Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Get fit, or Die trying ?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭Dr4gul4

Evening all,

Happy i am not tonight, i think i need to change the way i do my workout, perhaps keeping similar weights together, e.g. do two sets of 10 Bicep curls in a row.

Any way, i dont feel sore to night, so thats why im not happy.

any who on with the show

Treadmill 2.5 K @ 11.5kph

Weights
    Set 1

Seated Row - 10@80kgs
    Seated leg Curl - 10@65kgs
    Barbell Curl - 10@25Kgs
    Standing Calf Raise - 20@60kgs
    Lateral Press - 10@52.5kgs
    Dumbbell Lateral Raise - 11@7kgs
    Barbbell Squat - 20@25kgs
    Barbbell Military Press - 20@25kgs
    Barbell Lying Triceps Extensions - 10@9kgs

Set 2

Seated Row - 10@80kgs
    Seated leg Curl - 10@65kgs
    Barbell Curl - 10@25Kgs
    Standing Calf Raise - 20@60kgs
    Barbell Bench Press - 10@52.5kgs
    Dumbbell Lateral Raise - 15@7kgs
    Barbbell Squat - 20@25kgs
    Barbbell Military Press - 20@25kgs
    Barbell Lying Triceps Extensions - 10@9kgs

I left out the Ab work to night, i wanted to get home and get sum dinner
    before it was to late.

Back again, new work out, still keeping a good eye on my food also.

working a 3 day split,

Chest & Back / Legs / Shoulders & Arms

So i started off today with

Workout A: Chest & Back

Let me start in advance to say, even though this is back and chest orientated my arms felt like a ton weight after this was over.

Here's the new Key - Weight/reps/sets

Lever Bench Press - 45/10/3
    Lateral Pull down - 45/10/1 - 52.5/10/2
    Incline Bench Press - 50/10/1 - 57.5/10/2
    Seated Row - 80/10/3
    Assisted Chest Dip - 60/10/3
    Assisted Pull-ups - 60/10 - 75/10 - 67.5/10
    Barbell Shrug - 35/20/1 - 35/10/1

Treadmill 3km @11.5kph

And that as they say was day 1 my arms are pretty damn tired, and running was really hard after.

No pain. no gain :)

Ouch, my arms are a little sore today from the new Workout yesterday,

so with the arms, chest and back sore, off i went to do legs to day.

I'll start by saying that i didnt really think this would hurt at all today.

Workout B: Legs
    Standing Calf Raise - 67.5/10 - 90/10/2 The 1st set was a tester.
    Seated Leg Curl - 65/10/3
    Seated Leg Press - 127.5/10 - 135/10/2 - Again the 1st was a test only.
    Barbell Squats - 35/10/3
    Barbell Straight Leg Dead lift - 35/10/3
    Ball Crunches - 60 split left and right, not happy with this, i'm going to use Hardtrainers Workout located here
    45° Side Bend - 20/3/left/right

Treadmill - 3km @ 10.5kph

That was Workout B, let me start off by saying, god damn are my legs sore, when i finished the dead lifts and put the weight back on the rack, i could really feel my thighs hurting, especially the backs of them.

Tomorrow it's Arms and Shoulders.

P.s. I Forgot to mention im still 90KGs, so i guess im loosing Fat from sum where.

Took a day out yesterday, mainly as it was not much fun trying to walk around, It's actually still pretty sore today, not as bad though,

So any way decided to go do a little work on the arms and shoulders to night.

Started off with 5 mins on the Crosstrainer at level 12, just to warm up.

Barbell Military Press - 30/10/2
    Barbell upright row - 30/5/4
    Barbell rear Delt Row - 30/10/2
    Assisted Tricept Dips - 67.5/10/3
    Barbell Curls - 30/10/2

Thats about the height of it.

Just a quick question though, when you look at the numbers on the wnd of the barbells. and it says 30 on each end, does that mean it's 60kg's in total ?

I think i might ask ye all to review my diet :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

The end of the barbells, or the end of the plates?

Most oly bars are 20kg, I doubt they're 30 or even 60kg.

Perhaps you're not using an oly bar and it's just a standard bar in the gym, in which case it's probably 30lbs, I'd be surprised if it's 30kg

Likewise if you meant plates, 30kg plates are unusual and more likely they're 30lbs (my gym has lots of plates in imperial format so 10lbs, 25lbs, 45lbs etc.)

prostylestraight-large.jpg

Thats the best pic i can provide, From what i can remember there are markers on the inside 5 Kgs.

i'll see if i can double check but thanks for the reply. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

Ahh ok, yeah I've similiar ones in my gym with fixed weight.

In that case I'd say it is in fact 30kg.

And there i was thinking it was 30 on each end :( ohh well, guess i'll have to work harder now to get to 60

• Registered Users Posts: 24,234 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Man 60k would be an insane amount to be able to curl! Keep going though and I'm sure we'll get there some day!

Sleepy wrote:
    Man 60k would be an insane amount to be able to curl! Keep going though and I'm sure we'll get there some day!

hee hee yea i guess it would be quite crazy alright, ahh we'll see in a few months

Got off my lazy ass to night.

Workout A ( again )

Treadmill - 2K @ 11.5 kph - Warmup
    Bench Press - 45/10/3
    Inclined Chest press - 57.5/7 - 57.5/5 - 57.5/6 -57.5/5 - 57.5/5 - 57.5/3
    Lat Pull down - 50/10/2 - 57.5/10/1
    Seated row - 80/10/3
    Assisted chest dips - 60/10/3
    Assisted Pull ups - 60/10/3
    Shrugs - 55/10/3

Cross Trainer - 8 mins lvl 12 alternate directions.

Finally got the elusive Kenny 5 to appear and have a chat.. well i was chattin he was lifting. i'll start by saying Feck ya any way. you can lift more then me :( ...

I'll be representing him ane my self @ the boards beers.

Anyhow it looks like arms and shoulders tomorrow, my right thigh is still sore in 1 spot, so i cant see me doing any more squats yet. although im actually dying to get back to them.

I'm going to up throw up my diet here again also, i might put it back in the other thread.

Thanks to every 1 for the help and advice with it.

8am - Poridge, banana, 1 whole egg, 2 egg whites, protein shake - 30gms

11am - apple - gonna buy foods this week to add to this.

1pm - Wrap, breaded chicken, mixed peppers, mayo, sundried tomatoes. A Pear

3pm - Apple, Protein shake - 30gms

7pm - CousCous, Two chicken fillets, peas..

9pm - Ryvita with sum peanut butter, or a banana.

10 pm - Protein shake 60 gms

Sin é

Workout C to day, Arms and shoulders, im saving my legs for another day, aka tomorrow.

well the original plan was to meet the gentle giant ( kenny 5 ) again today, and do arms and shoulders with him, and then do legs tomorrow with him.

however he was in no fit state it seems :p

so any who i set off to do the following,

I can safely say, i am sore, quite sore, in fact im gettn it hard to lift this cup of tea to my lips while im writing this, I doubt any of ye can imagine what it's like to pull the hog round those corners when you're arms are already weak.

anyway.

Warm up
    Treadmill - 1km @ 12Kph

Weights
    Barbell Military Press - 30/10/2 - 40/8/1 - 40/5/1
    Barbell Upright Row - 40/10/3
    Barbell Rear Delt Row 30/10/1 - 30/7/2 - 30/6/1 - not happy with this.
    Skull Crushers - 20/10/3
    Reverse Bicept curl - 20/10/3
    Assisted Dips - 60/10/3
    Assisted Pull ups - 60/10/1 - 60/8/1 - 60/7/1 - 60/5/1 - Need to concentrate harder on these, and maybe give my self a little more rest between them.
    Bicept curls ( Preacher curls ? ) - 10/5/1 - 20/10/1 - 20/8/1 - 20/7/1 - 20/5/1 - 20/6/1 I enjoyed these, even though i found it hard to get to 10reps on each set.

Cool Down
    Treadmill - 1Km @ 10.5Kph

Feel the burn.

2 morrow legs !!! eeepp

also just wanted to say

http://www.nourishonline.ie/healthshop/Main/Stores.htm

Peanut butter 100% peanuts, ohh it's so good..

also the butchers are selling 12 chicken fillets for 12 euro. there quite good, and big.

The legend kenny join me to day, total fitness.

And to begin.

Warmup

Treadmill - 1.8 km @ 11 kph

Weights
    Seated Leg curl - 55/10/3 - I wont be doing these boyo's again, i was up to 65 Kgs the last time, went to do the same today, and my knee's nearly fell off.
    Seated Leg Press - 80/10/1 - 100/10/1 - 120/7/3
    Barbell squats - 30/10/3
    Barbell Straight leg Deadlift - 30/10/3
    Bicept curls - 20/10/2 - Just threw them in there
    Lateral situps - 15/2/left/right

Cooldown
    Crosstrainer - 10mins Lvl 12
    500m walk

Thats all for to day, i can safely say, im quite sore. and i hope you're feeling it to Mark :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

Damn straight man, proper fcuked after the leg presses :(

Kenny 5 wrote:
    Damn straight man, proper fcuked after the leg presses :(

Ahh you'll recover come tuesday :D

Back in the gym tonite, been tryin to rent out a room here in the house, this pretty annoying when people dont show up after you wait all evening for them :(.
    any who

Warmup
    Treadmill - 1.5 Km @11Kph

Weights
    Bench Press - 45/10/2 - took a break, these other 2 lads wanted in.
    Lateral press - 50/10/3
    Incline bench press - 57.5/10/3
    Seated Row - 80/10/3
    Bench Press - 45/10/2
    Assisted Chest Dips - 60/10/3
    Assisted Pull ups - 60/10/3
    Shrugs - 40/20/1 - 40/10/1
    Bicept Curls - 20/10/1 - 30/5/1

Cool down
    Treadmill 1.5 km @ 11Kph

Hmm, i feel more fatigued than sore after this, im thinking i;ll have to up the reps maybe.

In good news today i managed to finalise my diet to a near perfect 40-40-20 mix. well ish. im about to feck it up by having a cup of tea but sure i'l be close enough to perfect.

I'ts really tough tryn to keep my cals around 2000, but i'll keep trying.

wanted to get the old arms in for a work out to day. even though it's gorgeous out side. and i have 50 millions other things to do. like get out on the hog with the guys :) Monday maybe.

Warmup

Mill - 2K @ 12.5 Kph

Weights
    Military Press - 35/10 - 35/8 - 35/5 - 35/6
    Upright Row - 35/10/3
    Delt Row - 25/10/3
    BB Curls - 21's actually - 25/21/3 ish - i stopped a few times to make up 21 on the last set :(
    Reverse BB curls - 15/10/3
    Skull Crushers - 15/10/3
    Assisted Dips - 60/15 - 60/10 - 60/5
    Assisted Pullups - 60/10/3
    Preacher Curls - 60/10/3

Cool down
    Mill - 2K @ 11.5kph

All in all not bad, my weight has actually gone down a little im just under 90Kgs at the moment, but thats to be expected with the diet.

So on Monday it's legs :D

Warmup
    Mill - 4 Km @ 11kph ish, stopped maybe twice or 3 times for some water.

Weights
    Leg press - 80/10 - 100/7 - 100/5 - 100/4
    Lunges - 10 left, 10 right
    Squats - 40/10 + 10 lunges - 3 sets. ohh this was fun.
    Dead Lifts - 40/10/3
    Bicept curls - 15/10 - 20/10/2

Cool Down
    Walked about half a K and decided i was wrecked enough at this stage.

Gotta get more leg orentated work out stuff :( and up my weights, i know i can lift more, on the deadlift i should be up to 60.

Roll on 4 days and i'll try that.

Man are my bum cheeks sore...enough said really...

Today was back and chest, Decided to ditch the cable machines for the bench press and the inclined bench press. and go straight to the bar.
    Well not really straight, but still....

Warmup
    Mill - 1 km kinda of a walky joggey walk ;) the doms i have owies.

Weights
    Bench Press - 40/10 - 45/10 - 45/9 - 45/5
    Inclined Bench Press - 40/10 - 50/7 - 50/5
    Seated Row - 80/10 - 87.5/10 - 87.5/8 - 87.5/4
    Lat Pull down - 57.2/2 - 65/10/1
    Dips - 52.5/10/3
    Chin ups - 52.5/10/3
    Shrugs - 45/15 - 45/10 - 45/2
    BB curls - Left arm only - 9/15/1
    Preacher curls - 15/5/1 - 20/10/1 - 25/10/1

Cool down
    Mill - as above.

Had this russian bloke as me to spot him on the BP and ICP so that was handy, could push my self a little.

In other news i've sold me Hog :(

I know i should be happy but it's like loosing a member of the family :(

any way i have her till the end of the month, and then i have to pick up my new 1.

any way 2 morrow arms and shoulders again.

Last day before im off to the stag in galway.

Had a pretty savage work out today.between the weather and being on holidays this week has been pretty good over all.

Warmup
    Mill - 3Km @ 11.5kph

Weights
    Military Press - 35/10 - 7 - 4 - 9 - augh dont know what happened there, should have waited a bit longer i think.
    Upright Row - 35/10 - 9 - 5 - 8 - this wasnt to bad over all.
    Delt Row - 30/10 - 35/10/2
    Bicept curls/21's - 25/21/3
    Reverse Bicept curls - 25/10 - 8 - 9
    Skull crushers - 20/10/3
    Dips - 52.5/10/3
    Pullups - 52.5/10/3
    Preacher curls - 20/10/2 - 25/7/1
    Dumbell curls - 10/20/3 - thats 10 left and 10 right. although i did 20 on me left arm 1st off, i have a weak left arm :(

Cool Down
    Mill - 1K @ 11Kph

Over all this was pretty damn good, took me a good while to get it all done however but still, my shoulders and arms are still burning away here.

Hopefully i'll get up early and do legs to morrow b4 i have to leave.

d.

1st day back in the gym, Had a pretty tough weekend in Galway, but as always twas good crack.

Decided to do the legs work out to day in TF.

Though for the day, i need to come up with more stuff to do, legs wise any way :( .

Warmup
    Mill - 2.5 Km @ 11.5 kph

Weights
    Squats - 40x10 - 45x10 - 50x10
    Straight leg DL's - 45x10 - 50x10 - 55x10 - 60x10 :eek: jaysus how'd i get to 60 like, twas not bad though, this point i was kinda thinking i should be at 60 for the squats also.
    Leg press - 80x10 - 120/5/3
    Lunges - loads !!!, basically after each DL i did 10 lunges, and then again after each LP set i did 10 Lunges also.

Cool down
    Mill - 1km - Mixed up between walking and running @ 11kph although that was quite tough .

I can feel my legs are a little sore at the moment, im half tempted to take to morrow nite off as my rest night, but **** it i'll try and get on with the 3 day split .

MP - 30x10 - 35/10/7 - 35/10/7 -35/10/5
    UR - 35/10/3
    RDR - 35/10/3
    Bicept curls - 25/?/? - I was spotting this guy and totally lost my place.
    Rev Bicept curls - 25/10/3
    Preacher Curls - 20/10/1 - 25/7/2
    Dips - 52.5/10/1 - 45/10/2
    Pull ups - 52.5/10/3
    SC's - 25/10/3
    BB curls left arm only - 12.5/10/2

Over all this was ok, well ok ish, my Bicept curls were pretty poor, andi really need to work up my left arm a huge amount.

Tomorrow it's back and chest and then im off 4 a wedding this weekend.

Chest n Back tonight.

BP - 40/10 - 45/10 - 45/7 - 45/5
    IBP - 40/10/2 - 45/4 - 40/5 - Arse didnt wait long enough here, should have been doing 45kgs
    SR - 80/10/3
    LPD - 57.2/10/2 - 65.2/10/1
    Shrugs - 45/30
    Dips - 52.5/10/3 ish
    Pull ups - 52.5/10/3
    BB curls - 10/20/3 - 10/20/1 - Left only

I need to work my left arm wayyyyyy more, it's as weak as ****, i can really feel it on the bench and the pull ups, theres a point i get to on the way down, and it's like i can only feel my right arm, there this big hole where my left elbow is.

grrrrr

Any way, should have gone for a run im still suffering from DOMS from the legs workout on monday.there not bad but ehh still sore.

Diet is going ok, however i think its more a status quo diet now, i'm not loosing any weight, even though i know im gaining muscle, so i think im going to accelerator the process a little.

Wont be back in the gym till Monday have a damn wedding this weekend now. and to morrow is a rest nite, although i might go up to meet kenny and dragan and go 4 an hour of cardio.

Finally back in the gym,after a long weekend back home @ a wedding, also managed to feck up my left ankle due to a beer related accident on friday night :

Any way

Gym - TF Sandyford

Gymeeee's - Kenny 5 and Patto.

Warm up

DB curls - 10/20/left - 10/20/L-R/2
    BB MP - 30/10 - 35/10/2

Finally kenny turns up here

BP - 40/10 - 45/10 - 50/5 - 40/10
    IBP - 40/10 - 45/6 - 40/10 - 40/9
    DBIP - 12.5/10/3
    DB Rows - 25/10/3/L - R
    LPD - 57.5/10 - 62.5/10/2
    Floor Sweepers - 20/20/2

I think that was it all tonight, Over all i was pretty happy, thank for the spots kenny as always, got a good few fails in there, i can feel me arms hurting.
    Those leg sweapers are legend,i'll be doing a good few of those from now on.
    Lets hope it helps move the bottom half of my gut a bit more.

Tomorrow it's arms and shoulders

Ahh totally for got, i had my first taste of RAM to night, sweet jebus you think you're prepared but you're just not.. it's only amazing. you could drink it all day long it's that nice

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,521 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

Dr4gul4 wrote:
    Those leg sweapers are legend,i'll be doing a good few of those from now on.

Can you explain what exactly they are?

I'll do my best.

Basically it involves finding an empty squat rack, placing the bar down low on the side bars, say the 4 bar up ( Depending on arm length) you then lie down under the bar, legs facing out of the rack.

The bar is then raised directly in to the air and held there.

While doing this, you raise you're legs out, and swing them up to the left and back down to the right touching the front of the rack ( on the left and on the right) ensure you're feet do not touch the ground during this time.

Sure i guess we could do a video of it if ye want ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 405 ✭✭Patto

I've two big red marks on the back of my shoulder blades after those floor sweepers:rolleyes:

The abs stood up alot better than my arms and chest. Its a nice exercise, keeps you focused alright keeping 60Kg fully extended and doing leg raises at the same time.

Good to see a few friendly faces in the gym too:cool:

Oddly enough im ok also, but that could be down to the ram and the Exercises im doing for Boru.

One thing i will say, i slept like a log last night.

Nad im itching to get back up there again to night and do arms/shoulders so i can burst me self totally again.

DB curls - 12.5/20/3 - 17.5/20/1
    MP - 30x10 - 40/10 - 45x10 - 40x10
    UR - 30x10 - 40x10x2
    DR - 30x10 - 40x10 - 45x10 - 40x10
    21's | BB Curls - 25/21/3
    R BB Curls - 25/10/3
    SC - 25x10x3
    DB Sc's - 17.5x10x2
    PC - 15x10 - 20x10x2 - 25x8
    Adips - 52.5x10x3
    Leg sweeps - 40/16/3 - was a bit all over the place.

Thats it more ram after it, and away home. my shoulders are quite sore now already.

Legs 2 morrow with dragan and jayroc i think if i make it up early enough.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,521 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

Dr4gul4 wrote:
    I'l

Sure i guess we could do a video of it if ye want ??

Yes please do if you get a chance. I've got a mental image but would like to see if reality matches up.