I know how many points we got. Do you know how many we deserved?

I hope he has the humility to resign. Dave O'Leary's out of a job......
    Shirley you can't be serious. As a Villa fan, I have nothing but contempt for the way Dreary O'Leary handled himself during his time at Villa Park. In my opinion he hit the jackpot at Leeds with a great bunch of young players, other than that he has achieved feck all and is quite a brutal manager. To this day more and more stories are leaking from Villa Park about his total lack of man-management and poor motivation technique. He has no grand footballing masterplan, instead he stands in the dugout practicing his poker face while his assistant does all the donkey work.
    Believe me people, O'Dreary is not the man for Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Brian Kerr on RTÉ? would RTÉ stoop that low? TV3 surely

Mossy Monk wrote:
    Brian Kerr on RTÉ? would RTÉ stoop that low? TV3 surely
    He knows more than Giles, Brady and Dunphy anyway. :) He's well up on players in the top European leagues and as knows the tactics of the game as much as most managers. He's just arrogant, tends to waffle on and doesn't have a great vocabulary ("Bees Nees" :D). I always respect what he has to say as a pundit on Setanta. As a commentator he's brutal though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,951 ✭✭✭✭Villain

The biggest problem I see now is "IF" Staunton was to go what top class manager would "WANT" the job, I mean look at the front page of the Sun today, we'r becomming like the English media now, our expectations have risen so we expect to beat San Marino by 7 or 13 goals like Germany and the Czech's did. The longer Staunton is there the harder it is going to be to get a top class manager that wants the job. I mean I couldn't see any premiership manager touching the job with a barge pole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,115 ✭✭✭Pal

The people overwhelmingly do not want Staunton and Delaney.
    Ergo, they have lost the argument.
    They have no option but to resign.

Pal wrote:
    The people overwhelmingly do not want Staunton and Delaney.
    Ergo, they have lost the argument.
    They have no option but to resign.

Too right.

When a government in a democratic society lose the backing of all the people they are faced with no option but to resign. To remain in power they must subvert the democratic process and become a dictatorship. Is that what the boys in Merrion Square and their court jester Stan are going to do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,667 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

stan out

the man was the wrong manager for the job in the first place

its mostly the fai fault for employing him in the first place

the fai wont pay a descent salary to get a proper manager in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭Carcharodon

eirebhoy wrote:
    He knows more than Giles, Brady and Dunphy anyway. :)

You must be taking the piss really....
    Giles and Brady, two of Irelands greatest players ever with a great understanding and intelligence on how the game should be played.

Giles played for the two biggest clubs in England at the time and also managed his country and also got West Brom promoted as player manager.
    Might not follow European football religously but he knows what he is talking about.

Brady another legend with Arsenal and also Juventus.
    Head of Arsenals Youth Development, which has been very succesful over the years, he surely must be well up on the players in Europe.

Dunphy....ah you got me there :) well behind some of the outlandish comments at least he speaks his mind and the truth as he believes it to be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

its mostly the fai fault for employing him in the first place
    John Delaney is one hundred per cent to blame for this fiasco. The buck stops with him.
    the fai wont pay a descent salary to get a proper manager in
    No, and they never will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,667 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

seansouth wrote:

No, and they never will.
    exactly so who the hell in there right mind will manage Ireland

Dunphy....ah you got me there :) well behind some of the outlandish comments at least he speaks his mind and the truth as he believes it to be.

Whatever anyone thinks of Dunphy (and opinions will always be divided) we sure could have done with him last night instead of the three amigos on TV3. I seriously don't see how Ronnie Whelan continues to get work as a football pundit. He was a sh1t manager and now an even worse tv analyst. Aldridge isn't much better. Moran can be a bit better sometimes but wouldn't say too much about his old buddy Stan.

WTF is the point in having 3 'analysts' who are former team-mates of Stan and probably still pally with him? They might as well have Staunton's family on the next time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭Benedict XVI

BobbyD10 wrote:
    However, I dont blame Stan, he was offered the managers job, which he jumped at and so would I, with no experience at all, to manage your country what an honour.

If the head of my company came down to my desk today and asked me if I wanted to take over from him at the top I would say 'no way, give me a few more years and may be then'

That's what Stan should have done.

And that's why he should stand down. He is clearly out of his dept and should have the common sense to stand up and say 'I am not up to this job at this time', he will gain 100% more respect for that sort of a move than the aimless wandering in the wilderness that is ahead of he stays.

I however do not expect Delaney to be in any way humble about his choice, no way he is going to admit a mistake, 'I expect more of this World Class Management team sh**t from him'

It will be another inept performance against the Welsh. People talk about how they will bounce back after the criticism like after the Cyprus game, but the game is a full 6 weeks away, far too long for a quick reaction from the players.

As for a replacement, I am sure that there are managers (anything above water boy) in the first and second tiers of European soccer that fit the bill of a man who can ‘Get the best out of average players’ tag. Surely one has an interest in making a name international management. Go out and have a look Delaney , oh and bring the cheque book this time
    thebaz wrote:
    -- hes a muppet , that needs to go now , before the Croker prawn sandwich brigade cheer him on to cause perment damage to Irish football !.

The vast majority of people in Croke Park will know there soccer, and even the prawn sandwich brigade as you call them will have strong negative opinions on Stan I'd imagine. He and Delaney will get little sympathy from any quarter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,407 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

aidan24326 wrote:
    Too right.

When a government in a democratic society lose the backing of all the people they are faced with no option but to resign. To remain in power they must subvert the democratic process and become a dictatorship. Is that what the boys in Merrion Square and their court jester Stan are going to do?

LOL!! Hang on lads - the FAI is not a democratic government responsible to the people of Ireland. It need only heed it's members and whatever administrative committees and internal processes and politics that are in place within the organisation. The people may want Stan out - the media may apply pressure; but as long as Delaney can keep his own internal ship steady Stan will be the man.

I would hope that Delaney and the powers that be see sense - but it was fairly nonsensical to hire the dude in the first place so I am skeptical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

add a poll for a laugh.....

The vast majority of people in Croke Park will know there soccer, and even the prawn sandwich brigade as you call them will have strong negative opinions on Stan I'd imagine. He and Delaney will get little sympathy from any quarter

There was no indication of unrest following the Cyprus game , when we played the Czech at Lansdowne -- the same problem existed , an incompetent manager out of his depth, I fail to see how it will be any different at Croker -- those going will be swept into supporting the team and not booing Stan -- in fact the only way i see Stan going was if we had failed to win last night , or another equally inept performance , this is unlikely to happen, as the team will respond in the new environs of Croke Park -- disgracefully I see us stuck with this muppet for the foreseeable future -- Irish soccer is rotting in the meantime !.