Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Night Out - DIG - A WEEKLY FRIDAY NIGHT OF HIP-HOP, FUNK + SOUL ALL FOR 10 EURO!!

• 09-02-2007 4:34pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭

Check out DIG at the POD - every Friday we* serve up lashings of quality hiphop, funk, soul and reggae across 3 rooms for only a tenner!

*we are ChoiceCuts (check out our upcoming shows - Sugarhill Gang, Rob Swift, Big Daddy Kane - at http://www.choicecutsonline.com):)

Here`s the spiel:

Venue: POD + Lobby Bar, Harcourt St., D2

Acts: Billy Scurry + Simon Conway (POD)
    Brother Luke and Benjii Moone (Lobby Bar)

Date: Friday 9th February

Time: 11:30 pm - 2:30am (Doors open at 11pm)

Admission: €10 (€8 before 12pm)

WHAT`S THE STORY?

Choice Cuts present DIG – A weekly Friday night club bringing you the very best in hip-hop, funk, soul and reggae.

€10 admission allows you access to both the Pod and Lobby Bar. Each room has a different vibe and there’s something good for every music lover - just wander from room to room as the mood suits you.

WHAT`S THE LINE-UP?

•POD
    Billy Scurry: The nation’s favourite DJ, Billy has been involved in the dance scene in Ireland since his residency at the legendary Sides back in 1990. He always gets a great reception for his sets which cover all the bases of quality dance music.

Simon Conway (Electric City): Resident DJ of the excellent 'Electric City' nights, Simon is at one with the Choice Cuts` mindset, playing top-class electro and house to an open-minded crowd of music fans who like to dance! More details available at:

http://www.myspace.com/electriccitydublin

or http://www.electricity-dublin.com

• LOBBY BAR

The Lobby Bar will be heaving with a special blend of hip hop, jazz, soul, funk and everything in-between from Elbow Room (UK) act Brother Luke and Benji Moone. The duo who have been garnering a great reputation around town for their highly eclectic sets are sure to keep everybody up on the dancefloor .

For all the latest shows, podcasts and news visit us at http://www.choicecutsonline.com

More upcoming events from Choice Cuts include:

Rob Swift Sunday Feb 18th The Sugar Club (http://www.choicecutsonline.com/upcoming/event-details.php?id=174)

The Head Hunters Saturday Feb 24th The Sugar Club (http://www.choicecutsonline.com/upcoming/event-details.php?id=176)

Marc Mac (4hero) Friday Mar 2nd Crawdaddy
    (http://www.choicecutsonline.com/upcoming/event-details.php?id=189)

Big Daddy Kane Thursday Apr 5th The Village (http://www.choicecutsonline.com/upcoming/event-details.php?id=183)

The Sugarhill Gang Wednesday Apr 11th Tripod
    (http://www.choicecutsonline.com/upcoming/event-details.php?id=187)

TICKET SALES/PRESS

Phone: 087 2102922

Email: dan@choicecutsonline.com

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭Danny

Legendary tuntablist DJ Rob Swift plays a live show in the Sugar Club, Sun 18th Feb. The show will be preceeeded with a Q+A session with the man himself and the premiere of his latest project, "As the Tables Turn," - a full length documentary which takes a penetrating look at Rob Swift the artist.

"When I tour the globe fans approach me and ask, How did you get your start? Why did you leave the X-ecutioners? What did it take for you to reach the levels of success you have as a DJ?".

Hence, "As the Tables Turn," Rob's answers to all your questions about his past, present and future! Swift—who has worked with everyone from Linkin Park to the Red Hot Chili Peppers to Mike Patton to Herbie Hancock—is a truly forward-thinking, revolutionary who beat-juggling style has been cited as an inspiration by many modern turntablists.

Visit http://www.choicecutsonline.com for more detils or just click on the flyer below

robswiftflyerlojb6.th.jpg

Doors at 7:30pm. Admission 15 euro.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 cleaver

Hey Danny
    With all this excellent music you are spoiling us love the All city podcast on the site. Headhunters was the gig of the year so far.
    Any chance of getting the Nextmen over?

Hey cheers for all that positive feedback - we`re doing our best :D

Yeah HeadHunters was amazing, and I`ll pass that booking suggestion onto my boss Mark. If yer into the All City mix ye should check out the brand new podcast from JB the Deejay - only up on the ChoiceCuts site today - quality stuff

Hope to see ye at some of these over the weekend ;)

Jazzman Gerald (+ David Kitt) in RiRa on Fri night

jazzmanpostera2um2.jpg

Firehouse Skank (Reggae Soundsystem) and Billy Scurry in Dig (at the POD) also on Friday night

digmarchpostersi6.jpg

And to round it all off Clampdown DJs vs ChoiceCuts DJs on Sunday at the Sugar Club

ccvsclampfinaldb6.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 cleaver

I'm raging I'm going to be away for the weekend and missing Jazzman Gerald, again,
    Egyptian Reggae on the weetabix ad:p

• Registered Users Posts: 38 Dj shaft

@Danny - Sorry for hi jacking your thread but do you have the set list for the DJ Krime Fresh for 2007 mix on your website. Its a savage mix.

Hey Cleaver, he played Egyptian Reggae alright! Don`t worry man Gerald is gonna do a podcast for us and we`ll put it up on the ChoiceCuts site here

http://choicecutsonline.com/musicvideo/podcast-archive.php

Hey DJ Shaft -

It might be tricky to get the tracklisting for the Krime mix - ye know the way DJs don`t like giving away the best-kept secrets!

What I`ll do is I`ll email Krime now and if he get's back to me then I`ll send it on you. How does that sound?

Cheers, hope this helps ye out and thanks to ye both for the positive feedback,

Dan and the lads at ChoiceCuts