Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Alfa 147

• 08-02-2007 5:38pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 37

Was thinking of buying a second hand one of these probably 2002/2003 1.6 or 1.8 5 door. I know Alfas don't have the best rep but these seem to be reliable cars and even Top Gear gave it a fairly good review - anyone have one has it caused trouble, has the bodywork fallen asunder?? opinions please??

• Registered Users Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭prospect

I have one, and bar one or two little issues it has been perfect. Although mine is a diesel.
    Love it too bits.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

It's all about servicing with Alfas, they need regular care and cambelts/tensioners every 36k. I'm about to inherit a 156 2.0 with 120,000 miles which has always been perfectly reliable and runs like a Swiss watch. Personally, i'd only buy a car that had been serviced by either Alasta or TI Autos. Avoid Alfa dealerships like the plague.

• Registered Users Posts: 708 ✭✭✭conor_mc

Sister had a 1.6 petrol. Beuatiful car but yes, it did have reliability issues.

Twice it cut out at speed, suffered from that diesel-sound problem (can't remember exactly what causes it, but it's a known problem), and a clutch/gearbox problem that meant she could only select third gear on her way home from work one day, but it was grand the next day when a mechanic came to her house to check it out.

She loved the car but it broke her heart. Having said that, I don't think she's be considered a typical Alfa "service-the-car-religiously" owner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭testicle

There is no 1.8 147, only 1.6, 2.0 and 3.2 in Petrol, and 1.9 and 2.4 Diesel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭testicle

conor_mc wrote:
    suffered from that diesel-sound problem (can't remember exactly what causes it, but it's a known problem)

Variator, happens when you don't top up the oil.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭su_dios

My dad has had alfas since the 70's and changes every 3 or 4 yrs. The only one hes had problems with was the 166. The newer the car the better really and its not really down the fact its an alfa its how well the car has been looked after. Its an Italian car atfer all. Check the service history on it and you should be fine.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,125 ✭✭✭lightening

su_dios wrote:
    My dad has had alfas since the 70's

Canoeist?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,579 ✭✭✭junkyard

If you look through the previous posts you'll find loads of posts looking for advice about Alfa's. You'll find loads of people for and loads of people against. If your looking for a reliable car to get from A to B without breaking the bank don't buy an Alfa. If you want a peculiar cantankerous oddball yoke that will rob you of your sanity and your wallet than an Alfa is probably what your looking for. Why some people bring such hardship on themselves is beyond me. I suppose the real answer is why so few people are buying Fiats and Alfa's new at present, sales figures have plummeted.

• Registered Users Posts: 73,454 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Yeah, Junkyard, but which would you rather? A Renault or an Alfa.

Italian cars have charisma.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

colm_mcm wrote:
    Yeah, Junkyard, but which would you rather? A Renault or an Alfa.
    Are you trying to kill him?;)

Neither, I'd sooner walk or cycle, there are other makes too you know Colm. I'd buy a Nissan Almera or a Toyota Corolla if I wanted to get from A to B. If I wanted something different I'd buy a Subaru or an Audi. Would you go out in an Italian suit, knowing in the back of your mind that the ar*e was liable to fall out of it for no apparent reason at any particular time for the sake of looking good or would you go for something tried and tested and that was proved to be up for the job? I'd go for tried and tested anyday.
    If it was a choice between what Renault or Alfa had to offer I would genuinely give up on cars and most of ye know how much I'm into my cars.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,823 ✭✭✭neacy69

i have a 147 5 door 1.6ts petrol and I love it great cars lovely to drive and very reliable (so far!) most important thing is a FSH even with high miles these can be great as long as they have been well looked after

btw the alfa 147 needs a timing belt change every 36,000 miles so check that any you look at has been changed once (or twice;) )

junkyard wrote:
    Neither, I'd sooner walk or cycle, there are other makes too you know Colm. I'd buy a Nissan Almera or a Toyota Corolla if I wanted to get from A to B. If I wanted something different I'd buy a Subaru or an Audi. Would you go out in an Italian suit, knowing in the back of your mind that the ar*e was liable to fall out of it for no apparent reason at any particular time for the sake of looking good or would you go for something tried and tested and that was proved to be up for the job? I'd go for tried and tested anyday.
    If it was a choice between what Renault or Alfa had to offer I would genuinely give up on cars and most of ye know how much I'm into my cars.

Junkyard, you have ruined enough of these threads with your useless misinformed b.s.
    Why don't you pop over to the 320d with the shagged turbo thread, and try and convince the world BMWs never give trouble. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

prospect wrote:
    Junkyard, you have ruined enough of these threads with your useless misinformed b.s.
    Why don't you pop over to the 320d with the shagged turbo thread, and try and convince the world BMWs never give trouble. :rolleyes:

Lay off. He's seen broken Renaults, in the flesh you know.:)

I just wonder everyday why my family keep pushing our 4 renaults to and from work seeing as they are constantly broken.:rolleyes:

prospect wrote:
    Why don't you pop over to the 320d with the shagged turbo thread, and try and convince the world BMW's never give trouble. :rolleyes:

Just because ye don't like what ye hear doesn't mean you can try and scare me away ya know. I tell it like I see it. If you read the BMW thread you were on about I agree I've heard of problems with the turbos on the 530d in particular, but when it comes to Alfa's and Renault's its just that there are so many problems in every aspect of each make, that's the point I'm trying to get across that some of ye simply don't want to see. It makes no odds to me whether or not you want to buy an FSO, a Lada or a Renault or an Alfa but if someone comes on here looking for advice about a particular marque I think its only fair to give the two sides of the story rather than give them a false sense of security. Granted some people who own Alfa's or Renault's don't seem to have any problems but I've seen lots of these makes and trouble is their middle name. If your really not sure just ask any car dealer they'll tell you, thats the reason why these makes have such a bad name in the motor trade and are worth very little second-hand.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

A mate had one for a year and had all sorts of electrical problems and all manner of hassle with the dealer. Beautiful car though and even the 1.6 is very quick.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,776 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

junkyard wrote:
    Neither, I'd sooner walk or cycle, there are other makes too you know Colm. I'd buy a Nissan Almera or a Toyota Corolla if I wanted to get from A to B.
    Fine, me too.
    If I wanted something different I'd buy a Subaru or an Audi.
    .....but with the Audi you'll need the warranty.......or sell it before it hits 60k miles........the scoob is fine, but be prepared to losing money hand over fist on it when you sell it. As it's a car, it's fine.
    Would you go out in an Italian suit, .....for no apparent reason at any particular time for the sake of looking good
    but that's exactly why you buy the Italian suit - to look good, otherwise you
    ...would you go for something tried and tested and that was proved to be up for the job? I'd go for tried and tested anyday.
    ....otherwise known as a Penney's tracksuit. You Are What You Wear, just as much as You Are What You Drive.
    ....you see, the problem with all that is, if that it was that simple, the cars that bad, and the trade so bad.....that there would be no dealers left. But the opposite is the case. And I've yet to meet a dealership operating as a charity. So, therefore, they're still making money at it, and be extension, people must be happy enough to keep them in business...

Sales of new cars for 2006, as follows, then.
    1) Volkswagen: 3,111,855
    2) Peugeot Citroen: 2,019,540 - they're all mad as bats, then:rolleyes:
    3) Ford: 1,623,532
    4) General Motors: 1,585,022
    5) Renault: 1,324,119 - must be bonkers......:rolleyes:
    6) Fiat: 1,156,152 - stark raving loonies...:D
    7) DaimlerChrysler: 922,461
    8) Toyota: 896,831
    9) BMW: 793,077
    10) Nissan: 313,507
    Total European sales 15,364,997

So 1/3 of all car sales are by deluded individuals, all falling under some spell. You'll notice that the perceived quality brands are all closer to the bottom, than the top - and I don't necessarilty put VAG at the top of the quality pile, btw.

And there again, there's the price. Everything is worth something, and no-one expects Toyota reliability at Italian prices. There again no-one gets Italian style or Charisma from Toyota, either..........

As my local mechanic says......thank god for German Cars. Why? I ask.....otherwise I'd have nothing to fix, he replies.............. his yard is lined with A4's, M-B diesels.............he has the nouse to drive.........a Lexus.

'nuff said, methinks.

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

junkyard wrote:
    Just because ye don't like what ye hear doesn't mean you can try and scare me away ya know. I tell it like I see it. If you read the BMW thread you were on about I agree I've heard of problems with the turbos on the 530d in particular, but when it comes to Alfa's and Renault's its just that there are so many problems in every aspect of each make, that's the point I'm trying to get across that some of ye simply don't want to see. It makes no odds to me whether or not you want to buy an FSO, a Lada or a Renault or an Alfa but if someone comes on here looking for advice about a particular marque I think its only fair to give the two sides of the story rather than give them a false sense of security. Granted some people who own Alfa's or Renault's don't seem to have any problems but I've seen lots of these makes and trouble is their middle name. If your really not sure just ask any car dealer they'll tell you, thats the reason why these makes have such a bad name in the motor trade and are worth very little second-hand.

So golfs hold their value so well because they are such a good car? Or does it not work both ways?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,660 ✭✭✭maidhc

Not entering the debate, but Junkyard has a valid point.

He is a guy who seems to know more than most about cars, and his opinion while disagreeable to some, is reasonable.

• Registered Users Posts: 670 ✭✭✭C.D.

As a general rule of thumb, how the public percieves a marque (in terms of reliabilty) has a large impact of a car's resale value in that segment. Look at VAG- specifically the more recent Golf's- a triumph of marketing over matter- the public percieve them to be very very reliable. Hence higher resale value. Look at the Starlet, rock-solid reliabilty, just look at the prices for the end-of-line 98 models.

The whole point being- if people know/think that a car is going to leave them with costly repair bills after x mileage.. resale value is going to go down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭DanThe

Quote, Galwaytt

So 1/3 of all car sales are by deluded individuals, all falling under some spell. You'll notice that the perceived quality brands are all closer to the bottom, than the top - and I don't necessarilty put VAG at the top of the quality pile, btw.

The law of averages dictate that half the population will have below average intelligence. Come to your own conclusion :)

DanThe wrote:
    The law of averages dictate that half the population will have below average intelligence. Come to your own conclusion :)

Stekelly wrote:
    So golfs hold their value so well because they are such a good car? Or does it not work both ways?

Golf's are selling on their past glories, the last good golf was the mark 2 GTI of which I have 6 for safe keeping. Notice how VW no longer use the slogan" As reliable as a Volkswagen" that's because they're no longer reliable.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭dave2pvd

Yeah, Alfas are unreliable.

86 GTV6 with 230,000 miles.

I just hope my Subaru will be as reliable and last as long.

maidhc wrote:
    He is a guy who seems to know more than most about cars, and his opinion while disagreeable to some, is reasonable.

No he isn't. He is a BS machine, who spouts age old stories about motoring from years back. He is still living in the seventies when BMW were decent cars, and fiat/alfa were suffering rust issues. Junkyard, FYI Datsun are gone, just in case you have not updated that little fact to yourself yet.

At the end of the day, he knows very little specifically about Alfas, but has some sort of agend against them. He has nothing constructive to contribute to these threads, and therefore should butt out. I have no issue if he wants to come on and say "I wouldn't buy one", but leave it at that.

BTW, you claim that you'd sooner have a Subaru or an Audi, both of which rank worse than both Alfa Romeo and Fiat in the CURRENT reliability survey.

Personally I feel sorry for you, falling hook-line & sinker for BMWs clever marketing campaigns.

Correction:
    Subaru are worse.
    Audi are 1 place ahead,

junkyard wrote:

....indeed that would explain all the VW sales..........:D

If we took those guys out of the 1/3.........crumbs, there'd only be wise people left !! :D:D

Prospect....cut it out. Whilst I may espouse a different set of values (both financial and otherwise........) for cars, you're overstepping the mark and getting personal. They're only frickin' cars...........

FWIW, and I didn't post this info before, I was in the trade for many years - but not anymore - and did my training as a mechanic here, and then worked in the UK. I worked for an independant, specialising in Fiat/Alfa/Lancia repairs and restorations. Yes, repairs. I've seen enough Delta HF turbo's, 130TC's, Gamma's and Spiders to last a lifetime. Several in fact. But I'd still buy the right one if it came along at the right price - if the balance is right, it still makes sense. My best loved personal cars I've owned included a much and very derided, but in my example perfectly reliable Alfa Giulietta 1.8 which I flogged to within an inch of it's life.................and I didn't get stranded once. I also hanker after an early Audi 100 Coupe S, 69-73, but that's another story altogether............

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

galwaytt wrote:
    Prospect....cut it out. Whilst I may espouse a different set of values (both financial and otherwise........) for cars, you're overstepping the mark and getting personal. They're only frickin' cars...........

Gosh, I didn't realise you were a mod, or my mother for that matter.

prospect wrote:
    Gosh, I didn't realise you were a mod, or my mother for that matter.

I feel sorry for you prospect, I really do, such little experience with cars and you try to give the impression that you know it all. I've worked on cars for nearly 30 years any many different aspects of the business and while I have formed my own opinions of certain makes from experience they're not that far removed from reality. How long have you work with cars?

junkyard wrote:
    I feel sorry for you prospect, I really do, such little experience with cars and you try to give the impression that you know it all. I've worked on cars for nearly 30 years any many different aspects of the business and while I have formed my own opinions of certain makes from experience they're not that far removed from reality. How long have you work with cars?

40 years.

Talk is cheap.

I have an extreemly sore throat and am no longer interested in this conversation.

To the OP, the 147 is a fine car, as with all cars check for a full and timely service history. Specifically to the 147, check the timing belt was changed at 36K as pointed out earlier.

If you want a reliable car, go for a:
    Skoda,
    Mazda,
    Honda,
    Suzuki,
    Ford,
    Lexus,
    Huyndai

All of which are proven to be more reliable than certain unmentioned brands.

Good night and good luck.

prospect wrote:
    I have an extreemly sore throat and am no longer interested in this conversation.

indeed :rolleyes:
    OP, the 147 is a fine car, as with all cars check for a full and timely service history. Specifically to the 147, check the timing belt was changed at 36K as pointed out earlier.

If you want a reliable car, go for a:
    Skoda,
    Mazda,
    Honda,
    Suzuki,
    Ford,
    Lexus,
    Huyndai

All of which are proven to be more reliable than certain unmentioned brands.

OP - not much wrong with that list, all you need to decide now is:

Transport
    or
    Driving

The above list is Transport, all others are Driving...........

Ode To The Motorist